Ryan Griffen Requests Trade

So, everyone sleeping like a baby tonight then?

Yeah? Me too...

:(

If I didn't have to work tonight, I'd probably be in a state that'd be causing my posts to be a tad more interesting... Pogba-esque, you could say.

Captain of the club requests to be traded, frak

But wait there's more...

He's doing it whilst under contract, and what really gets me, has the balls to nominate the club he wants to go to (though in all honesty he couldn't have picked a better club for you guys to deal with.)

You have to play hardball here. Pick 4 and 7, or Patton/Boyd + Hoskin Elliot at the very least. Anything less, threaten to hold him to his contract and play him in the seconds all year. The onus is on GWS to get this deal done now, they will have to budge.

First of all I'm to frightened to look at our board . Has it imploded yet?
Black eye for the club no doubt, but a huge chance to take significant picks moving forward. I just want to know where our lack of leadership is going to come from now, if Cooney and Minson go as well? You seriously need to explore an hysteria overreaction option on here.

First of all I'm to frightened to look at our board . Has it imploded yet?
Black eye for the club no doubt, but a huge chance to take significant picks moving forward. I just want to know where our lack of leadership is going to come from now, if Cooney and Minson go as well? You seriously need to explore an hysteria overreaction option on here.

But wait there's more...

He's doing it whilst under contract, and what really gets me, has the balls to nominate the club he wants to go to (though in all honesty he couldn't have picked a better club for you guys to deal with.)

You have to play hardball here. Pick 4 and 7, or Patton/Boyd + Hoskin Elliot at the very least. Anything less, threaten to hold him to his contract and play him in the seconds all year. The onus is on GWS to get this deal done now, they will have to budge.
Your side's a great example of making the most of a crap situation.
If big footy existed in 99 ! Blimey
Set you up for a great era

What Mooney said is spot on - the club simply must be strong and aggressive, and demand what we want from the campaigners.

Players (one of your spoon fed KPP's thanks) and picks, otherwise **** off.

All you clowns that keep telling me my information is wrong. Well as Teddy would say, I JUST STUCK IT RIGHT UP A LOT OF YOU GUYS ON HERE.
Another one will go today, COONEY.
WE MUST SACK MACCA now.
NO T COONEY TO!!
who is going to feel the breach of having no defensive side?
NOOOOOOOO!!!

Mate if Buddy had told us in 2012 that he wanted out, I would have pulled the trigger ASAP. Macca sees that what you said will occur and he will probably only get you a late pick 20's.

It's the most positive thing that could happen, and I reckon more clubs will do this in the future. Pull the trigger and trade players before FA! Especially clubs lower on the ladder.
I really appreciate your positivity, mate. It's lifted me out of the funk a bit. You and a bunch of other clubs' supporters have been really great on this thread. Thanks.

Everyone keeps commenting negatively about Griff, but has anyone actually assskd why he has requested a Captain trade to GWS out of all places? If a player was going to do a solid to their former club would they would be asking to get traded to the club with the most to giveup...?

This trade period could get rough as a result of this. Clubs are going to come hard with a hell of a lot of money at the likes of Macrae, Libba and Bont if they smell blood in the water. I seriously hope this is the end of it but I'm worried.
Dan it's a black eye for us mate, but let's be honest our young guns all signed new contracts this season and if it's true that there is a discord with the senior group, you know who they're going to get rid of .
Personally I disagree with getting Lonergan as it sends mixed messages, and I think now they won't pursue that path. If You could choose which club you'd prefer to deal with , it's GWS. Kids aplenty and have less importance on early draft picks.

Everyone keeps commenting negatively about Griff, but has anyone actually assskd why he has requested a Captain trade to GWS out of all places? If a player was going to do a solid to their former club would they would be asking to get traded to the club with the most to giveup...?
According to Cam Mooney on Trade Radio, GWS offered Griff something 5+ months ago
Given the situation Griff probably figured it was easier to run away than man up

This is a good summary:
Wow big day, but here is my griff summery.

