Toast Ross Lyon

If I was in a workplace and someone was talking to me and I said 'I was going to quit but suddenly things are looking up for the company so I'm going to stick around' it says a lot for the current administration. The corollary is that the fact I was planning to quit says a lot about my mindset before the fortunes of the company turned around. Whether that is due to the previous administration you can debate - but the fact my attitude to the company changed in line with the change in administration would suggest that.

Let's put it in the most simplest fashion.

Mark Harvey was the best coach we had at the club by a fair margin. Until we got the best coach in the league.

I don't understand why the peanuts have to put Mark Harvey down in order to glorify Ross Lyon. I reckon at least two thirds of the clubs in the competition would kill to have our coach. Doesn't mean we were bottom rung in the senior coach stakes 13 months ago

How often does your missus give you a slap?:D

Not nearly often enough, obviously.

If I was in a workplace and someone was talking to me and I said 'I was going to quit but suddenly things are looking up for the company so I'm going to stick around' it says a lot for the current administration. The corollary is that the fact I was planning to quit says a lot about my mindset before the fortunes of the company turned around. Whether that is due to the previous administration you can debate - but the fact my attitude to the company changed in line with the change in administration would suggest that.

Except the previous administration in this case is the current administration. McPharlin made his mind up to make 2012 his last year "a couple of years ago", when both Steves were in their seats.

Cool story though.

It'll be interesting what happens with Harvey and Port then. If he's as good as some say he should have no problem getting the job, since a few of the more fancied candidates have already pulled out.

The last third of this season was the best Freo has ever played - heck we led the competition in almost all categories that matter.

Yes I was talking about this with a mate today. Remember how the Saints came out in the 3rd year under Ross and just destroyed the comp, were practically unbeatable. I got a shiver thinking about Freo having a year like that. We are well ahead of the curve he had at Saint Kilda. Next year could be real interesting depending on what happens in the off season in terms of bringing players to the club and the development within.

Not nearly often enough, obviously.

Except the previous administration in this case is the current administration. McPharlin made his mind up to make 2012 his last year "a couple of years ago", when both Steves were in their seats.

Cool story though.

Yeah, so it is obvious that the new coach that the current admin, (which was also the admin 2 years ago), appointed is the primary diving force behind him staying.

"A couple of years ago, I probably would have said I'd wrap things up about now. But it's just been an exciting year - personally and with the team - with a new coach and I'd like to stick around for a bit longer.

The Steve's were too busy plotting plans to personally piss you off Reggie, ( call it getting the deck chairs in place), before climbing the big mountain and getting a top-line coach.

Yes Harvey took us to a few peaks. But we were NEVER a serious premiership threat, (in hindsight on my behalf).

Now we are. Well, IMO we are at least.

And Clay, I don't think that this is necessarily sticking a knife into Harvey as such, but the difference between the two coaching regimes is so stark and blatant, that it is nigh on impossible not be drawn into making the comparison.

I thank him for his time and effort, but if that comparison makes Harvey look second rate, (and it does), then so be it.

Any ideas why Lyon persisted with Silvagni on The Powerful Bogan. I would have switched Dawson onto The Powerful Bogan and Silvagni onto Tippet at half time. I thought that was dumb. First time I've thought that we had the matchups wrong all year.
Either a 6'3" guy in poor form on a 6'5" guy in white-hot form; or put him on a 6'8" guy he never had a hope of competing with.
I don't think swapping horses would've made *that* much difference.

Either a 6'3" guy in poor form on a 6'5" guy in white-hot form; or put him on a 6'8" guy he never had a hope of competing with.
I don't think swapping horses would've made *that* much difference.

Yeah, I don't think it would have made much difference. The problem was higher up the ground. The footy was coming in too easily.

I still think we had it the wrong way 'round though.

Yes I was talking about this with a mate today. Remember how the Saints came out in the 3rd year under Ross and just destroyed the comp, were practically unbeatable. I got a shiver thinking about Freo having a year like that. We are well ahead of the curve he had at Saint Kilda. Next year could be real interesting depending on what happens in the off season in terms of bringing players to the club and the development within.
Yeah we just need one year with everyone healthy. Please, footy gods, please, whatever you want!

And Tippett dominated as well.

I still don't rate Silvagni as anything better than depth, but we did the best we could with what we had.

Still would like some better key defender depth at the club.
yeah, Tippett showed that Dawson did a great job, as someone previously mentioned.
We dont have anyone like mcpharlin coming through. We're blessed with negators or 'talls' around 191cm but really need a 195cm athletic, rebounding, marking general. Guess they don't grow on trees.

yeah, Tippett showed that Dawson did a great job, as someone previously mentioned.
We dont have anyone like mcpharlin coming through. We're blessed with negators or 'talls' around 191cm but really need a 195cm athletic, rebounding, marking general. Guess they don't grow on trees.
He was a top 10 draft pick

Dawson had 2 good finals

If the best KPP are off the table, wouldn't mind going an inside mid like Wines if by some miracle he's still there, then going tall all the way through.

As has been said before, there are 5 or 6 KPP's that we MAY potentially be interested in. Even if we are only interested in 3 or 4, it would be unprecedented for all of those to be gone in the first round I would think.

See, I can talk serious shite too, (for the naysayers out there).

And Tippett dominated as well.

I still don't rate Silvagni as anything better than depth, but we did the best we could with what we had.

Still would like some better key defender depth at the club.

I think the Prelim showed that both Dawson and Silvagni did a decent job behind a tiring midfield.

Toast Ross Lyon