Preview Round 23, 2023: St.Kilda v Geelong - Marvel Stadium, Saturday 19th August, 7:25PM AEST *HIGGINS 100TH*

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 37 77.1%
  • Cats

Votes: 11 22.9%

It's a homophone, that's a correct way to say it. Versus is legitimate English, verse is from a song or poem not a challenge. You can't "verse" someone but you can definitely have Collingwood versus Carlton.

Kids read "Mario vs Bowser" they knew vs was versus, probably an adult told them, they then expanded it so that "i can't come to dinner maaaa, i'm versing Fred."

Anyway symbolically if we are in the Premiership business, symbolically this is the biggest game in over a decade. A game we can look back on and say that was the clear defining game

Yeah, this is a huge game for us. I'm hoping fans turn up and make noise. I know a few fans who've checked out but if you can't get up for this I don't know what the point of following a side is. Season and future defining game.

There it is again

Versed
Bahaha at this point I’m going to have to start baiting you with it

Baby Boomers Boomer GIF by MOODMAN

Impossible to know that. GWS might have approached us. Anyone that needs to justify that era of drafting as a win for the Saints obviously isn't ready to process the carnage we caused ourselves. It's years ago and the rebuild is still going when we'd topped up to challenge.

I'm not suggesting it was a win. I'm suggesting the road not travelled may not have necessarily been lined with gold.

6 day to 8 day turnaround is a bummer.
And a certain? commentator on foxtel/kayo was stating that the Tigers game was a taxing one, because of the quick up & down running. I reckon we looked stuffed in the last quarter, while the Tigers looked like old men.

I agree - clearly one the best 36 wingers in the league. So Mason Wood or Blake Acres?

Here's Blake being Blake in the tense last two minutes of last weeks Carl v Melb game.

Off the side of the boot, up in the air and into the corridor giving Melbourne a chance to win the game - the funniest thing is that its probably classified as another classic Blake Acres "effective disposal".
View attachment 1777186

View attachment 1777190
Blacres had three possessions in the last 120 seconds, all in D50 and all glaring turnovers. It was like had had money on Dees, but b/c the Dees didn't get it done, no one went back an analysed how bad he was (Media Rule No 1. - you only analyse the mistakes of the team that loses).

I think it's interesting that we were happy to offload Blacres as steak knives, then he has a 2022 season that most people said was very good (I don't watch a lot of non-Saints games so can't comment) and yet the Dockers go "yeah, nah. Happy for you to go back to Melbs".

Blacres had three possessions in the last 120 seconds, all in D50 and all glaring turnovers. It was like had had money on Dees, but b/c the Dees didn't get it done, no one went back an analysed how bad he was (Media Rule No 1. - you only analyse the mistakes of the team that loses).

I think it's interesting that we were happy to offload Blacres as steak knives, then he has a 2022 season that most people said was very good (I don't watch a lot of non-Saints games so can't comment) and yet the Dockers go "yeah, nah. Happy for you to go back to Melbs".
One of those 3 possessions was one of his classic "hit the roof" kicks. 35m up but travels 15m.
He should have played Rugby maybe ? A natural up and under kicker.

I'm not suggesting it was a win. I'm suggesting the road not travelled may not have necessarily been lined with gold.

To me that whole period was a write off. Poor ability to recognise where the list was at (after Lethlean was paid top dollar and promoted after a review), poor drafting, trading out players for very small returns, paying huge overs for talent that wasn't absolutely top shelf etc. It was probably the third reset in a near 10 year rebuilding program. Absolutely unacceptable and probably should have cost Lethlean his job along with Ratts, Gags, Rath etc.

We are probably at the 4th rebuild in 13 years now and have to hope like hell that we have the right people in place. Lyon looks to have fixed up a lot of issues within the footy department that is going to be worth more than anything he does with his coaching. Just structuring up right and having a recruiter that understands the process is a great start. If we get more right than wrong we should be able to make it short and painless but so much relies on not making dumb choices. At least they have some credits in the bank this time.

Freo wanted cap space to chase Jackson so unloaded Lobb and Acres who were both on good contracts. They had O'Driscoll looking like he might turn into a star wingman and Henry in development. I think they've stepped back a bit.

Acres is a unique player but heaps of what he does comes off. I'm not sure he even knows what he's going to do sometimes but he's a guy who suits that fast moving game plan and gets end to end to sure up defence and attack. He's looking like one of the best wings in the comp this year IMO. He's an abstract artist on field.

He's one that I watch and fume about. He'd be great for us right now no matter what people think of his disposal. He's got the run and work rate of Byrnes but with more attacking flair and height.

