Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay Pt 2 *Pilot Greg Lynn sentenced 32 yrs with a non-parole period of 24 yrs

When will the jury have delivered their decisions of guilty or not guilty on both?

• 1st day

Votes: 4 6.0%
  • 2nd day

Votes: 16 23.9%
  • Between day 3 and 5

Votes: 21 31.3%
  • Over 1 week

Votes: 5 7.5%
  • Hung on one or both timeframe unknown

Votes: 21 31.3%

Here is PART 1 Russell Hill & Carol Clay - Wonnangatta *Pilot Greg Lynn Pleads Not Guilty to Murder

DPP v Lynn [2024] VSCA 62 (12 April 2024) INTERLOCUTORY APPEAL

R v Lynn (Rulings 1-4) [2024] VSC 373 (28 June 2024)

R v Lynn (Rulings 5 & 6) [2024] VSC 375 (28 February 2024)

R v Lynn (Ruling 7) [2024] VSC 376 (8 May 2024)

The Greg Lynn Police Interview Tapes (Shortened Version)

The 3.5 HR Police Interview

R v Lynn [2024] VSC 635 (18 October 2024)

THREADS FOR THE HIGH COUNTRY DISAPPEARED
High Country Disappearance of Prison Boss David Prideaux
The Disappearance of Warren Meyer

2008 - Warren Meyer (23 March 2008) not found
2010 - Japp and Annie Viergever (29 March 2010) both shot & 3 dogs, house burnt.
2011 - David Prideaux (5 June 2011) not found
2017 - Kevin Tenant (17 February 2018) shot 3 times, played dead.
2019 - Conrad Whitlock (29 July 2019) not found
2019 - Niels Becker (24 October 2019) not found
2020 - Russell Hill and Carol Clay (20 March 2020) murdered

Lynn's first wife Lisa, was found dead on 26 October 1999.

Could RH in the event he (hypothetically) had also turned in the firearm to police, have been fined for not being licensed and/or for 'stealing' a firearm?
I'd say yes to both, interesting points another reason the shotgun being stolen is an unlikely scenario.
The repercussions for RH would have been quite severe, police don't mess around with unlicensed individuals being in possession of a firearm, often ends in jail time for the more severe cases.

I don't buy he's worried about RH going to the police.. GL knows operating a drone in a national park is a serious offense. Only commercial operators are allowed to with a proper permit.

GL would know RH going to the police would be RH also tuning himself in.
I don’t know if any of it was over hunting or the drone but GL made sure he took the drone and destroyed it. GL in his own words was aggravated, playing loud music to annoy Hill but also in GL’s own words, Hill was in the tent having fun (apparently not aggravated.) If Hill did have a go at GL earlier about hunting too close to camp, GL could have been worried Hill would go to the police and report him (rego number, etc) and GL knew he could have also had footage to prove it. I don’t believe Hill took one gun, he would have taken both.

I don't buy he's worried about RH going to the police.. GL knows operating a drone in a national park is a serious offense. Only commercial operators are allowed to with a proper permit.

GL would know RH going to the police would be RH also tuning himself in.
Don’t know, I think if two people have ended up dead, GL was worried about something though and he searched for and destroyed the drone. If GL was that worried about his career he might not have wanted to risk that Hill might take footage to police.

I didn't see that information anywhere,good point.Why was he so perturbed ? I'm absolutely amazed that he could have,well at least thought he had,cleaned up the scene so well with what,a head torch.I have a couple of powerful head torches but they are no match for daylight even on an overcast day.And to find a 1oz deformed slug presumably dark coloured on the ground at night ? and a piece of skull....
Maybe he’d been back with a metal detector and meticulously swept the whole area?? Possibly on another trip we don’t know about (during lockdown??)

Don’t know, I think if two people have ended up dead, GL was worried about something though and he searched for and destroyed the drone. If GL was that worried about his career he might not have wanted to risk that Hill might take footage to police.

I just don't see it being what sparked a murder of RH. GL gave evidence he wasn't bothered what RH would do with footage on the drone. GL being a pilot would be fully aware that RH could be up for easily 10k plus in fines for all of the federal drone laws he breached. If he was that bothered he would simply say go right ahead mate, you'll be up on multiple CASA offences which amount to a huge fine.

Yes he did destroy it after the deaths (he gave that testimony) but that was more about hiding his presence at the camp site.

