Preview Round 2, 2025: Carlton v Hawthorn, Thursday 20th March, 7:30pm @MCG

200 games for the heart and soul of this team this week.

Go well Jars.
I said it about Amon recently, but Jars is cut from the same cloth - head down, arse up, get on with playing their role, and playing it extremely well, with a minimum of fuss and fanfare.

Sounds crazy (even looks bonkers on the screen as I type this) but I would be tempted to play two rucks and heavily work over De Koning. Having someone like Reeves occasionally stationed deep forward guarantees we never get outmarked also- that's Carlton's only reliable way to rebound.
We'll need Reeves at times this year rucking solo to give Meek a rest but I really don't want Carlton's mids getting first use like Essendon did so I'd see what two rucks looks like in a game where I think we can afford to look at it.

PS More than happy to accept some criticism for this idea hahaha
Not that crazy - Meek got worked over by the two rucks against bummers. Draper was coming at him fresh after resting forward and got on top late- agree it had a lot to do with them winning the midfield battle IMO

Not sure it’ll be a problem this week Carlton only playing one ruck we may just back Meek in again

Training was short and sweet today.
Rehab group - Bodie Ryan, Calsher Dear and Mitch Lewis
Lewis is looking primed and ready to go.
Calsher is coming along slowly but surely.
Worpel came down and did some handballing, then went upstairs.
Tackling was a big emphasis with Rich, the tackling coach. The team had a 58% success rate for tackling on Friday and weren't happy with it.
Lots of ruck taps in the forward line with Meek, the midfielders and the smalls trying to read the ball and kick goals off snaps.
Broke off into Box Hill and Seniors a few times.
CJ and Gunners both a possibility to come into the side for Thursday night.
Boys all looked ready to fire on Thursday night in what will hopefully give us 3 wins on the trot to start the sason since 2014.
IMG_0055.JPG IMG_9870.JPG

Not that crazy - Meek got worked over by the two rucks against bummers. Draper was coming at him fresh after resting forward and got on top late- agree it had a lot to do with them winning the midfield battle IMO

Not sure it’ll be a problem this week Carlton only playing one ruck we may just back Meek in again
Meek was crook last week. Might explain his lack of energy in the last half of the game.

I wouldn't take Sam's answer to be an indication of any kind of ranking order - apart from Amon at No.1.

Gaz asked him who the best kick in the team was and the first name he mentioned was indeed Amon. There was then a (very) slight pause, after which he started reeling off the other names you mentioned, probably to indicate there were plenty of other good kicks in the team. I don't think the other names were named with any particular order in mind and he would probably have continued naming others had Gaz not interrupted by saying how the team's kicking profile was similar to our '08 flag winners. That comparison with the '08 team was, I reckon, the main point both Sam and Gaz were trying to make.
No I agree, and in no way did I mean to imply that he was ranking them. (He didn't mention mass after all) it's just they in his head those names came to him with an unprepared question, which means he must hold their capacity to kick in pretty high esteem.

For what it is worth, Box Hill played on Friday evening at the same time as the Senior team. Box Hill won by around 7 goals. Best players on the night were Gunston, Ramsden and Hustwaite.

Gunston comes in this week for sure - Friday night was a tune up for him.
Certainty he takes Weitering and acts almost as a decoy just like last year. Take him out from having an influence. He's dangerous enough still that you need a good matchup for him (Gunners). Weitering will take him to the ball worst case scenario.

Fearful that we get a repeat of the semi-final last year, where the opposition reponse strongly after a devastating loss.

Going to be a long wait until Thursday.
We would be planning for this to happen. The semi final is fresh in the players minds of a team being thrashed the week before coming out hard the next week. I can't see us not expecting a full throttle Carlton and matching them.

Flying over from Adelaide for this one!

Mate in the AFL reserve has bought some tickets for a mate and I, so I have two general admission tickets available that we'd previously purchased.

$27 each for anyone interested. Just message me :)

It all depends how you define elite, it's a loose term.

Personally I define Elite as a player who backs up week after week and is one of the best in the league in their position most weeks (which Sic and Moore do).

I think you are right on the Scrimmers call, he probably is elite now as he is super consistent (we will miss him big time the next three weeks).

Watson has the potential to be elite and he probably will be but he's not at that level yet (he's only in his second year to be fair to the kid).

Meek still probably just outside that very top echelon of rucks. Still love the big fella though.

Day will be elite if he can get his body right.

Newk as you say just needs that extra 5% in consistency to be truely elite, he's very close.

Amon I would have as very good rather than elite but that's just me. I probably don't give him the props he deserves.

Barrass, like Meek probably just that one level down from the Elite Key Defenders like Taylor, Andrews and Weitering. Still an excellent pick up though.

Our spread of talent is so wide now though, that's why we can have players have down days like we have seen the last two weeks yet still win comfortably.

That's the sign of a very good side, we are right in it this year 💪
Very good summary - don't disagree with any of it.

I'll just add, though, that we do have an elite coach - and that is probably our biggest strength.

Sammy creating smart on field leaders.

I’m almost crying about how much I love Impey. Ok I’m actually crying ok. Leave me alone!
Bloody onions

Bit worried because I know vossy will crucify them and he’s the type you run through walls for, surely they need a massive response. Would like Gunston in to play on Weitering because think Jacob will kill chol if given the chance, took heaps of intercepts against richmond. Maybe finn out.

Would kind of like to see jiath in for the run as don’t think Carlton can keep with him and they have no smalls we really need to watch out for. Let’s weds go a bit more free as he’s a bit down in form. Frost probably the obvious in though from sub to play on mckay/ curnow, free up tb & sis a bit.

We need more from our midfield group this week, if Meek can play better, unfortunately he fell over half the time against the bombers, we also need more contested footy from Nash to cover for our receiver mids like Day, Newc and the younger mids, Anderson or Hustwaite could be an option, but not sure if they can handle the heat to lead our contested poss game to feed the others? if we can't win the contested footy we need to win the pressure/tackle game, I'm curious how we go about improving our midfield performance this week.....

It all depends how you define elite, it's a loose term.

Personally I define Elite as a player who backs up week after week and is one of the best in the league in their position most weeks (which Sic and Moore do).

I think you are right on the Scrimmers call, he probably is elite now as he is super consistent (we will miss him big time the next three weeks).

Watson has the potential to be elite and he probably will be but he's not at that level yet (he's only in his second year to be fair to the kid).

Meek still probably just outside that very top echelon of rucks. Still love the big fella though.

Day will be elite if he can get his body right.

Newk as you say just needs that extra 5% in consistency to be truely elite, he's very close.

Amon I would have as very good rather than elite but that's just me. I probably don't give him the props he deserves.

Barrass, like Meek probably just that one level down from the Elite Key Defenders like Taylor, Andrews and Weitering. Still an excellent pick up though.

Our spread of talent is so wide now though, that's why we can have players have down days like we have seen the last two weeks yet still win comfortably.

That's the sign of a very good side, we are right in it this year 💪
Watson has kicked 21 goals in his last 11 games.
Elite.

The rest is subjective, but there wouldn't be more than 4-5 players I'd prefer ahead of them in their positions.

Sam Mitchell asked who was the best kick at Hawthorn,

"Karl Amon, James Sicily, Cam McKenzie and Josh Ward"

Just a big rap for Frenchie and Ward, with some of the other kicks in the team.
Interesting.

I think McKenzie's kick shape is still a little flighty, and Ward, still prefers to kick short (at times dinky). Fundamentally, sound techniques, though.

Preview Round 2, 2025: Carlton v Hawthorn, Thursday 20th March, 7:30pm @MCG