Roos ripe for AFL takeover - Caro

The issue is about the future , not the past.

Note the first two lines of my post.
The future under Terry Wallace is not nearly as bright as some hope IMO. Smoke and mirrors.
But back on North.
Alright, we have some issues at the moment, but we've been in the comp for 80 years.
Just because we now have a relatively down period (and we played finals two years ago) we should suddenly move at the behest of a few media heavies? And pack up that history?
Everyone knows footy is cyclical, heaven forbid if teams were shuffled around the country every time they had a poor patch. Where would Richmond be now if that were the case? Mongolia probably. Would you, or Caro, have been happy to see your club shifted when it was on its knees? How hypocritical to then declare that you know what is best for North as soon as we slip down the ladder for ONE season.
Someone has to finish near the bottom every year, its the way the comp works for goodness sake.
People in glass houses...

I'd always given Caro the benefit of the doubt, but this article is staggering. Bare faced biased & insulting to roos fans. I'll have to add her to my hit list.:cool:

Northern Kangaroos: club must draw line in sand
Robert Walls February 24, 2007

The Kangaroos last night hosted Collingwood at Carrara Oval on the Gold Coast. Will it be the forerunner of things to come? Since leaving Arden Street, the Roos have played home games at the MCG, Telstra Dome, the SCG and Manuka Oval in Canberra. They have known for some time that their future in Melbourne is bleak.

A generalised statement. Who is the "they".

Their ventures into the Sydney and Canberra markets failed. They have realised they have to let go of the North Melbourne part of their name as Kangaroos has broader appeal to a wider market. Now they are dipping their big toe in at the Gold Coast, with three home games at Carrara over each of the next three seasons.

I believe they need to be bolder than that and, after this season, move full-time to one of the fastest-growing areas in Australia. Not only that, the "Coast" has a population that has just as much interest in the AFL as it does in the rugby codes.

Move to the GC with a stadium capacity of maximum 15,000 and a member base of around 5,000. Gee, we will be the AFL powerhouse. "The GC has as much interest in AFL as it does in rugby." I think most would dispute this.

Having lived on the Gold Coast in the early 1990s, when I was coach of the then-Brisbane Bears, I know that the locals will embrace a professional sporting franchise only if they believe that entity is committed to the town. So three games isn’t enough.

In my time, many Coasters wouldn’t give the Bears the time of day because they were called Brisbane. The locals need to believe they have some ownership through the name of the team and they need to feel that the club is fair dinkum in wanting to be permanently based there.

The Northern Kangaroos would be the ideal name for the team as it would satisfy the old and new supporters.

Obviously a mate of Mark Brayshaw who thinks that all NMFC supporters want to go to the GC.

The AFL would love to have its product played live weekly in Queensland, as is now the case in both South Australia and Western Australia. With a new rugby league team (the Titans) starting up on the Gold Coast this year, it is vital that rugby league isn’t given an easy leg-up.

I don't doubt that the AFL would love to have a team on the GC.

The AFL will not want to be seen as pushing a Victorian team north, but I would be amazed if representatives from the AFL and the Roos haven’t discussed the prospect of the 138-year-old club being based in Queensland in 12 months.

I suspect they have but haven't informed the membership of this, particularly going into a member election.

The success of the Brisbane Lions has had a profound effect on football up north. A record 11 Queensland youngsters were selected in last year’s national draft. Eight of them were in the first 32 chosen. Fifteen years ago, my son was chosen in an under-15 Gold Coast team. Twenty of the 25 kids in the squad had southernstate backgrounds. Now those kids have their own kids and the appetite for AFL continues to grow.

When the Bears began their journey in 1987, they had a membership of 3449. Seventeen years later, in 2004 when they played their fourth grand final in a row, the membership was more than 30,000.

30,000 was in 2004. It was 26,459 in 2006. So if we play in four consecutive grand finals on the GC we may get 30,000 members.

