Runner-up supporters Grand Final reactions...

I think the biggest issue on AFL Grand Final day is the losing players reaction. I firmly believe its disrespectful to leave the ground prior to the presentation of the trophy to the Champions. AFL is the only sport in the world to my knowledge where the losers disrespectfully leave the playing arena for the presentation.

Was chatting about this last night with a Bombers mate as we watched the great Swans v kangas game from 1987 on FF. Jason freakin' Love.....as soon as I walked into the pub and saw the scores I said "this is where Love kicks five in the last quarter and sinks us".
......but I digress. As a Swans fan, and talking to Saints / Dogs fan mates, it's like we cannot conceive of actually being premiers. When I was growing up, flags were for Hawks, Bombers, Blues, and to a lesser extent Roos & Tigers (and for one fateful day Pies, but let's not dwell on that....). Yeah, I was sorta happy for them but it was like another world.
So for all you fans of teams who have won (even if you've subsequently or previously lost) I couldn't give a stuff about you.

Sorry, but there it is. In the nicest possible way of course.

Jason Freakin' Love. Jason FREAKIN Love. Never kicked five goals in a quarter when he played for us.....not that I'm bitter...

Being a Carlton supporter, I`ve been pretty spoiled as far as our win loss GF appearances. We`ve won 8 and lost 4 or 5 since 1968. I don`t remember the the losses from the early seventies. I do have fond childhood memories of the 79, 81, 82 premierships.

So when we lost to Hawthorn in 86, I wasn`t that upset, as we had a pretty good run to that point. Hawthorn were the best team that year, and our first year starts, Bradley, Sticks and co, were still finding their feet. I was very confident that 87 would be our year, and it was.

The loss in 93 really hurt as I was unhappy with one or two of our selections which I feel greatly contributed to the loss. re- Mark Athorn and Tim Powell. Two guys who never deserved to play in a GF IMO. I still think, we were the best team that year, but you don`t have to be the best team to be premiers.

I wasn`t expecting much from our aging list by 95, so having such a stellar year and emphatic GF win was all the more sweet.

I wasn`t really dissapointed in 99. Strange, but that Prelim win over Essendon felt better than a couple of the premierships we won. I thibk we played "our" GF that day. We were lucky to get a home game against WCE and I thibk we put up a pretty good fight against Nth, specialy after playing Essendon the week before. In hindsight, we were in it till 1/2 time until Murphy went of injured, he was starring at the time.

What hurt the most was 2000, we were a close second behind essendon that year, and lost by only 4 goals on both meetings that year. We won 13 straight at an average of 57 points. Kouta`s injury stopped our momentum. That loss to Melbourne really hurt, as we were a far superior team that year and would have put up a much better fight in the GF. Damn that Brad Green.

If I had known of the lean times to come, I would have appreciated our success much more. If we ever manage to repeat past glories, I know I will appreciate it a lot more than before.

Originally posted by pazza
Can I respond for those of us who saw Essendon lose to Brisbane in 2001?

I think there were a few of us who went into the match thinking we might have been lucky to beat Hawthorn the week before and with the squad we had available, it was probably justified.

I wasn't one of those...I seriously under-rated Brisbane and thought that us playing them at the MCG would be a whole different ball game to playing them in Brisbane...I probably went into the game fairly confident of our success.

After the match, despite feeling generally upset over the fact we blew it, the other thought I had was that we can avenge this in 2002. Well, we know where that went.

My expectations aaaand reactions were just about the opposite of this. If anything I underestimated Essendon. Going into the game, I didn't really think we could win, too many players were under an injury cloud, and teams never get away with taht in GF's. During the game though, we were extremely competetive, but still not good enough. At the end I just thought that the best team had won, and didn't have any great expectations of 2002 either.

Similarly in 1990. On the morning of the game, a Collingwood mate phoned me to have a bet. But I wouldn't be in it, I didn't give us a chance, and just felt flat rather than disappointed during and after the match.

