AFL Autopsy Round 4 vs Sydney and City Hall

Like the one they pinged Guelfi for when he was tackled in mid air and didn't take any steps?

It's the inconsistency that people are pissed off at.

Papley gets a gifted goal for the slightest hold but when Franklin hauls Francis out of the way by the jumper, crickets.

Yep, consistency is the issue. Swans kick the ball 40-50m out into space, goes out of bounds before players can reach it, throw in, farcical stuff.

I hate the rule but that has always been pinged for deliberate and from memory his kick was in the direction of the nearest boundary.

Yes positive signs for the team last night.
Very angry last night, calmer today though.
Last time in Sydney it was Rampe (I think) climbing the goal post and it should have been another free kick on the goal line but the umpires didn't care or didn't know the rules, even though Essendon players pointed it out to them.
Last night we sat in the opposition supporters area (Bay 2) and wow it brought back memories of watching footy as a kid in Melbourne. Thank you Essendon supporters. My son said after the game that it was the best game he's seen even though the Dons lost. I put this down to the passion of the Essendon supporters around us and the cheering and chanting. He's never seen a footy game in Melbourne though, oh boy is he in for a treat when he does.

Quick question, how much are footy tickets to games in Melbourne? Cheapest at the SCG was $46 for adults. Is this the norm or way too pricey?

I hate the rule but that has always been pinged for deliberate and from memory his kick was in the direction of the nearest boundary.

Never really liked the idea but when I see BS like last night it has me leaning towards bringing in the last touch rule, it's obviously too much for the umpires to handle.

The thing that was pleasing last night was Rutten and the coaches clearly did their homework on Sydney and came with a plan to beat them and the players bought in and executed it perfectly. How many times have our coaches/players done that in the past decade. If you look at the stats it should’ve been an easy 6-7 goal win to the swans, we got smashed in contested ball and lost clearances by 23, that would have to be one of the biggest differences you’ll see in an afl game. Yet we stayed in the contest with a smart game plan and effort from every single guy out there, that’s all fans ask for. The performance last night is as good as 4 points in my book. The future is bright.

Never really liked the idea but when I see BS like last night it has me leaning towards bringing in the last touch rule, it's obviously too much for the umpires to handle.

Don't think a last touch rule is needed because usually the deliberate out of bounds is one rule that is well umpired which made last nights shocker stand out.

The thing that was pleasing last night was Rutten and the coaches clearly did their homework on Sydney and came with a plan to beat them and the players bought in and executed it perfectly. How many times have our coaches/players done that in the past decade. If you look at the stats it should’ve been an easy 6-7 goal win to the swans, we got smashed in contested ball and lost clearances by 23, that would have to be one of the biggest differences you’ll see in an afl game. Yet we stayed in the contest with a smart game plan and effort from every single guy out there, that’s all fans ask for. The performance last night is as good as 4 points in my book. The future is bright.
it's a shame it's so late in the year, but i'm eager to see how we go against the Dogs.
They've had a tendency to punish us in that respect.

bright-side is, if we're still carrying that level of consistency, that game could see Draper & Caldwell back, and more games into Waterman, Perkins and Cox (possibly Reid too)

it's a shame it's so late in the year, but i'm eager to see how we go against the Dogs.
They've had a tendency to punish us in that respect.

bright-side is, if we're still carrying that level of consistency, that game could see Draper & Caldwell back, and more games into Waterman, Perkins and Cox (possibly Reid too)
Lions next week will be the same, they thumped us in the midfield last year. Be interesting to see how truck changes up our plan around the ball. I wouldn’t be against bringing in Byran for starters, big o isn’t a physical ruck.

Don't think a last touch rule is needed because usually the deliberate out of bounds is one rule that is well umpired which made last nights shocker stand out.

Might as well take it out of their hands, last night wasn't all that unusual tbh, they are consistently inconsistent with the rules application.

Lions next week will be the same, they thumped us in the midfield last year. Be interesting to see how truck changes up our plan around the ball. I wouldn’t be against bringing in Byran for starters, big o isn’t a physical ruck.
Got enough of a break to give Hooker the rest he needs.
If Bryan comes in, do we drop Wright? Or go tall to stretch them (and maybe give Waterman some time on ball). Bryan can go back too.