Last year, the Kangaroos had the lowest membership in the competition and played in front of some of the smallest crowds. So far this season, they trail significantly in the membership race. Since entering the new millennium, they have constantly been on "Struggle Street". And life is tough on Struggle Street.

People get worn out and frustrated as they lose hope. Geoff Walsh gave his all in a variety of roles with the Roos. His last five years were spent as chief executive, where his talent and his commitment kept his club's head above water. But the constant battles made an invitation to join Collingwood too hard to refuse.

Senior coach Dean Laidley has the worst body language and demeanour of all the coaches. The stress of surviving gets to him. And so, too, does it impact on the Shinboner of the century, Glenn Archer. Frustration with a battling, inept team has stirred the emotions of an ageing warrior, who nowadays too often looks angry and confused on the field. Chairman Graham Duff, too, looks like a man under siege, which of course he is.

This is a club that needs hope and a change of direction, and a move to Queensland could do that. The stars of the team — Adam Simpson, Shannon Grant, Brent Harvey and Nathan Thompson — are all well into the second half of their careers. They need a spark.

Training and playing in warm weather on a firm ground will extend careers and enthusiasm, just as it did for Roger Merrett and Alastair Lynch.

So we are to move our entire club to the GC so that we may get an extra year out of our older players and to put a smile on the faces of Duff and Laidley.

A wise man once said the only permanent thing is change, and the Kangaroo supporters should look at the big picture.

This is journalism by cliches. Where is the substance.

Collingwood, Hawthorn and St Kilda no longer play, train or have their administrative base in their original locale. They moved to better themselves. All folk associated with the Roos need to consider where their team could be in 10 to 20 years. It's to be hoped that young Daniel Wells stays a Roo for life. I can picture him leaving his club in despair in a few years' time if they stay on Struggle Street in Melbourne. I can also see him celebrating his 200th game, leading the team out onto Carrara in front of a full house decked out in blue and white.

Collingwood, Hawthorn and St Kilda moved within Melbourne and as such it had minimal impact on its supporters.

How will Wells feel if the Gold Coast Kangaroos turn out to be the Brisbane Bears #2 playing regularly before crowds of 10,000 or less.

Time to make some big decisions.

Yes, cancel my subscription to the Age.

The Age truly seems to hate us

Yes. The cornflakes didn't taste too good this morning. We seem to be the absolute whipping boy of The Age at present. I think we are rated (by the Age) somewhere between George Bush, John Howard and Mark Latham at present.

On the other hand the Melbourne Victory are absolutely golden and are treated with the same reverence as Julia Gillard.

Nothing that more members, more victories and a clear vision by our administration can't fix.

It's to be hoped that young Daniel Wells stays a Roo for life. I can picture him leaving his club in despair in a few years' time if they stay on Struggle Street in Melbourne.

Draw a long bow Rob.
Do you think Rob is aware Daniel married an Italian girl from Melbourne, whose family are Roos fans?

The Northern Kangaroos would be the ideal name for the team as it would satisfy the old and new supporters.

Pardon? How on god's earth did he draw this conclusion?! How many old supporters did he speak to at all and how many would actually be satisfied with this mauling of our club's identity.

"This is a club that needs hope and a change of direction, and a move to Queensland could do that."

So we up and move on a whim and a prayer. He couldn't even bring himself to write that a move to the GC "would" be successful.

It'd be like jumping off a 30-storey building and hoping your parachute opens in time.

I'm guessing that Walls and the shrew are being fed lines by someone at the AFL and/or the club. Sad eh?

Pardon? How on god's earth did he draw this conclusion?! How many old supporters did he speak to at all and how many would actually be satisfied with this mauling of our club's identity.

Horace would be the one to answer this how many Fitzroy supporters does he know that still follow the Brisbane Lions? The reason for the push is to as Horace stated to put pressure on our supporters to give up and also to protect their own teams Robert barracks for Carlton doesnt he? and other journalists barrack for other Melbourne clubs.
It can only weaken the so called brand, hate that word for some reason,to rid teams from the AFL heartland cant it, and send it to an area that predominately follow other sports. How does it benefit the AFL?
I recently voted yes that i would still support us if we did relocate but was not 100% sure, they way it could pan out i may just rid myself of the game and follow other things, surely thats more damaging to the brand losing long time supporters of the club and game who pour big bucks into it, but thats just me.

