Preview Round 5, 2017: Hawthorn v West Coast Eagles , 23 April 2017, 4.40pm @ MCG

I thought our supporters were really good yesterday given how the side is performing at the moment.

It would be great if we could get a decent turnout next week with everyone being vocal in their support of the boys during this difficult time for the footy club.

A considerable advantage teams like WCE have at home is they consistently get 30-40 thousand fans at their home games supporting passionately. Makes the side play a lot better and it's probably why they've struggled away from home not having that support.

It would be great if we could get 30-40,000 passionate paid up Hawks to the ground next Sunday to help try inject some confidence and momentum into our beloved team.
So make an effort to get there if you can, wear our colours proudly and be as vocal as ever.

I thought our supporters were really good yesterday given how the side is performing at the moment.

It would be great if we could get a decent turnout next week with everyone being vocal in their support of the boys during this difficult time for the footy club.

A considerable advantage teams like WCE have at home is they consistently get 30-40 thousand fans at their home games supporting passionately. Makes the side play a lot better and it's probably why they've struggled away from home not having that support.

It would be great if we could get 30-40,000 passionate paid up Hawks to the ground next Sunday to help try inject some confidence and momentum into our beloved team.
So make an effort to get there if you can, wear our colours proudly and be as vocal as ever.
Crowd will be interesting. Twilight is always the least attended timeslot, and when up against a travelling team, it gets even less.
Realistically, if the bandwagon don't turn up, we could be looking at sub 30k.
The one positive, reserved seating is at capacity, so supporters not wanting to go might turn up purely so they don't feel like they're wasting money

Reckon our press is far to deep, considering we don't have very good leg speed. The cats didn't have that far to run back, when they were pressing, so we were always covered in attack.

Coaching re-think during the week. Full court inside to nearly inside our own 50 metres, doesn't quite work when you've got no defensive speed.

We're not slow by foot, we're slow in mind.

Once the ball gets turned over, other teams spread much quicker than us and our midfield is still standing still. The ball goes out to the players who have spread and then they deliver inside 50 without pressure.

Our backline has been under immense pressure this season due to that fact.

I don't know if other teams are just speculating that they will win the contested ball against us so then just back themselves to get it and start running their way. Even in the event that we do win the contested ball in those situations, we rush kick it long (Langford) or turn it over with a dud possession (Mitchell/JOM).

Reckon our press is far to deep, considering we don't have very good leg speed. The cats didn't have that far to run back, when they were pressing, so we were always covered in attack.

Coaching re-think during the week. Full court inside to nearly inside our own 50 metres, doesn't quite work when you've got no defensive speed.

I agree that we're getting caught out in a deep press. I'm not convinced that we're doing it because we have poor leg speed, though. I think we're doing it in order to clog the front line reduce the run options for the opposition. But we're continually caught flat-footed and watching the ball. There seems to be no anticipation. And our defenders are caught running backwards, often outnumbered because one defender has to stay forward to play the inevitable overlap.

Dunno. I think it's a team play issue. They just aren't playing well together. No gel. Playing as individuals.

its turnovers that are killing us. by hand and by foot we were 'out' both in the 1st and 3rd qtrs. but errant handballs by Mitchell, shiels, Langford really killed whatever momentum we were going to have. remember, Hill, Lewis and S Mitchell were our top inside 50 ball movers in our best era and add Suckling and we are way off that class. we have a bunch of mids that are scrappers and ball hunters but no real class and direction types in there.i believe it will 'turn' for the better, clarko just needs to stick with what he's got instead having the 'revolving door' policy but even then it going to take an awful lot of time for this group get that winning feeling again.

I don't know if other teams are just speculating that they will win the contested ball against us so then just back themselves to get it and start running their way. Even in the event that we do win the contested ball in those situations, we rush kick it long (Langford) or turn it over with a dud possession (Mitchell/JOM).

