Autopsy Round 16, 2022: Giants drown the Hawks

Am I the only one who saw this as a nill-all draw?

Some goals from both sides just pure luck. Others (mostly to GWS) through dodgy umpiring decisions.

We don't gain anything ladder/draft wise from the loss or win.
Rare weather conditions meaning game plans are out the window.

Everyone had a crack but they finished ahead on the scoreboard. That's it.

Pick 2 is looming actually.
Crows at Marvel will have Tex putting our defence to the sword and NicNat back and Eagles are far more settled in last few weeks.
Can’t see us beating either Crows or Eagles on current form.
Agree there Adel playing some good footy and I bet we play the strongest Eagles for the year 🤣 ahhh well maybe pick. 3 will be better than pick 6 or 7 in the draft

Result went as I expected, reckon the Giants are a 4-5 goal better side than us at home. We had a dip but just don't have the skill or class.

Impey, Bramble, Gunston and Lewis all had stinkers.

GWS fumbled less, conditions were tough but they were just a lot cleaner. I wish Patton was what Hogan is when we decided to recruit him.

The good: Morrison. Clearly bog. Don’t tell me otherwise. JOM, MacDonald, Duke, Hardwick, Moore. That’s about it.

The bad: Handing another unknown player the best game they’ll ever play. No forward structure for the conditions.
Apart from Morrison, not a lot of good. Couple of plays from Day, CMac and Butler showed glimpses.
There was a fella named Sicily who was clearly our best. You didn’t notice him?

Am I the only one who saw this as a nill-all draw?

Some goals from both sides just pure luck. Others (mostly to GWS) through dodgy umpiring decisions.

We don't gain anything ladder/draft wise from the loss or win.
Rare weather conditions meaning game plans are out the window.

Everyone had a crack but they finished ahead on the scoreboard. That's it.

Nah mate they're just cleaner with the ball and more skilled, we did get the rough end of a few umpiring decisions but bottom line is we lack talent.

He cannot use the footy. Kicks it like he is playing Rugby, Gaelic style.

There was a great article about that mate, Sam told him he want's him to use his strengths. And that mean's kicking around the corner, Gaelic style.

It was a great insight into Sam coaching to players strengths, which was very different to how we have been the past few years, so system focused.

The issue with Nash of late for mine isn't anything to do with his kicking, he's been straight up soft at the contest. That is he's one-wood, and if he's not bring the intent and hurt towards the opposition he's no value to us.

Nah mate they're just cleaner with the ball and more skilled, we did get the rough end of a few umpiring decisions but bottom line is we lack talent.

Technically the difference was a fringe Irish player who has never played forward but kicked 4.

Still nill-all for mine.

Energy levels?

Didn’t seem to affect Essendon yesterday, and to some extent Adelaide and West Coast as well.

It’s as much about team character as anything else. We have dropped our bundle in the last month.

Deserve to finish 16th
As good as we have played in patches we have gone 2-11 since round 3. Only North has a worse record and we're equal with WCE. The team is playing like we don't know how to win now And I hope Sam can sense this and change some things up the next few weeks. Get both Ward and McGuiness in and play them through the middle. Have CMac with them as well. Have either JOM or Mitchell there as an experienced body to support. There's a bit of sameness with us ATM far too predictable. At least give the opposition a different look at our setups.

Technically the difference was a fringe Irish player who has never played forward but kicked 4.

Still nill-all for mine.

They fumbled less, controlled the game and retained the ball with uncontested marks at times better. Tbh if it was dry they might have won by more.

Thankfully I watched the game in mute, so that's the main positive I will take from today's game reading people's thoughts on the commentary in this thread and the gameday thread.

I'm not that disappointed I thought we cracked in hard but they had generally fewer fumbles and used it better.

A year off next year from going to that god forsaken ground would be a win...

The good: Morrison. Clearly bog. Don’t tell me otherwise. JOM, MacDonald, Duke, Hardwick, Moore. That’s about it.

The bad: Handing another unknown player the best game they’ll ever play. No forward structure for the conditions.
Clearly? and did you not even mention Titch out of the others?

**** i went through this entire thread and not a single mention on how good he was.

On a day where it mattered mainly about getting it forward, two of our best were Sic and Titch who did just that imo.

