Roos vs St.Kilda

From the club website-

Injury blow for Kangaroos
6:36:48 PM Fri 11 March, 2005
Samantha Lane
Sportal for afl.com.au
Veteran Kangaroo Corey McKernan has suffered a suspected shoulder injury during the Roos' final hit-out of the pre-season, further souring his team's nine–point loss to a virtual St Kilda 'B' side.

It was likely to be the final AFL match to be played at the Saints’ home ground Moorabbin, but it was a contest of few highlights.

St Kilda held the lead from early in the second quarter, and though the Roos got close in the end, they lacked fire power in an attack missing Nathan Thompson.

The Saints would be encouraged by the prominence of exciting forward Stephen Milne, who kicked two second-term goals, and by the fact that Matt Maguire got through his second hit-out of the pre-season after recovering from osteitis pubis.

Ruckman/forward McKernan, 31, came off second-best in a marking contest with St Kilda’s Barry Brooks early in the second term, and left the field immediately.

He was attended by a doctor, had his arm put in a sling, and did not return to the field.

Roos defender Leigh Colbert played a strong match in defence after a spending the summer in cotton wool. Jess Sinclair and Daniel Harris also had good games, though the match was lacking in heroes.

There were plenty of first-choice Saints missing, including captain Nick Riewoldt, Fraser Gehrig, Austinn Jones, Luke Ball, Nick Dal Santo, Brendon Goddard, Stephen Powell and Luke Penny.

The Roos were missing Daniel Wells, Thompson and Daniel Motlop.

ST KILDA: 0.2, 3.7, 6.9, 8.13 (61)
KANGAROOS: 1.3, 1.6, 3.7, 7.10 (52)

GOALS – St Kilda: Milne 2, Hayes, Thompson, Baker, Peckett, Guerra, Koschitzke
Kangaroos: Harvey 2, Grima, Makepeace, Rocca, Brown
BEST – St Kilda: Harvey, Peckett, Milne, Hayes, Guerra
Kangaroos: Colbert, Sinclair, Makepeace, Harris, Sansbury
UMPIRES - Davis, Nicholls, Jeffery, Fraser
CROWD - Approximately 4600 at Moorabbin

G'day g'day!

Yeah, agree re the score board vs individual performances, and in that regard we can take a bit from the game.

Michael Stevens was terrific IMO. Didnt stop running and worked hard across half back. Along with Makepeace (who put 4 solid quarters in) and Jess, they were our driving force out of defense all day.

Hale and Hamish did well in the ruck. We were getting first use in the middle often due to their tap work and around the ground they looked good. Hamish in particular pleased me. I'm a big fan, admittedly, but things worked well for him for the second he hit came on, where he literally immediately took a mark and played on and put it into our forward line. Was playing in the ruck and then dropping back a kick behind the playa nd looked good doing it. Didnt kill them by any means, but it was a good effort considering it was pretty much his first ever game against an AFL side.

Blake Grima was really productive in the first half. Our midfield for most of it was pretty much him, Harro, Picioane and Watson. They held their own for a fair bit and it was odd that when Harro was interchanged with Simmo, things started turning the Saints way through the middle. But back to Blake, he kicked a really nice goal from outside 50 and in general looked like he belonged. Great hands, and we all know he has, strong in the 50/50's and his kicking continues to impress.

Harro put in his best effort for the pre-season so far. While still not up to his usual pre-season form (usually he is our clear standout) he was still getting his hands on the ball and getting in and under.

I dont understand the Picioane thing. I'll leave it at that.

Actually bugger it. I've been pretty quiet on here for a while so here goes: he is a dud. Not up to AFL footy. Yeah he has a go and huffs and puffs. But i hate ot when i see the ball in his hands. He cant kick, is dumb and lets us down alot. Go away.

And Ash gave me some hope. I am a massive fan of this kid having watched just about every 2's game he's played for us (and of course his senior ones too!) and have been pretty sad that he looked so far away from a senior game before today.But today was a good sign. Played on Fiora who barely saw it. And all Ash's strong points were on show. The run, the carry and the entries into 50 were al there. Didnt put 4 quarters together, but it was a positive step forward none the less.

