Autopsy Round 5 2014 - Brisbane v Richmond

Was there a particular reason why Moloney was sub?

Saw Damien Barrett at the game tonight. Expect a ripper of a if and then statement next week.

In the press conference Leppa said it was due to his age, short turn around and to give Lester some more game time after none last week. Additionally with the way Moloney moved at times I suspect he's carrying a niggle of some sort.

Putting aside that excruciating first quarter, there was a lot to like about the way we played even though ultimately, it ended up a disappointing scoreline.

Old man Brown showed what a champ he is with a vintage display:thumbsu:

Robbo is a gem.....an absolute steal at 30-whatever we took him at in the draft.

Little Squizzy is still raw and rough around the edges but there's plenty to work with there, not to mention that he's a tough little bugger with a big heart:hearts:

Mayes had a couple of expensive misses but I'm going to forgive him this time, whilst Aish looks remarkably composed and just need to find it a bit more to become a star for us.

Cutler:thumbsu::thumbsu:....impressive first game and Gardiner did OK for a first-gamer too. Whilst he probably needs to put away the angry pills, who can blame him for trying to snot Martin?:p

Bit of a struggle to analyse the game as a whole. Don't think things are looking too bright for Richmond either.

If Leppa doesn't begin to rotate either of Polks, Goose or Raines through the side then I think his intentions going forward will be crystal. He might out of necessity need to play one but I don't think they're our future. Goose has been a great servant of the club but I think the sun has set.

Despite his poor performance I actually think Bewick could improve.

I'm moving closer and closer towards thinking that we should just cut our losses with Lisle, I don't think he's our future.

I don't know why people, week after week, are suggesting and insinuating that Leppa doesn't care about the team and doesn't care whether we win or lose???

I no comprende.

Serious question, is Cutler already better than Docherty?

Reckon we might be on the way soon to chalking that one as a trade success. Justice considering how unreasonable Carlton were.

Mum and Dad would not stop talking about there love of Robbo, my Dad's new favorite player thats for sure.
Positives
The kids in particular tonight Cutler and Robbo both put there hands up for rising star I reckon, Robbo was relentless on the ball so much heart. Reckon he will be like Rocky and will bleed for the club don't think there is a chance of him leaving. Cutler oozes class, no rushed decisions sat at 81% DE makes good decisions.
Clarke was really impressive tonight looked a lot more composed then previous weeks
I thought Patfull put in his best performance this season so hopefully only up from here
Lester was good really liked his attack on the ball tonight

Negatives
Lisle, if I had a dollar for every time he kicked it out on the full I would have $3
GOlby, Lift your game cutler put in a better performance tonight then you have all season needs to lift
Red zone or whatever, little lapses at the end of the quarters cost us cheap goals
And expect Bret Burton to be gone by years end we seem really unfit compared to the rest of the comp.

Lester did some good things but geez looked timid at times going for the hard ball get. Saw a couple of times close up at the ground where he looked to get worried out of it. Not convinced of his inside ability just yet but like him in the team.

Robbo looks a gem. Thrown in the middle so early in his career and already looks at home. if he can improve the disposal at the end, will be gun.

Browny still looks good when he gets the ball in his area. Glad I was there to see him tonight.

Not sure about Maloney being injured. Started winning clearances as soon as they put him in. With Robbo coming on, our stoppage setup starts to look good.

Too bad our disposal looks shocking. Looks to have hgone backwards from last year. Hand passes to stationary players under pressured, kicks to the loose man in defense.

Serious question, is Cutler already better than Docherty?

Reckon we might be on the way soon to chalking that one as a trade success.

I picture you standing in a room, glasses on the end of your nose squinting at a piece of paper, chalk in your other hand writing up trade win/losses on a blackboard.

My Thoughts on the Game. Only a limited view from the general seating area so please allow for a margin of error.

