Autopsy Round 6 vs Brisbane, Metricon Stadium, Sunday 24th April, 4:10pm AEST

I'm starting to think we might need to bite the bullet and give Atkins a real run at it
He's not going anywhere and contracxed to end of 25 -very much doubt another Club would even look at him so why not make the best of it and see what he's got for 6 games

I'm starting to think we might need to bite the bullet and give Atkins a real run at it
He's not going anywhere and contracxed to end of 25 -very much doubt another Club would even look at him so why not make the best of it and see what he's got for 6 games
If it's not Atkins, then it has to be Sharp.

Markov is not the answer on the wing.

A lot of negative stuff here after the loss so time to put a bit more positive view here.

Not sure what people expected against Lions especially when they played their best footy so far this year against us. Lions pressure was elite. Lions are a force this year and my candidate for Grand Finals with Demons. Lions are now a confident team, have experience and played long time together.

Not much to complain about first 3 quarters. Effort, intensity was there. Last quarter was a bit wash out. Yes, we need to be cleaner, spread better but we are not far away. Suns probably had game on their terms for 3 quarters except efficiency going inside 50 and inability to convert except Casbout :grinv1:. Lions conversion was exceptional and when they went inside 50 they scored way too easily. Bailey is a star.

If we converted opportunities, put score pressure on them.... OK, there are no ifs.

We squared the middle which was no small feat. Yes, Lions were cleaner on spread and run better from stoppages.

Collins was great, Budarick rusty, Ballard and Lemmens struggled. Davies had a taste and rest/VFL will help him.

Witts got better of BigO.

Ainsworth the best game for me in a long time. I could not believe that he magically removed blinkers from his eyes and delivered beautifully inside 50. He run and chased hard. Good on him.

Much better performance from Rankine and Swallow. Rowell started game well.

Pressers from Dew and Fagan are both worth listening to.

Still long season ahead. Sorry, no coach fired tonight :p

Big game against Collingwood. It looks like Rosas will be back, Luko could be back too. I would like to see Flanders in best 22 as he started to look good in VFL.

If it's not Atkins, then it has to be Sharp.

Markov is not the answer on the wing.
It sounds counterintuitive to my overall assessment of Rory thus far I know but he was recruited as a goalkicking winger
He has struggled for continuity
I'd prefer to give him a run at it to see if he can produce some goals and nice delivery into the F50 rather than just waste salary and a list position based on presumptions of disinterest and unfitness for the next 4 years

Dew was quite emotional in the presser-particularly defending Izak- I think poor old Fish copped it when he was really just asking whether Dew saw him having more time in midfield
I reckon it was just an excuse to vent-and I think it shows how ugly he really thought this game was
I completely agree with him btw-I'm not sure where Rankine earned the selfish tag.
I reckon he's too far the other way- never burns a team mate
Seemed to be trying really hard to control his anger when talking about Collo being a "lighthouse" in defence at the moment
I guess given the way Lyons haunts him every Q Clash it wouldn't be wise to bring up Trent McKenzie
Trent? He left before Dew came.

Can Atkins play back pocket, Cameron and McCarthy torched us today
Cameron or McCarthy would have kicked 10 if Atkins was on them.

He's an offensive winger, just like Sharp is. They're both competing for the same spot. Problem is we're playing neither of them.

I do feel a bit for Atkins. He hasn't had continuity at any level this year. Must be hard for him to get any form if he's not even playing VFL.

Fages saying this is the best GC side he's played against. Gave us a pretty good wrap.

I honestly thought you guys were pretty good for a lot of that game. Thought you won more of the territory battle and had a truck load of i50s. You just caught us in our brutally efficient mode, we do it about 4 times a year.

Also just felt we had bigger bodies all over the ground, kept winning ground balls and 1on1s.

Not having a forward line clearly an issue, you had about 25 entries to 5 for a period of the game and barely scored.

I walk away feeling like you guys are on the right track and will win a fair few games this year, especially at home.