Drew was another who had a better game than his previous pre-season efforts so far. Worled hard across half forward and while he did some things that had me groaning, he also threw himself into alot of packs and pulled down some good marks, including one classic hanger in the last quarter. His kicking is still very hit an dmiss though. Just looks so lazy some times. But it was a better effort all the same.

Sav struggled, but it was more due to delivery than himself. Just didnt get much of a go and the Saints had stacks of numbers in our defensive 50 all day. But he straightened us up and i think Drew looked better with him there. Cant wait to see how it all works with Thompson there too.

Jones was good across half forward and Arch had a crack when he was there. harding was worn very closely but still provided a bit of life, if not with much effect. Things looked so much more dangerous when Boomer came on though, who played mostly in the forward 50. He also took a bloody good hanger for sucha small fella and kicked 1 or 2 (i'm terrible at remembering goal kickers).

Baird played and was ordinary. Played on Jason Blake and did effect a couple of good spoils but that was a bout it. Just doesnt look up to the standard anymore.

Pratt was ok early although his footskills were a bit off. Didnt see much of him in the 2nd half.

Dont remember Perkins being out there much either.

Backline wasn't great. Colbert looked a little short of match practice and got done a couple of times 1 on 1 by smaller opponents (Guerra namely), but also did a couple of his customary courageous things.

Watt was ok. Was on Fisher, who is hardly a big name, but scrapped hard and ran it out a couple of times. Did what he had to i guess, but had Reiwoldt, Gehrig and Hamill been playing, i have a feeling things may have been a bit different.

And Brown was hardly back there. Didnt have a great game, but didnt get a stack of game time.

I wasn't devistated with the way we played. There was systemn there, particularly moving it out of the def 50 and through the iddle, but again, it was what seemed like a lack of a forward structure which ultimately cost us the result.

Catch yas!

GoNorth said:
Goals: Kangaroos: Harvey 2, Grima, Makepeace, Rocca, Brown
Kangaroos: Colbert, Sinclair, Makepeace, Harris, Sansbury
I must have missed most of Colby's good stuff.

Jess was pretty good, although i think Milne was his opponent when he went forward and that little **** owned the footy today!!

Forgot about Eddie. He was terrific. Quick little bugger. Hadn't really noticed that about him, but gee he took off a few times from hot spots and ran like he'd stolen someone else's footy! Used it really well too, especially on the switch from one pocket to the other.

And Ausguard, it was Boomer. Shane and his new black hair do were nowhere to be seen.

just got back form the game also. Didnt look good going into the forward 50, we still just bomb the ball hoping someone is there. On a few occasions we actually bombed the ball high in the air to the smaller guys in the forward line.
Petrie is still stugling cannnot hold his position or marks. Maguire played his first game for the season and beat Petrie.
In the second half Brown played in the forward line and we looked a lot better. He contested well and kept the footy in the forward line. In the last quarter Petrie went into the ruck and had a slight impact on the game. This is where i think he should be playing, changing with Hale.
I actually thought Baird player pretty good. on numerous occasions he cleared the ball out of the back 50.
Picione played ok, goes in hard and can get the ball.
Grant made two errors which cost us goals. Basic foot skill errors kicking it to a teamate and totally missing the target.
All in all its only a practice match. We can look it at this way, we played average most of the day but only lost by 9 points.

Thanks guys for keeping us non attenders up to speed - I really appreciate it.

A mate of mine who did go said we played like crap and showed no improvement on last years form.

Oh well - its only a practice match - lets just hope the players had the same thoughts.

Carlos said:
Harro put in his best effort for the pre-season so far. While still not up to his usual pre-season form (usually he is our clear standout) he was still getting his hands on the ball and getting in and under.

Baird played and was ordinary. Played on Jason Blake and did effect a couple of good spoils but that was a bout it. Just doesnt look up to the standard anymore.

Agree with all you said carlos - i went to the game but i slightly disagree with 2 points -

If you remember Daniel Harris got a bone jarring crunch from Guerra minutes into the game - enough to send some players out of the game - but harro got a up,was shaky for the rest of the quarter - then worked himself back into the game - considering the heavy contact he got early - kicked a super goal in the last.

