Review Round 15, 2015 - Brisbane Lions vs Sydney

Who were your five best players for the round 15 game against Sydney?

Well we can't boo Goodes without being labelled a racist which IMO is unfair.
What? No-one said that. In fact, matwt73 specifically said he didn't think the majority of people who booed were racist and were booing Goodes' Aboriginal heritage.

Oh I am not saying anyone here is saying that but the Media is certainly saying that.

If a word has two different meanings and one is offensive, what do we do? We tend to avoid using that word because we don't want to give offence.

If booing Goodes can be taken two different ways, is it such a massive drama not to boo him, to simply avoid it being interpreted as racist? People might say that it overly sensitive but it kinda makes sense to me.

If a word has two different meanings and one is offensive, what do we do? We tend to avoid using that word because we don't want to give offence.

If booing Goodes can be taken two different ways, is it such a massive drama not to boo him, to simply avoid it being interpreted as racist? People might say that it overly sensitive but it kinda makes sense to me.

Agreed.

And if we need to blame anyone blame the racists who have ruined it for everyone.

It just gets put in that increasingly large 'this is why we can't have nice things' pile.

I remember when Brownlow nights were on and Goodes and Blacky would sit together and share beers and we'd all think Goodes was a pretty good bloke.

I wouldn't be surprised if he was a good bloke off the field but he definitely isn't on the field.

Because everybody has the right to be offended

No one is racist that boo's. Otherwise they'd be dishing it out to Jetta and Christensen. We've just jumped on the bandwagon of doing it

That's why its cringeworthy. People booing because others around the country have and are. Loses all meaning.

Some will boo because they're racist, some because they don't like Goodes the footballer, some because the bloke behind them is booing etc.

I think this sums it up.
I'm not really a booer, but I'd normally defend people's right to boo (Loretta).
Booing Goodes doesn't make you racist, but doing so can get you tarred as such. I think the publicity around it has probably made it worse rather than better. There would be an element who boo in protest of being told you shouldn't. There is no doubt a sizeable number guilty of racist motivation, many of them without realising it.

It is easier to just give it a miss.

No one is racist that boo's. Otherwise they'd be dishing it out to Jetta and Christensen. We've just jumped on the bandwagon of doing it

Nah, I think this is wrong.

A person can be violent and not hit everyone they see.

They can be greedy and not need to eat every piece of cake.

And they could be a racist (coward) and decide to wait until the group think hides their bigotry. There is no rule that says racists have to publicly and openly express their disdain for every aboriginal player.

Both of those players have had issues with their awareness and disposal for some time.
They have, but as carnthemlions said, Nick has improved greatly. Getting caught was a real knock on Nick's game last year. It wasn't unusual to see him caught 3 or 4 times a game (at NEAFL level as well). From the first couple of practice matches and Neafl games, there was a noticeable difference this season. He was still getting caught a bit, but much better at evading and pushing his tackler off. It certainly hasn't appeared to be an issue this year. So he got caught twice by a couple of elite Sydney Swans. From 21 touches, 2 frees isn't really an issue is it?
It could be described as a weakness, but we don't have many players without one. Staker's accuracy in front of goal is a weakness, that has arguably cost us more than Nick getting caught. Adcock gets caught holding the ball every week. It's what else they bring to the game that matters. What Robbo brings is a hard edge to getting the ball and having an aggressive crack at running out of trouble. Sometimes he'll fail. It's something he is improving, so I'm not worried that he was caught twice by 3rd team on the ladder.

They have, but as carnthemlions said, Nick has improved greatly. Getting caught was a real knock on Nick's game last year. It wasn't unusual to see him caught 3 or 4 times a game (at NEAFL level as well). From the first couple of practice matches and Neafl games, there was a noticeable difference this season. He was still getting caught a bit, but much better at evading and pushing his tackler off. It certainly hasn't appeared to be an issue this year. So he got caught twice by a couple of elite Sydney Swans. From 21 touches, 2 frees isn't really an issue is it?
It could be described as a weakness, but we don't have many players without one. Staker's accuracy in front of goal is a weakness, that has arguably cost us more than Nick getting caught. Adcock gets caught holding the ball every week. It's what else they bring to the game that matters. What Robbo brings is a hard edge to getting the ball and having an aggressive crack at running out of trouble. Sometimes he'll fail. It's something he is improving, so I'm not worried that he was caught twice by 3rd team on the ladder.
I don't blame him for the 2nd one. He had nothing to kick to and looked like he was showing some real dash. Jack just happened to be one of the few players in the comp who could catch him and stick the tackle in that situation. It really was a great chase.

