Round 11 Trades

If Jack Trengove (Demons) plays this week, I think he is a far better prospect than Collins. And with Viney out for a month, should play a lot of midfield minutes. Had a very good preparation in the VFL. Is everyone so desperate for a backline rookie the reason why so many are keen on Collins ?? His scoring has hardly been outstanding, and Crazy Ross is his coach. Trengove is priced a little higher, but should be well worth it ??

Neither will be on the ground scoring except 1 maybe 2 weeks during byes
Most may end up with both
Jack has some minor injury history
Dees have depth in his position
Freo have no depth for collins
Mid rookies still mooing well
Def rookies milked dry

Trengove could become very appealing in a couple of weeks. The only reason I'm looking at Collins (next week) is I'm likely to end up with a lot of cash tied up on my def bench and not many options to release it.

If you just need a downgrade somewhere I'd be keeping an eye on Trengove, absolutely.

You do realise Trengrove is mid only right?

hi team, need some advice!

am trading out mbrown & d-mac this week, but I'm not sure whether to get a back premo & mid rook or a back rook & mid premo...

do I grab doch & matho or collins & titch?

currently leaning towards the latter.

cheersy

am trading out mbrown & d-mac this week, but I'm not sure whether to get a back premo & mid rook or a back rook & mid premo...

cheersy

Prawn Dog nice to have you back mate. Thought you were dead!

Seems like you have been reincarnated ala Jesus Christ.

I would personally go mid premo mate, Titchell almost bottomed out and ripe for the taking. Think of it like this. Ive been pursuing a bird since she was 16. She was ugly AF back then, but I thought of it as in investment. 3 yeats later, shes 19 and currently in the US applying to be one of the Victoria Secret models.

Go for Titch mate.

Also if you dont mind me asking are you a bogan who wears a cap to every social function? Just the word 'cheersy' is something a bogan like that would say.

King regards,

Went back and looked at your team, and I think I like what you've done here. I get that it's tempting to hold Kerridge but your bench cash generation looks so much better if you move him on instead of Smith or Davis, and Petracca ought to be able to hold down that F6 spot while you need him to. I absolutely think holding Wells is the right move, and I'd love to have Steven if I could find a way to get him. I think you've managed both in a manner that's healthy for your team.

On paper your team looks great. Your rucks are hurting you though. No way to have known Jacobs and Martin would be so far down on expectations. If you can find a way to move on Martin soonish without compromising your trades too much I'd keep that in mind. Tippett/Lycett aren't the worst options in the world at this point.
Tippett is definitely in my plans, that 60 odd he got on the weekend will ensure his price doesn't fly through the roof unlike Lycett who probably will. If Tippett's tackle/goals output was better on the weekend then he would've scored 80-90, I don't think it was a bad performance unlike his score suggests as he found his own footy. I'm looking at keeping Wells now instead of Kerridge as a F7. Sauce won't spud up every week, he normally is good for a 80-90 most weeks but his lack of ceiling is frustrating compared to his last 2 years output where he was going between 80-120 every week, hopefully he finishes the year strong and the byes will give him a much needed breather, as R2 his output is good enough, but not as a R1.

I can't justify trading Stef out, can only hope Leppa eventually facepalms himself and realises he's hurting Stef not letting him play his natural game. He can be my one liability while I upgrade elsewhere, he's lost way too much cash also and I'm down to 13 trades after this week, I see moving him on as detrimental to my team due to the amount of injuries I've already had to deal with and trades blown/cash generation, it would cost me another 2 trades and 150-200k to upgrade him to Goldy and in my current situation I can't do that as it kills the opportunity to upgrade others, it would be robbing Peter to pay Paul somewhat. At worst Wells becomes F6 and Stef goes to R3 as ruck cover if he doesn't turn it around using Chols DPP and Tippett/Lycett goes in the ruck.

I'm always one to back my premiums in, but when they're frustrating/underperforming it's best to build your team around them, then bench them in due course and use them only when injury comes. Having trades left late in the year are important, but not as valuable as solid bench cover on all lines as multiple rests/injuries are common come DT finals time and using 2 trades those weeks doesn't always fix your problems if you have say only 22 premos but only rookies as cover on all lines (many people do this) then boom 1 week you cop 2 injuries and 2 blokes get rested = you're screwed as you will have 2 liabilities on field likely.

I was 58th 2 weeks ago but fell to 110th and now 160th the last 2 weeks. Having a Ruggles donut on the weekend plus my underperforming rucks killed any chances of a good score, so it seems my score was 50-80 points below par for the week which was probably Ruggles' output.

