Trades Round 18 trades

How do people think Snellling will go? i need to field him or D.Clarke, and i'm leaning towards snelling.
Think he can go 90-100. Very good ball winner
Not sure about that think he may play the small forward pressure role now Fantasia is out, he’s been playing that role as well as a bit of onball in the two’s

A few have said Mayne goes to Whitfield this week based on last week. However, hurn and Whitfield couldn't be further apart when it comes to role and type of player. Hurn sits in the hole and picks off intercept marks in deep defense and hack kicks coming out of the opposition's D50. Whitfield is a two way player who can sustain top end speed for near-on all game, and can play a multitude of roles (attend centre bounces, play off half back, play a higher forward role for stints and kick a couple of goals, start or get on the end of scoring chains etc).

To me, Hurn is the kind of player Mayne can go to based on similar physical attributes but he isn't cut out for a full game on Whitfield. Zac Williams on the other hand could be a possibility to get Mayne. That's the more likely scenario for mine.
Greenwood could do a job I reckon. Crisp kept shuey pretty quiet

HAHAHA you can't script this stuff! Just heard Brayspud is in for a role change and apparently they talked about it in afl 360 (can anyone confirm). I look at the team sheets..and Brayspud is named on ball! Watch me end up keeping the spud now! Bray spudding up will not anger me anymore, I reached peak anger after his forty ******* four last week. The only thing that will infuriate me now is if I trade him and he ends up going on a 100+ streak. FFS I was finally at peace trading him on tuesday!! This game is actually unfair

Yep, That's currently what I'm doing also. Might be a week early on Whitfield but atleast I can be assured (injury) aside that he's not a spud.

Can't choose between Duncan/Merrett/Taranto so I won't choose anyway this week and put it off till next week!
I cant do my plan this week thanks to Fyfe being out anyway. Bray/Fyfe out & Cripps/Hunter in

HAHAHA you can't script this stuff! Just heard Brayspud is in for a role change and apparently they talked about it in afl 360 (can anyone confirm). I look at the team sheets..and Brayspud is named on ball! Watch me end up keeping the spud now! Bray spudding up will not anger me anymore, I reached peak anger after his forty ******* four last week. The only thing that will infuriate me now is if I trade him and he ends up going on a 100+ streak. FFS I was finally at peace trading him on tuesday!! This game is actually unfair
There's an article about him published 3 hours ago behind a The West paywall. If you can somehow read it I'd love to know what it says

I got no info man, just going by what some guy said on the RDT board. Would love to have someone confirm the proposed Bray role change. The fact that he is named on ball is pretty big, Oliver is named fwd...
Keeping him is actually better for my mental health. If he spuds up then my rankings blows out even more but I can't get angry at him any more than I already am. If he starts killing it when I trade him though...I'll go off

Genuine question, what scores better;

Answorth and Watson/Birchall(don't really want to spend the money so likley to be basement)

Or

Milera and a DNP

First week I can genuinely say that I'm happy with nearly all team selections. Fyfe owners got reamed this week though. Bewley and Logue playing gives me 4 rooks on the bench, which is much better than previous weeks.

Houston is back in as forecasted, with Sutcliffe staying in as well...which means Martin is getting tagged without a doubt. Sticking with my Dusty trade out.

Dusty > Curnow
Cogs > Murphy

238K remaining for next week
I think Sutcliffe will be late out

Actually just found this, published yesterday. Paul Roos just said what I have been screaming for the whole year.

Like Lyon, former Melbourne coach Paul Roos questioned how the chopping and changing in the centre bounce midfield mix was affecting their young players, including Angus Brayshaw.
“Brayshaw is probably the one for me. Where does he sit?” Roos asked.

“You look at Jordan Lewis … on the face of it, you’ve got a young midfielder Brayshaw who finished third in the Brownlow. Clearly you’ve got to take responsibility for your own career but I don’t think he’s going that well.

“But there’s a real opportunity to get him in there. Whether they are trying to teach him a lesson or whether he needs to train harder, but on the face of that they are concerning numbers for a young midfielder who was third in the Brownlow last year.”

I'm going Jarrod lyon over cripps.

people are totally forgetting how many times cripps has let them down this year.
People going Cripps because he is cheap and is value. If I had the cash then I would go to an uber premo like Treloar but I don't. Cogs has to be a downgrade for me and Cripps is the best at that price bracket. I know he will have a few 80s for the rest of the season but I just hope he goes huge this week and I can ride that score for a while

I'm going Jarrod lyon over cripps.

people are totally forgetting how many times cripps has let them down this year.
Jarryd Lyons is owned by just %1 of the competition and averaging 92 for the season which is okay.