-Griff was soft.
-He didn't play to standard this year and has probably enjoyed being a protected species down there until macca came in.
-He didn't have anything to do with the shit fight other then allowing the other seniors to manipulate him into representing them against the youth. That is not a leader.
-He never wanted to be captain so it was always a burden for him, so he placed himself on the losing side without ever having any involvement in the stupidity that insued.
-Then suddenly his mates minnow, coons and higgins are getting the ass... maybe a little fear that the young fella wont look up to him because he stood against them?
-Then when GWS showed him the money, which is probably going to be close to a million. He maybe thinks, i am probably not welcome here anymore, i don't want to be captain and the kids most likely don't want tme to be captain, and i can get a nice retirement fund as i will not play in a premiership with either team.
-And once again, his timid manner has not won him any favours by going about it all behind the clubs back, saying one thing while planning another, and to top it off, he allows the club to find out through the media, who were just waiting for something juicy to make us look stupid, rather then going in person and stating his case like a man, like a bloody captain of our football club.

He just said..."The club is bigger than the individual". "If players don't want to be there, then they don't stay there"

Level headed and honest. Nothing sensational like Barrett DEMANDING that McCartney gets sacked.

Wallace also very positive about the potential loss of Griffen.
If only a current medical affliction starting with E was more selective.
He was frothing at the mouth that pox faced git

He's being commented on negatively because he has lied.

He had concerns about McCartney, the club listened to them, dealt with them, asked him if he was happy they'd been dealt with, he said yes. Then he's asked to be traded.

Before today everyone thought of him as one of the most loyal, humble and committed players we've had.

People have every right to be angry with him.

I'm more than angry with him. I'm disgusted with him.

Really really despicable behaviour from someone I thought would have been the last person on this list to behave this way,

You guys must feel a bit gutted, but this could be a fantastic trade for you. If you're going to lose a star/leader, lose them when they're 28 turning 29 - let's be honest the peak has been reached. Bit like the Crows and Dangerfield - I don't want to lose him now, but in 3,4 years it wouldn't be so bad - especially if we got some juicey draft picks for him. Pick 4 could get you Peter Wright, which would be a great pick.

But that's a neutral person thinking purely with his non-supporter head. If it was a Crows player in a similar situation I would probably be going around punching walls!
Put it this way it ain't as bad as certain prelim.

Dan it's a black eye for us mate, but let's be honest our young guns all signed new contracts this season and if it's true that there is a discord with the senior group, you know who they're going to get rid of .
Personally I disagree with getting Lonergan as it sends mixed messages, and I think now they won't pursue that path. If You could choose which club you'd prefer to deal with , it's GWS. Kids aplenty and have less importance on early draft picks.
What the **** do they matter? Contracted players are leaving and nominating clubs left and right.

I trust your info, Nathan, and don't doubt what you're saying for a second - but it's the coach's role to ensure this sort of thing doesn't happen. We're in damage control now, like it or not, and with that simply has to come serious questions. This 'stance' needs to be questioned. We've been told since day dot that McCartney is a fantastic manager of men - it appears he is not, and we need to decide whether that's a big problem.
Can't offer you anything concrete to sooth your doubts but the situation at your club has nothing to do with McCartney's ability to manage. Back your club and your coach, listen to the Bulldog supporters who are saying there are issues, and gouge the crap out GWS for decent picks in a trade. You do not want Griff at your club.

Couple of things I've been thinking about that GWS game:

1. When Griffen was busting through players left and right and we all thought he was valiantly willing us over the line - was he just trying to impress his new club?

2. Has anyone got footage of the fight at half time? Id be interested to track Griffen during it to see how he acts.

This is pretty messed up ... I honestly thought Griffen would be the last person to want to leave you guys... let alone "request" a trade. How the f*uck does a captain walk out on a club like that? Don't know why i'm even pissed off at it but i am... cant imagine how you blokes feel!

Couple of things I've been thinking about that GWS game:

1. When Griffen was busting through players left and right and we all thought he was valiantly willing us over the line - was he just trying to impress his new club?

2. Has anyone got footage of the fight at half time? Id be interested to track Griffen during it to see how he acts.

http://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/2014-08-31/r23-tempers-flare-at-final-change

Is this what you're thinking of? Only about a minute long but gives you a decent view.

Ryan Griffen Requests Trade