Rumour Ross Lyon to coach Carlton in 2022.

Carlton seem to think Ross will be the magical tactical fix, but time and time again Ross fold back defensive teams are trumped by talent

Ross Lyon got a Limited freo team to a grand final in 2013. Guys like Matt De Boer, Clance Pearce, Nick Suban and Tendai Mzungu dont win Brownlows or All Australians

Imagine hiring Ross Lyon.

I reckon Carlton fans being the most short-term oriented in the AFL will enjoy Walsh winning a brownlow and Mackay winning a coleman. Not getting close to the flag will no doubt be "someone else's fault" and definitely not Ross Lyon's.

There are more Nick Suban's than Nat Fyfe's and far more Shane Kersten's than Nick Riewoldt's that come through the doors of an AFL club. It seems keeping champions happy is enough to satisfy the media, because if you are only of the ability of Ed Langdon or Shane Kersten, then clearly it's YOUR fault you aren't a champion, how dare you expect to be coached up to improve?

Ross Lyon should coach basketball. Five people seems the perfect number for him. Maybe soccer but even then I'm not sure he has the man management skills for 11.

A list of 44? No freakin chance. If you think Williams is unfit or Saad is crying on the bench wait until half the foot soldiers you need to field a team of 22 all realise they actually hate footy and don't want to play it any more.

Never mind the inevitable staff turnover that's going to come with "the bubble" and whatever other HR nonsense goes on behind the scenes. These poor losers had to deal with Dopey Trigg as their CEO and no sooner do they get him out the door then RTB comes through it!

Look at the downgrade of North Melbourne Pagan to Carlton Pagan then the downgrade of West Coast/Collingwood Malthouse to Carlton Malthouse.

Then start at a considerably lower point with Lyon.

They won't win the spoon with Lyon in the chair but they absolutely will with the next coach after his inevitable departure.
Funny how the elite players of Riewoldt, Pav and Fyfe like Lyon yet the fringe players hate Lyon.

That tells you that the better players are willing to work hard to improve and play finals.

Ross Lyon coaching basketball? Unlikely to work 24 second shot clock is aabout attacking. If he doesnt have 1 or 2 solid players scoring an average of 25 points a game, he wont work.

Soccer? His defensive tactics would work. If he was a european socccer coach, He would be managing 5-10 teams over a 20 year period. Might not win a Champions league or Premier League title but would win an FA cup, League cup and possibly europa league (2nd tier european tournament behind the champions league).

You could say he could be a Jose Murinho type that is defensive, rarely plays youth but wins trophies. Or even a Sam Allydyce or Tony Pulis type that rarely plays youth, goes full on defensive but turns a relegation threated side to a midtable side.

not that great a call, irrespective of your opinion on Lyon, Freo were well under way with Harvey at that stage
Sorry mate but thats a lie.

Mark Harvey developed some kids but his tactics.....

Ok we lost to the demons by 89 points in 2011. This was the exact same demons side that a few weeks later lost by 186 to geelong in geelong.

you've got a short memory, thats what happened with Malthouse when he came to Carlton.
A bit late with response sorry, but I don't think that counts considering Ratten almost had us in a Prelim the year prior, heaps of injuries stuffed us the year he got sacked and then Malthouse only made it because the Bombers were kicked out.
Technically correct but we had recently been in there for a few years only a year back, should have specified out of the 8 for an extended period of time.
But still noted.

Sorry mate but thats a lie.

Mark Harvey developed some kids but his tactics.....

Ok we lost to the demons by 89 points in 2011. This was the exact same demons side that a few weeks later lost by 186 to geelong in geelong.

we also lost by 98 points to north who didn't even make the finals. it was an abysmal year.

Rumour Ross Lyon to coach Carlton in 2022.