Good point. Less than speculating they will win, more they don't care if they do. I think the game plan that teams are running with is either win the ball and go or tackle with extreme pressure if you lose the ball. On balance, that will create more scoring options for than against. Regardless, if you catch a team out a couple times that will force them to play a little defensively, giving you more opportunity to get to the ball first. Ad infinitum.

If we're trying that (and I haven't seen a lot of evidence to date on what we're actually trying) our skills errors are killing us when we get the ball and our flat-footed ball watching is killing us when we don't. We're being out-hustled and out-teamed at the moment. Something needs to click so this group comes together.

I have a feeling we can beat them. Weagles suck arse at the MCG. They are mentally weak and are still haunted by the Grand Final loss.

We'll do them and if not our kids get to bask in the glory of Sam Mitchell.

I actually hope Sam doesn't play. Will not enjoy watching him running around in a West Coast jumper.

Might be one of the last times we can give him a proper send off though. He deserves it.

Honestly, I thought O'Brien did okay in the ruck contests. Obviously not a natural in that position, but seemed to generally get a good leap in and timed it well to get the highest point. Also palmed down a couple of nice ones. Clearly we would have liked more from him in an attacking sense but he wasn't terrible

in all seriousness.. sam mitchell 1st game against us.. if the club decide to do anything towards his honour.MAYBE we should be looking at giving gibbo and silk a proper farewell game...play youth in there spots moving forward we cant make finals its logical. there two good and respected players to finish off in magoos. what do u think?

3 things r accuring in my eyes...

1. a game plan is horrible and it need some serious re shaping.
2. the players have lost there hunger and all the premierships stars are out of form.( bit of coiencidance after the departures of 2 of there close mates)
3. our cattle is just not up to it.

i dont belive the players are playing in spite, or not trying due to issues with the clubs handling of affairs. i also dont believe our cattle is bottem of the ladder materieal.

so there is underlying issue no doubt l.hodge is the only player giving 110%.
& roughead has a damn good excuse.

i dont care about losing but the way we lose is disgusting... geelong fielded more players under 30 games experience on the weeked than us
moving forward we must play all the kids and just a few vetarans. anyone thats not on the same page as clarko should quickly be sorted or toed into line!

willsmore,howe,jor,burton,sicily,hartung,hardwick,lovell unless injured should be in every week.

I actually hope Sam doesn't play. Will not enjoy watching him running around in a West Coast jumper.

Just need to send someone out to smack Mitchell.

It's not possible to tag him out of the game so we need someone to just belt him!

just to clarify those that say let hartung have a crack at it and string some games together...you seem to have short memories as last year he played rounds 1 to 5, 7 to 14, 16, 21 to 23 plus the semi final last year ie. he has been given more of a crack at playing continuous AFL footy than most, if not all, of our younger players

Exactly, how many chances have others had? sfa...play the kids please..Billy and TOB can FRO...

Fitzy has done more than Vickery in one game against Collingwood last year so to me he comes in for O'Brien

Shiels & Langers are too much the same to be in the midfield together so one of them has to make way for O'Meara (I think it is Shiels that has to have a go in the 2's)

Gibbo has to have a rest - Howe in for him

One more week for JOR to get his body right at Box Hill - I have never been convinced by him but you have to reward form

Love to find room for Stewart as well - maybe Henderson out

Fitzy has done more than Vickery in one game against Collingwood last year so to me he comes in for O'Brien

Shiels & Langers are too much the same to be in the midfield together so one of them has to make way for O'Meara (I think it is Shiels that has to have a go in the 2's)

Gibbo has to have a rest - Howe in for him

One more week for JOR to get his body right at Box Hill - I have never been convinced by him but you have to reward form

Love to find room for Stewart as well - maybe Henderson out

Agree with not having shiels and langers in the same midfield - shiels needs a spell and I believe he's going to battle moving forward.

Don't mind Henderson as a player but don't see the point in playing him given where our list is at.