Anyway symbolically if we are in the Premiership business, symbolically this is the biggest game in over a decade. A game we can look back on and say that was the clear defining game
We most certainly are in the Premiership business. For more than the past decade we've been looking through the window from the footpath at the other customers lining up at the Serious Secret Business counter buying and trading their finals tickets.

The luckiest customer was the Bulldogs who were kissed in all the right places many, many times when their winning entry originally only just allowed them in the door.

The Tigers put a lot of work into getting their tickets but they bought good quality laminated ones and were able to keep using them.

The Cats swapped and changed (and probably stole) tickets for years and got all the wrong coloured tokens until last year. The old tickets look like they're one-use only, but they do know how to doctor the ticket machine.

Speaking of one-use tickets, the Eagles invested so heavily their deal with the devil cost them their future, which is schadenfreude writ large for all their past horrors. The Demons might also have one-use tickets unless they really push their way back to the front of the queue very soon. Hawthorn is unmentionable, so ugly is that club despite being dressed up to look nice and flatter to deceive, so we'll forget about their very lucky door prizes.

Which brings us back to us. We are inside the magic room where the Serious Secret Business happens, we've got our hands on some tickets, some bullies are trying to take them and I expect we'll fight very, very hard to keep them. But if we can't I really hope we jam them so far up the arse of whoever steals them that they choke on 'em!

Bahaha at this point I’m going to have to start baiting you with it

Baby Boomers Boomer GIF by MOODMAN
A bit tired of this argument, it is not correct English in the correct grammar sense, however English is a dynamic and changing language, otherwise we will all still talk like Geoffrey Chaucer.
Listen to British v American v South African v Australian English, it is very different and nuanced, with terminology and slang.
Verses, versing etc, so what?

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Acres is a good player. Can run all day, is a bull, decent overhead for a winger. Don’t know why people continue to feel the need to shite on him.
We wasted him and then gave him away for nothing, dumb club.
Agreed, I was am still sad he was traded, they should have held their ground. They gave enough away. They got Hill a 3 time premiership player for a second rounder....greedy f*ckers

A bit tired of this argument, it is not correct English in the correct grammar sense, however English is a dynamic and changing language, otherwise we will all still talk like Geoffrey Chaucer.
Listen to British v American v South African v Australian English, it is very different and nuanced, with terminology and slang.

Point taken. I must say, I would be shocked to hear someone on the National broadcaster, the ABC use "versing". :rolleyes:

Didn't say I would use it, and don't like it, but I'm a boomer.
I think it is just the way English is built.

Freo wanted cap space to chase Jackson so unloaded Lobb and Acres who were both on good contracts. They had O'Driscoll looking like he might turn into a star wingman and Henry in development. I think they've stepped back a bit.

Acres is a unique player but heaps of what he does comes off. I'm not sure he even knows what he's going to do sometimes but he's a guy who suits that fast moving game plan and gets end to end to sure up defence and attack. He's looking like one of the best wings in the comp this year IMO. He's an abstract artist on field.

He's one that I watch and fume about. He'd be great for us right now no matter what people think of his disposal. He's got the run and work rate of Byrnes but with more attacking flair and height.
Acres wasn’t contracted. They did low ball him with their offer though, basically telling him he’s better off leaving.

I don’t rate him overly highly, but the whole Hill deal was a complete arse up from us and set us back.

Please leave

So what?
Why don’t we chuck it all out the window and hunt each other with sticks and rocks!
Pump the brakes on the degradation of our intelligence, JB, christ knows we need carbon ceramics in that sense. 😎

We most certainly are in the Premiership business. For more than the past decade we've been looking through the window from the footpath at the other customers lining up at the Serious Secret Business counter buying and trading their finals tickets.

The luckiest customer was the Bulldogs who were kissed in all the right places many, many times when their winning entry originally only just allowed them in the door.

The Tigers put a lot of work into getting their tickets but they bought good quality laminated ones and were able to keep using them.

The Cats swapped and changed (and probably stole) tickets for years and got all the wrong coloured tokens until last year. The old tickets look like they're one-use only, but they do know how to doctor the ticket machine.

Speaking of one-use tickets, the Eagles invested so heavily their deal with the devil cost them their future, which is schadenfreude writ large for all their past horrors. The Demons might also have one-use tickets unless they really push their way back to the front of the queue very soon. Hawthorn is unmentionable, so ugly is that club despite being dressed up to look nice and flatter to deceive, so we'll forget about their very lucky door prizes.

Which brings us back to us. We are inside the magic room where the Serious Secret Business happens, we've got our hands on some tickets, some bullies are trying to take them and I expect we'll fight very, very hard to keep them. But if we can't I really hope we jam them so far up the arse of whoever steals them that they choke on 'em!
Its looking like we have another contender for Mr Analogy 2023 , Circus is coming hard at gringo2011 down the stretch