But I really love this pick when you start to dig a little deeper. Brisbanes upcoming fixture includes North, Hawks, Bulldogs, Gold Coast, Geelong and Richmond of which 4 are played at home. Lions have won 6 of their 7 games at home in 2019.

In wins this year Lyons is averaging 103.5 with a really decent ceiling and could be a great M8 pod going into the final 6 rounds. Interestingly, it's also worth noting that his average in losses drops to 67 which certainly correlates the overall 2019 average a bit further.

Actually just found this, published yesterday. Paul Roos just said what I have been screaming for the whole year.

Like Lyon, former Melbourne coach Paul Roos questioned how the chopping and changing in the centre bounce midfield mix was affecting their young players, including Angus Brayshaw.

“You look at Jordan Lewis … on the face of it, you’ve got a young midfielder Brayshaw who finished third in the Brownlow. Clearly you’ve got to take responsibility for your own career but I don’t think he’s going that well.

“But there’s a real opportunity to get him in there. Whether they are trying to teach him a lesson or whether he needs to train harder, but on the face of that they are concerning numbers for a young midfielder who was third in the Brownlow last year.”
Hm interesting but not sure if I'm sold

Demons’ burning question: Should Angus Brayshaw spend more time on the ball on Sunday?

Surely you’ve got to play one of your best midfielders in the guts against one of the best midfields in the competition? In the past two weeks, it’s appeared veteran Jordan Lewis has been preferred over Brayshaw as a centre-bounce midfielder. According to Champion Data, Lewis has spent 95 per cent game time in the midfield in the past fortnight, leading to 19 and 18 disposals respectively. Brayshaw has spent far less time in there and had 15 and 12 touches in the same games. Remember, this is the guy that finished outright third in the Brownlow Medal last year and averaged 26.1 touches per match. Brayshaw has every right to be filthy with the Demons’ coaching staff

Your wish is my command: (thank god for uni subscriptions)

Angus Brayshaw was one of the big stories of last year’s Brownlow Medal count.

Not even invited to attend the function, the hard-nut Melbourne midfielder had to briefly consider making a mad dash from the couch to Crown as he surged into medal contention.

He finished third, and was tipped to take the competition by storm once again this year along with the rest of that young gun Melbourne engine room.

But 17 rounds into 2019, Melbourne remains entrenched in the bottom-four and now every club will ask about Brayshaw’s status in the exchange period.

He looks to be down on confidence, and playing more time on a forward flank and wing, swapping with midfield mate Clayton Oliver.

In Sunday’s loss to the Western Bulldogs, Brayshaw had a season-low 12 possessions after only 15 touches the week before in the Demons’ victory over Carlton.

That’s almost half his average of 26 disposals last year, while his metres gained totals and clearances have also halved compared to last season.

Something’s up with the 23-year-old, clearly.

Compared to the same point last year, Brayshaw has attended 15 fewer centre bounces this season — despite playing three more games.

That is less time in the guts, to help fit in the return of Jack Viney in 2019.

On Sunday, he watched on as veteran Jordan Lewis played the bulk of the game in an onball role on Bulldogs’ superstar Marcus Bontempelli.

Unequivocally, Melbourne plans to keep Brayshaw at the club next season after signing him to an extension last year.

The only way he could leave is if he lost faith in the club, and that would be a surprise if turned out that way.

But there will be a discussion at the end of the season about his best role, his two-way running and midfield accountability.

Can he work his way through this slump as Melbourne tries to shape him into becoming a more well-rounded and balanced footballer?

Coach Simon Goodwin has full faith this Melbourne group can bounce back next year if they work hard enough for it.

But rivals have repeatedly torched the red and blue on the midfield spread, and that has to change to climb back up the ladder in 2020.

In any case, it will be an interesting final six weeks for Brayshaw, who clearly hasn’t had the year he was hoping for.

Still, he will finish top-10 in the best-and-fairest, having played every game so far this year. Max Gawn should win it ahead of Christian Salem.

But the alarm bells have started ringing on Brayshaw for former Melbourne and Sydney premiership coach Paul Roos.

3f1b5159dd0008ed26d82babe23bbeae

His pressure points, according to Champion Data, have dipped only slightly from last season to this season, dropping from 41.6 to 39.

Is he being treated harshly or not? It seems part education, part reality check.

“Brayshaw is probably the one for me, where is he sitting at the moment?” Roos said on Fox Footy.

“On the face of it, you’ve got a young midfielder, Brayshaw, who has finished third in the Brownlow and clearly you’ve got to take responsibility for your own career.

