Preview Round 16, 2023: West Coast v St.Kilda - Optus Stadium, Sunday 2nd July, 4:40PM AEST *WILKIE 100TH*

Who Wins?

• Eagles

Votes: 16 29.6%
  • Saints

Votes: 38 70.4%

If the goal is for him to play some meaningful football to end the season, letting him play a 2nd full game after returning from a hamstring injury seems the better move than flying him to Perth to sit on the bench for most of the game.

I have a feeling he sits out the rest of the year at Sandringham.

Could be wrong...

Put a number on it for hindsight people, what will we be happy with and what will we call a disappointment type of win?

1-20 point win - burn it all down
21-40 point win - not good enough
41-60 point win - eh disappointing but fine
61-80 point win - good but missed out
81-100 point win - good we’ve done what we needed to to keep up with everyone else who’s smashed them

Strong noise peris may debut on Sunday
You'd think they'd wanna make a bit of a thing of it if that was to be the case so we'll hear about it today I would imagine. Not sure I like this idea of a guy making his debut as the sub. Even less so for a small forward whose opportunities are limited already.

Training report:

Stoppage clearance work team v team, focus on delivering i50 to leading fwd.
Nas, sincs, wood, kicking at King, ro, owens, pou.

HB and HF one on one vs each other with high ball coming in. Mark, quick release back out of d50. Owens, stocker, Higgins strong.

Fwds/Mids working on delivery i50. 3 fwds take different leads drawing their opponent with them. One at the footy, two wide or one stays deep. Kicker in goes over fwd leading at them to player deep. Less obvious and predictable i50 kicks. Multiple times I predicted where it was going to go incorrectly (probably says more about my footy nous than anything)

Small match sim style.
Boris kicked chaos ball to one sides half back to start each time.
Wilkie on hayes
Coff on owens did well, halved 2 good contests where was out of position due to quick turn over.
Hunter in a lot. Kept busy and ran well, mostly seemed on ball.

Campbell, Connoly, Paton, Highmore, Van Es, Adams, Hotton all came in after this, did light kicking drills, jogged the outside. Then joined team v team.

Keeler separate. Ran laps at very good pace.

Full field team v team, looked like focused on faster ball movement from def to fwd. Kicks i50 less predictable but not very accurate. Several missed targets.

Coff and Clarke finished early. Clarke heavy strapping on knee, but seemed okay.

Ross Lyon quiet early, later in the match sim him and BJ vocal out in the middle.

Steele seemed to be running really well.
Chased hard, didn't look hampered anywhere near as much as what I'd seen previously. No strapping.

Butler several missed handballs but fwd pressure was easily best on field. Multiple intercepts fwd, and caught defender multiple times.

Didnt see JB out there at all.
Did see him walking his dog at about 9.30 though so there's that...

Ask about any players, I'll see if I can remember much else.

Cheers.

Training report:

HB and HF one on one vs each other with high ball coming in. Mark, quick release back out of d50. Owens, stocker, Higgins strong.

Fwds/Mids working on delivery i50. 3 fwds take different leads drawing their opponent with them. One at the footy, two wide or one stays deep. Kicker in goes over fwd leading at them to player deep. Less obvious and predictable i50 kicks. Multiple times I predicted where it was going to go incorrectly (probably says more about my footy nous than anything)

Small match sim style.
Wilkie on hayes
Coff on owens did well, halved 2 good contests where was out of position due to quick turn over.

Campbell, Connoly, Paton, Highmore, Van Es, Adams, Hotton all came in after this, did light kicking drills, jogged the outside. Then joined team v team.

Full field team v team, looked like focused on faster ball movement from def to fwd. Kicks i50 less predictable but not very accurate. Several missed targets.

Coff and Clarke finished early. Clarke heavy strapping on knee, but seemed okay.

Ross Lyon quiet early, later in the match sim him and BJ vocal out in the middle.

Chased hard, didn't look hampered anywhere near as much as what I'd seen previously. No strapping.

Butler several missed handballs but fwd pressure was easily best on field. Multiple intercepts fwd, and caught defender multiple times.

Cheers.
Coffeild could make such a difference to that backline if he was fit. I hope he stays

Strong noise peris may debut on Sunday
If he does it will be an absolute credit to the young fella. Project player with poor skills and footy nouse who’s worked hard and listened to the coaches.

Training report:

Small match sim style.
Wilkie on hayes

Cheers.
JB walking his dog is weird.

Training report:

Small match sim style.
Wilkie on hayes

Cheers.
Fabulous.

Gee I hope, even just for his sake, that Coff can get a run at it.

Training report:

Small match sim style.
Wilkie on hayes

Cheers.
Thanks mate great report. Plus sounds like we’re working on the things we’ve all been banging in about in the game day threads.

Training report:

Small match sim style.
Wilkie on hayes

Cheers.
Was there as well - excellent summary.

The only things I would add was that I thought Coff looked very good - moved well & other than 1 turnover disposed of it nicely.

Hayes also out there.

Yes didn’t sight Billings or Jones.

RTB is vanilla as f*ck right now.

Says he doesn't care about ladder position but I'm not buying it.

No dare at all.

Over it. Turning into a bit of a sh*tty season. We're absolutely horrid to watch. Players don't need to play well to keep their spot.

We might scrape into finals but apart from the fact the young guys have shown potential, not a lot to like about the saints right now.

Our midfield is sh*t and we have a young bull potential gun midfielder who can't get a game there.

What a yawnfest
Agreed it's boring AF and the games lately aren't worth the time to watch them. But I'll watch anyway.

Put a number on it for hindsight people, what will we be happy with and what will we call a disappointment type of win?

1-20 point win - burn it all down
21-40 point win - not good enough
41-60 point win - eh disappointing but fine
61-80 point win - good but missed out
81-100 point win - good we’ve done what we needed to to keep up with everyone else who’s smashed them

Anything over 30 points is okay to me. Run it close and I'll be shitty all week. Lose and I'll be raging.

Training report:

Small match sim style.
Wilkie on hayes

Cheers.

Was there as well - excellent summary.

The only things I would add was that I thought Coff looked very good - moved well & other than 1 turnover disposed of it nicely.

Hayes also out there.

Yes didn’t sight Billings or Jones.
Thanks heaps for the training reports😍

How was Bytel looking?

Great to hear Steele is moving well!!