Rolling All Australian Team 2020

I think the AA committee should be split into 3 groups over the season.

One group looking at the back 6. One group looking at mids and followers. One group looking at forwards.

At the end of the season they decide on their final decision for their area and then the chairs of each subcommittee get together to pull the full team together, eliminating double ups, shifting players around where necessary and deciding on the bench.

I think the AA committee should be split into 3 groups over the season.

One group looking at the back 6. One group looking at mids and followers. One group looking at forwards.

At the end of the season they decide on their final decision for their area and then the chairs of each subcommittee get together to pull the full team together, eliminating double ups, shifting players around where necessary and deciding on the bench.
Best idea I've heard.

All Australian (Team Of The Last Ten Years):

Backs:
Tom Stewart- The modern day Corey Enright, does it all.
Alex Rance- Five time selected, four consecutive at full back.
Corey Enright- Mr reliable, does it all with little fuss.

Half Backs:
Shannon Hurn- Penetrating kick who reads the game like a book.
Jeremy McGovern- Marking royalty and skin fold icon.
Robert Murphy- creative genius who thrived at half back when shifted.

Midfielders:
Andrew Gaff- Gut running player who actually played on the wing.
Dustin Martin- Match winner as a mid or forward.
Dan Hannebery- Gut running player who actually played on the wing.

Half Forwards:
Patrick Dangerield- Selected eight times, five on the forward flank.
Lance Franklin- The ultimate mismatch, volume beast who can rack them up.
Cyril Rioli- Mr influence forget about the statistics.

Forwards:
Eddie Betts- Three consecutive selections, impossible to ignore.
Josh Kennedy (wc)- Dominant goal kicking machine also with three consecutive selections.
Tom Hawkins- Bear in the square who took awhile to "Hit his straps".

Followers:
Max Gawn- Four selections got big Max across the line, great tap work.
Nat Fyfe- Helicopter flying, road train driving football machine.
Gary Ablett Jnr- Four consecutive selections for the little master, auto pick.

Interchange:
1- Scott Pendlebury- Too good for the bench, carries himself extremely well.
2- Dane Swan- Mr rotations made to impact off the bench.
3- Joel Selwood- Plug and play inspiration.
4- Robbie Gray- Mr natural who can do it all, pre-knee was incredible, post-knee still good.

Don't blame me this team is picked by the selectors, i just did the typing.

Yojimbo geez how good is Alistair Clarkson, he coached a team with only 1 clear AA lock over the decade to 4 Grand Finals and 6 Final series.

he would be the coach.
Franklin did achieve his selection as a Hawthorn/Sydney player plus Hawthorn had Mitchell, Breust, Roughead, Lewis, Gunston, Gibson just to name a few who were eligible, but failed to make the final cut.

Buddy spent more time at Sydney then Hawthorn over this decade, so not a clear selection.

Probably explains my disdain for this award, hawthorn would be the most decorated team over the decade but not overly represented.

It is what is, team is filled with great players. And to be fair its an H&A award and we did our best work in finals.

Now that we see that does it take a little away from the prestige now knowing having multiple AA doesn't translate into premiership success?
There is no "i" in team unless you are a tennis player Dominic Thiem, the All Australian Team concept is pre-finals and therefore there should be no link between the two as they are separate. It is like an "Alf Stewart" type award in that it is "Home and Away", but there is a bias towards teams that make the finals compared to the teams that don't in terms of selection which is kind of natural as they are seen as better teams.

Beveridge makes a good point on the inclusion of dusty, danger and bont;
’defenders would be more worried about playing on this star trio than specialist forwards’.
He makes a good point.
That is a completely arbitrary section criteria.

Barry Hall should have been AA every season then, because defenders would have been worried to play on him.

There is no "i" in team unless you are a tennis player Dominic Thiem, the All Australian Team concept is pre-finals and therefore there should be no link between the two as they are separate. It is like an "Alf Stewart" type award in that it is "Home and Away", but there is a bias towards teams that make the finals compared to the teams that don't in terms of selection which is kind of natural as they are seen as better teams.
Yeah but logically you would assume there would be a correlation between having lots of good players that make AA and winning the cup.

Some teams seem to pump out many AA and players with multiple AA but over that period haven't been more successful then other who don't.

I think it takes away the prestige a little.

And Ryan largely wasn't playing his best footy until round 10. I don't think he was more deserving than either of the two, but I wouldn't have put either of them ahead of him tbh. Very even, but let's not pretend Ryan was perfectly consistent throughout the season.

Sheppard, similar to Ryan, was definitely not clearly ahead of Vlaustin and it could have gone either way.

Sick of this victim complex, it's ridiculous. Next you're gonna tell me Mark LeCras was one of the greatest small forwards in the game and it's only because of the #VICBIAS that he isn't considered such.
There are clear disadvantages to interstate teams with the system as it stands but taking offence to Montana's AA opinion is just stupidity.

Unfortunately there are many Eagles supporters with massive chips on their shoulders, it seems the majority of them are located in WA, who troll the internet looking for anything to further their opinions.

You cant even get that bit right, 1 WA, 3 SA, 1 TAS and 3 Victorians. Man this whole 'woe is me' shtick is so painfully embarassing from you WA people. Shepp and Ryan were lucky inclusions and he's calling it out, just like everyone is calling out Danger, Dusty and Bont's picks in the forward line - you don't see Victorians rolling around on the ground crying about how everyone hates them?