Draw a long bow Rob.
Do you think Rob is aware Daniel married an Italian girl from Melbourne, whose family are Roos fans?
Dont think Walls is aware of anything at all about North Melbourne
He is however really enthusiastic about Carlton and their new leadership group
Heard him going on and on about it on radio
Three things to do !
1: Don,t read the AGE
2: Don,t listen to 3AW
3: Don,t post anymore threads pertaining to these germs!

Certainly North's debts (about $2 million) are fractional compared with Carlton's and its on-field performances more impressive in recent years but Carlton's image and supporter base had not been totally damaged by the club's dreadful on and off-field performance.

I like that quote from Caro. Our on-field performance has been far more impressive than Carlton's, but our on-field performance is dragging us down???
Which is it?

Great idea. Can anyone here set up a webpage petition for this highlighting her nasty bias and calling for a fair go from The Age?

Why don't ALL Roo supporters sign a petition to black ball the AGE - don't buy it - just don't mention the ego tripping Bovine's name again. If anyone mentions her just use the code, The Bovine. From reports I think the Bovine has it in for a couple of other clubs - a bit of Solidarity Brothers and Sisters?
win....:thumbsu:

Senior coach Dean Laidley has the worst body language and demeanour of all the coaches. The stress of surviving gets to him. And so, too, does it impact on the Shinboner of the century, Glenn Archer. Frustration with a battling, inept team has stirred the emotions of an ageing warrior, who nowadays too often looks angry and confused on the field. Chairman Graham Duff, too, looks like a man under siege, which of course he is.

Yeah, he was such a quiet and timid fellow on the field back in the 1990s when we won more games. :rolleyes:

Senior coach Dean Laidley has the worst body language and demeanour of all the coaches. The stress of surviving gets to him. And so, too, does it impact on the Shinboner of the century, Glenn Archer. Frustration with a battling, inept team has stirred the emotions of an ageing warrior, who nowadays too often looks angry and confused on the field. Chairman Graham Duff, too, looks like a man under siege, which of course he is.QUOTE]
What rubbish. What games has he been going to?

The great man's frustration is due to two things.

1. Can't stand the way the game is umpired and the changes to the rules; and he just
2. Hates losing.

What an insult to the Shinboner of the Century from someone who should know better.

all i can gather from these two articles and i didnt read them is thatt robert walls is getting a bit on the side from usc.

the age is the only paper starbucks has and if these two so called footy experts the only opinion we hear from im off to the local italian cafe and read the soccer reports in the globo.

Senior coach Dean Laidley has the worst body language and demeanour of all the coaches. The stress of surviving gets to him. And so, too, does it impact on the Shinboner of the century, Glenn Archer. Frustration with a battling, inept team has stirred the emotions of an ageing warrior, who nowadays too often looks angry and confused on the field. Chairman Graham Duff, too, looks like a man under siege, which of course he is.QUOTE]

1. Can't stand the way the game is umpired and the changes to the rules; and he just
2. Hates losing.

What an insult to the Shinboner of the Century from someone who should know better.

two more people i want you to run through arch when you retire barstads that they are.

maybe there pissed cos he refused to talk to them and went on channel 7 instead.:mad:

2. Hates losing.

Glenn has always been an angry man and still is on field . We start winning they will shut up , we become financially independant is the key then they will focus on the next struggling team of the time. They seem to get such pleasure out of putting down other sides.

The Kangaroos last night hosted Collingwood at Carrara Oval on the Gold Coast. Will it be the forerunner of things to come? Since leaving Arden Street, the Roos have played home games at the MCG, Telstra Dome, the SCG and Manuka Oval in Canberra. They have known for some time that their future in Melbourne is bleak.

A generalised statement. Who is the "they".