On the Game:

1st Qtr - Shocking. So many turnovers not much confidence. all of our negatives and none of our positives were on display

2nd Qtr. Dunno what leppa said to the boys at Qtr time but it must have been something! Much better competitiveness. Tigers took their foot of the gas and we punished them well as any other other could in some cases. Prime example being Redden catching a Tiger forward napping with the ball and a quick transition resulted in Browny kicking his first which gave us Heaps of Confidence. Most Importantly of All i can claim my free burger tomorrow ;)

3rd Qtr. richmond were crap for the first part and I thought we did a solid job at compounding their mistakes with out pressure and our tenacity. Was a great feeling to hit the front. Sadly we ran out of gas and let them have some easy goals at the end.

4th Qtr - Valiant effort. We dug deep and the boys really seemed to have put everything on the line for browny which was good to see. I think we will do better at the end of games with a few more preseaons in our legs.

Like others have said there were shades of Voss out there tonight. in the 3rd quarter we really resembled last year with some lightening quick counter attacks through the corridor which I thought really allowed our faster players to benefit. If there is a way of effectively combining that transition and leppas forward pressure tactics of locking the ball inside 50 I would like to see it. However, perhaps such a dream may be a tad naive on my part.

Cons:

- Is it just me or do we really need to stick some tackles? richmond broke our tackles countless times whereas the amount of tackles we tried to break and failed probably contributed to a fair chunk of the margin.

- We arent fit enough to run out games but I am not panicking. that will come with time

Pros.

- Our new batch of young guns! Lewy Taylor looks to be an electrifying player! did well in the mids and also brings an x factor to the forward line as a small forward. Aish has been a quiter achiever for mine. He has been bloody consistent though, hitting around 16 disposals per game and hits targets more often that not which is what we need. Robbo fears nothing and manages to turn a 50/50 into 60/40 with his aggression. Once he perfects his ball use he will be a jet! Cutler showed the composure we needed at times and used the ball very well, in the absence of rich I can see him grabbing his chance with both hands! Darcey showed good aggression but unfortunately got sucked in by Dustinat the end. solid debut.

- The Future of Our midfield. I hope we can keep all our younger guys long term at the club because they all look extremely promising. Our 1st years plus lester, mayes, Rocky, redden and Rich have the potential to be lethal! Lester was good at getting the ball from stoppages and pulled off a few nice spins and baulks out of trouble. Once Lester hits our players more often from the stoppages he will be a good midfielder. Assuming all our players continue to build on their promising starts and everyone hits that extra gear we could potentially have a ferocious midfield. The aggression of robbo supported by lester at the stoppages winning the ball and giving it to the class of aish/mayes/taylor, the tackling pressure of Redden. The x factor of Rich and Rockys prolific ball winning adds up to an excellent combination. Perhaps I am getting ahead of myself but thats how good i think our kids are playing.

Overall, disappointed with the loss and 1st Qtr. However you cant say the boys didnt give everything tonight and our squad demonstrated great character to bounce back from last week AND an abominable first quarter. Onwards and upwards. The future looks bright!

Edit: Seeing Browny at his best was also a great sight! Dont think him kicking his 600th goal this year is an unrealistic proposition!

Did anyone notice Culter's service to Brown for his first goal (I think). Bullet pass straight to his chest on the lead. Browny usually gets over the head junk.

Cutler looks composed with the ball, and he was drafted with that talk about him. But his attack on the ball is something I didnt know. Puts his head over it.

I seriously can't believe how negative some people are towards Leppa. First year coach, mass injuries and practically the youngest team in the comp. How can you argue he doesn't care because he's composed? His press conferences have been great and I think he is going to be fine and will develop as a coach just as our players will develop.

Apparently a coach doesn't care unless he throws a tanty like Brad Scott, punches a wall like Clarko or humiliates a doe-eyed journo like Malthouse.

TBD, I think we both know the solution to both Leppa and the team.

More cowbell.

Autopsy Round 5 2014 - Brisbane v Richmond