Hey, I've been thinking about some changes that I believe might make a structural difference, or at least answer some questions and draw some lines.

FF: Breust, McEvoy, Rioli
HFF: Gunston, Roughead, Sicily
C: Smith, Langford, Willsmore
HBF: Hodge, Brand, Burton
FB: Stratton, Frawley, Whitecross
FOLL: Vickery, Mitchell, O'Meara
INT: Howe, Stewart, Cousins, Hardwick

You'll notice some big omissions and questionable selections, here's why I think this would be competitive.

FF: The key here is plonking McEvoy close to goals, his strengths are being tall, contested marking, and kicking straight. He demands a reasonable defender and his liability (speed) is mitigated. He struggles to even break even in the ruck, so may as well force the opponent's hand. Breust and Rioli to crumb off him, and keep the ball locked in near goal.

HFF: Our three main scoring weapons, all can take a mark and kick a bag with their confidence up. Sis and Gunston can lead up the ground as marking targets on the wings.

C: Time to sink or swim for Willsmore, take a wing and make it yours, or it might be curtains mate, has been playing well at BH. He and Smith with the mandate to get on the end of handballs and bomb it high to McEvoy front and centre, or drill it to one of the HFFs if open. Langford in the centre. His grunt and tenacity is what will be competitive with other teams, all these people obsessed with DE% need to have a reality check. Precision gameplay is over, win the ball and move it forward at all costs. Anyone saying Dangerfield/Judd is no good because of low DE% is just naive. A hungry Langford who isn't constantly being beaten up for not being able to deliver a gameplay we can't (and which no longer works) is a beast.

HBF: Hodge and Burton add class and composure to settle our manic backline, R50 through them. Brand to cement CHB.

FB: Stratton and Frawley to retain some consistency to structure, both are more than capable when they have a decent support network around them. WX adds some grit, class and strength. He knows the structures, rarely loses 1on1 and has the skills to take kick-ins.

FOLL: people will be salty about Vickery, but Fitzpatrick is just not the answer, he is there in case TV or McEvoy get injured only. TV to play as a ruckman, his job simply to try and break even in the ruck, and get to contests,
He can earn a spot in the forward line. He won't do much around the ground but neither do any of our other rucks. At least this allows us to benefit from McEvoy in the forward line, and TV being close to ball might accelerate his learning of new team, and build confidence. Mitchell and O'Meara straight forward, win the ball, move it forward.

Bench: Howe, Stewart, Cousins (upgrade for Ceglar/Lovell), Hardwick provide a mix of versatility, tenacity, and bodies capable of having an impact. Reward form, build experience, and inject some hunger.

Omissions: Shiels, his performance as a vice-captain has been woeful, and he is more replaceable structurally. Gibson is playing so badly he is actually harming our other backmen, sapping confidence and time, sorry mate. Poppy's gap between good and bad is enormous, go back to BH work on consistency, we can't carry bad weeks anymore. Burger could be in, but I think he should take a break to send a message and give some thought to how best to use him, (I'm thinking forward line, he is strong, accurate and classy). Hartung and Duryea, earn your spots back.

Thoughts? Vitriol?

Clarkson will probably only make one change, and I'll continue to loathe his stubbornness!

JOR will be in this week. Article on HFC site. Usually a good sign.
Want to see JOR and JOM in the same midfield. They are really good mates off-field and that can translate to chemistry on the field. If we want this group to take us to our next flag. JOM, JOR and TOM will need to be the planks of the middle.

If we're interested in exploring options for the future, then I would put O'Brien in defence for a game or two, in place of Gibson. I've never seen him play a bad game there, and we do need someone who can mark the ball in the D50.

On the FB page there is...

24 touches in 60 mins! GET HIM IN... #FaithInJono

As much as I would like JOR to play this week I can't see it. Limited fitness after missing the last 4+ weeks.

1-2 more at box hill