Their ventures into the Sydney and Canberra markets failed. They have realised they have to let go of the North Melbourne part of their name as Kangaroos has broader appeal to a wider market. Now they are dipping their big toe in at the Gold Coast, with three home games at Carrara over each of the next three seasons.

I believe they need to be bolder than that and, after this season, move full-time to one of the fastest-growing areas in Australia. Not only that, the "Coast" has a population that has just as much interest in the AFL as it does in the rugby codes.

Move to the GC with a stadium capacity of maximum 15,000 and a member base of around 5,000. Gee, we will be the AFL powerhouse. "The GC has as much interest in AFL as it does in rugby." I think most would dispute this.

Having lived on the Gold Coast in the early 1990s, when I was coach of the then-Brisbane Bears, I know that the locals will embrace a professional sporting franchise only if they believe that entity is committed to the town. So three games isn’t enough.

In my time, many Coasters wouldn’t give the Bears the time of day because they were called Brisbane. The locals need to believe they have some ownership through the name of the team and they need to feel that the club is fair dinkum in wanting to be permanently based there.

Obviously a mate of Mark Brayshaw who thinks that all NMFC supporters want to go to the GC.

The AFL would love to have its product played live weekly in Queensland, as is now the case in both South Australia and Western Australia. With a new rugby league team (the Titans) starting up on the Gold Coast this year, it is vital that rugby league isn’t given an easy leg-up.

I don't doubt that the AFL would love to have a team on the GC.

The AFL will not want to be seen as pushing a Victorian team north, but I would be amazed if representatives from the AFL and the Roos haven’t discussed the prospect of the 138-year-old club being based in Queensland in 12 months.

I suspect they have but haven't informed the membership of this, particularly going into a member election.

The success of the Brisbane Lions has had a profound effect on football up north. A record 11 Queensland youngsters were selected in last year’s national draft. Eight of them were in the first 32 chosen. Fifteen years ago, my son was chosen in an under-15 Gold Coast team. Twenty of the 25 kids in the squad had southernstate backgrounds. Now those kids have their own kids and the appetite for AFL continues to grow.

When the Bears began their journey in 1987, they had a membership of 3449. Seventeen years later, in 2004 when they played their fourth grand final in a row, the membership was more than 30,000.

30,000 was in 2004. It was 26,459 in 2006. So if we play in four consecutive grand finals on the GC we may get 30,000 members.

Last year, the Kangaroos had the lowest membership in the competition and played in front of some of the smallest crowds. So far this season, they trail significantly in the membership race. Since entering the new millennium, they have constantly been on "Struggle Street". And life is tough on Struggle Street.

People get worn out and frustrated as they lose hope. Geoff Walsh gave his all in a variety of roles with the Roos. His last five years were spent as chief executive, where his talent and his commitment kept his club's head above water. But the constant battles made an invitation to join Collingwood too hard to refuse.

This is a club that needs hope and a change of direction, and a move to Queensland could do that. The stars of the team — Adam Simpson, Shannon Grant, Brent Harvey and Nathan Thompson — are all well into the second half of their careers. They need a spark.

Training and playing in warm weather on a firm ground will extend careers and enthusiasm, just as it did for Roger Merrett and Alastair Lynch.

So we are to move our entire club to the GC so that we may get an extra year out of our older players and to put a smile on the faces of Duff and Laidley.

A wise man once said the only permanent thing is change, and the Kangaroo supporters should look at the big picture.

This is journalism by cliches. Where is the substance.

Collingwood, Hawthorn and St Kilda no longer play, train or have their administrative base in their original locale. They moved to better themselves. All folk associated with the Roos need to consider where their team could be in 10 to 20 years. It's to be hoped that young Daniel Wells stays a Roo for life. I can picture him leaving his club in despair in a few years' time if they stay on Struggle Street in Melbourne. I can also see him celebrating his 200th game, leading the team out onto Carrara in front of a full house decked out in blue and white.

Collingwood, Hawthorn and St Kilda moved within Melbourne and as such it had minimal impact on its supporters.

