Preview Round 6 - Sydney v Brisbane Lions

Came down to pressure and quality of ball use. At least they they cracked in after the first quarter, showed some fight. Once you start having confidence that the players around you are going to go in, and maybe win the ball, it lets you make better and quicker decisions. We need a couple of hard fought out performances, contested footy with pressure and hard tackling. Then the other areas will start to improve.

Apart from skills and effort early, the difference that really stood out was the Swans propensity to shepherd for a mate. As soon as a handball was released, they look for who's chasing and put a block on. Team work.
What let Brisbane down most in the first was effort and team spirit.:mad:

only listened on the radio to the game . ace didnt seem to be our worst player guess the coaches wanted a small on as the talls were not working ?

I'm surprised his name came up much on the radio considering he only had 3 possessions in a half of footy.

I reckon you could safely merge the vent thread with the review thread this week. Not much in the way of positives to discuss and may take 'til Thursday to be reasoned and constructive.

I'm surprised his name came up much on the radio considering he only had 3 possessions in a half of footy.
yep hard to have a crack at them when the ball didnt get down our end for ages ! if hardly at all . ace and brown would have had more chance in the carpark

He made a couple of good spoils when he was out of position leading up the ground.

The way the game was going those felt like wins at the time.

yep hard to have a crack at them when the ball didnt get down our end for ages ! if hardly at all . ace and brown would have had more chance in the carpark

Oh I agree. But he arguably had the least influence of any player on the ground for that half, forward or not.

fair enough , what is your opinion tbd , will he get back to form or is he buggered by his injuries ?

Other than the obvious first quarter effort and lack of skill, i didnt think the performance was too bad considering we were outclassed. Small ground doesnt suit our skill level, no margin for error and we turned it over constantly. I also thought that we never made the most of our opportunities when we had the ball and sydney made the most of theirs particularly with some of thoses 50/50 balls that bounced to them and turned into goals. We werent able to run and spread so we couldnt counter attack much. I wil say the area that still concerns me is the high kick in the 50. Love to see us lower the eyes and hit a leading target. I thought we tried really hard in close but just lacked that polish to turn the quick hanball out into a attacking run. For mine, i thought Lester was our bog, his workrate was outstanding and i would be playing him every week. regardless.

If it weren't for that first quarter I reckon we would have had Sydney running scared. Our first quarters need to improve.

The boys ALL put in quite an effort today, can't take anything away from any of them.

Now to sit in the Sydney Airport for three/four hours...

Was going to go to the vent thread with something meaningless about us having to wear clash jumpers today, but doing a comparison, it's (marginally) better from the back.

e0d5dbde-a6c9-4462-8c6b-2e729cf693d0_zpsd1672ac7.jpg

It's not better from the front.

43450ad1-1db4-4f49-af6a-c341374b733d_zps6ee94fc8.jpg

Other than the obvious first quarter effort and lack of skill, i didnt think the performance was too bad considering we were outclassed. Small ground doesnt suit our skill level, no margin for error and we turned it over constantly. I also thought that we never made the most of our opportunities when we had the ball and sydney made the most of theirs particularly with some of thoses 50/50 balls that bounced to them and turned into goals. We werent able to run and spread so we couldnt counter attack much. I wil say the area that still concerns me is the high kick in the 50. Love to see us lower the eyes and hit a leading target. I thought we tried really hard in close but just lacked that polish to turn the quick hanball out into a attacking run. For mine, i thought Lester was our bog, his workrate was outstanding and i would be playing him every week. regardless.
Ahh lets see:
1. Lack of skill
2. Outclassed
3. Turned it over constantly
4. Never made the most of our opportunities
5. We weren't able to run and spread
6. Concerns me is the high kick in the 50
7. Us lower the eyes and hit a leading target
8. Tried really hard in close but just lacked that polish
...other than this " i didnt think the performance was too bad":eek:;)

The boys ALL put in quite an effort today, can't take anything away from any of them.

All well and good, but this isn't under 12's footy and effort alone is just not going to cut it at this level if we are to be successful. Even then, the boys didn't give a whimper in the first quarter and not for the first time and at some point something has to give, because we just can't keep accepting such performances.

If it weren't for that first quarter I reckon we would have had Sydney running scared. Our first quarters need to improve.

Now to sit in the Sydney Airport for three/four hours...
first quarters have been bad since at least 07 or 08, i remember in 09 we had at least 5-6 come from behind wins because our first halts (especially first quarters) were absolutely crud