I had a bit of a cry in 1997 as I walked from the MCG, not balling but some tear-action definitely occurring. Stayed to the end because I thought it was the right thing to do, but couldn't face it after about the third rendition of the Crows theme song. Must say that the Crows fans I encountered leaving the ground were among the most ill-mannered arseh*le pricks I've ever had the misfortune to come across - much more interested in lauding it over us than to actually savour the moment. If the Saints fans weren't so shattered I reckon there would have been some pretty big blues - it was like shooting fish in a barrel giving us crap after that loss given our history etc. My dad had to grab me from turning back after one particularly vitriolic mouthful from an Adelaide jerk. Had small consolation knowing that most of those freaks had to go back to Adelaide to 'live'.......

Train trip back to Sandringham was like being in a morgue - the saddest faces everywhere and I had to sit apart from Dad and my mates because I couldn't face discussing anything. Later that night went to the official black-tie function at the Carlton Crest which was pretty surreal - free **** (well as free as you can get once you've bought a ticket), bands playing and everyone dressed up to the nines, but everyone looking like their favourite pet had just died. Things got a bit more fun once everyone started getting drunk and thoughts turned to next year and how SURELY that was going to be the one..... Later again went back to Moorabin and there were people everywhere, the players addressed the crowd from the balcony and met some cool people but it was still melancholy at best and hard to get motivated to have any fun.

Hopefully won't have to go through that again in the near future, but things rarely turn out how you'd like so time will tell. Have to get there first......

When we lost the '96 grand final, despite being in a good position to win it early in the 2nd qtr, I was very disappointed, but more so for my dad and other older supporters like Bill Collins, who had waited 51 years since our last GF appearances and 66 years since our last win.

A positive from the GF appearance was the sheer thirll of seeing our team, the easy beats of so much of the past few decades, actually in the GF parade.

I took heart from the loss as, growing up watching 70s and 80s football, I still believed then that you had to lose a GF before you won one, and we were on our way for the next year.

The disappointment of a great opportunity lost really sunk in over the next few years, and it still burns me thinking about the what ifs (eg: Kelly had kicked the goal when running out of the square or his pass had hit Lockett), however fortunately time tends to mute the impact somewhat.

1990 was ordinary, thankfully I've forgotten most of it.

2001 was pretty ****ty. Half time I thought we were doing ok, but knew they'd come home stronger. Still remember the week before we had a 40 minute warm up before the game even though it was 30 degrees, why?

Anyway, congratulated a few lions fans at the train station afterwards. Interestingly, the most **** I copped that day was from non-Lions fans.

A prelim loss like 99 is pretty bad, (96 didn't bother me that much). Thank christ we fixed it up a year later when carlton were ****e enough to lose to melbourne.

Originally posted by littleduck
I think the biggest issue on AFL Grand Final day is the losing players reaction. I firmly believe its disrespectful to leave the ground prior to the presentation of the trophy to the Champions. AFL is the only sport in the world to my knowledge where the losers disrespectfully leave the playing arena for the presentation.

It only started in 95 when Geelong had lost there second in a row.

They handed out the Norm Smith medal to Gary Ablett and he went up got it and basically walked off the ground with the rest of the team following him.

I can't recall it before then.

Firstly I have to say I have cried after losing to Freo at the MCG last year so saying I cried really doesn't mean much..

As mentioned by Shinboners 1994 Preliminary Final was equally as bad as the 1998 Grand Final. In 1994 I had yet to see my team win a flag, we were robbed by the umpires all day and just managed to lose after the siren.

In 1998 I think it was very upsetting for myself because it had never entered my mind all week that we could possibly lose, even at half time I looked at score board and thuoght "Oh yeah 24 points up, we play fairly well and they won't get near us" It was simply devestating because I never thought that group of players could possibly lose a Grand Final. Come 1999, 1998 was merely an afterthought and just a hiccup.

im pretty sure the week after the 1998 GF i was suicidal......... Adelaide definetly have the worst supporters in the league.
We were sitting in Bay 8 top level Sthn Stand, and just to the left, there were a small minority of dic*khead Adelaide Supporters chanting Carey's a wan8ker etc........... i was soooooooooo angry because of the way we played in that GF, because 1998 was the perect year before the GF.

