Autopsy Round 1, 2022: Hawks skin the Roos

omg read what I said please. I love him but why is it he takes an uncontested mark on the wing and the crowd roars yet Frost had 12 intercept possessions without a murmur? My comment is nothing about his race if thats where you are coming from. Racism is disgusting ok?…I like the idea of players coming from other countries and being successful. It promotes our game to other communities. I wonder if thats part of what it seems to me, to be a phenomenon of his popularity. Again, I love CJ!

‘But I can’t be racist, I’ve got a black friend!’.

FactsNotBS

2 years ago he was a delist for us. Check the history of his thread. Not many kind takes with respect to his football. He is now a gun, and low and behold, people are pumping him up. If he couldn't play, no one would care to write about him. The way ppl speak about him is similar to Day because they are our best two young players and play a very exciting run and gun style. It is really that simple

omg read what I said please. I love him but why is it he takes an uncontested mark on the wing and the crowd roars yet Frost had 12 intercept possessions without a murmur? My comment is nothing about his race if thats where you are coming from. Racism is disgusting ok?…I like the idea of players coming from other countries and being successful. It promotes our game to other communities. I wonder if thats part of what it seems to me, to be a phenomenon of his popularity. Again, I love CJ!

Generally speaking when a number of people call you out for something that has clearly been perceived as an issue that means what you are saying is an issue, it hasn’t passed the pub test and you need to contemplate why that was the case.

Even if you have not meant what you have said their is a myriad of ways you may have said it better, understood why it was seen to be an issue and then admit that it was mistake because you have understood the issue, all you have done so far is shift any accountability over genuinely what was a pretty shit post for more then the bad reason.

But hey you can do none of the above…

Watching him early in his career, the main thing I thought would stop him was his kicking. Seems to be an asset now.
Watching him early in his career I thought he just needs to slow down a fraction and take some time to think his way through each situation. His kicking has improved as his decision making has improved. Confidence and opportunity are the only things that can stop him now.

I hunt know whether having really really dark skin is a factor, or it’s just ‘ethnic’ body shape but CJ just looks a million dollars, and now his AFL effectiveness seems to be matching that look, so people are getting genuinely excited.

It’s just like a singer who sings as well as the next person, but is also extremely attractive. The star power is amplified

Spangher was nowhere close to the most talented player in our side on grand final day in 2014. Did it stop us cheering him like mad whenever he came near it - and giving him the equal biggest cheer of anyone when he got his medal (along with Cyril)? Nope - because he was a cult figure among supporters. We loved him, we loved his rising above dickheads calling him a spud and his truckload of endeavour.

CJ looks impressive, he is bloody fast and intercepts seemingly from nowhere at times. He’s rapidly becoming more and more of a complete player despite his young age and number of games played. He’s arguably the most exciting player to watch for us alongside Day (who also gets huge cheers whenever he goes near it). He plays exciting footy and he‘a got a look that screams marketability. Kids absolutely love him - and they probably couldn’t tell you the first thing about his back story. He just looks cool and plays flashy football. Stats =/= excitement - as Jaeger’s 24 pressure acts over the weekend will tell you. The way CJ plays is exciting - if you think the way Blake Hardwick plays is exciting then you’re just being dishonest, and Hardwick is probably my favourite present Hawk.

To diminish his X-factor and playing ability compared to our other hard working defenders is just bizarre. To suggest he’s only a cult figure because of some feel-good reverse racism - then just shut the **** up.

when the crowd cheered loudly for a CJ uncontested mark on the wing, I thought, wow! What is going on here?
Crowds often cheer in those type of moments to show their appreciation for the player having played an outstanding game. Those type of moments specifically because they'd ordinarily receive no real reaction, so it becomes clear that everyone is cheering the player rather than the mundane mark.

Exactly the same way every uncontested mark chipped around the back half of the ground in the last 10 minutes of the 2014 and 2015 Grand Finals was met with cheers and applause. A celebration of the players, not the possession.

I meant to really focus on Frost. Athletically similar to CJ, he also closed down key forwards, not first gamers, and repelled more attacks than CJ. …and Im sorry, just my opinion, but NO WAY did CJ have as much impact as Frost.

I just did a stats comparison on the AFL site. Frost more intercept pos. 12 to 9. 4 tackles v 1. CJ more turnovers and more uncontested pos.

There is definitely a phenomenon going on here I reckon! Why is it that he is seen to be so much more exciting? Scrim, Hardwick and Frost arent athletically challenged. CJ does some really embarrassing turnovers like Frost but somehow we forget CJ’s and not Frosts.

Scrim hits targets, he has better skills both sides, a better intercept mark, makes better decisions, is more consistent etc etc, his skills are way more silky.
I agree, even the coaches seem obsessed with CJ.

Hardwick beats his opponent every week. Most of them are the oppos gun forward who kick goals. He gets coaches votes but fans consistently dont have him in our best. Incredibly consistent.

You have to admit there is a phenomenon that makes CJ seem to be way better than he actually is compared to other Hawk stars.