Surely you blokes get first access to Clarko. You are performing way too low for the list you have.
I think a lot of people overestimate our list. Not much point having a bunch of promising kids all the time with a lack of decent quality senior players to lead them. Tonight was the classic example. Brisbane’s kids are no better than ours but they are surrounded by far superior senior players in both quality and quantity. I was expecting an 8 goal loss. That’s how it turned out.

Good stat from King on the coverage.
From stoppage we exit with handball the second least commonly.
Just lack of composure
Received pressure kills us.

Everyone knows the blast kick forward from Anderson or Swallow when hands could allow a targeted kick to a leading forward
At the game Brisbane’s pressure on our receiver was way too intense for us to handle all game. Gave us no time at all.

I'm not sure whether Brisbane supporters are worse than Eagles supporters but it's a close run thing
It's so hard to watch because every loss like this is like opening old scabs that were partly healing
Bad trades
Bad recruiting
Bad coaching
Injuries to our stars year in year out
Brisbane's bewildering ability to attract AAA players compared to our Rory BigFish Atkins

It's Sisyphus, it's Dostoyevsky , it's the Israelites in the desert-and I wont be surprised if it's 40 years
To quote Bob Marley… “Send us another brother Moses!”

Not as negative as others. It will turn, keep working hard and it will come. Our forward structure needs some work .
Obviously he’s not there this year but put Ben King down there next to a Casboult or Chol and that could’ve really changed the whole dynamic of our forward line, like a chain reaction making each of our other forwards a bit more dangerous. Still need to work a lot on those entries though. Quite amateur a lot of the time sitting it on players’ heads and just banging it in there etc. just no synergy whereas the Lions were slick as.

luko and king.

A lot of negative stuff here after the loss

Mate you can’t expect everyone to be positive all the time when the same stuff keeps getting dished out week in week out year in year out..

Equal stats might excite you but it’s a win loss game at the end of the day and you don’t make finals off analysing good stats

After sleeping on it, less ropeable than I was last night. Played OK at times, but Brisbane are just several levels above us still. Great to see Swallow play a good game and Benny Ainsworth with his best game for us in some time.

Hopefully both can keep it going for the Pies on Sunday.

His body's not ready
Last thing we need is another chronic injury to a good young player
Just checked the top 10 draft picks from 2020 - and Elijah is the only one NOT to have played a league game and most are holding down a spot in their respective teams. Zach Reid was injured badly in the only game in 2021 he played while Elijah was coming off the knee BUT in 2022 he should be strong enough and talented enough to play like all the other top picks.

Mate you can’t expect everyone to be positive all the time when the same stuff keeps getting dished out week in week out year in year out..

Equal stats might excite you but it’s a win loss game at the end of the day and you don’t make finals off analysing good stats
Mate, you can't expect everyone to be negative all the time.

In my opinion, that was far from disgraceful performance yesterday and there were some positives. It seems people don't appreciate how good Lions played yesterday. I have not seen them to be so efficient probably never under Fagan. Lions pressure was also through the roof for most of the game.

I re-watched the first quarter. Lions got scoreboard pressure and it was uphill battle from there especially with Bailey's awesome performance. Umpire gifted Lions one goal for no call on push in the back and Budarick did cost us 3 goals as he was rusty and struggled initially to cope with pressure and contest. Our misses in front of goal did not help.

As for win loss game, yes you are correct.

If we don't win more and don't show progress this year I expect changes. I just don't expect to win every game especially against top 2 team playing well.
Personally, I will wait until at least bye to judge the team, coaches progress this year. We did have pretty tough fixture so far.

luko and king.
I’m yet to be convinced Luko is going to make it as a KPF. A Third tall yes.

His body's not ready
Last thing we need is another chronic injury to a good young player
My next question after being told Elijah‘s body is not ready would be when do they expect him to be ready? Would love an answer to that. Brisbane’s medical team seems to have Jesus working for them with the number of players whose careers they’ve resurrected.

Autopsy Round 6 vs Brisbane, Metricon Stadium, Sunday 24th April, 4:10pm AEST