Depends on your defensive situation, I have Tucker at D8 not playing so I'm unlikely to take Collins as I'd rather upgrade Ruggles to solid defensive cover when the time comes once he's maxed out like a Brodie Smith, Biggs, Burgoyne, Birchall etc 70-80avg type who I could sideways a maxed out Ruggles to eventually. On that topic you've given me a great idea however. Suckling will be rock bottom next week, his consistency is outstanding though as he's an 80-90 every week except for when he got injured. IIRC his deviation is 87-95 apart from the 15. If Petracca looks like maxing out before the byes or Wells gets injured again then a quick sideways/upgrade to Suckling gives me a gun versatile type who can sit in my forwardline temporarily while the cows moo then say when Ruggles is done on his bye week flip Suckling in defense as a D6/7 and upgrade Ruggles to a premium forward or mid.

On Trengove, if he stays fit he could be a solid M9/10, but his injury history scares me. He would need to look like averaging at least 70 to justify taking him to minimise the risk of losing money/be able to replace him properly if he did for example get injured in say his 3rd-4th-5th game etc. I didn't take Hopper for example as I couldn't justify spending the extra on him as upgrading elsewhere was more important. I don't think downgrading Smith/Davis to him in 2 weeks (their bye week) will help too much as it won't be a huge amount of cash generated from the downgrade, it will only be 100-150k probably, hopefully a gun 105-121-128k mid rook pops up to do the job instead.

I would personally go mid premo mate, Titchell almost bottomed out and ripe for the taking. Think of it like this. Ive been pursuing a bird since she was 16. She was ugly AF back then, but I thought of it as in investment. 3 yeats later, shes 19 and currently in the US applying to be one of the Victoria Secret models.

Go for Titch mate.

Also if you dont mind me asking are you a bogan who wears a cap to every social function? Just the word 'cheersy' is something a bogan like that would say.

King regards,

lol yeh still here mate. my good friend victor just read that reference to JC and got a giggle out of it.

not entirely sure if im on board with the VS analogy involving a 16 year old girl, but FWIW i am leaning towards Titch.

not sure how this is still relevant, but as ive previously said - im a prawn farmer from australia (now based in bangalore) so this is really the only place i get my aussie slang fix.

tbh i wouldnt mind if you kept to footy analysis in future as im not overly keen on wasting people's time with the other crap.

best wishes in advance...

Tippett is definitely in my plans, that 60 odd he got on the weekend will ensure his price doesn't fly through the roof unlike Lycett who probably will. If Tippett's tackle/goals output was better on the weekend then he would've scored 80-90, I don't think it was a bad performance unlike his score suggests as he found his own footy. I'm looking at keeping Wells now instead of Kerridge as a F7. Sauce won't spud up every week, he normally is good for a 80-90 most weeks but his lack of ceiling is frustrating compared to his last 2 years output where he was going between 80-120 every week, hopefully he finishes the year strong and the byes will give him a much needed breather, as R2 his output is good enough, but not as a R1.

I can't justify trading Stef out, can only hope Leppa eventually facepalms himself and realises he's hurting Stef not letting him play his natural game. He can be my one liability while I upgrade elsewhere, he's lost way too much cash also and I'm down to 13 trades after this week, I see moving him on as detrimental to my team due to the amount of injuries I've already had to deal with and trades blown/cash generation, it would cost me another 2 trades and 150-200k to upgrade him to Goldy and in my current situation I can't do that as it kills the opportunity to upgrade others, it would be robbing Peter to pay Paul somewhat. At worst Wells becomes F6 and Stef goes to R3 as ruck cover if he doesn't turn it around using Chols DPP and Tippett/Lycett goes in the ruck.

I'm always one to back my premiums in, but when they're frustrating/underperforming it's best to build your team around them, then bench them in due course and use them only when injury comes. Having trades left late in the year are important, but not as valuable as solid bench cover on all lines as multiple rests/injuries are common come DT finals time and using 2 trades those weeks doesn't always fix your problems if you have say only 22 premos but only rookies as cover on all lines (many people do this) then boom 1 week you cop 2 injuries and 2 blokes get rested = you're screwed as you will have 2 liabilities on field likely.

I was 58th 2 weeks ago but fell to 110th and now 160th the last 2 weeks. Having a Ruggles donut on the weekend plus my underperforming rucks killed any chances of a good score, so it seems my score was 50-80 points below par for the week which was probably Ruggles' output.

