Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

I've met a few over the years but I'd probably say my worst interactions were:
  • I know you're not supposed to speak ill of the dead but Colin Silvia was not a good bloke from my few interactions with him and had a massive go at a poor uni kid behind the jump at a pub in Port Melbourne on one occasion because his stir fry wasn't to his liking (who orders a stir fry at a pub even if you're trying to look after your body). Suspect strongly he was on some no good gear that day as he was very erratic.
  • Courtney Johns I spent the day with at Moonee Valley one year through a friend of a friend. Absolute bellend and one of the most arrogant people I've ever met on the basis of not very much.
  • Anthony Rock was a pig of a person and one of the rudest people I've met.

More positive interactions:
  • Kayne the P-Train Pettifer
  • Richo
  • Jack Stephen (who participated in the trolling of a St Kilda supporting mate on Boxing Day so extreme props to him)
  • Tom and Disco Roach
  • Brando Ellis
  • Tom Libba
  • Sav Rocca
  • Dippa at the races one year (regaled us with the Dimmies and Forges ad all the way down the escalator!). I think there's been a few people thus far who've commented on what an absolute legitimate down to earth legend he is.

Not footy but had a long chat with Skull outside the cricket one year. That bloke is an absolute national treasure.
That's a load of crap. Anthony Rocca is one of the nicest blokes of all time. There are much worse people than him.
You're obviously just a troll.

Met Gary Ablett Jr about 2 years ago in Geelong. Really nice guy, actually took the time to speak to us. Told him wished he was at Carlton, he said you guys had Judd! I'm like yeah but imagine if we had you too, we woulda won so many premierships! He laughed and agreed.

My mates mum who doesn't watch footy at all, went up to him and said, you're my favourite Richmond player!!! He laughed and smiled back at her and said thank you very much.

True gentleman, champion player, champion of a guy.

I'm glad you think so. His brother is lovely.

He's no Anthony Rock the ex-North Melbourne and briefly Hawthorn plodder who is a massive flog.

Oh buddy...

Is this your first time on the internet?

Met Gary Ablett Jr about 2 years ago in Geelong. Really nice guy, actually took the time to speak to us. Told him wished he was at Carlton, he said you guys had Judd! I'm like yeah but imagine if we had you too, we woulda won so many premierships! He laughed and agreed.

My mates mum who doesn't watch footy at all, went up to him and said, you're my favourite Richmond player!!! He laughed and smiled back at her and said thank you very much.

True gentleman, champion player, champion of a guy.

Local pastor at a church I visit from time to time who spent some time on the Gold Coast did some work with under privileged youth up there. Yes I know a lot of people like to pick on Ablett because of the Bible study stuff and what have you.

But he said he organised a day on the beach for these kids and Gary and Nathan (who I think was long retired by that stage) came and spent the day with them and just organised a big game of beach footy for them and just hung out with them for most of the afternoon and just spent time with them, talked to them and just played footy with them like they were normal blokes (well Nathan pretty much is anyway - he is a brickie to this day as far as I know) and couldn’t have been nicer.

Local pastor at a church I visit from time to time who spent some time on the Gold Coast did some work with under privileged youth up there. Yes I know a lot of people like to pick on Ablett because of the Bible study stuff and what have you.

But he said he organised a day on the beach for these kids and Gary and Nathan (who I think was long retired by that stage) came and spent the day with them and just organised a big game of beach footy for them and just hung out with them for most of the afternoon and just spent time with them, talked to them and just played footy with them like they were normal blokes (well Nathan pretty much is anyway - he is a brickie to this day as far as I know) and couldn’t have been nicer.
This is true. Got a mate that's a mad Cats fan and through people he got to go to the B&F in 2009. The knob said he chewed Gaz's ear off for about 10 minutes about footy and had a 3 or 4 selfies with him and he was happy to chat rather than brush him like most people would. Shannon Byrnes another ripper

Richo is still by far the nicest footballer I've ever met, as a kid and as an adult. I think he had a really good understanding of how much he meant to Richmond fan's especially kids that idolised him.
richo is super down to earth and friendly.
man has given so much of his time to richmond fan's over the years it is crazy.
it's what makes a player into a club icon

Had a couple of beers and a bit of small talk with Brent Guerra while camping in Swan Hill over the summer holidays. Exchanged a few pleasantries and talked some footy stuff while kids were fishing together. Seemed like a genuinely nice guy.
What a great kick of the footy he was.

This is true. Got a mate that's a mad Cats fan and through people he got to go to the B&F in 2009. The knob said he chewed Gaz's ear off for about 10 minutes about footy and had a 3 or 4 selfies with him and he was happy to chat rather than brush him like most people would. Shannon Byrnes another ripper
Honestly, given that GAJ has had to deal with the heavy, heavy legacy of the Ablett name - in all ways - throughout his life, it's a minor miracle he doesn't tell footy fans to just go and do one.

That said, it might have been a much easier transition for him once people starting seeking him out for his own sakes, not for his last name.

He wasn't playing at the time but Lethal (yep Leigh Matthews) helped me carry the double pram up into the Ryder stand at Vicci Park in 1990. I didn't even get to thank him, he grabbed a kid and the front of the pram and whoosh....off we went up the staircase.

Probably sounds trite right now but I worked with Troy Selwood (or rather he worked with me) on the Cats Next Gen program for a couple of years and Troy was a beauty. He mixed easily with all sorts of kids and they just gravitated to him because he was always genuinely interested in everyone he was with.

Sadly missed is Troy. He was a ripping bloke.

A few good ones - Ex-Richmond- Richo, Greg Stafford, Adam Pattison, Mark Chaffey. All very lovely

North - Jack Zeibell was delightful to speak with
Ben Jacobs enjoys the girls and table top dancing
Brayden Preuss - A mighty fine breakdancer

Anthony Hudson is lovely

Gary Ayers' has the most intense handshake of anyone I've ever met.

met joe daniher at a lunch place in carlton back in 2017 - before the move to brisbane, and he was still an oddball, but he had the patience to chat with me which was nice. i've also met dane swan & mason cox (different occasions) and both were lovely.

campbell brown is the only one who comes to mind who's a real prick, saw him harassing a waiter at a restaurant because they didn't solely focus on him (post afl-career)

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Write your reply...