Autopsy Round 5 2014 - Brisbane v Richmond

Is Bewick really that much more of an upgrade that Polkinghorne?

Personally, I rate Polkinghorne a bit more. The one advantage I would give Bewick is his ability to mark at its high point, but even then, I always rated Polkinghorne's contested marking ability.

Polkinghorne used to be that really solid marking forward when he first started off but in between being thrown all over the field at different points he seems to have lost it when played up there over the last couple of years. Instead he ended up being purely a defensive forward and a liability when it came to scoring. At this point Bewick seems to be more of a goal scoring threat up there, with a bit better ability to push up the wings and turn his man if he gets the opportunity.

I had a tear in my eye watching Robertson play with that aggression and passion. Kudos Robbo44 !

So many positives, along with negatives.

Cutler - Looked so composed, and every time he had the ball, I felt assured he would pick the right option and execute to perfection, and he did. Gem of a recruit!

Mayes - Down on his usual output, missing a couple of easy goals late in the game. He'll bounce back though.

Gardiner - He decked Martin. Pretty sure they should just give him the Brownlow for that. Seriously though, didn't see much of him tonight, but when I did, he looked decent at the top level.

Lewy - Kicked a ripper goal, was here and there in the game, vanished for a portion only to bob up. Has some real tenacity in the way he plays. A couple of pre-seasons into him, and we've got a gem.

Robertson - Geez, could he be the steal of the draft? The feroctiy with which he attacked the contest each time, shooting a handball out to a teammate to allow for a clearance was outstanding. His kicking needs a bit of work though, but all-around, best game for the club.

Lester - Genuine inside midfielder, but his handballing was atrocious today. Put others in pressure because of errant handballs, or incorrect ones. Was a solid body in the midfield.

Rockliff - A warrior. True champion. Rallied the troops to come back to congratulate Cutler on his first goal. A lazy 30 disposals again, class act.

Redden - Quiet, hardworking achiever, didn't need to see much of him to know he did his share.

Browny - Shame we couldn't finish off the game in style for him. Glimpses of vintage Brown in his highlight reel tonight, taking some amazing marks. Needs the crumbers to support him better though.

I'll write more tomorrow, I'm exhausted and it's 6am here.

Our defence leaks like a colander.

The ball over the top of our defenders is killing us. I mean you are going to always have lead up goals that can't be stopped but those goals that we concede out the back of a contest or when a player kicks over our player in front allows teams to easily score against us.

At times we look good when we move the ball fast and with purpose but as soon as the pressure comes the other way we crumble.The thing is we are playing alot of kids with a new game plan and our skills aren't good. It doesn't really sound like a recipe for winning many games but it is to build into the next few years. Honestly i think it better we bottom out this year, get some good draft picks and keep playing the young guys. We need competitors who want to win at all costs and the good thing is we drafted a few this year by the looks of it.

Mate!!!!!!
Was level I reckon with Cotchin at half time.
Just ran out of steam, his intensity was brilliant, he's going to be ok I reckon!!!
Go lions love this group of boys!!!!

Didn't realize just how good his size was until the shot before the bounce with him standing beside Cotchin. Second game and he was sensational. You've got to be a very proud pa.

Good:

I clearly won the phantom draft ;)

I see that, and raise it with the Bigfooty UF dynasty league:

And then at #49, Robertson was still available. I'd have expected to get a role player like a risky forward or back with that pick, but as Rockford says, he's just way too good to pass up at #49. Tall, big bodied, physically mature 18 year old inside mid in a team without much depth in that position, and last night clearly demonstrated. Good handcuff for Aish and Lester, too. No second thoughts about that one.

49. Pick 49.

Robbo looks great, Cutler as well. Great to see two second gamers get around 20 touches. Taylor didn't get a lot of it, but did some really good things. Gardiner was beaten by Martin, but I loved seeing him stand up to that campaigner. Aish a bit quiet- I've noticed over his first few games that he can actually take a very good mark for a player his size which I really didn't expect. Clarke also had a good game, and I really don't understand the hate for Adcock. Disposal lets him down at times, but he always puts his body on the line and sets a great example for the team.

Brown should retire etc etc. I'm sure people will say it again the next time he has a quiet game- they can get ****ed.

Plenty for you guys to like tonight.

Cutler, Robertson and Taylor all very good

Browny :thumbsu:

Where always going to struggle to run out the game with so many kids but up to that point you definitely matched us. Thanks for being great sports over on the banter page, easily my favourite bunch so far this year, good luck for the rest of the season.

Mate!!!!!!
Just ran out of steam, his intensity was brilliant, he's going to be ok I reckon!!!
I backed him for the Rising Star in Feb. at 100/1 and love what I'm seeing.

Mate!!!!!!

If he could have gotten an extra month of pre-season...

So many good things about his game tonight.

I thought Bewick was reasonable tonight. Provided an option up forward.

Regarding him vs Polks I agree with dlanod, too many bad memories of him as a defensive forward to want to give him a crack up there.

Again you could really notice our inexperience at times (and we ran out of gas towards the end) but the kids weren't the problem at all.

Reckon Cutler or Robbo might be a sneaky chance at a Rising Star nom if someone doesn't have a huge game.

Is B, howmewick really that much more of an upgrade that Polkinghorne?

Personally, I rate Polkinghorne a bit more. The one advantage I would give Bewick is his ability to mark at its high point, but even then, I always rated Polkinghorne's contested marking ability.
So when we bomb it in into the forward 50 is it not better to have a forward that can mark the ball at its highest point? or we could just be out marked and bring it to the ground for the opposition to run it out. he offers something different.

We deffinatly showed some promise in the game and a lot more heart then in rounds 3 and 4.

I don't think Maloney is fit and he shouldn't have played. For a sub to come on and have little to no impact on the game isn't great. All in all a 70 point improvement on last week against a side about the same level as port.

Considering the love the kids are getting ... it looks like the team selection was pretty solid.

I still would have liked Cotchin to get a proper tag but being realistic it wouldn't have changed the result much. Certainly didn't mind when we had a run going offensively and Raines wasn't out there to bomb it.

Tonight was Ok, first 1/4 was embarrassing as a supporter but we picked it up after that until we ran out of gas.

The young guys were great, I now fully back leppa playing them as much as possible.. Robbo, aish, Taylor, cutler were all good.. Games, games, games.. Into these guys.

You could see leppa said "just run and take them on" at 1/4 time and we saw glimpses of our team last year, link up handball sand kicks at goal on the run out side 50.. We looked more comfortable.

All up it was a heart wrenching night.. Sad times but we just have to accept the re-build.

Is is possible patfull is disenchanted because leppa has theoretically shut the door on him playing a finals game after building over the last 4 years, not sure how else to explain he utter lack of commitment and effort (unless injured) - he was crap and should be dropped.

Lisle was actually ok in parts, but he can't kick.

Plenty for you guys to like tonight.

Cutler, Robertson and Taylor all very good

Browny :thumbsu:

Where always going to struggle to run out the game with so many kids but up to that point you definitely matched us. Thanks for being great sports over on the banter page, easily my favourite bunch so far this year, good luck for the rest of the season.

Quality post.

And plenty of love for Liverpool at the moment.

Given time will be a second string mid forward. Just needs to trust his instinct more and feel like he belongs. Also need to belt the Collingwood out of him as that pedigree can't serve him well.

I think Paine just needs to keep working on his tank too, you can see him fade out quite quickly. Like the look of him though, seems a promising option. Not the main forward we want obviously but good to have in the 50.

Autopsy Round 5 2014 - Brisbane v Richmond