Solid thinking. Tippett gives you more flexibility in the ruck if you hang on to Stef and, as you say, bench cover. TBH both Stef and Sauce were in my pre-season ruck rotations and it was mostly luck that I didn't wind up with both of them. I have no idea what Leppa thinks he's doing but hope for your sake he comes to his senses. I agree that bench cover is at least as important as trades late in the year. Good cover is almost like a multi-use trade.

I think Wells is a better keeper option than Kerridge. There's always an injury worry but while he's playing he's scoring nicely and trading Kerridge frees up more cash. Honestly, I'm on the fence about trading Wells out of my team, but time will tell how that goes. If he can settle into a 90 average and stay fit there might be no reason to move him on.

Suckling hasn't been on my radar, but it looks like you're considering him in the same way I'm considering Howe. Fwd/def option with (hopefully) 85-95 avg potential. Suckling's possibly the better option but my bye setup doesn't like him.

Suckling will be rock bottom next week, his consistency is outstanding though as he's an 80-90 every week except for when he got injured. IIRC his deviation is 87-95 apart from the 15.

He is actually a really interesting player. Hadn't thought of him until now. He would actually be really handy as my D6 and swing Tippa to D7. That would give me some short term cover in defence and attack.

Great price as well for a downgrade upgrade of some rookies like cox etc...

Though I don't like his bye round.... Wouldn't mind at least 1 shite score in the next couple of weeks to get him before r15

cheersy

Go for Titch mate.

King regards,

How's talking to yourself going for you?

He is actually a really interesting player. Hadn't thought of him until now. He would actually be really handy as my D6 and swing Tippa to D7. That would give me some short term cover in defence and attack.

Great price as well for a downgrade upgrade of some rookies like cox etc...

Though I don't like his bye round.... Wouldn't mind at least 1 shite score in the next couple of weeks to get him before r15
His bye is great for me however, same with Tippett, only thing is I have 4 R14 forwards in Zerrett, Dahl, Petracca and Howard already. Hall my only R13er and McCarthy, Zorko and Wells as R15ers.

I think Tippett is my next upgrade so I don't get caught out by potentially having 7 playing forwards in R13, so I move him into the ruck while Sauce has his bye via Chols DPP.

His bye is great for me however, same with Tippett, only thing is I have 4 R14 forwards in Zerrett, Dahl, Petracca and Howard already. Hall my only R13er and McCarthy, Zorko and Wells as R15ers.

I think Tippett is my next upgrade so I don't get caught out by potentially having 7 playing forwards in R13, so I move him into the ruck while Sauce has his bye via Chols DPP.

After your trades this week, whats your bye structure looking like?

I am 11, 10, 9. Not quite perfect (8,10,12 or mine reversed would be)

Just looking at my team actually:
Tippa > Suckling next would be an absolute win, slot straight into D6.

or

Kerridge > Suckling (Wells to the midfield, Suckling F6) Will help out with the byes and get me closer to a finished team.

I am liking Suckling now. The 2nd option, could mean I could keep Smith this week and trade Kerridge instead and just face that Kerridge is not in my finished team. Then go Smith/Petracca/Tippa the most disappointing next week to suckling

After your trades this week, whats your bye structure looking like?
20-22-18 I think

But my forwardline is a problem in R13 as I have 7 playing that week up there (1 bench) and my midfield could be a problem in round 14 as I have 9 mids playing (1 bench) that's about it really.

Seems I'll have to sacrifice Smith/Davis early, just need to wonder which one to do, then I'll probably move a DPP into midfield temporarily.

If Tucker comes back this week and scores ok then I might take Collins for Ruggles next week just so I have some coin to upgrade with the next week, but I don't really want to do that.

Wait and see what happens in the next two weeks, hopefully another mid rookie or forward rookie pops up.

Any input on what trades to do this week?

$717k in the bank so money not really an issue, only 15 trades left though... first time doing dt and burned alot of trades at the start getting rid of crab players (set up my team literally 5 mins before the Carlton Richmond Fri Night game in round 1!)

D: Shaw, Simpson, Gibson, Dea, Tippa, Ruggles (Hartley, Tucker)
M: Danger, Steven, Hunter, Lewis, GAJ, A Young, J Smith, Hopper (Rockliff, Keays, Dunkley)
R: Goldy, Nicholls (Currie)
F: ZMerrett, Montagna, JJK, Kerridge, Wells, Petrecca (Brown, Menadue)

With 15 trades left I'm thinking of upgrading to end game players, I've also heard its good to have some cash in hand during the byes as well though...