I just don't see it being what sparked a murder of RH. GL gave evidence he wasn't bothered what RH would do with footage on the drone. GL being a pilot would be fully aware that RH could be up for easily 10k plus in fines for all of the federal drone laws he breached. If he was that bothered he would simply say go right ahead mate, you'll be up on multiple CASA offences which amount to a huge fine.

Yes he did destroy it after the deaths (he gave that testimony) but that was more about hiding his presence at the camp site.
would be good to know what started the sequence of events. I’m not sure we’ll ever know.

Has it been mentioned whether RH was a licenced and permitted drone operator or not?

Possible that RH was operating the drone legally?

A longer jury deliberation is good signs for old grego. I hope this wont be a hung jury.
Conversely, they could be crossing the t’s and dotting the i’s for a guilty verdict. They were given some fairly tight directions.

This is new ground, precedence has not been set.

Yep

The jury has no evidence before it that Hill's drone was flying after about 16:00. It has no evidence of the drone capturing any evidence of anybody's activities

He has ticked a box in his narrative which gave him justification for the altercation with Hill and then Hill seeking to steal the gun in the dark and part of his actions in covering up the crime scene

Take the drone out of the equation and it changes the entire scenario of his actions that day (including time frames)

The physical evidence presented suggests that at least one shot was fired from near the toilet tent which may have hit the mirror.

Clay died of a gunshot wound at closeish range to the head underneath the awning, which exploded part of her skull outside the immediate vicinity of her death. I presume this skull fragment was found in a position where the shot could have been fired from near the bull bar.

No evidence led to the contrary

Lynn may have crept up around the back of the toilet tent in the blind spot of anybody seated outside the tent and therefore missed the guy rope to fire this shot (and any other shots)

Glasses found in the tent doesn't mean that the couple were in bed, oniy means that there was a concerted efforts to clean up the camp site, including throwing the solar panel inside the tent

Hill's firing of 3 shots into the air, may have been Lynn's attempt to change a time frame to suit his narrative.

Every step of disproving elements of Lynn's testimony and ROI decreases the jury's conscious suspension of disbelief of his narrative

Justin Stein found guilty of the murder of Charlise Mutten. Took them 5 days.

"After five and a half days of deliberating following the four-week trial, a jury on Wednesday found the 33-year-old guilty of the charge of murder, convicting Mr Stein and ignoring his version of events."

Hope the jury here ignores Lynn's version of events too 🤞🤞🤞🤞🤞🤞

I’ve said this from day one but many have refuted this. To my surprise.

That can be the only reason Lynn add those additional shots to his story.
I half agree!
IMO completely makes sense someone would make up a story to account for additional shots, they don't know who is nearby and what they heard.

At the same time I'm not too surprised a shotgun wasn't heard at 3km.
1-2km quite possible assuming conditions are right, but thick vegetation all you need is a bit of background noise and the wind direction the right way.
A large centre fire rifle on the other hand I would expect to carry much further.

Early on in this case there is a Pilots thread similar to this. I read so many comments. All of the male co pilots said he was strange. You cpuld fly hours with him and not get to know him any better and there were reports of anger issues. His mental state post being put on medical hold was as bad if not worse than Hill's post retirement. The Pros didnt bring this up from all reports yet Hill went through the ringer.
Yes, i have obtusely referred here before about that thread on professional pilots network prior..majority IMO could be be read "he is a weirdo loner",, but the were also polots saying he was great to fly with.
But it cetrainly raised red flags...after a out 5 pages of comments it was loocked, but still viewable, but then was removed from view completely.
Another thread is running on same forum, but similar to this one, it is covering the trial and general debate..no juicy info.

Ps:in fact, the pilots are complaining vehemently about the "ring ins" on their site from all this...they want to be rid of SLF (self loading freight, pilot jargon for non pilots/passengers!). Similiar to BF, lots of people come in late to the party, without having followed the case, spruiking all kinds of kooky kooker theories.....

Yep

The jury has no evidence before it that Hill's drone was flying after about 16:00. It has no evidence of the drone capturing any evidence of anybody's activities

He has ticked a box in his narrative which gave him justification for the altercation with Hill and then Hill seeking to steal the gun in the dark and part of his actions in covering up the crime scene

Take the drone out of the equation and it changes the entire scenario of his actions that day (including time frames)

The physical evidence presented suggests that at least one shot was fired from near the toilet tent which may have hit the mirror.

