Rookie Draft

Congratulations to Nathan Phillips who despite suffering a season ending knee injury in round 15 still managed to take out South Fremantle's Best and Fairest ahead of Ashton Hams and Adam Gugs.

A pretty fair indication of the calibre of footy this kid played before he went down. Went from a fringe league player last year to a last 24 state player now a Club best and Fairest.

Has blossomed since his departure from Peel and really put his hand up in the midfield role this year. Will be interesting to see if any club is willing to take a punt on him after his knee reco.

Wow!

That just sums up South Fremantle's year when a bloke who played 13 games (Phillips) and a bloke who played 9 games (Hams) came first and second respectively.

No shit.

Fair reflection on the rest of the playing group.

At some stages during the year it was pretty much these two v the opposing side.

Congratulations to Nathan Phillips who despite suffering a season ending knee injury in round 15 still managed to take out South Fremantle's Best and Fairest ahead of Ashton Hams and Adam Gugs.

A pretty fair indication of the calibre of footy this kid played before he went down. Went from a fringe league player last year to a last 24 state player now a Club best and Fairest.

Has blossomed since his departure from Peel and really put his hand up in the midfield role this year. Will be interesting to see if any club is willing to take a punt on him after his knee reco.

Yep, well done Nathan on a fantastic year. Hope someone takes the punt has worked very hard on his game.:thumbsu:

Isiah Stevens please

Fair dinkum, people on BF are just starting to scare me now!:eek:

Well, if people on here were criticising Notte for his supposed lack of application, Izzy will keep them going for some time, shall I say!:eek:

His Jurrah and Sampi style highlights will keep us aglow with the hope of eventual fulfilled potential, during the times he doesn't do much.

Bit by bit we're learning to deal in hope, endure in prayer, and rediscover childlike imaginations, to cope with our current unfulfilled dreams of glory.:(

His Jurrah and Sampi style highlights will keep us aglow with the hope of eventual fulfilled potential, during the times he doesn't do much.

Bit by bit we're learning to deal in hope, endure in prayer, and rediscover childlike imaginations, to cope with our current unfulfilled dreams of glory.:(

That almost brought a tear to my eye!:)

Thats understood Swannies, but do you think in the AFL system, with the right coaching and motivation he could make it ?

He's the perfect late rookie gamble pick type.

He has all the tools to make if a club can get his attitude/fitness right.

the desire for Stevens seems to have stemmed from him taking a hangar and hearing the odd report about him following that rather then actual substance.

The great thing about rookie selections is they are without value. You can take a punt on anyone and admit you where wrong less than 12 months later.

It's an obvious low risk and high reward selection.

Anyone think ugle will go in the main draft or do you think he's a possible rookie as well?

Your talking about Kirk Ugle I assume ?

If he lasts to the rookie draft and we dont take him I will be extremly angry at the club.

He would be my first pick in the PSD if available.

If he lasts to the rookie draft and we dont take him I will be extremly angry at the club.

It was my opinion he'd be a late ND pick and you're right to be perfectly honest i wouldnt mind taking him as a psd pick. I do actually wonder if we could see us taking 2 players in the psd like some clubs have done in years past.

If that is what eventuates then that would make it three years in a row that we use the PSD to pick up players available in the national draft. (Mcginnity and Neates previously)

Not sure if its a great strategy to continually handicap yourself.

For a dumb flog supporter like myself can any one tell me if there is benefits in picking up players in the PSD rather than the National draft? The reason that it helps our salary cap or whatever is not a benefit.

If that is what eventuates then that would make it three years in a row that we use the PSD to pick up players available in the national draft. (Mcginnity and Neates previously)

Not sure if its a great strategy to continually handicap yourself.

For a dumb flog supporter like myself can any one tell me if there is benefits in picking up players in the PSD rather than the National draft? The reason that it helps our salary cap or whatever is not a benefit.

A lot of the time in the past clubs have been able to pickup quality senior players who havent nominated for the national draft. In recent times for our club though its been more about salary cap and list space issues than anything else.

Another way to maybe put a little bit of positive spin on the situation is to think of it as some exciting rookie/rookies coming onto the main list at the expense of hansen/bones/nikoski.

These are the guys being tested on Sunday October 10 in Perth
Luke Adams,, Swan Districts
Ryan Brabazon, Claremont
Jacob Brennan, East Fremantle
Rowan Brookes, East Perth
Kieran Butcher, Peel Thunder
Mitch Carter, South Fremantle
Tyler Chalwell, East Fremantle
Rhys Cooyou, East Fremantle
Tom Derickx, Claremont
Max Duffy, East Fremantle
Jordon Eades, Perth
Michael Edwards, Perth
Aaron Elari, Perth
Michael Evans, Claremont
Rowan Garlett, Perth
Cameron Grover, East Perth
Scott Hancock, East Fremantle
Thomas Howlett, East Perth
Jason Johannisen, East Fremantle
Anthony Kyanga, East Fremantle
Kelvin Lawrence, Peel Thunder
Tom Ledger, Claremont
Ryan Lester-Smith, East Fremantle
Liam McKenna, Peel Thunder
Sam Menagola, East Fremantle
Tendai Mzungu, Perth
Jarrod Ninyette, Claremont
Matthew Outridge, Swan Districts
Jayden Schofield, East Fremantle
Simon Starling, Claremont
Isiah Stevens, Swan Districts
Aaron Sweet, East Perth
Kirk Ugle, Swan Districts
I would suggest our rookies come from these guys unless some falls from the main testing

Anyone think ugle will go in the main draft or do you think he's a possible rookie as well?

I reckon he will last as a rookie with PSD at best. All depends how he performs in the state screening though. But as it stands today I think early rookie selection. Get angry Kirk if you are reading this and perform at state screening :D

When will teams get over Kyanga?
Some one just rookie him otherwise stop nominating him.

Just once id like to see us sign a bulging ball of muscle. Im not talking about a Darren Glass. Someone who looks like this

ronnie-coleman-delts.jpg

Just throw him in the square. Im sure he can do some damage atleast

Rookie Draft