* Huge Friday Night Crowds
* Wayne Carey at his very best
* Our team winning the Minor premiership after beating the Bulldogs in RD 22 in front of 70,000 people (no, that isnt a
mis-print, 70,000 for two so called "struggling minnow" clubs)
* We made a huge off field profit in 1998
* The last year our name was officially North Melbourne :mad: :mad:
* Proud year to be a North Melbourne fan, its still a priveledge!

83: I knew we were doomed after coming from the Elimination Final. But 83 points was humiliating to say the least. Suppose it made 84 all that more sweeter

90: devistated.... My wife and all her family are Pies and we all sat together in the roofless SS. 2 goals early had us on the way...But to only kick 3 for the rest of the match was almost as bad as the loss itself. still blame Sumich for that kick he missed as it woke Collingwood up with the draw and plus we had to spend another week without a game.

01: Was worried even at Half time because of the weather and the effect on us especially after the Taxing PF V Hawks the week before. Like M29, I copped more from non- Lions than anyone else. when I clapped when Lloydy got a very Late goal, One bloke wearing a Carlton hat said to me " You've Lost...now F@#$ Off and Go Home". And then me and a couple of Mates copped it from Woewodin, Neitz and someone else outside afterwards... One of them said something Like " Suffer C@#TS " ( I didn't hear them clearly) but they were quietly asked how many Premiership Medals THEY had ;)

Half-time 1998 : 6.15 v 4.4. 21 shots to 8. 2.11 in the 2nd quarter if I remember rightly. ( is still a bit hazy )

Best team all year, finished on top, romped in our first two finals and won 11 games on the trot.

GF day. Howling breeze.
And then the 2nd half. One good half can win you a flag.

Best thing? Making up for it the next year !
Hard to do but " thank god " we did !

Originally posted by NorthBoi96
im pretty sure the week after the 1998 GF i was suicidal......... Adelaide definetly have the worst supporters in the league.
We were sitting in Bay 8 top level Sthn Stand, and just to the left, there were a small minority of dic*khead Adelaide Supporters chanting Carey's a wan8ker etc........... i was soooooooooo angry because of the way we played in that GF, because 1998 was the perect year before the GF.

* Our team winning the Minor premiership after beating the Bulldogs in RD 22 in front of 70,000 people (no, that isnt a

In case you havent realsised North Melbourne FC, played the original version of the song on Sunday Afternoon.

And by god, i hate Adelaide Supporters. Small brained cretens, still will never forgive them for chanting that unsportsmanlike chant at the 98 GF, and now he is playing for them.

Fitzroy Supporter 89-96'
Richmond Supporter 97-

Grand Finals? What the?

Well Preliminary Final memories
2001 was the first year the team i followed had made the finals, and managed to go see the first final against essendon in melbourne, and got absolutely flogged. Bounced back and beat carlton, but I never believed we would get within a bulls roar of brissie in brissie. I was right.
Wasn't devasted because i expected it and have a soft spot for brisbane, as rare as prelim (or any finals) have been for me!

Good post north.
Absolute classic! To bad we lost and to this day we have never finished the Home and Away season on top of the ladder. As far as the 97 prelim goes well I don't wanna talk about it. Absolutely shattered; never in my life have I felt such a guttered feeling. I felt sick just thinking about what could have been & Libbas GOAL:mad:!! I can back up the claims about the Crows supporters being ungracious in victory. Left the ground in tears, then witnessed fists fly everywhere. Dad nearly got involved in a few :D and from what I saw I can claim that the doggies supporters can handle themselves quite well.

the 98 GF really ****ed me off. I knew we had it lost early in the third term when we were still up. I couldnt bare to watch it, broke a remote when I believe McKernan kicked a point form the goal square.

