Preview Round 1 vs the Eagles 22nd March 4:40 AEDST

**** im gonna have to get it out and give it a whirl over the weekend. NFSUG2 is the greatest game of all time AFL comes in second😂

fu** me, the AFL season survived SARS and bird flu. People acting like it's the final scene in 12 monkeys. Smh.

I'll be stunned if the season is called off.
To be fair neither of those had the transmission rate of this thing

fu** me, the AFL season survived SARS and bird flu. People acting like it's the final scene in 12 monkeys. Smh.

I'll be stunned if the season is called off.
I don't understand all the sports, what they think all these young blokes with cash are gonna sit at home for a month if shits cancelled? They're probably 10 times safer at the bloody footy clubs

To be fair neither of those had the transmission rate of this thing

More people have died from the flu this year in Australia than from coronavirus. Standard overreaction from the majority of the general public. The elderly excluded.

True, although this is more of an unknown and more difficult to control, contain and treat. Death stats may also not be accurate if folks didn't realise they had it and carked it.
I agree that it may be an overreaction, but can also kinda understand govts, sports etc. Taking a hit for a few months to contain it and treat it than carry on BAU and have it go through the whole population (although that seems likely regardless).
Having everyone get it simultaneously puts a big strain on the health system so smoothing that out would be as big a reason for this as wanting to stops deaths.

True, although this is more of an unknown and more difficult to control, contain and treat. Death stats may also not be accurate if folks didn't realise they had it and carked it.
I agree that it may be an overreaction, but can also kinda understand gifts, sports etc. Taking a hit for a few months to contain it and treat it than carry on BAU and have it go through the whole population (although that seems likely regardless).
Having everyone get it simultaneously puts a big strain on the health system so smoothing that out would be as big a reason for this as wanting to stops deaths.

AFL players aren't gonna sit at home for the next 2 months. They are gonna go out and mingle with the public and be away from the club doctors. I don't understand how keeping them around the club isn't a safer option. Running around a stadium with 43 other people seems a shitload safer than most people are gonna be the next 3 months

We should definitely wait for more people to die before doing anything about this highly contagious virus.

1200 people died last year from driving in Australia. May aswell ban all freeways and highways and refuse to drive because it's too dangerous.

Or you could take sensible precautions to stop people from dying in 10x those numbers like they used to when everyone was half pissed, speeding and not wearing a seatbelt.

I'll bleed for every orifice like an Ebola patient if they don't play games. Behind closed doors fine, delayed a couple of weeks fine (in fact pushing the season back two weeks would work well for me) but flat out cancelling games is a toss.

Heres a solution tell everybody over 50 to chill inside for a month and give the rest of us the corona virus. The unlucky 1s well the good die young and play on players. Everything goes back to normal in a month. Thank you in advance

Imagine all of the car accidents in Australia last year happened over a couple of months. Fair to say our emergency services would be overloaded by an extreme spike like that, a lot more than 1500 people would have died. That is the danger of a laissez faire attitude towards a highly infectious disease with no vaccine and a high mortality rate. We might end up with a lot more people dying because we refused to change our lifestyles for a few months.

AFL players aren't gonna sit at home for the next 2 months. They are gonna go out and mingle with the public and be away from the club doctors. I don't understand how keeping them around the club isn't a safer option. Running around a stadium with 43 other people seems a shitload safer than most people are gonna be the next 3 months
I think cancellations would be more about fan safety (and, if you wanna be cynical, reducing lost $$$ for the AFL and clubs) than player safety.

Imagine all of the car accidents in Australia last year happened over a couple of months. Fair to say our emergency services would be overloaded by an extreme spike like that, a lot more than 1500 people would have died. That is the danger of a laissez faire attitude towards a highly infectious disease with no vaccine and a high mortality rate. We might end up with a lot more people dying because we refused to change our lifestyles for a few months.
Last time i checked we didnt have 1200 deaths from corona virus in that time frame. Over a million people die world wide from cars. What horrible monsters those big lumps of metal are how are they still aloud to be used

See but rather than ban everyone from driving near another vehicle they have speed limits, alcohol limits etc. If they wanna play in empty stadiums that's fine but completely cancelling the games seems way too outrageous

I actually had a pub ask me to commentate the footy for them 1 night a week after hearing me commentate a Dees game where Jones was spudding the fu** outta this thing we call football. They were serious about it reckon it was the best thing theyve ever heard. Anxiety n shit ment no ******* way i could do it. So get me blind n off camera and we on baby. Obviously press red to hear it not sound like a reversing truck

And yet you're too much of a pea-heart to even call a game in a non-broadcast environment ...

Again not when you consider transmission rates and the like overseas.

I’m all for fairly significant social distancing measures but I also think there’s a balance. When you consider an AFL list and extended staff you’d be lucky to find one member of that grouping who is in the risk category. But among fans you have hundreds of thousands if not millions.

It’s not overblowing it when you read reports from Italy.

Preview Round 1 vs the Eagles 22nd March 4:40 AEDST