“I don’t think he is going that well, but there is real opportunity to get him in there.

“Whether they are trying to teach him a lesson or whether he needs to train harder I have no idea. But on the face of it they are concerning numbers.

No actual quotes from anyone at Melbourne saying he’ll return to a midfield role, purely just opinion pieces. I’m an owner and watch him closely most weeks, he still gets a run on the ball for a decent chunk in most quarters but just can’t find the footy. Looks disinterested and no urgency to his game right now, still a trade I reckon. BE 131, another 70-80 score and that’s a 25-30k drop coming again

Your wish is my command: (thank god for uni subscriptions)

Angus Brayshaw was one of the big stories of last year’s Brownlow Medal count.

Not even invited to attend the function, the hard-nut Melbourne midfielder had to briefly consider making a mad dash from the couch to Crown as he surged into medal contention.

He finished third, and was tipped to take the competition by storm once again this year along with the rest of that young gun Melbourne engine room.

But 17 rounds into 2019, Melbourne remains entrenched in the bottom-four and now every club will ask about Brayshaw’s status in the exchange period.

He looks to be down on confidence, and playing more time on a forward flank and wing, swapping with midfield mate Clayton Oliver.

In Sunday’s loss to the Western Bulldogs, Brayshaw had a season-low 12 possessions after only 15 touches the week before in the Demons’ victory over Carlton.

That’s almost half his average of 26 disposals last year, while his metres gained totals and clearances have also halved compared to last season.

Something’s up with the 23-year-old, clearly.

Compared to the same point last year, Brayshaw has attended 15 fewer centre bounces this season — despite playing three more games.

That is less time in the guts, to help fit in the return of Jack Viney in 2019.

On Sunday, he watched on as veteran Jordan Lewis played the bulk of the game in an onball role on Bulldogs’ superstar Marcus Bontempelli.

Unequivocally, Melbourne plans to keep Brayshaw at the club next season after signing him to an extension last year.

The only way he could leave is if he lost faith in the club, and that would be a surprise if turned out that way.

But there will be a discussion at the end of the season about his best role, his two-way running and midfield accountability.

Can he work his way through this slump as Melbourne tries to shape him into becoming a more well-rounded and balanced footballer?

Coach Simon Goodwin has full faith this Melbourne group can bounce back next year if they work hard enough for it.

But rivals have repeatedly torched the red and blue on the midfield spread, and that has to change to climb back up the ladder in 2020.

In any case, it will be an interesting final six weeks for Brayshaw, who clearly hasn’t had the year he was hoping for.

Still, he will finish top-10 in the best-and-fairest, having played every game so far this year. Max Gawn should win it ahead of Christian Salem.

But the alarm bells have started ringing on Brayshaw for former Melbourne and Sydney premiership coach Paul Roos.

3f1b5159dd0008ed26d82babe23bbeae

His pressure points, according to Champion Data, have dipped only slightly from last season to this season, dropping from 41.6 to 39.

Is he being treated harshly or not? It seems part education, part reality check.

“Brayshaw is probably the one for me, where is he sitting at the moment?” Roos said on Fox Footy.

“On the face of it, you’ve got a young midfielder, Brayshaw, who has finished third in the Brownlow and clearly you’ve got to take responsibility for your own career.

“I don’t think he is going that well, but there is real opportunity to get him in there.

“Whether they are trying to teach him a lesson or whether he needs to train harder I have no idea. But on the face of it they are concerning numbers.
Thanks mate. It's pretty much just confirming what we all know rather than hinting at that role change we want

No sweat. He is named on ball this week though, which Melbourne have been pretty consistent with (their position matching where they play on the day). They're probably getting worried he'll leave, haha

anyone getting Birchall? I can't sit here with a straight face and have Guthrie in my team when Birchall is 170k less than him.

Thinking
Guthrie to Birchall
Cogs to Cripps
260k for next week when I decide to trade Brayspud again...

or take Murphy instead of Cripps and save myself another 45k....cash will be crucial in getting Hack Jones up to Whitfield

The week I want to trade Brayshaw all of a sudden there's criticism and speculation about his role AND he's named on ball. Get f’ed.

Given the urgency he played with on the weekend, he'll be on - 124 points by QT. Dunkley, who aint quick, ran him down from 5 - 10 m away while he was thinking about potentially lining up to take a shot in the F50....

Currently have BSmith at D7. I'm trading him out to fund my Sheed to Gaff trade. Who to grab for DEF cover?

Birchall or Quaynor + $75k

Trades Round 18 trades