russel

I hope Russ will lift with Judd in the team. HE can see what an eleite athlete looks like, trains like and kicks the footy like.

This will be his make or break year, along with Hartlett and Edwards.

All three need to step up this year or get left on the scrap heap of guys who didn't make it.

Bit harsh on edwards much younger with much less oportunity

He is a year younger, but looking at our list, when in the past we've been able to delist older guys who had no hope in hell such as Johnson, Chambers, Mclaren, Teague etc. we've pretty much run out of these guys (Wiggins, Banno and Saddo are probably the only three left, though they're pretty serviceable). Beyond that, we're gonna have to start delisting kids with promise but haven't shown enough - even though they might make it. The reality is, we have to draft at least 3 players every year and with the deadwood running low, guys who could warrant a list spot will have to go.

If Edwards doesn't manage a game next year, he could very well fall into that category. I'm hopeful RE: Edwards but he's gonna want to stay fit and manage a game in the firsts if he wishes to stay on the list beyond 2008.

When will Carlton announce any further delistings, if they announce any more at all?

Sorry, I didn't wanna start a whole new thread, thought I would just stick it in here
Unless I'm wrong about Kouta not counting because he was a Veteran we need one more delisting. As for when it will be announced, who knows?

Out:
David Teague
Dylan Mclaren
Anthony Raso
Craig Flint
Matthew Lappin
Josh Kennedy
Lance Whitnall

In:
Chris Judd
Richard Hadley
Aisake O'hAilpin
Ryan Jackson
Pick 1
Pick 36
Pick 46
PSD selection

We need one more delisting. As for when it will be announced, who knows?

Out:
David Teague
Dylan Mclaren
Anthony Raso
Craig Flint
Matthew Lappin
Josh Kennedy
Lance Whitnall

In:
Chris Judd
Richard Hadley
Aisake O'hAilpin
Ryan Jackson
Pick 1
Pick 36
Pick 46
PSD selection

Yep thanks:thumbsu:. Any idea when this will happen?
And one more question, why wouldn't we promote Jamison?

Unless I'm wrong about Kouta not counting because he was a Veteran we need one more delisting. As for when it will be announced, who knows?

Out:
David Teague
Dylan Mclaren
Anthony Raso
Craig Flint
Matthew Lappin
Josh Kennedy
Lance Whitnall

In:
Chris Judd
Richard Hadley
Aisake O'hAilpin
Ryan Jackson
Pick 1
Pick 36
Pick 46
PSD selection

Nope, you're right.
If we want a PSD pick then we must delist 1 more.

Can this delisting decision be made after the draft ?

For example if the recruiting staff don't believe a rookie picked at 46 will be an upgrade over current players on our roster can we forfeit that pick instead ?

Yep thanks:thumbsu:. Any idea when this will happen?
And one more question, why wouldn't we promote Jamison?
We have no veterans, so we can keep Jamo as a nominated rookie.
That is, he is still on the rookie list, but we can play him at any time (don't need a long term injury).

Each club can have 2 veterans or nominated rookies per year.

Jackson was a nominated rookie last year, but after 2 years on the rookie list must be elevated or delisted.

Some guidelines and an explanation are on the stickied thread CFC team list and contract status on the main team page.:thumbsu:

For example if the recruiting staff don't believe a rookie picked at 46 will be an upgrade over current players on our roster can we forfeit that pick instead ?

There are three list lodgements. See the above mention team list thread for the dates.

We have to use pick 46.

Each AFL club has to use a minimum of three picks in the ND.
For us this is 1, 36 and 46.

We have no veterans, so we can keep Jamo as a nominated rookie.
That is, he is still on the rookie list, but we can play him at any time (don't need a long term injury).

Each club can have 2 veterans or nominated rookies per year.

Jackson was a nominated rookie last year, but after 2 years on the rookie list must be elevated or delisted.

