Round 1, 2010...Just bring it.

deja_vu.gif

I'm having flashbacks with some of these pre-season predictions.

deja_vu.gif

I'm having flashbacks with some of these pre-season predictions.
Your mob seems to forget that it beat us by 19 (20?) points last time. With Fev kicking 9. I would suggest having Cousins and having Fev and Judd out gives more reason to be somewhat confident than last year's match with only Cousins' return.

Hi guys and girls.

I've updated my fixture builder with the 2010 dates.

It builds CSV, iCal and PDF fixtures to import into Outlook/Thunderbird/Google Calendar/etc. Obviously the PDF is for printing!

You can customise your calendars, set reminders, categories, etc.

I have also built iCal (ics) calendars you can subscribe to, which will be updated with scores etc. once the season has started.

To create a customised calendar, go to: http://www.thismonkey.com/cgi-bin/football-fixture.pl?start=2010&end=2010&type=ha&code=afl

and to subscribe to 2010 calendars, go to: http://offsite.thismonkey.com/fixtures/afl/calendars/aus/2010/index.html

Please leave feedback if you like it, hate it, or think it needs improvement.

(You can find other football codes at http://www.thismonkey.com)

Thanks,
Go Pies,
Scott

Carlton are rubbish. They just signed away their best player becuase their 2nd best player told them to.
Ratten is a pissweak coach who lets Judd coach for him.
Kernahan is the most spineless leader in the AFL and shouldbe banned from speaking. Actually he should be banned from the club, but they are too gutless to tell him to go.
Yep. We are shit.
But the Blues always give me somethng to laugh at.

Quality discussion taking place on the Carlton board. A few posters including a moderator believe Richo and Cousins wouldn't make their best 22. I actually can't get my head around how stupid they are.

Dont rate Carltanks list at all. Jeez I reckon Id be a shot at making their list and I havent played since Under 13s when I mostly sat on the bench.
(they do have an opening for drunken fkwit, tho I dont like my prospects of winning the Coleman, as I mostly played U13s in the back pocket)

We have more talent I think if Hardwick gets the lads playing as a team we will smash them r1 and will be a great confidence booster. I think this will happen, and we will be lining his path with rose petals instead of chook poo.

(is it r1 yet?....)

I cant believe Im looking forward to the NAB Cup ffs, this happened last year as well.

Richo's career goal tally - 800
Carlton's entire forward line tally - 591

Brad Fisher has the best individual season by any of their forwards with 39 goals in 19 games. Richo flogged that playing on the wing.

He also has the same number of brownlow votes in the last 2 seasons (one which he spent on the bench) as their entire forward line has in their careers. That's including Waite, Houlihan and Kreuzer as forwards too.

If we get Thorpe we are well and truly set for height on our forward line:

Nahas Thorpe Morton

Riewoldt Richo Collins

Newman Cotchin Cousins

Rance Tambling Moore

Edwards McGuane Polo

Vickery Deledio Foley

Int: Martin, Graham, Jackson, Post

Emg - Thompson, pick 19, Simmonds, Connors, Tuck, McMahon

I just cannot see a no judd no fev carlton matching us across the park

B: Mitch Farmer Will Thursfield Kelvin Moore

HB: Richard Tambling Alex Rance Chris Newman

C: Andrew Collins Trent Cotchin Brett Deledio

HF: Mitch Morton Matthew Richardson Jack Riewoldt

F: Robin Nahas Mitch Thorp Shane Edwards

R: Angus Graham, Nathan Foley, Ben Cousins

Call me optimistic but looking at that team, I do not believe it is that bad. In fact, it looks quite good.

I am confident Hardwick can get this team playing a good brand of football to make us competitive for season 2010.

As for Round One. I cannot wait. :D

I'm sick of seeing people including guys like Thorpe in our 2010 team. What makes you think we will end up with Thorpe? And even if we did what makes you think he's good enough to get a game round 1?

It's an indictment on the state of our list if we think a guy like Thorpe could slide into our starting 18 so easily.

If we get Thorpe we are well and truly set for height on our forward line:

Nahas Thorpe Morton

Riewoldt Richo Collins

Newman Cotchin Cousins

Rance Tambling Moore

Edwards McGuane Polo

Vickery Deledio Foley

Int: Martin, Graham, Jackson, Post

Emg - Thompson, pick 19, Simmonds, Connors, Tuck, McMahon

I just cannot see a no judd no fev carlton matching us across the park
lol Tambling CHB with Moore and Rance on the flanks while Thursfield is out of the team.

I'm sick of seeing people including guys like Thorpe in our 2010 team. What makes you think we will end up with Thorpe? And even if we did what makes you think he's good enough to get a game round 1?

It's an indictment on the state of our list if we think a guy like Thorpe could slide into our starting 18 so easily.