How will Wells feel if the Gold Coast Kangaroos turn out to be the Brisbane Bears #2 playing regularly before crowds of 10,000 or less.

Time to make some big decisions.

Yes, cancel my subscription to the Age.

My god that is a load of crap, with Walls trying to make himself look insightful.

So because Glenn Archer looks frustrated on the field we should relocate a 138 year old club. Hmmm, use your pea-brain Robert, and you may find his frustration due to the AFL screwing with the rules, and our crap game plan in 2006. But you're right, we should relocate.

And because Duff is under siege, we should pack up Arden St. Maybe he is under siege because our membership is poor, largely in part to him not coming out and blasting atricles like this.

But wait, there's more, the weather is nicer on the Gold Coast. Well, gees, why don't we relocate the whole competition to the Carribean if the modern day AFL players are that soft.

Yep, Wellsy will probably up and leave, chasing the almighty dollar. Wait a minute, he's not a Carlton player, and doesn't get paid in a brown paper bag.

I agree, we Kangaroos members should look at the bigger picture. Come on Melbourne based members, be fair. Give up all your rights to watch the team you have supported all your lives in Melbourne, so that some indesicive Gold Coasters can go to a game now and then when they feel like. We are so selfish, I just needed Robert Walls to make me see it.

He is such a good guy, I'm so glad he made us all see what fools we have been trying to save our club. Well, I'm off to Arden Street to help pack the removalists truck, anyone coming to help?

PS: Wallsy, your son is a knob too

Horace would be the one to answer this how many Fitzroy supporters does he know that still follow the Brisbane Lions? The reason for the push is to as Horace stated to put pressure on our supporters to give up and also to protect their own teams Robert barracks for Carlton doesnt he? and other journalists barrack for other Melbourne clubs.
It can only weaken the so called brand, hate that word for some reason,to rid teams from the AFL heartland cant it, and send it to an area that predominately follow other sports. How does it benefit the AFL?
I recently voted yes that i would still support us if we did relocate but was not 100% sure, they way it could pan out i may just rid myself of the game and follow other things, surely thats more damaging to the brand losing long time supporters of the club and game who pour big bucks into it, but thats just me.
Hi Ashley B, I would love to be able to give you a definitive answer on that, but I do not know the figures. My guess would be that maybe 50% dropped off, and in many cases those who have dropped off were the more passionate ones. (There are some who have just given the game away and hate to hear the word football even mentioned.)

My reading of the people who frequent this forum is that most would fall into the passionate category and my guess is that many will cease to follow the club.

The bottom line is that IF the club is relocated to the GC, many will not really know which way to go until it actually happens.

I (with a very heavy heart) actually tried to become a Brisbane Lions supporter and it just did not work. For me, I felt that I had lost some "ownership", the Fitzroy bit was gone, I love to be at the game and able to enjoy the atmosphere, shout myself hoarse (sometimes midway through the first quarter these days) and the visits by Brisbane were just too infrequent to be able to get a kick out of it.

Others apparently however found 5 or 6 games a year in Victoria acceptable. They were rewarded with 3 premierships, though I do not see the cups sitting on display anywhere within an hour or so of the old Brunswick Street oval.

People need to understand that a relocated outfit will be an Interstate club, not a club from here in the heartland. Having said that I think a relocated club is better than a club merged with an interstate club like Fitzroy was.

I don't think that either of Walls or Caro have any understanding of the passion of the grass roots supporters. They have sat for far too long in the press box and have no idea of what is going on in the real world.

I suggest however that you go onto the Fitzroy board - there are some magnificent people who frequent that board and would have been outstanding supporters of a merged North Fitzroy club - and put some sort of a poll up. I am sure that they will respond with some very valuable feedback.

In fact why hasn't the AFL done some research and asked all the old members of Fitzroy from 1996 just what their football involvement is now? It would not be too hard and would provide some valuable guidance if they really are trying to relocate North to the Gold Coast.