Some guidelines and an explanation are on the stickied thread CFC team list and contract status on the main team page.:thumbsu:

There are three list lodgements. See the above mention team list thread for the dates.

We have to use pick 46.

Each AFL club has to use a minimum of three picks in the ND.
For us this is 1, 36 and 46.

Thanks mate, thought it was something like that. :thumbsu:

By the way my tip is Wiggans

I was a big Russell basher last season. But didn't seem to mind him this season. He always caught my eye when he tried to run through a player rather than taking an evasive action. - It usually didn't come off and he got tackled, but I always thought to myself, "He loves to run through the lines". I think there's a place for players like that in the modern game. He's not the fastest improver, but with more experience, fitness and hardness, he could become a valuable ball-carrier for the Blues. That's something sides like St Kilda forgot to address.

I think his pace, height, and skills are all reasonable too. His smarts and general football ability are what is letting him down. Our new development coaches could really benefit him in that area.

I have him in my starting 22 next season...

If you get an impression of a guys character, and you do, Russell comes across as though he thinks he is a sure thing. The decision to pursue Russell and Thornton with so much vigour appears to have endowed them with an inflated sense of self worth.

Russell seems to think his place is assured, and the best medicine for this bloke would be to tell him he has to prove himself this season or he is out. Further he has to crack the seniors first, by tearing the reserves apart. Beyond that, his time is up. I think this would serve the kid well. We have been playing so many players out of desperation, that they think they are a shoe in.

Thanks mate, thought it was something like that. :thumbsu:

By the way my tip is Wiggans
Possible......we would have to pay out his final year as he is still under contract.

I was a big Russell basher last season. But didn't seem to mind him this season. He always caught my eye when he tried to run through a player rather than taking an evasive action. - It usually didn't come off and he got tackled, but I always thought to myself, "He loves to run through the lines". I think there's a place for players like that in the modern game. He's not the fastest improver, but with more experience, fitness and hardness, he could become a valuable ball-carrier for the Blues. That's something sides like St Kilda forgot to address.

I think his pace, height, and skills are all reasonable too. His smarts and general football ability are what is letting him down. Our new development coaches could really benefit him in that area.

Walker runs "through" the lines, Russell runs into them.

Reserves with a warning for mine.

If you get an impression of a guys character, and you do, Russell comes across as though he thinks he is a sure thing. The decision to pursue Russell and Thornton with so much vigour appears to have endowed them with an inflated sense of self worth.

I seem to have missed something this year. What's with everyone saying Thornton had a poor season? Everytime I watched him this year i kept saying "Thank God he didn't go to the Hawks". He's a class act down back, and I actually reckon he's improved his contested marking this season. Apart from an injury or two, and perhaps trying a little too hard to tank in the last month and a half, he arguably had his best year yet.

Going back to Russell though.... :)

Russell seems to think his place is assured, and the best medicine for this bloke would be to tell him he has to prove himself this season or he is out. Further he has to crack the seniors first, by tearing the reserves apart. Beyond that, his time is up. I think this would serve the kid well. We have been playing so many players out of desperation, that they think they are a shoe in.

I think this will be the biggest positive in our increased depth next season.

Last year a number of players were gifted games without really have to do much in the reserves. Russ was the main one and he got gifted about 10 games at the start without showing much and then was dropped. He then followed that up with some pretty average performances for the Ants but was elevated for another 7 or so games due to injuries.

This year Jordan and the other young guys will know that if they don't dominate in the reserves they won't be playing.

Jason Saddington would be heading the list as far as delistment goes. Too slow, bad disposal and even worst decision making. If we want to move forward these sort of players must be moved on. To the dismay of many on this board Blackwell would be second on the list.

:thumbsu:I'm with you....

Out:
David Teague
Dylan Mclaren
Anthony Raso
Craig Flint
Matthew Lappin
Josh Kennedy
Lance Whitnall
Anthony Koutoufides

In:
Chris Judd