Preview Round 1 2018: Richmond vs Carlton @ The MCG. Thursday 22 March @ 7:25pm

So with Houli and Prestia confirmed out i reckon we will go from our premiership side:

Out: Houli, Prestia, Broad, Rioli
In: Short, Miles, Conca, Bolton

If not Miles i reckon it will be C Ellis
I went to the training today and I think those changes may be close.

I saw Short, Miles, Bolton, CEllis, Conca, Higgins, Soldo and Callum Moore out there. No Houli, Prestia and obviously no Rioli and Broad from the Premiership team.

I haven't been to an open training before so I don't know what it means that those players were there.

May I say though, skills looked very good across the board. Hitting up targets and linking up well.

Not sure if you guys watched that 3 part series with Miles involved, he mentioned he had off season surgery and he played VFL to get some touch back as he wasnt ready for AFL level at that point

If he was 100% he would have played JLT, he wasnt just overlooked
Played ok for somebody not ready because of injury concerns too...

So with Houli and Prestia confirmed out i reckon we will go from our premiership side:

Out: Houli, Prestia, Broad, Rioli
In: Short, Miles, Conca, Bolton

If not Miles i reckon it will be C Ellis

Yeah would think CEllis would be ahead based on that he played both JLT and Miles didn't get a gig in either.

Miles wasnt not picked, he was not ready due to off season surgery

as i highlighted in my post above

Good to know we’ll have something to melt about tonight, whether or not Miles/C Ellis is picked. :D
I'll get in early.
CONCAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thank god we are playing the Blues.

Imagine if we still spank these useless flogs by 60 points with 4 premiership players missing?

Their excuses of being a ‘young, developing side’ will be trotted out faster than John Elliot could stuff cash into a brown paper bag.

We’d need our entire starting 22 out before anyone would accept we actually have decent depth.

I went to the training today and I think those changes may be close.

I saw Short, Miles, Bolton, CEllis, Conca, Higgins, Soldo and Callum Moore out there. No Houli, Prestia and obviously no Rioli and Broad from the Premiership team.

I haven't been to an open training before so I don't know what it means that those players were there.

May I say though, skills looked very good across the board. Hitting up targets and linking up well.
FO ya oppo scout :D

Out: Pres, Sausage, Broady, Bach.
In: Snippa, Bolton, Shorty, Concs.

To be honest as far as ins and outs go we’re doing ok. Snippa essentially plays the same role as Pres, Shorty is best 22 in my opinion and Conc/Bolton instead of Broad/Rioli isn’t that horrific as a drop off.

I don’t know why but I’m a tad nervous. Pessimism is still there even with the Premiership. I really want to smack the Blues by 10 goals +

Better midfield by far - their centre bounce best is Murphy, Cripps and E.Curnow, rotation is Kennedy, Dow and...Petrevski-Seton? We have them by plenty. Their backs are way too tall for our smalls in the forward line. Weitering, Jones, Marchbank, Plowman all in the same defensive line?

Worried about how small we are in defence.

Small? Rance, Astbury, Grimes, with McIntosh floating back. Plenty of height.
Not worried about those boys, mainly with Conca and Shorty's ins. Because Ellis might play Broad's role, we seem a bit smaller. But the defence is the strongest in the league so we should be fine.

Out: Pres, Sausage, Broady, Bach.
In: Snippa, Bolton, Shorty, Concs.

To be honest as far as ins and outs go we’re doing ok. Snippa essentially plays the same role as Pres, Shorty is best 22 in my opinion and Conc/Bolton instead of Broad/Rioli isn’t that horrific as a drop off.

I don’t know why but I’m a tad nervous. Pessimism is still there even with the Premiership. I really want to smack the Blues by 10 goals +

Better midfield by far - their centre bounce best is Murphy, Cripps and E.Curnow, rotation is Kennedy, Dow and...Petrevski-Seton? We have them by plenty. Their backs are way too tall for our smalls in the forward line. Weitering, Jones, Marchbank, Plowman all in the same defensive line?

Worried about how small we are in defence.
Our defence is the least of my worries, Rance has them and the guys going in and out going like a well-oiled machine.

Still think McIntosh will go back to replace broad.Still leaving 4 spots for players to come in.I think it will be a tall anyway because of the number of tall fwds Carlton have.

Short has the best form of any of the sml/med defenders he will come in for Houli.
Miles or Lloyd should come in for Prestia based on FORM and PERFORMANCES at both levels..
Bolton will come in for Rioli
Leaves one spot and i hope its Callum Moore freeing Caddy up to play in the midfield most of the time.

B: Vlastuin -Astbury - Grimes
H: McIntosh - Rance - Short.
C:: Grigg - Caddy - Edwards
HF: Butler - Riewoldt - Castagna
F: Bolton - Moore - Townsend.
R:: Nankervis - Martin - Cotchin
Int: Lambert - Graham - Miles - B Ellis.

Our defence is the least of my worries, Rance has them and the guys going in and out going like a well-oiled machine.

Yeah I’m not obscenely worried about them just worried we’re a little short with Conca and Shorty (aptly named) in. But we'll be fine. I’m a victim of my father's pessimism haha.

On another hand, did you hear The Age Real Footy Podcast? They mention that we’ve gone full mindfulness, similar to how the defensive line were using it in "Yellow and Black". If our midfield can be that connected (more than they already are), phwoar...