These two articles have really wound me up. I just cancelled my Age subscription, but I feel a need to do much more than that.

I feel the club really does need to address this issue strongly, and while doing so, get stuck into the lying, hateful things that wrote both pieces of garbage. Now.

I knew he was wealthy but is Peter De Rauch a Billionaire:eek: well thats what some sources tell me anyway.
Yes, I was a bit surprised at that bit. I would have thought if he had that much of the ready stuff, he would just pay out all the other tossers and run it on his own. Whats a mere $15 -20 million a year if you are in that sort of situation.

Hi Ashley B, I would love to be able to give you a definitive answer on that, but I do not know the figures. My guess would be that maybe 50% dropped off, and in many cases those who have dropped off were the more passionate ones. (There are some who have just given the game away and hate to hear the word football even mentioned.)

My reading of the people who frequent this forum is that most would fall into the passionate category and my guess is that many will cease to follow the club.

The bottom line is that IF the club is relocated to the GC, many will not really know which way to go until it actually happens.

I (with a very heavy heart) actually tried to become a Brisbane Lions supporter and it just did not work. For me, I felt that I had lost some "ownership", the Fitzroy bit was gone, I love to be at the game and able to enjoy the atmosphere, shout myself hoarse (sometimes midway through the first quarter these days) and the visits by Brisbane were just too infrequent to be able to get a kick out of it.

Others apparently however found 5 or 6 games a year in Victoria acceptable. They were rewarded with 3 premierships, though I do not see the cups sitting on display anywhere within an hour or so of the old Brunswick Street oval.

People need to understand that a relocated outfit will be an Interstate club, not a club from here in the heartland. Having said that I think a relocated club is better than a club merged with an interstate club like Fitzroy was.

I don't think that either of Walls or Caro have any understanding of the passion of the grass roots supporters. They have sat for far too long in the press box and have no idea of what is going on in the real world.

I suggest however that you go onto the Fitzroy board - there are some magnificent people who frequent that board and would have been outstanding supporters of a merged North Fitzroy club - and put some sort of a poll up. I am sure that they will respond with some very valuable feedback.

In fact why hasn't the AFL done some research and asked all the old members of Fitzroy from 1996 just what their football involvement is now? It would not be too hard and would provide some valuable guidance if they really are trying to relocate North to the Gold Coast.
Thanks Horace i know one thing the media have a huge say in it , as u have said many times and until it happens to your own club like it did Fitzroy outside supporters cant understand. U only have to look at the positive feedback the Goldcoast is receiving in the media already and anything negative Melbourne based however minor is being magnifide 400 times, just like any Collingwood players ability is. The more articles i read the more i do believe in hidden agendas and propaganda, i havent bought a paper for 4 or 5 yrs now its only opinions and generally negative and thats not just Football.
We need to stand strong i know i will buying at least 3 memberships tomorrow maybe more hopefully many more do the same.
Go The Roos

Yes, I was a bit surprised at that bit. I would have thought if he had that much of the ready stuff, he would just pay out all the other tossers and run it on his own. Whats a mere $15 -20 million a year if you are in that sort of situation.

I need to get into the lighting business;) . Makes the article more interesting as i said media people make up and put in what they can get away with sources say were quoted as saying etc.

Venomous bile. Simply an opinion piece, offering nothing but smart arsed language and old quotes.

What an evil being she is.

_______

http://www.theage.com.au/realfooty/news/afl/roos-ripe-for-afl-takeover/2007/02/23/1171734022783.html

Roos ripe for AFL takeover
Caroline Wilson
February 24, 2007

If ever there was an obvious solution to a club that has lurched in recent years from crisis to catastrophe as have the poor identity-seeking Kangaroos, then it is for the AFL to step in and buy it.

The Roos are ripe for the takeover and, as brutal as it sounds, there seems no other solution for a team with so poor a public profile, so little support and such desperately crazy political issues.

In a farcical attempt to buy two million votes two days ago, the lighting billionaire Peter de Rauch turned up at a board meeting with a cheque for $27,000. That such a coup was even considered legally possible is beyond belief. Surely Bob Ansett did not envisage such a circus when he set up his A and B-class share structure.