LOL umm yer damn straight it is.

We did finish second last.....

Also we are in pole position for him and if he does come to us I am confident he will be in line for a round one selection.

Farmer too. The guy couldn't crack into a SANFL team and was just traded for Schulz FFS. Now he's going to slot straight into our back pocket.

lol Tambling CHB with Moore and Rance on the flanks while Thursfield is out of the team.

My bad Rance was meant to be CHB. As for Thursfield I think he is the big guy down there that will miss out. I don't know why I said Big because he is an absolute twig and that is his problem. He needs at least 8 kg on his frame before he is competitive against power forwards like Fev.

Mitch Thorpe had a couple of injury plauged seasons and couldn't break into a premiership winning side. This does not mean he won't be a walk up for our FF position. Slotting him in then is no different to putting Gourdis in and Thorpe has shown more than him at VFL level.

I hope we don't see Simmonds, Mcmahon, Tuck or Moore in the team. Hopefully we see Mcguane and Thursfield looking bulked up to 90kg+. Would be nice to see Farmer impress in the preseason and find a spot in defence. We need to keep Post up forward because we need tall forwards. Here's my team :cool:

FB Edwards Thursfield(90kg+) Newman
HB Farmer Mcguane(90k+) Rance
C Richo Cotchin Collins
HF Cousins Post King
FF Nahas Reiwoldt Morton
FOLL Graham Deledio Foley
INT Tambling Vickery Jackson Martin
EMER Thomson White Polo Moore

I think we need someone like King at half forward too. Keep King out of the defensive half. Rotate Tambo through defence and midfield. Keep him out of the forward half

B: Polo - Thursfield - Moore
HB: McMahon - McGuane - Tambling
C: Newman - Cousins - White
HF: Cotchin - Riewoldt - Morton
F: Nahas - Richo - Post

1R: Simmonds - Deledio - Foley

Int: Jackson - Edwards - Graham - Collins

EMG: Martin/Farmer/King

From the Carlton board. Bolded are the players this particular poster didn't think we could match up on:

FB: Joseph Jamison Thornton

HB: Bower Waite Russell

C: Gibbs McLean Walker

HF: Garlett O’hAilpin Houlihan

FF: Kreuzer Henderson Betts

RR: Warnock Griggs Murphy

IC: Hampson, Armfield, Carrazzo, Simpson

EM: Mark Austin - Mitch Robinson - Heath Scotland - Hadley

Very presumptuous list, considering 4 - 5 of them aren't proven AFL players.

Here's my 22 without injuries:

FB: Newman Rance Thursfield

HB: Edwards McGuane Moore

C: Tambling Cotchin Deledio

HF: Cousins Riewoldt Nahas

FF: Morton Richardson Vickery

Foll: Graham Jackson Foley

Inter: (Martin) Collins Thomson Browne

My bad Rance was meant to be CHB. As for Thursfield I think he is the big guy down there that will miss out. I don't know why I said Big because he is an absolute twig and that is his problem. He needs at least 8 kg on his frame before he is competitive
no chance of Rance getting a game before Thursfield.

From the Carlton board. Bolded are the players this particular poster didn't think we could match up on:

Walker and McClean don't even need an opponent cos they are shit :cool:

LOL. :thumbsu:

Walker is an out and out dud of the highest order.

Waite is coming back from a serious knee injury, someone should tell the Carlton flogs Wallace is coaching us anymore and the same mistakes made in Round One this season won't be made again.

Jamison will have a hard time with either Richo, Riewoldt or Vickery. Maybe even Thorp.

McLean
has gone backwards at Melbourne and is a one paced goer. Happy for him to be the one to get the majority of their disposals.

Kruezer is a top quality player. He will be one we have to match up on.

Henderson, still a baby and our defenders will be breathing a sigh of relief to see him instead of Fevola.

Warnock, LOL, that's as bad as the Walker call. He doesn't hurt you this kid and has about the same input as Angus Graham. Not much.

Murphy, Kruezer, Gibbs, Betts.

We stop them they have very little else.

In saying all that, they better have an eye on us too.

Deledio, Cousins, Cotchin, Foley, Richardson, Riewoldt
are a very classy bunch. If they get some confidence, we may see a rout going the other way next season.

Damian Hardwick is the X Factor.

By no means are we going to be world beaters, but if clubs take us for granted in season 2010 we may shock a few of them.

Farmer - Thursty - Mcguane

Newman - Rance - Tambling

Edwards - Deledio - Cousins

King - Riewoldt - Post

Morton - Richo - Nahas

Vickery - Cotchin - Foley

Simmonds, Martin, Moore, Jackson

Farmer could just as easily be polo...

King in their for defensive pressure/tag carrazo or whoever is their half back distributor

Round 1, 2010...Just bring it.