I felt John Baird was superb on a back flank and was his bast game in over a year at least - heis rebounding,long kicking and defencesive work was sound.

Thats my 20 cents worth.

Not to concerned with loss,just the way we handled it at times was a worry - id rather be winning Rounds 16-22 ,than winning these games thats for sure :)

Was at the game, arrived half way through the 1st 1/4. Ended up sitting up about 5 rows infront of the coachs panel.

Laidley was very intense about Piccone, shifting him arround, trying to get him to lift his work rate. Listened as he berated Donald Mcdonald for suggesting something Laidley didn't agree with.

To the game.

Forward line;

Really no main target, relied on small men to kick our goals. Ball was rebounded way to easily out of our 50metre arc. To many times the ball was roostered high ala the Carey days, to only see one North player out numbered by 2-3 Saints players; and the ball moved out by them.

Midfield

Liked what i saw in the midfield, Grima, Watson, Harro are players who i hope will be around our club for along time.

Defence

Really loved the way our defence worked together, backing each other, Pratt is good, also Eddie Sainsbury was very very handy, loved how he backed himself under pressure.

Individual players

Makepeace; he is a very underrated player, kicked a goal, was great as a crumbing forward.

Rocca; very out of touch, didn't give any sort of focal point at all.

Grima, loved his work rate, watched him chase his oponent the entire length of the field after being beaten in a contest, loved his passing and quick hands.

Watson, this bloke HAS to get a chance, he was good with his disposal, accurate except for one wayward pass.

Sinclair; he was good when he was on, backed himself accurate with his passes.

There was more from the game, don't know if anybody else got the s h i t s with the totally biased ground announcer, who gave a running comentery on every Saints player change, goal scored by them, and even started snoring when the Roos scored a goal. Oh well my first game report for the Bigfooty Roos.

I must have watched a different game
Grima looked slow but got a bit of the ball worth continuing with.
Mcintosh did'nt do enough to get a game in round 1 but might now with a few injured players
Sainsbury got a little bit of ball but Milne had a heap of it also, loses his player way to much
Colbert clearly our best along with stevens
Pratt still has a long way to go(skills bad)
Hale actually looked like he belonged in the side hopefully his confidence grows
Petrie still a very ordinary game took a really nice mark but then kicked a 30 metre pass straight to a St kilda player
Harding ordinary, going no where fast
Lets be honest the injury to Corey is sad for him but a bonus for the club.
Crap game St kilda flooded as much as I've seen any side in the last few years but North continued to kick it long and straight to them. Our skills were terrible

Was at the game today, pretty disappointed that an almost full strength Kangaroos went down to a 2nd rate Saints. Just my notes on their performance.

Our defenders played a pretty good game keeping it tight and limiting the number of opportunities for St Kilda forwards, good games from Sansbury, Stevens, Colbert, Makepeace and Sinclair.

Other positives include good runs from Watson, and tough games from Harris and Picione, who I think was unfaily treated in previous posts

I think there were many areas where we were let down:
1) Our forward structure: Sav was pretty slow today leading, and one time pulled up sore from a 50m lead. Petrie was outmarked all game. Our only kicks on goal seemed to come from marks outside 50m, or running in from 50-60m (unsually Harvey). This would explain the high number of behinds/out of bounds. This was also a problem last week with Thomson, Rocca and Petrie all outmarked

Our half forwards need to become more inventive, many times we had players unmarked in the opposite flank but lack of peripheral vision and paniccing, often lead to kicks to contested marks. We need to learn to switch play in forward situations, which the Saints did this pretty well to overcome our defenders today.

2) Mid-field kicks to stationary players. There were so few leads today throught the midfield and wing, kicks to stationary players were often intercepted, or resulted in unnecessary contests. We can't purely rely on Wells all the time, there should be 5-6 players capable of opening up the midfield

3) Discipline. Too many dumb free kicks and 50m penalties (another 100m today).

4) Intensity. So may times we game up chasing opposition, and instead opting for the dive tackle to avoid having to continue running (one thing I hate us doing). Milne had a 10 bounce run through the wing in the 4th quarter, which every player he beat gave up the chase. After this I decided I was better off beating the traffic...