My colleague Robert Walls has argued strongly for immediate relocation to the Gold Coast and the truth is that most senior Kangaroos, informed commentators and AFL heavies agree with him.

North Melbourne must retain at least 10 games in Melbourne, accept that a state-of-the-art Arden Street is a pipe-dream and set up a base in Queensland with the full backing and steering of the AFL.

advertisement

It is not enough for the commission to sit back and watch the club's problems continue to unfold.

Clearly the AFL chiefs are waiting for the result of next week's annual meeting and the end of the dreaded current share structure, but not every political problem will be solved by an election.

Should de Rauch and his team prove victorious, the AFL is unlikely to go into business with the North board. De Rauch was backing his fellow director and supporter Maurice Reilly for the chief executive's job last year, so more political turmoil is on the cards.

De Rauch has some staunch supporters and some powerful enemies.

Should chairman Graham Duff win, as he is favoured to do, he faces the prospect of a hostile and influential Ron Joseph alongside him.

Duff has indicated to friends in recent weeks that football behind the glass was so much tougher than he expected and you have to wonder whether he has the experience to tackle the sensitive job of relocation.

Not only do the Kangaroos boast a hopelessly low profile and poor market brand, their problems are damaging the AFL brand just as Carlton's have done.

It is also not enough to send in help as the competition's governing body has done with an annual grant of $1.4 million and now financial hope with the Carrara move.

Look at Carlton. The AFL lent the club money and sent in its favoured consultant-turned-AFL executive Jim Watts, along with commissioner-turned-AFL chairman-elect Mike Fitzpatrick and nothing really changed.

Certainly North's debts (about $2 million) are fractional compared with Carlton's and its on-field performances more impressive in recent years but Carlton's image and supporter base had not been totally damaged by the club's dreadful on and off-field performance.

New chairman ******** Pratt, who has pledged money along with a managerial makeover, at least offers hope.

The Kangaroos are desperately short on hope and even the club's most senior people believe the AFL is its only saviour now.

A share buy-out could be tricky. Under the present share structure, such a move would cost the competition $5 million but the commission is famous for keeping its hand in its

pocket and probably has a more economic plan.

The Age revealed last December that Andrew Demetriou had attended a Kangaroos board meeting and discussed a possible share purchase.

Rejecting comparisons with the South Melbourne of the 1980s, Demetriou said then: "We did discuss the possibility of buying shares at a board meeting. There were some shareholders who were asking whether we'd be interested in purchasing their shares and we said we'd look at it.

"This is a club that the AFL has completely supported with football money and continued to support.

"There is no sinister plot here but when we put money into a football club, we expect to have a say in its direction.

"It is the same as any investment. We put $1.4 million a year into North along with a lot of money into Carrara and the Gold Coast. It's a pretty serious investment and it's football money, as I say.

"The other 15 clubs would be disappointed if we didn't and they are well within their rights.

"Having said that, we are still a major shareholder in the Sydney Swans but we have never attempted to influence what they do."

The Broncos are the reigning premiers, the Gold Coast Titans are proving a publicity machine and A-League soccer is on the rise around Australia. The Brisbane Lions have money in the bank but look likely to lose money again this year and the competition up north is growing fiercer by the minute.

It would be untenable for the AFL to relocate — even partly — another team to Queensland without throwing every possible resource behind it including an administration in which it has total faith.

Channel Ten and pay television have thrown their support behind the code in Brisbane and the Gold Coast and the competition is flush with cash.

The Kangaroos are ripe for the takeover. And the time for the AFL to act is now.

I just rang SEN the Matt Campbell and Daniel Harford show, regarding this and the Robert Walls Article, and Paid out on Walls, and I won the Tim Watson book the Jigsaw man.

Signed up this morning with 2 other mates.
Lets remain a Melbourne club and stick it up these clowns

Roos ripe for AFL takeover - Caro