Autopsy Round 2, 2023: Positives and Negatives vs GWS

There’s some vocal critics of, for example, Simpson’s coaching and Waterman’s place on the list, that have been extremely quiet in the last 18 hours or so.

Imagine that. Being all grumpy instead of thinking "wow, the player who helped my team win convincingly on the weekend is better than I thought, what a delightful bonus!"

There’s some vocal critics of, for example, Simpson’s coaching and Waterman’s place on the list, that have been extremely quiet in the last 18 hours or so.

I was gonna tag the alleged silent one when Waterman was lining up on the siren, decided against it.

Imagine that. Being all grumpy instead of thinking "wow, the player who helped my team win convincingly on the weekend is better than I thought, what a delightful bonus!"

Haha I know right? If things turn out better than I thought they'd be, I love being proven wrong.

Nothing beats waking up on a Monday morning after a win.

I was gonna tag the alleged silent one when Waterman was lining up on the siren, decided against it.

Hasn’t posted since early in the second term.

I’m beginning to come around to the view that he’s just a persistent troll and not an actual Eagles fan. Certainly seems to get no enjoyment out of the club doing anything positive.

I know it's one game, but imagine if Waterman can become a reliable KPF? That takes the pressure off drafting big time, as we can focus on getting a young KPD to develop and keep building up the midfield and HBF/HFF.

I forgot that he's only a year older than Allen. For some reason it seems like he's been around forever and Allen is still a young kid. Both are in their mid 20s so it's time to hit their prime.

You mean when he missed an easy shot on goal? Would have looked foolish wouldn’t it?

Such a shame my stalker taking is no enjoyment in a win but worried about what I’m going to say… as usual his sniping people adds nothing to this forum.

Onya Jake you had a ten minute patch and could have finished finished with 6 or 7. Let’s see now though how many weeks it takes him to get another 4 goals in total.
Surprised his manager wasn’t in the rooms at half time for a 5 year extension for this Wayne Carey arrival.

Anyway SPS definitely had his best game for the eagles and hopefully there’s an upswing there as I think that knee hampered him last year..

Jones definitely is a back man now not a forward.

The young 4 all showed something and will improve. Big tick..

Good old Jayden Hunt got me for taking him out of my dream team side.

Gaff just gtfo. It’s time to go.

Williams in the ruck. Again garbage. He did take a mark this week so that’s an improvement.

Good this week to be back to playing a good quarter and coasting the way home.. hopefully get it to a solid half this week to 3 quarters.

For those advocating folks 'go back to the WAFL', the first game coincides with round 4 in the AFL.

The better question is do any of* XON, Clark, or Petrochemical offer more than folks in the 22+1 already? Is it worth getting Chesser experience over spare parts Clark?

*Excluding injured players. Also excluding Hough who is apparently not injured, but also not good enough to even be an emergency despite playing more and better games last season than all of the above.

Agreed. The boys played well – no doubt about it. It’s not a problem as such, but the reality is that we played completely differently this week to last (and last year, and the year before). It’s impossible to believe we had the same game plan this week as last week, or that we suddenly learned – within the space of a week – to move the ball quickly when for years we have used slow and methodical ball movement exclusively (and absolutely loved passing backwards). I think comments like Gary Lyons’ cut Simmo and his crew to the core and they decided to ditch the old game plan and play fast and direct this week. Freo will have learned their lesson too. The Derby should be a ripper of a game, which will get progressively more brutal as both sides tire (and feel the anxiety of playing a style of footy they are not used to) after half time. So… I guess it’s coach bashing, but I just don’t believe Simmo’s game plan was the same in Week 1 as it was in Week 2, even if he asserts it was.

At the game the number of times Jamie Cripps sprinted to put pressure on the opposition ball carrier was crazy. A number of times he tracked it 50m+ to cause a turnover. No wonder the coaches love him so much.

Last two weeks Sheeds started the game so poorly and worked into the game. He was instrumental in both games when we started to get going. He’s still rusty but my gosh i forgot how good his hands can be in tight. There were a couple plays where we were able to get away cause of how clean and quick his hands were. Then there were a few sizzling kicks forward that was pure delight. Hoping he can gather form sooner rather than later

I thought overall the team's hands were far better this week in doing that half throw feed out under pressure that every other team does.