5) Opportunities. We completely dominated the 1st quarter, with the ball very rarely entering the saints 50. However we only had 1.3 at quarter time, we should've had 3 goals. In the opening minutes of the final term, we bounced out early, but only managed 2 behinds and 1 out of bounds.

<End of Rant>

Forgot this bit;

we just do not seem to man up, to many time we lost possesion of the ball, and the Saints easily feed it out to one of there players standing on his own, metres in the clear. This happened dozens of times, and has to be looked at as it happened last week against the Eagles.

gokangas said:
A mate of mine who did go said we played like crap and showed no improvement on last years form.

Oh well - its only a practice match - lets just hope the players had the same thoughts.

Well, seems a few words like that sums up the second half as I got thier early in the third quarter and I wasn't really impressed with our 'team game'. The Sainters were running in 2's & 3's but luckily for us couldn't put the effort on the scoreboard. Our fwd structure is of great concern as Sav has no helpers when the ball gets bombed and is continually outnumbered and Petrie is dropping marks like it's going out of fashion but I'll give him kudos for some passages of play that looked like the typical Drew that gets overlooked by many and a 'sit' for a high mark over Koschitzke. Still struggling though >> no longer a goalkicking threat. Opponents can risk thier worse defender on him and still get even on the match up as he keeps letting himself down with drop marks.

On the flipside, the likes of Stevens, Sansbury, Brent Harvey, Sinclair, Grant, Archer, Makepeace look quite impressive but not playing in a team orientated way. Harro kicked a nice one from the pocket in the last quarter but I felt that the scoreboard flattered our second half efforts.

Harris 10 said:
I must have watched a different game
Grima looked slow but got a bit of the ball worth continuing with.
Mcintosh did'nt do enough to get a game in round 1 but might now with a few injured players
Sainsbury got a little bit of ball but Milne had a heap of it also, loses his player way to much
Colbert clearly our best along with stevens
Pratt still has a long way to go(skills bad)
Hale actually looked like he belonged in the side hopefully his confidence grows
Petrie still a very ordinary game took a really nice mark but then kicked a 30 metre pass straight to a St kilda player
Harding ordinary, going no where fast
Lets be honest the injury to Corey is sad for him but a bonus for the club.
Crap game St kilda flooded as much as I've seen any side in the last few years but North continued to kick it long and straight to them. Our skills were terrible

Forgot about Watson nothing to get excited about.
Piacone got a bit of ball but how players continue to make AFL level and can't kick is beyond me.

Honestly if some players fart, people would get excited about it on this board.

It's going to be a long year

52373239.jpg

That is the best kicking action in the game :eek:

Im with you harris 10. Like mike sheanan wrote in his article when were up and running we look so good, but when things go wrong we look like were taking 2 steps backwards.
I think some people on this forum are too one eyed and just bc they like a particular player or they hate a particualr player they get judged on that and not there performance. Watson didnt to much at all. For a top ten draft pick its pretty disappointing. Hamish was ok doesnt deserve a game for round 1 though but bc of mckernan may be lucky (which isnt a bad thing).
It always seems that ou midfielders and small forwards
are the only ones playing good. What the hell is going on wiht our kpp, were really stuckling in the department.

********, it sounds like the team is falling apart.

2 weeks out from the season proper and I have no idea how the team is going to line up.

The forward line is looking very sad.

God, I hope we cant read too much into our preseason form.

Carlos said:
Drew was another who had a better game than his previous pre-season efforts so far. Worled hard across half forward and while he did some things that had me groaning, he also threw himself into alot of packs and pulled down some good marks, including one classic hanger in the last quarter. His kicking is still very hit an dmiss though. Just looks so lazy some times. But it was a better effort all the same.

Petrie was rubbish. I don't know how you can bag Picioane and praise Petrie, because one was clearly better than the other and it wasn't Drew. I love the bloke, but he just looks hopeless. Doesn't lead to the right spots, doesn't hold marks and did all his good work in the last quarter when St Kilda didn't look like they gave a crap. I love Drew, but don't try to sugarcoat his game, because it's not going to work.

Makepeace was great. Eddie was good, but so was Milne. Pratt tried to belt Sam Fisher. McIntosh should have gotten more game time.

Roos vs St.Kilda