Is it because we all want a person who was born in another country, who is not native to our game, to be good at our game? Is that what is exciting?

Naturally charismatic people are a phenomenon and there are not to many more natural at it then CJ.

The amazing thing about CJ (which unsurprisingly the media has ignored) he played 3 quarters for BH to be considered fit for round 1 and was probably BOG. Must have outstanding natural fitness

Defensively CJ has to have the widest circle of influence I’ve ever seen. Only Frost would come sort of close for us. The ball is anywhere near him and he’s able to get a fist on it or mark it.

CJ makes the ground so much smaller for our opposition. His offensive work is great to watch. But defensively he’s incredible.

The amount of times he has and will stop a certain goal/ mark is going to be very high.
Coudn't agree with you anymore. Give a full season he will be a cult figure of Hawks.
CJ : We love you

Kids absolutely love him - and they probably couldn’t tell you the first thing about his back story. He just looks cool and plays flashy football
Re CJ, we were sat down the end of the G on Sunday next to the dug out where the Hawk boys came off the ground. I was with my own kid who is a massive CJ fan and wanted to stick around to try and get a high 5 from him. Anyway, as the hawks milled around at the end, all we could hear from those around us were “CJ!!!!”. All the kids were just screaming at him and trying to get him to do his little tick-tock dance which he eventually did. He was the only player they wanted. If he’s not already, he’ll be our most popular player by the end of the year.

Frost hadn't been out injured for a lengthy period, CJ has.
It's a welcome back.
You're not.

Generally speaking when a number of people call you out for something that has clearly been perceived as an issue that means what you are saying is an issue, it hasn’t passed the pub test and you need to contemplate why that was the case.

Even if you have not meant what you have said their is a myriad of ways you may have said it better, understood why it was seen to be an issue and then admit that it was mistake because you have understood the issue, all you have done so far is shift any accountability over genuinely what was a pretty sh*t post for more then the bad reason.

But hey you can do none of the above…

You determined it was a racist post when it wasn’t. I explained why and I apologized for any misunderstanding. Now you are being offensive by going on about it. Talk about footy would be a good idea from here.

In the post quoted you said your comment was nothing to do with race and then proceeded to raise his race as the explanation for his popularity.

And your questioning why people would cheer cj taking a mark but not cheer on frost to the same extent for having 12 intercept possessions is non-sensical. How exactly does one spontaneously erupt in applause to an end of game statistic? Can you really not see why your posts are coming across so poorly?

I did read it

It was Pox

People Cheer because its exciting that he gets the ball and he creates exciting moments

No Other reason

You commented about his race potentially being the reason people get excited, that is commenting about his race

Unfortunately when you post comments like you did you leave yourself open.
Maybe next time don't include it in your post or phrase the comment differently.

Unfortunately when you post comments like you did you leave yourself open.
Maybe next time don't include it in your post or phrase the comment differently.
Hey all Hawkers. Can we give this a rest. I read factNotBS original post and thought it was quite cringeworthy. Poorly worded certainly, but I am not sure it was deliberatively racist.

Facts has tried to apologise for the misunderstanding, so can we all move on now and celebrate a good win and an outstanding effort from CJ, particularly after a limited preparation.

Let's focus on Port now and enjoy the ride.

Mate - this statement below from your original diatribe is absolutely racist claptrap. I’m not saying that you are a fire breathing racist as a result, but the statement itself was absolutely bringing CJ’s race and background into things no matter how hard you want to back pedal:
694733B6-6BEB-4191-9B5D-3A61B9FF1FE9.jpeg
So you tell us that we ‘have to’ admit that CJ isn’t as good as his fan favourite status indicates, compared to other players (despite CJ being voted our MVP multiple times on the socials - including Sunday).

You then link that directly to his race - directly suggesting to we all cheer more for CJ because he’s an African refugee. Nobody calling you out is imagining things or making things up - these are your words. You can continue to play the victim now if you want - but there’s a reason you’re being called out. Again, feel free to reflect and delete your post if you are so aghast at being accused of making racist remarks.

Hey all Hawkers. Can we give this a rest. I read factNotBS original post and thought it was quite cringeworthy. Poorly worded certainly, but I am not sure it was deliberatively racist.

Facts has tried to apologise for the misunderstanding, so can we all move on now and celebrate a good win and an outstanding effort from CJ, particularly after a limited preparation.

Let's focus on Port now and enjoy the ride.

It’s not a misunderstanding though. He made a multiple paragraph post questioning why CJ was a fan favourite and then made the direct link back to his background as the reason why we apparently like CJ more than we should. If he doesn’t want the pile on to continue he can delete his crap remarks, fairly simple.

Also - ‘sorry if you were offended’ is not an apology it’s a cop out that still defers having done anything wrong.

I personally am absolutely STOKED that CJ (or any African player, and indeed indigenous player, for that matter. Hell, ANY player) has managed to pull himself out of harsh poverty and a literally life-threatening situation to find happiness and fulfillment playing footy here. The upwards trend of Africans doing this fills my heart with joy.
The bonus is that they are tremendous athletes....