Ryan Griffen Requests Trade

While a lot of what Mooney said was good, I don't like Mooney's attitude: the players "of this generation are soft"... "need to toughen up" etc..
Macca's country footy pedigree all over..

I fear it might've worked in Geelong ten years ago, but you look at the best coach now .. Clarkson.. and he's more about a great team bond .. not coach vs players. He has faith in players , eg playing Rioli in GF

Significant that Griff gone to play under Cameron (more modern style coach that we chose not to go with) for no extra money or chance of cup.

Ah well, we gotta stick with the Macca plan now , but with greater free agency now, will it work?
Players don't just have to "suck it up" like in the days of Plough.

Garbage. You don't think Clarkson hits his players squarely between the eyes.

He's a harder bastard than McCartney.

The issue at hand is we have a mentally soft/weak group.

We also have a great team bond. Unfortunately - we have two teams within that team. No more - one of them has now exited the building (and the correct one, at that).

Garbage. You don't think Clarkson hits his players squarely between the eyes.
He's a harder bastard than McCartney.
The issue at hand is we have a mentally soft/weak group.
We also have a great team bond. Unfortunately - we have two teams within that team. No more - one of them has now exited the building (and the correct one, at that).

Never heard him single out for criticism, or do it in the media .. or placing one player as favourite over other.

I'm not sure I buy that as not being a fault of McCartney, as a huge part of senior coaching is man management. If he couldn't repair/manage the rift then maybe he isn't the right man to lead the club.

Spot on. This what I cannot understand, a rift occurs within the club the president, CEO and Coach are involved and it is not satisfactorily resolved. I do not believe we have the right people in place because this incident because it has escalated to this level sadly will hurt the club and the individuals for a long time.

He's being commented on negatively because he has lied.

He had concerns about McCartney, the club listened to them, dealt with them, asked him if he was happy they'd been dealt with, he said yes. Then he's asked to be traded.

Before today everyone thought of him as one of the most loyal, humble and committed players we've had.

People have every right to be angry with him.

I'm more than angry with him. I'm disgusted with him.

Really really despicable behaviour from someone I thought would have been the last person on this list to behave this way,

And you are forming this opinion on one side of the story. There is always two sides to a story, wait until you here the other side and I guarantee the truth lies somewhere between both stories.

Never heard him single out for criticism, or do it in the media .. or placing one player as favourite over other.

And what did that player do the following week? Get 43 touches and a BOG, after which he admitted he deserved every single word of it.

Exactly who has he favoured?

That's what's caused all this - the senior players EXPECTED him to favour them - he told them to grow up and they didn't like it and have duly thrown the toys out of the cot.

I say f**k them.

Also Macrae has no issue with the club. The young guys seem to be embracing the challange. They want success. Seems like alot of the older boys were comftable with the old ways.

Just gutless of Griffen to ask to leave through his management. Didn't have the balls to tell the club and players himself. Disgusting. Really hope Redpath and Stringer steam roll him next season.

Have any of the players made any comments on social media?

Also Macrae has no issue with the club. The young guys seem to be embracing the challange. They want success. Seems like alot of the older boys were comftable with the old ways.

Just gutless of Griffen to ask to leave through his management. Didn't have the balls to tell the club and players himself. Disgusting. Really hope Redpath and Stringer steam roll him next season.

Have any of the players made any comments on social media?
Would be very interesting being a fly on the wall listening to the younger blokes talk about this. Would be interetsing to hear their thoughts now they are new breed, and what they actually think of the coach and the older players that have gone.
Can't wait for Bob Murphy to tell us about this when he writes for the age next.

I fear it might've worked in Geelong ten years ago, but you look at the best coach now .. Clarkson.. and he's more about a great team bond .. not coach vs players. He has faith in players , eg playing Rioli in GF

i don't think so mate.

clarko is a hard arse. campbell brown said as much discussing bluey's dismissal (that bluey handled the group with kid gloves, and that clarko was a ruthless hard-arse).

Gia becomes a pivotal figure now. Must bridge any divide between playing and coaching groups.

Great point Fronk. Lot of expectation on Gia to be a healer at the club I'd guess.

Hhhm...I'm not convinced about this.

If it's true he was front and centre in all this - doesn't that make his position untenable?

So Ryan Griffin left the Doggies .....i recall a captain (Leigh Colbert) bailed on Geelong....in return they got a bloke called Cam Mooney and used the draft pick on a bloke called Corey Enright - doggies go get four picks inside 25 and be a dominant team in 3 years..... appoint a new young kid as capt who says follow me follow me ie Hodge or recently Boak....... ‪#‎AllAboard‬ the Doggie Train ‪#‎WoofWoof‬

The first time I acutally agree with ricky nixon

I can't seem to get Gia saying to Dahl, Libba and Rough (I think it was) at his retirement speech, that they have to support Griffen to take the club where they want it to go. Still mulling it over.

I think he recognized, like a lot of us, that Griffen is not captain material.

Boyd etc probably aren't realistic, but we need to fight for pick 4 not 7. I'd be happy if we come out of it with pick 4 and a mid tier player that might turn a corner with us. Griff isn't a spring chicken anymore and GWS will be pushing that in negotiations, dunno how we can justify getting a young KPF and pick 4 at the same time.

He needs to go though. Don't like this stubborn attitude of forcing him to stay then getting dudded with free agency next year.... we need to benefit somehow.

Eade did this repeatedly in the media and I don't recall this board getting too worked up about it.

And what did that player do the following week? Get 43 touches and a BOG, after which he admitted he deserved every single word of it.
Exactly who has he favoured?
That's what's caused all this - the senior players EXPECTED him to favour them - he told them to grow up and they didn't like it and have duly thrown the toys out of the cot.
I say f**k them.

I reckon it was actually some of the senior players getting favoured.. like Cooney, Gia too? Boyd's turnovers, Austin being a bit older.

These disgruntled 'senior' players are senior by age but by no means maturity. These blokes who move into their late 20s are at the age where they are supposed to be setting examples, leading the younger players by example and helping to galvanise the club. Instead they do the opposite. I could not be happier that we are moving on these prima donnas like Higgins and now Griffen who would rather take the easy option and walk than deal with issues head on. We will be stronger in the long run for this- there are obviously mistakes which have been made from both sides, but the hard manner in which Gordon has responded sends a very strong message and I can't wait to see the next move.

Griffen being 'forced' to take the captaincy is a load of rubbish- he's 28 years old and has a voice of his own. Although seemingly his only voice now is his manager, absolutely pathetic and he has forfeited any legacy at the Dogs.

It's a culture shift at the Bulldogs that has taken too long to occur. We no longer will be run by the boys club of senior players more interested in their own paycheck than the fortunes of the club they should be embracing.

What is our first pick this year? 11 or 12?

not enough for Shiel, unless Choco can get in his ear and say 'nominate Richmond'

however, we really have no depth still and have nothing to offer other clubs. we need to raid a poor team, i'd be willing to trade Elton and 11 for Griffin and Cooney.... 2 classy midfielders who have at least 3-4 years left for a kpf and a high draft pick. Throw in Dea as well to sweeten it.

:rolleyes:

Ryan Griffen Requests Trade