Clay died of a gunshot wound at closeish range to the head underneath the awning, which exploded part of her skull outside the immediate vicinity of her death. I presume this skull fragment was found in a position where the shot could have been fired from near the bull bar.

No evidence led to the contrary

Lynn may have crept up around the back of the toilet tent in the blind spot of anybody seated outside the tent and therefore missed the guy rope to fire this shot (and any other shots)

Glasses found in the tent doesn't mean that the couple were in bed, oniy means that there was a concerted efforts to clean up the camp site, including throwing the solar panel inside the tent

Hill's firing of 3 shots into the air, may have been Lynn's attempt to change a time frame to suit his narrative.

Every step of disproving elements of Lynn's testimony and ROI decreases the jury's conscious suspension of disbelief of his narrative
What’s your thoughts on why GL was sneaking around the toilet tent? and fired a shot?

The judges comments that because of 2 accidental deaths lead to a guilty verdict was flawed has me worried. It's saying you can't find him guilty just because you don't believe 2 accidental deaths is likely. Everything seems to be favoring Lynn and I think he walks away a free man with time served enough to clear his post death actions. I really hope I'm wrong. In either case guilty or not guilty we'll never know how the jury came to the conclusion. The judge also mentioned something about satisfying 4 x elements of murder. Anyone know what the 4 elements of murder are?

Quote : " Justice Croucher told the jury their job was not to punish Mr Lynn for the “terrible and selfish” actions he had admitted to but to impartially judge if the prosecution had proven the four elements of murder for each death beyond reasonable doubt.

He said Mr Lynn was to be presumed innocent and for the jury to think two accidental deaths was improbable, was “fundamentally flawed”.

Anyone know what the 4 elements of murder are?

Those elements are:

• A person's death was caused by an act performed by the accused
  • The act causing death was performed consciously, voluntarily and deliberately by the accused
  • The accused performed the act causing death intending to kill the other person or intending to cause that person at least really serious injury; and
  • The accused performed the act causing death while not acting in self defence

The judges comments that because of 2 accidental deaths lead to a guilty verdict was flawed has me worried. It's saying you can't find him guilty just because you don't believe 2 accidental deaths is likely. Everything seems to be favoring Lynn and I think he walks away a free man with time served enough to clear his post death actions. I really hope I'm wrong. In either case guilty or not guilty we'll never know how the jury came to the conclusion. The judge also mentioned something about satisfying 4 x elements of murder. Anyone know what the 4 elements of murder are?

Quote : " Justice Croucher told the jury their job was not to punish Mr Lynn for the “terrible and selfish” actions he had admitted to but to impartially judge if the prosecution had proven the four elements of murder for each death beyond reasonable doubt.

He said Mr Lynn was to be presumed innocent and for the jury to think two accidental deaths was improbable, was “fundamentally flawed”.
Think he is saying you can't find him guilty solely on x2 accidental deaths being improbable, but that all the evidence must be weighed up.

Must also be mentioned that operating a drone out of sight is potentially a massive fine. CASA were chasing the infamous Bunnings sausage drone operator who they couldn't identify for a $9000 fine

We heard testimony from the weed sprayers that RH's drone buzzed them over a km away from Bucks camp although we don't know if RH was piloting from there.

Presumably any supposed footage RH had of GL would have been from FPV drone operation mode and out of his direct sight.

This is a far more serious drone offence.

Basically in the event RH turned in footage RH would be guilty of:

Operation of a drone in a national park
Operation of a drone flying over other people
Operation of a drone out of line of sight in FPV mode without remote flying license

A

Again, he was not in the valley on that occasion. He was at King Billy, which is to the west of the Howitt high plains. https://www.theage.com.au/national/...ampers-case-set-to-begin-20240512-p5jcx6.html

I keep asking myself why you are intent on raising things that have been discussed and/or could be easily found in a search (thread or google)

100% - if in doubt read the thread. Which hasn’t obviously been done.

A longer jury deliberation is good signs for old grego. I hope this wont be a hung jury.

The jury has to find decisions on the deaths of two people meanwhile, the jury was out for (nearly) one week to find guilt on the murder of 9yo Charlise Mutten when that was clear cut imo, he did it.

Hung jury imo.

I can’t see 12 people agreeing beyond reasonable doubt he murdered them in cold blood.

As much as his story sounds out there the fact he just decided to kill 2 people is more out there for mine.

Current Trial Russell Hill & Carol Clay Pt 2 *Pilot Greg Lynn sentenced 32 yrs with a non-parole period of 24 yrs