Titch had 35 touches 18 kicks 17 handballs with 18 contested possessions.
10 intercepts 6 score involvements.
519 metres gained and 5 clearances.
7 tackles, 4 inside 50s and 5 rebound 50s.

Sicily had 25 touches, 23 kicks.
10 contested with 15 intercepts 962 metres gained 15 rebound 50s and 14 one percenters.

Only an optimist would have given us any real hope this week. Adelaide aside, we picked the youngest side this week. We gave away over a year of experience to GWS as well as weight and height. And given the conditions we were always going to be pushing shit uphill today. Nash was always going to be a stop gap, sadly Box Hill are mirroring Hawthorn’s form, so any promotion from the magoos is unlikely to yield immediate improvement. But I guess immediate improvement is a lesser imperative now. So maybe Maginess will come back in or Long may debut.

As I've been saying, more skilled team handling the conditions better.
It’s a myth that conditions bring the best teams back to the pack. You need to hard at it yes, but the best teams do that, but it’s the best ball handlers and users, and the smartest players that stand out.

The disposal efficiency stat is telling - isn’t a long kick that isn’t turned over counted as effective? Long kicks was pretty much the order of the day - we either didn’t do enough of it or turned it over when doing so.

At no stage today did I get a feeling that we had a player capable of putting in a match turning performance, we just don’t have that class just yet.

I thought we kept at it but we really are just a bunch of triers, we seemed to be set up poorly around the ground.

Impey didn’t warrant a recall he was poor.

Brambles worries me, panic handballs, fumble after fumble. Maybe being played out of position but has gone backwards.

Gunston clearly not right should not have played, our older players cliff has come quickly

Thought Morrision was our best, Newk battled all day, Mitch & JOM were good but no real damage caused. Sis and CJ were our best backs.

Forward pressure is lacking, waltzes out every week.

Must hit this draft and free agency, need quick highly skilled match winners.

Only an optimist would have given us any real hope this week. Adelaide aside, we picked the youngest side this week. We gave away over a year of experience to GWS as well as weight and height. And given the conditions we were always going to be pushing s**t uphill today. Nash was always going to be a stop gap, sadly Box Hill are mirroring Hawthorn’s form, so any promotion from the magoos is unlikely to yield immediate improvement. But I guess immediate improvement is a lesser imperative now. So maybe Maginess will come back in or Long may debut.
Ward.

Bloke was very good in the VFL, super clean in as we know really tough conditions, we saw it at under 18s level but at VFL he's really worked on getting confident again, running with the ball, turning and going and being super composed and side stepping.

His ball use has been great and his vision is unreal, the way he reads the game and how quickly is also very good.

Kicked a good goal while it was genuinely bucketing down also. Will be a lock this week, Had 26 touches 8 clearances 5 tackles and a goal.

At no stage today did I get a feeling that we had a player capable of putting in a match turning performance, we just don’t have that class just yet.

I thought we kept at it but we really are just a bunch of triers, we seemed to be set up poorly around the ground.

Impey didn’t warrant a recall he was poor.

Brambles worries me, panic handballs, fumble after fumble. Maybe being played out of position but has gone backwards.

Gunston clearly not right should not have played, our older players cliff has come quickly

Thought Morrision was our best, Newk battled all day, Mitch & JOM were good but no real damage caused. Sis and CJ were our best backs.

Forward pressure is lacking, waltzes out every week.

Must hit this draft and free agency, need quick highly skilled match winners.
Don't put Titch with JOM, JOM looked like he felt a million dollars and wanted to take everyone and the world on and all it did was invite pressure and cause mistakes, he looked better late but just tried. Titch over the entire day looked like he was clean and in getting it forward, winning constant contested battles and again was one of the best alongside Sic and Morrison for mine.

Comical conditions. Giants played them way better though with a much higher level of skill. Apart from the fact that the common theme continued of our space being shut down too easily, I wouldn’t worry about that one at all. Good day to get injured is all. And yes, Morrison looked one of our best today in those conditions.

There was a fella named Sicily who was clearly our best. You didn’t notice him?
Argument against Sicily being in the best was Hogan was probably the best player on the ground and Brown kicked 4. He didn't really stop their forwards dominating

Autopsy Round 16, 2022: Giants drown the Hawks