Robertson's awareness has improved greatly this year. One bad game- "his awareness/disposal is terrible!!!!!!". The same goes for Paparone as well- apparently any progress can easily be undone by one or two off games "won't make it, back to the reserves etc".
sigh
I thought Robbos game was still impressive , some of our seniors and younger players should take a leaf out of his book. with his intent .
He got caught , was it just once or did I miss the others, I dont think it is a concern considering its his second year, he is having a real dig..
His disposal is not that far off either imo, One instance he kicked to Jed on the lead and it appeared he wanted Jed to run onto it, but from what I could access Jed pulled back a little and the kick was just a meter or so out of reach to mark , missed target but not far off, ball rolled over the boundary line.
It was only this time last season people on this board were calling for Crisps head with his poor disposal , hmmm.
Would not surprise to see Robbo have a steep climb from here considering his work ethic.

Haha, what the hell is wrong with booing Goodes?

This is all theater boys and girls, we follow the footy to lose ourselves for a couple of hours, we pretend to hate all the players on the other team and we cheer the guys on ours.

If folks want to boo a guy who has shown himself to be an overly precious sook then go for it!!

Watched the game again tonight with my old man and a mate from work. Astounded with the biased commentary from Gerard Healey and Brad Johnson!!
Brisbane weren't playing well but Sydney losing grip on the game (was around half way through the second)
That was just one of many instance where I thought commentary to be blatantly one sided.

Haha, what the hell is wrong with booing Goodes?

This is all theater boys and girls, we follow the footy to lose ourselves for a couple of hours, we pretend to hate all the players on the other team and we cheer the guys on ours.

If folks want to boo a guy who has shown himself to be an overly precious sook then go for it!!

It's more than that though. I don't know exactly what it is, but it's obviously not about football.

For some it's probably good old fashioned tall poppy syndrome. For a small few it's genuine racism. For most it's probably the visceral thrill of being in a crowd booing someone, a particularly attractive feeling for the truly stupid who desperately need to feel superior to someone else for a fraction of a second.

I think what worries me most about it is that there are so many people who don't care how it's interpreted. For example, you've called him an overly precious sook, and that starts me wondering whether you believe people who are on the wrong end of racial slurs should just shut up and bear it. I hope you don't mean that, but at best you didn't even take five seconds to think about how that might come across.

This isn't theatre. This is real life.

I don't indulge in booing players because I think it's pointless.

Often it just fires them up and gives them a focus to play well just to spite the boo-ers.

Having said that, I can understand why a lot of footy followers don't like Goodes (or perhaps more correctly, what Goodes does on the field).

For example, the "war dance" episode that was aimed fairly and squarely at the Carlton supporters and Cheer Squad and to me was not only inflammatory but also highly self indulgent ."Look at me" is rarely a crowd- pleaser in the average Aussie sport fan's psyche.

I think the current "dislike" for Goodes has more to do with his conduct on the football field than it has to do with racism per se.

Just my opinion.

It's more than that though. I don't know exactly what it is, but it's obviously not about football.

For some it's probably good old fashioned tall poppy syndrome. For a small few it's genuine racism. For most it's probably the visceral thrill of being in a crowd booing someone, a particularly attractive feeling for the truly stupid who desperately need to feel superior to someone else for a fraction of a second.

I think what worries me most about it is that there are so many people who don't care how it's interpreted. For example, you've called him an overly precious sook, and that starts me wondering whether you believe people who are on the wrong end of racial slurs should just shut up and bear it. I hope you don't mean that, but at best you didn't even take five seconds to think about how that might come across.

This isn't theatre. This is real life.

I can see where you are coming from but to me you are somewhat over-analysing the situation. I think perhaps 1 in a thousand would be booing because they are racists. Those people's actions speak for themselves.

For the rest of us there are plenty of non-race related reasons to boo at the footy. We boo at the umpires, we boo Chris Judd, we boo Elliot Yeo, and yes, at Adam Goodes. Its not because people have a desperate need to feel superior for a few seconds.

Adam is a grown up who gets paid incredibly well to kick a ball. I find his need to dance his war dance and cry and finger point at 14 year old girls makes him somewhat resemble a princess, and therefore I can make fun of him while he is on the football field. It really is theatre, all of it.

Review Round 15, 2015 - Brisbane Lions vs Sydney