Was thinking Menadue -> Dusty/Dahl

If Tucker and Ruggles are named I might leave the Hartley upgrade trade till next week to maybe Docherty, Boyd or Laird (all three have relatively high BE's so may come down in price next week)

Somewhere in the future I'd like to upgrade Young and other mid rookies to Neale / Treloar / Coniglio / Titchell and also either Nicholls/Currie to Gawn

edit: is the general strategy to have more r15 bye players at the start and slowly trade them to r13/r14 bye players as they finish their byes?

Any input on what trades to do this week?

$717k in the bank so money not really an issue, only 15 trades left though... first time doing dt and burned alot of trades at the start getting rid of crab players (set up my team literally 5 mins before the Carlton Richmond Fri Night game in round 1!)

D: Shaw, Simpson, Gibson, Dea, Tippa, Ruggles (Hartley, Tucker)
M: Danger, Steven, Hunter, Lewis, GAJ, A Young, J Smith, Hopper (Rockliff, Keays, Dunkley)
R: Goldy, Nicholls (Currie)
F: ZMerrett, Montagna, JJK, Kerridge, Wells, Petrecca (Brown, Menadue)

With 15 trades left I'm thinking of upgrading to end game players, I've also heard its good to have some cash in hand during the byes as well though...

Was thinking Menadue -> Dusty/Dahl

If Tucker and Ruggles are named I might leave the Hartley upgrade trade till next week to maybe Docherty, Boyd or Laird (all three have relatively high BE's so may come down in price next week)

Somewhere in the future I'd like to upgrade Young and other mid rookies to Neale / Treloar / Coniglio / Titchell and also either Nicholls/Currie to Gawn

edit: is the general strategy to have more r15 bye players at the start and slowly trade them to r13/r14 bye players as they finish their byes?
I'd be definitely looking to do 2 upgrades, especially with the cash in hand. Based on the balance in your side, i'd say a backline upgrade is essential, then the other is up to you.
I'd swap Tippa and Brown, and upgrade Brown to M.Boyd/Docherty as first priority.
Then either Menadue to Martin, or Josh Smith to Tom Mitchell.

Its all well and good to hold cash and play the long game, but you need to be thinking about setting a final team for the end of the season. A final team should usually aim to be
Backs: 6x 85+ averaging players
Centres: 8x 95+ average
Rucks: Best 2 (who knows who they will be this year, but Goldstein should be one)
Forwards: 6x90+ averages

I look at that team and you still have 3 backline upgrades, 2 midfield upgrades, 1 ruck, and between 1-3 forward line upgrades to make with 15 trades left.

go you pups this is my other trade idea with trading Smith a little Early. I didn't like you trading both Smith & Trac as they are both money makers, but this gets me rid of Wagner (at his price, will most likely fall from here) and Smith (Keeps my fwd/mid link which the other kills).

I am willing to take a risk this week with trading out kerridge & cox for Mitchell (I said never) & Howard or Wagner & Smith > Collins/tucker & Mitchell. Huge risk but infield rewards are epic.

EDIT: This ruins my depth in the backline, but positive I don't start a rookie on the field bar Tippa, Kerridge & Wells. (Oh and that spud Martin)

View attachment 252417

That teams much better than mine.

I'd be definitely looking to do 2 upgrades, especially with the cash in hand. Based on the balance in your side, i'd say a backline upgrade is essential, then the other is up to you.
I'd swap Tippa and Brown, and upgrade Brown to M.Boyd/Docherty as first priority.
Then either Menadue to Martin, or Josh Smith to Tom Mitchell.

Its all well and good to hold cash and play the long game, but you need to be thinking about setting a final team for the end of the season. A final team should usually aim to be
Backs: 6x 85+ averaging players
Centres: 8x 95+ average
Rucks: Best 2 (who knows who they will be this year, but Goldstein should be one)
Forwards: 6x90+ averages

I look at that team and you still have 3 backline upgrades, 2 midfield upgrades, 1 ruck, and between 1-3 forward line upgrades to make with 15 trades left.

Cheers mate, yeah I agree that its looking tough to complete the team with only 15 trades remaining.

Any reason to upgrade Brown instead of Hartley? Dea Tippa and Brown all have gettable BE's this round and Hartley is injured.

Smith also has more money to be made so I might leave him this week, my thinking is that I have more rounds than trades to go so I might as well leave the rooks with lowish breakevens to continue making money.

Menadue to either Dusty or Dahl (leaning towards Dahlhaus) seems to be one to do this week though!

Round 11 Trades