The aftermath was worse though, it really enraged me to see the Adelaide players sing thir song to our tune. Ok fair enough, our kicking for goal was so bad that we deserved to lose. DOsent mean that the Crows deserved to win though. From my oppinion they are the most underserving permiership side I have witnessed. Im still bitter thinking about it now (obviously):(

Not a GF, but after the 2000QF I was absolutely shattered. I still cop it from Melbourne supporters regarding that game. The missed shots on goal by Lappin and Hammill cost us that day.........and the Kouta injury a few weeks before.

2001 loss after the siren to Hawthorn was shocking as well. I couldnt watch him kick it as I knew he wouldnt miss

Originally posted by Fire
the 98 GF really ****ed me off. I knew we had it lost early in the third term when we were still up. I couldnt bare to watch it, broke a remote when I believe McKernan kicked a point form the goal square.

The aftermath was worse though, it really enraged me to see the Adelaide players sing thir song to our tune. Ok fair enough, our kicking for goal was so bad that we deserved to lose. DOsent mean that the Crows deserved to win though. From my oppinion they are the most underserving permiership side I have witnessed. Im still bitter thinking about it now (obviously):(

Yeah that was a shocker game........ :(

1999, the year of the roo, erased the tears of the previous year, but as NorthBoi said, 98 could have been the perfect year..

Originally posted by dodgey
83:
90: devistated.... still blame Sumich for that kick he missed as it woke Collingwood up with the draw and plus we had to spend another week without a game.

lmao..............till the day i die i will believe this too!

1990 GF...................i was gutted that day at 3/4 time.............was well & tuly on the bourbons by that stage ..................was actually hard not to get caught up in the euphoria of the maggies..................went home went to bed then about 7.00pm my 'magpiemates' came around for the expected gloating............still had my bombers cap/scarf/duffle coat on...................they carried me out to their car & took me to Vic Park! i copped a lifetime of abuse that nite & hav not yet recovered but i must say there was never any threat of getting beaten up for wearing Bomber colours b/c the magpie fans to their credit were just way too happy & ****ed to even care....................somehow i ended up in johnstone st asleep in someones front yard till the morning...............an amazing day.

bloody Sumich makes me wanna puke every time i see him.

We never make them and that is Ansett Cups and Wizard Cups as well. So I can't help you on that question. 1961 was 10 years before I was born. We are the only Victorian team in my lifetime NOT to play in a Grand Final both day and night.

If I could digress from the Grand Final to Preliminary Finals then 1985 broke my heart perhaps even more than 1997. The 1992 and 1998 ones, well we were beaten at 3 quarter time anyway.

Thats a top post NB96......... 70,000 for 2 "minnows".. WTF, no way........ wouldn't want them to play on Friday Nights now.......would we...:mad:

Hey, not all Adelaide fans are insensitive jerks, just like not all Collingwood fans are toothless, brainless theiving morons!

I remember the crushing inevitability of the Essendon rampage in the second half of PF 93. As we went into the game, I remember thinking we were better than the Bombers, and if we played to our potential we'd beat them. After half time, when the momentum was swung in their favour, I remember thinking that surely we would find something in the tank, that we couldn't lose like this, not from the lead we had. When the final siren went, all I could mumble was "F*cking Victorians....the bastards have done it again" Cried.

They say a loss makes victory all the more sweet, in 97 I was still drunk 2 days later, and being there in 98 is in my top 3 life events ever!

Originally posted by Still Crowing
Hey, not all Adelaide fans are insensitive jerks, just like not all Collingwood fans are toothless, brainless theiving morons!

Nah Collingwood fans arent that bad.... Richmond are worse... The small minority of the Adelaide fans that were at the G on GF day 98, were an absolute DISGRACE!
simple!:mad: :mad:

Runner-up supporters Grand Final reactions...