+
  • Game time into the young fellas = Ginbey and Long both solidly contributing. Doing the +1 efforts and demanding the ball in good spots, not just seagulling like Gaff. Loved to see Long not give Gaff the ball a couple times.
  • Backs and mids move the ball quick = Eagles fwds have opportunity to threaten goal. It's a simple formula, and hope we continue doing it and build stamina into those legs that were cooked during the 3rd qtr.
  • Seeing Simmo get animated in the box
  • Fwd line turning things around and applying pressure
  • Duggans bump
-
  • Gaff. You can't knock his ability to keep the legs spinning, but you can knock everything else about his game (apart from the one hit up straight onto Watermans chest on the lead - beautiful!). He needs to stop asking for the ball in worse positions than his teammates and from teammates who he knows are faster than he is.
  • BBW ... tries hard, but is not an AFL level ruck. Made Flynn look like AA material.
  • Another average fwd line making our backline look poor makes me worried for when we play decent fwds.
  • Injury from duggans bump. Unlucky Wehr

• Gaff. You can't knock his ability to keep the legs spinning, but you can knock everything else about his game (apart from the one hit up straight onto Watermans chest on the lead - beautiful!). He needs to stop asking for the ball in worse positions than his teammates and from teammates who he knows are faster than he is.

Would also be great if he stopped calling for it when he'll receive it for a right-sided disposal. He should know his limits, if he does not have a right boot then don't call for it. Instead he tries to run in a circle to get onto his left loses space and time at best or at worst panics and does a 3 metre kick across the ground like he did yesterday.

Sorry for the guy but right now he's just not up to it. Time comes for us all, but it feels like it's rolled over the top of him, reversed back and gone over him one more time for good measure.

Agreed. The boys played well – no doubt about it. It’s not a problem as such, but the reality is that we played completely differently this week to last (and last year, and the year before). It’s impossible to believe we had the same game plan this week as last week, or that we suddenly learned – within the space of a week – to move the ball quickly when for years we have used slow and methodical ball movement exclusively (and absolutely loved passing backwards). I think comments like Gary Lyons’ cut Simmo and his crew to the core and they decided to ditch the old game plan and play fast and direct this week. Freo will have learned their lesson too. The Derby should be a ripper of a game, which will get progressively more brutal as both sides tire (and feel the anxiety of playing a style of footy they are not used to) after half time. So… I guess it’s coach bashing, but I just don’t believe Simmo’s game plan was the same in Week 1 as it was in Week 2, even if he asserts it was.

Well you'd have more idea than Simmo what his game plan is for sure.

Would also be great if he stopped calling for it when he'll receive it for a right-sided disposal. He should know his limits, if he does not have a right boot then don't call for it. Instead he tries to run in a circle to get onto his left loses space and time at best or at worst panics and does a 3 metre kick across the ground like he did yesterday.

Sorry for the guy but right now he's just not up to it. Time comes for us all, but it feels like it's rolled over the top of him, reversed back and gone over him one more time for good measure.
The amount of times I yelled at the TV when he did that. And when he was on the wrong wing for a lefty ... * me!

That's right they got slammed for being the Rest Coasting Eagles. Might've hit home?
But whether that was the cause of tweaks in game plan or not, the coach was responsible for that change.
It seems he's damned if he doesn't change and damned if he does?

Like many I was getting annoyed with the incrementally slow change-up in game style and saying if there's no improvement this season, I'm good with him being gone.
Like y'all was hoping to see improvement in this game or the derby, and it happened! Maybe he was keeping this under wraps, getting the cattle tuned and fit and all on the field -a slow reveal or build up, and his hand was forced by 'the commentators'? Who knows.

Anyway, we have just been privy to the untapped potential of the team, some players and the coaching.
Was that the first big step forward out of the blocks? Lets hope the progress continues.
Imagine the feeling now amongst the team, be players wanting to bust in! Sooner Wafl starts the better.
Of course there'll be ups+downs, losses, injuries, but we've finally seen what we're hoping for...
At some risk, I say the groundhog day cycle has been broken finally.
1st win since last June!

At the game the number of times Jamie Cripps sprinted to put pressure on the opposition ball carrier was crazy. A number of times he tracked it 50m+ to cause a turnover. No wonder the coaches love him so much.
Maybe that is where Ryan got it from. His work rate and speed also led to a few turnovers.

With Waterman, glad he kicked a few goals and justified his spot in the team. Yes he probably could of kicked 8+ but Hogan also could have had 10+
But seriously if next week he only kicks one or two but Oscar or Jack kick a handful then he will still have justified his spot in the team. As long as he contributes, competes and has a go our forward line looks heaps better.

I that was missing from his game in 2022. It's good he's back at it.

Autopsy Round 2, 2023: Positives and Negatives vs GWS