Everyone ? You mean posters on BF

show me where the Vic media has had a big sook about dusty, danger and bont

I’ll wait

There are clear disadvantages to interstate teams with the system as it stands but taking offence to Montana's AA opinion is just stupidity.

Unfortunately there are many Eagles supporters with massive chips on their shoulders, it seems the majority of them are located in WA, who troll the internet looking for anything to further their opinions.
Wait until the Eagles fans find out Montagna is also a Fremantle employee...

And Ryan largely wasn't playing his best footy until round 10. I don't think he was more deserving than either of the two, but I wouldn't have put either of them ahead of him tbh. Very even, but let's not pretend Ryan was perfectly consistent throughout the season.

Sheppard, similar to Ryan, was definitely not clearly ahead of Vlaustin and it could have gone either way.

Sick of this victim complex, it's ridiculous. Next you're gonna tell me Mark LeCras was one of the greatest small forwards in the game and it's only because of the #VICBIAS that he isn't considered such.

Ryan's probably been our second best player all year. Been very consistent all season and turned it on for the last few games so very much deserves his spot over the other 2.

That's not to take away from Butler's and Papley's first half to the season, it was excellent, but they fell away a lot in the second half.

Not sure what point you're trying to make about Mark LeCras, if any. He was an amazing forward (in our top 5 goalkickers) and should've gotten AA over Leon Davis that year (Porplyzia also had a case, both were robbed) but I suppose the selectors made it up to him a few years ago when he got his guernsey.

Greatest small forward of all time? Mate, he was the greatest medium forward of all time.....

;)

Beveridge makes a good point on the inclusion of dusty, danger and bont;
’defenders would be more worried about playing on this star trio than specialist forwards’.
He makes a good point.
Beverage is an absolute fruitcake.

You don't pick players based on 'how worried' others might be but he seems like the kind of bloke who would.

Yeah but logically you would assume there would be a correlation between having lots of good players that make AA and winning the cup.

Some teams seem to pump out many AA and players with multiple AA but over that period haven't been more successful then other who don't.

I think it takes away the prestige a little.
Not necessarily to use this year as an example Collingwood had the most disposals (5,502) and Carlton had the least (4,780) this is not in any way representative of team quality, but more a reflection on game style and system. Similarly with marks Geelong had (1,423) to be the big chief while Adelaide were last with (1005) this is also game style and system related. The Grand Final winner of any year has to peak for the finals and this should have nothing to do with the All Australian Team which is already decided before the finals start. I think Priddis won the Brownlow and never even made the forty man squad for the All Australian that year, hindsight can make people look stupid sometimes.

I'm more referencing a decades team. Over a period of time one would assume the dominant teams would be represented, because logically the dominant teams have the best players.

Edit: but it seems the AA award isn't a good judge of whether a good player can take his team to a premiership. I suspect this is because the good players in dominant teams are more likely to sacrifice there own game to make players around them better (thus not winning the accolade much). This is an impossible quality to measure and is why it's not represent in the AA teams data over the years.

I'm more referencing a decades team. Over a period of time one would assume the dominant teams would be represented, because logically the dominant teams have the best players.

Edit: but it seems the AA award isn't a good judge of whether a good player can take his team to a premiership. I suspect this is because the good players in dominant teams are more likely to sacrifice there own game to make players around them better (thus not winning the accolade much). This is an impossible quality to measure and is why it's not represent in the AA teams data over the years.
Agree the two are not even remotely connected nor should they be.

Ryan's probably been our second best player all year. Been very consistent all season and turned it on for the last few games so very much deserves his spot over the other 2.

That's not to take away from Butler's and Papley's first half to the season, it was excellent, but they fell away a lot in the second half.

Not sure what point you're trying to make about Mark LeCras, if any. He was an amazing forward (in our top 5 goalkickers) and should've gotten AA over Leon Davis that year (Porplyzia also had a case, both were robbed) but I suppose the selectors made it up to him a few years ago when he got his guernsey.

Greatest small forward of all time? Mate, he was the greatest medium forward of all time.....

;)
Ryan had a bloody good year, don’t get me wrong but he had a patch of at least 5-10 games when he was far from his best. His finish to the year definitely warranted consideration for selection, but I reckon it’s a stretch to argue he was head and shoulders above the other two this season. I’d say their overall output this season was on par with Ryan’s.

Point I’m trying to make is the whole VIC bias thing is clearly overblown and I’m not sure Montagna’s opinion 1) matters and 2) representative of the whole state’s media

Agree the two are not even remotely connected nor should they be.
This is why I think the award is a bit overrated and should lose some prestige. A team having multiple AA players or a player winning multiple AA is sort of irrelevant if you can't pull it together to take your team to the end goal.

A bit like the minor premiership, it's sort of like a participation award.

Edit: The main reason why is because the players who make the Decades AA team you listed are no guarantee to be better over that decade per position then a player who didn't.

Barry Hall should have been AA every season then, because defenders would have been worried to play on him.
Beverage is an absolute fruitcake.
You don't pick players based on 'how worried' others might be but he seems like the kind of bloke who would.
You both would shit the bed if either of that trio came to play on you.
Surely Fryman you understand the difference between thuggery and having your work cut out for you.

You both would sh*t the bed if either of that trio came to play on you.
Surely Fryman you understand the difference between thuggery and having your work cut out for you.
Of course I'd shit the bed, I'm 36 and unfit. They'd have a day out on me.

DeGoey is much more dangerous than any of those 3 and Sheppard's done the job on him numerous times.

All the defenders need to do is push them out to the 50 because other than Martin, they're rubbish shots on goal.

Rolling All Australian Team 2020