Keen on the reports on Reid tomorrow.
If he puts in a game, lining him up on Daniher/Hipwood could be a good intro.

Got enough of a break to give Hooker the rest he needs.
If Bryan comes in, do we drop Wright? Or go tall to stretch them (and maybe give Waterman some time on ball). Bryan can go back too.

Keen on the reports on Reid tomorrow.
If he puts in a game, lining him up on Daniher/Hipwood could be a good intro.
Everyone should be fine rest wise after a 9 day break. Redman will be straight back in. I don’t think lions is the correct game to debut Reid, don’t think a mauling on debut would help him at all. He’s still pretty skinny. If anything he could’ve played last night on Mcdonald.

dodged the Hickey htb non decision like a pro;)

I wish he went with "Was that the 1 he took 3 steps was tackled and dropped the ball?" "Yeah, Didn't see that one"

straight bat.
I liked that he had none of it. Let the media run the narrative....though they won't.

Dev's shot should have been from the square after his man moved off the mark. he got pinged for it 2m later.

Tippa high's in front of goal are negated by McInerney (i think it was) not getting one

Papley soft free was soft. You pay that, you pay the hold on Tippa at HT/3QT?

Waterman HTB vs. Hickey's immunity all night

Insufficient intent vs. clear deliberate

Weight of those decisions and the fact we were in touch all the way to the end.
I'll take that as a positive and i reckon Rutten will too. Lot's to build on from that game.
And come years end, it's 4pts less in our draft position. We won't play finals, but we can keep playing well and focus less on the ladder results and more on the trajectory.

i dont really agree that a team can waste opps on goal and deserve a win.
We kicked more goals. They had more scoring shots. Tends to boil the game down to what happens between the arcs rather than within them.

The signs were really good. I hope we sustain it across the year.
I'm seeing a lot of positives out of the coaching changes. Development, selections, game plan, work ethic/effort, confidence.

The year before the Lions shot up, they finished bottom 4 but if you counted the games they lost by less than 2 goals, they could have been top 4. Following year, they got there and stayed up.

With our draw, a slightly more experienced team could chalk up 17 wins.
We may finish bottom 4, but if we can finish with a % in the mid 90s+, i'll be impressed.
We are on the same page about percentage. 90+ would be a great aim.

Brissy was high 80s prior to jumping, but they had a pretty poor fwd line then. Ours is better, with a decent young defence coming through.

They had the depth in the middle coming through. Build that, get K's into Draper and Bryan, and ideally Reid & Eyre come on soon and it's all about building depth after that.

i don't want to hear about a high profile signing outside a FA signing for the next 2 years.
Draft draft draft.

Taking the ball from the ruck hasn't been HTB for 10 years - it was decided it was no prior - so no call was the correct call
This isn’t correct. The rule change 2018),removed sudden death for a ruck taking possession, but did not give a ruck immunity from HTB. Now, the rule is that it is like taking possession of any loose ball in general play. So if you take it, have an opportunity to dispose, don’t, take 2-3 steps, then - like in any other play on the field - you SHOULD be HTB.

Thought my anger at yet another shafting would have subsided.....bzzzzzzzt wrong.
Can see it now...AFL to umpires, we hate essendon and we dont want them to win, but we gotta make it look good enough as they have lots of supporters and we would be screwed without them....so use the vasoline, so its not too bad, but throw in some iron filings because they are pricks.
Its only fair if both sides play with the same rules.
Miserable corrupt bastards.
I hate the swans.
Forgot to mention all of the media types who are going out of their way to justify the crap umpiring decisions, are complete flogs......yeah you G.healy you sydney sycophant.

Whilst some here are rightly upset with the umps but they did miss two frees to Sydney.

1. Walla should have been pinged for tackling the legs.
2. One head high was missed but the umps made up for it a minute later with a soft fee the otherway.
Yes those 2 misses frees make up for the lop sided count and missing half a dozen to Essendon.

Maybe some of you are too young, but umpiring doesn't really stack up to a lot in the grand scheme of things.

Arguing about 1 missed free here cancelling out another over there later on is about the worst use of someone's time I can think of.

If we're good enough to win the flag, we'll know it. Until then, focus on the things we care about, like our players. Complaining about the umps seems to take away from their great performance (which wasn't really good enough to win, IMO.)

AFL Autopsy Round 4 vs Sydney and City Hall