Discussion Round 10, 2016 – Indigenous Round: Photos and Discussion

The Torres Strait Island flag on the 50m arcs could do with a stroke around it, coz you can hardly tell there's a green line at the top and bottom of the flag.
I thought that was the green paint they used to paint over the existing '50', now I know it's not I agree it needs an outline.
Do the sleeves have the pattern on them as well? It looked like they did earlier on a close up but haven't been able to see since.
Yes, same as what's on the back behind the numbers it seems.

Taylor Adams wearing long sleeves.

No hoops. I am disappoint.

I reckon it looked awesome! The grey indigenous designs continued onto the sleeves, nice bit of foresight

IMG_3573.jpg
These are the local Indigenous round jumpers here in the BDAFL. Obviously being a small comp in newcastle not all the teams have the budget to do indigenous jumpers. Personally I think the Nelson Bay Marlins came out the best, this is our clubs first year in which we've print an indigenous jumper and it is a ripper!

35849920_1_O.jpg

We had this one in our local league game yesterday.

All these local clubs producing heritage jumpers, Indigenous jumpers... back in my day the seniors got a new set every four years and then the old ones were given to the ressies or colts! Are these clubs made of money or something?

Heaps of clubs are making all players buy their own kits now.

Have we seen Manor Lakes around here before? They sound pretty familiar.

I guess clubs with the money to create one-offs would be pretty rich, I've never seen any from the EDFL come out with one-offs, and there is some pretty decent sized (and feral) clubs there.

Just takes one sponsor to cover the price of the jumpers for the day.and the players then buy there jumper for a cheap price..can make a small profit.

Why did Heritage Round fail? Are the AFL going down the same path?
There was very little meaning behind Heritage Round, and it became really gimmicky really fast. I did like the one year retro style Records were produced, that was fun. Think I still have mine somewhere.

In contrast, Indigenous Round has gone the other way by involving Recognize and making use of it to highlight the often overlooked contribution of indigenous athletes in our sport, plus pushing for increased rights and visibility for what is still a marginalized group.

One of the members here (for a short time) designed their jumper.

As I expected the Pies didn't have the Recognise Logo on their jumpers yesterday. I wonder the reasons why (it's not a great look when the majority of the other clubs are supporting what is a pretty important and necessary thing)

I've seen a few mentions of debate about what constitutional recognition would actually achieve vs e.g. a treaty, and what Indigenous Australia should really focus its efforts on seeking from govt.

Of course I could be crediting the Pies with far more savvy than they have...

I've seen a few mentions of debate about what constitutional recognition would actually achieve vs e.g. a treaty, and what Indigenous Australia should really focus its efforts on seeking from govt.

Of course I could be crediting the Pies with far more savvy than they have...
They probably read the criticisms made here about how many logos they stuffed into their anzac jumper.

Eddie and the whole Goodes saga?

Isn't there some political side to why some teams didn't want to be part of it?
I could be way off mind you.

Isn't there some political side to why some teams didn't want to be part of it?
I could be way off mind you.

Possibly if teams don't want to alienate or put off large sections of their supporters. Is it a left or right thing?

Discussion Round 10, 2016 – Indigenous Round: Photos and Discussion