Preview Round 1 vs the Eagles 22nd March 4:40 AEDST

you and me might have to call the WA games for them blitznu. i just hope their 'beep' button is not broken.
I actually had a pub ask me to commentate the footy for them 1 night a week after hearing me commentate a Dees game where Jones was spudding the **** outta this thing we call football. They were serious about it reckon it was the best thing theyve ever heard. Anxiety n shit ment no ****ing way i could do it. So get me blind n off camera and we on baby. Obviously press red to hear it not sound like a reversing truck

I see the merit in having empty stadiums, chartered flights for each team, limited contact with fans and media and even media not flying interstate for commentators. All sensible measures to flatten the curve.

But surely they can just be hyper-vigilant and make sure players who test positive isolate. Are the tests in short supply in Aus? Can they just test every player Friday morning every week?

It'll be a bleak middle of the year if there is no footy on... if the season goes ahead there could be recording breaking ratings for games with the atmosphere of an intraclub. Would be very strange.
Yeah got me ****ed with the testing. My mate got tested 4 days ago and only found out today(flew in from japan) yet surely Gobert only got tested today or yesterday as he played the Raptors only a couple days ago. Why is it taking so long to get results for normal folk

I actually had a pub ask me to commentate the footy for them 1 night a week after hearing me commentate a Dees game where Jones was spudding the fu** outta this thing we call football. They were serious about it reckon it was the best thing theyve ever heard. Anxiety n shit ment no ******* way i could do it. So get me blind n off camera and we on baby. Obviously press red to hear it not sound like a reversing truck
I’d absolutely subscribe to you commentating a game of footy

My Prediction:

FB: Jetta May Lockhart
HB: Salem Lever Harmes
C: Langdon Petracca Tomlinson
HF: Viney Fritsch Melksham
FF: Pickett T. McDonald Brown
RUC: Gawn Oliver Brayshaw
INT: Jones Hibberd Bedford Sparrow

EMERG: Jackson Spargo Neal-Bullen Hore

Wouldn’t mind if they cancel round 1 and 2, then kick it off again in round 3 when we have the Dockers at home.
Haha. Highly doubt they will cancel these games, but likely they will be played with no crowds which will obviously suit us for the first game but not the second. Will be interesting to see how the AFL handle this.

knowing our luck, R1 and 2 will go ahead and they’ll cancel the next 3..!

The club ****ed up the ticketing over here again. We get 1 free ticket each season. We have over 600 members in WA. The Eagles only allowed us around 500-600 tickets, yet the club allowed members to buy 3 extra tickets with a membership, so up to 3/4 of us miss out for the game.

Will be less stressful watching from home anyway.

Interesting if the club will give Jackson the chance to debut in front of family and friends. It'd be nice but really don't think he's ready. Definitely needs to prove he's above VFL level first.

I'll go with:

FB: Jetta May Hibberd
HB: Lockhart Lever Hore
C: Langdon Viney Tomlinson
HF: Petracca Weideman Melksham
FF: Harmes TMac Fritsch
INT: Jones OMac ANB Sparrow

There is no way this game will go ahead.
If no players have tested positive why wouldn't they play it behind closed doors.
I understand not having 10s of thousands of fans in one place but why not 100 players/staff and camera crews etc.

If no players have tested positive why wouldn't they play it behind closed doors.
I understand not having 10s of thousands of fans in one place but why not 100 players/staff and camera crews etc.

Yeah with you on this. You have 25 players plus coaching and support staff - say 75 total for each team
Umpires - about 10?
Camera crew
Security on the gates

I would say it’d be less than 250 total and they aren’t exactly in a conference hall setup

Yeah with you on this. You have 25 players plus coaching and support staff - say 75 total for each team
Umpires - about 10?
Camera crew
Security on the gates

I would say it’d be less than 250 total and they aren’t exactly in a conference hall setup
Plus these guys have access to private doctors and the best health care. I understand locking the fans out but cancelling everything seems a bit nuts to me

I’m just looking at what they’ve done in Europe and the US. All the big sports leagues have been postponed.

If 1 player is found to have come into contact with someone who has the virus, it sends the whole thing into a tailspin because you don’t event get symptoms for 4 or 5 days.

I hope they play - but I’ll be surprised if this game goes ahead - even without the crowd.

AFL will play the season out until a player gets it. We’ll get no crowds starting with round 1 though imo
Seems like we're all playing for nothing until the season gets inevitably cancelled.

AFL will play the season out until a player gets it. We’ll get no crowds starting with round 1 though imo
I watched a champions league game and they have no crowd but they played the sounds of a crowd over the speakers. You could hardly tell the difference. I seriously hope the networks look into this just take the crowd audio of different parts of an AFL game and run it on a loop over the speakers or atleast on the broadcast

Seems like we're all playing for nothing until the season gets inevitably cancelled.

Should be in our element, we've been playing games without a purpose for nearly 15 years.

I watched a champions league game and they have no crowd but they played the sounds of a crowd over the speakers. You could hardly tell the difference. I seriously hope the networks look into this just take the crowd audio of different parts of an AFL game and run it on a loop over the speakers or atleast on the broadcast
just the isolated Adelaide oval "woo-hoo" guy after goals should be fine.

Just fill the seats with cardboard cutouts. It will be just like AFL 98

I’m just looking at what they’ve done in Europe and the US. All the big sports leagues have been postponed.

If 1 player is found to have come into contact with someone who has the virus, it sends the whole thing into a tailspin because you don’t event get symptoms for 4 or 5 days.

I hope they play - but I’ll be surprised if this game goes ahead - even without the crowd.
Yeah but Rudy Gobert was an idiot with touching the mics and most international leagues have a far shorter turnaround.

The club f’ed up the ticketing over here again. We get 1 free ticket each season. We have over 600 members in WA. The Eagles only allowed us around 500-600 tickets, yet the club allowed members to buy 3 extra tickets with a membership, so up to 3/4 of us miss out for the game.

Will be less stressful watching from home anyway.

Interesting if the club will give Jackson the chance to debut in front of family and friends. It'd be nice but really don't think he's ready. Definitely needs to prove he's above VFL level first.

I'll go with:

FB: Jetta May Hibberd
HB: Lockhart Lever Hore
C: Langdon Viney Tomlinson
HF: Petracca Weideman Melksham
FF: Harmes TMac Fritsch
INT: Jones OMac ANB Sparrow
Man i rang up an hour after tickets went on sale and could only get behind the goals and not even a few so thought **** that and brought 6 on the wing. Dont understand why if you want 4+ why you cant sit anywhere and pay the different between the shite behind the goal and where you want to sit

Preview Round 1 vs the Eagles 22nd March 4:40 AEDST