Moved Thread Ryan Schoenmakers - is now a premiership winning forward and has a 2 year contract extension

We need to slip a large dose of fast-acting Ebola into this blokes next meal.

Dead set spanner.
I don't think Shoe is the spanner here mate

We've done the kid no real favours over the journey continuing to play him in a position he isn't suited for, its the equivalent of playing Cheeney on Hawkins, mind you if Cheeney had Shoe's body he would be a premiership full back for the Hawks.....

We didn't prep him to be playing senior footy with what we did during the preseason and box hilll then we left him on Cameron after it was clear he was completely out classed

Play him forward at Box Hill and if his form warrants it later in the year play him forward for the Hawks

Man I bet you'd buy a bunch of magic beans off a street dealer too.

It's not even a lack of prep. He's just a spanner. He makes the worst possible decisions in just about every contest he's involved in.

Right down to whether the ball should be left to go over the line. Instead he'll tap it back into play for the three opposition players he didn't see standing next to him to run off with it.

Canna hand a man a granda Shoey
spot on that play epitomises him

For all the people that have had a crack at me for being a Shoenmakers basher, well, have a look at his bullshit performance tonight. He is not and AFL player, absolutely f..ken useless. And the same goes with Suckling. I don't know who the f..k he thinks he is, but playing like he is having a kick around the backyard is piss poor.

neither of these 2 should EVER wear a hawthorn jumper again

Man I bet you'd buy a bunch of magic beans off a street dealer too.
Mate I'm not saying he can or should play for us again, especially in the backline, I'm saying we took a promising 17 yo forward, why we drafted a forward at the time is a whole other question, and turned him into the mess we have now. If the club were serious about him this year we wouldn't have used him the way we have.

No matter how terrible he has been there was no need to suggest feeding him Ebola though

I didn't watch the game, but on tge radio sounded like it was coming in very fast.

Sure he was probably crap but I bet not the only one.

No he wasn't the only one....But he was by far & away the Crappiest of them all!....A 6 year vet had his arse handed on a plate to him by a 21 year old kid!...Actually no, strike that....A 6 year vet, handed his own arse on a plate to a 21 year old kid....I kid you not!

Mate I'm not saying he can or should play for us again, especially in the backline, I'm saying we took a promising 17 yo forward, why we drafted a forward at the time is a whole other question, and turned him into the mess we have now. If the club were serious about him this year we wouldn't have used him the way we have.

No matter how terrible he has been there was no need to suggest feeding him Ebola though

Well obviously I was being rather serious about physically feeding him a bowl of Ebola.

In the dying minutes, on the boundary line.. Why the f did Shoey double fist the ball out of bounds (instead of marking it) when he had no body contact??

How often does a key forward kick a bag against us? 7 goals by Cameron.. Last biggest bag was 6 from Cloke... Who was their direct opponent? Coincidence??

Last week Brown kicked 3 goals in a 10 goal drubbing... Equivelant to a bag and let's not overlook that his a fringe player..

Usually I'm one to defend Shoe, but this game summed up his whole career. Too slow with his decision making, constantly second guessing himself and generally not being accountable for his direct opponent. I'm not gonna personally attack the bloke's character like many seem to be doing on here, cause he works his arse off whenever he gets selected.

That being said he just doesn't have what it takes to be an AFL footballer and at the moment he is an obvious liability in this team.

In the dying minutes, on the boundary line.. Why the f did Shoey double fist the ball out of bounds (instead of marking it) when he had no body contact??

How often does a key forward kick a bag against us? 7 goals by Cameron.. Last biggest bag was 6 from Cloke... Who was their direct opponent? Coincidence??

Last week Brown kicked 3 goals in a 10 goal drubbing... Equivelant to a bag and let's not overlook that his a fringe player..
Not the first time a double fist by a defender has been questioned, Gibbo has done it and you wonder, if you could punch it with two hands why didn't you grab it, I would say in Shoe's case complete lack of anything resembling confidence in his own ability to mark the ball, he got destroyed today

frawley will be back next week, and lake not to far away #25 will be vaccant next year and hopefully #4 aswell.
I would prefer to think that a couple of our younger guys have earned a number upgrade

It's a team game, can't single out a player and blame them for a loss.

Pretty hard for Shoey to come in and replace Lake / Frawley, but with Spangher out he was asked to have a crack for us. Think he'd look a bit more comfortable covering Strattons 3rd tall defender position, perhaps even look pretty good if Hodgey was around to help marshall the troops into position.

I respect the bloke - he had a chance to leave Hawthorn for more opportunities but wanted to stay in the brown and gold and fight for a spot in the side.

Don't see what we've got to lose by giving Heatherley a go in replacement of Schoey at this point....he's definately not lacking aggression or that competitive spirit that every good defender has.

I'd also like to see Litherland back while suckling finds form at box hill. Think he's game translates better at AFL level rather than VFL. Not to mention he's very good one on one, accountable and has a great aperitite for the contest. Doesn't need to do anything pretty, just make the right decisions and give 100%, which is pretty much what he was doing before he lost his spot.

It's a team game, can't single out a player and blame them for a loss.

Pretty hard for Shoey to come in and replace Lake / Frawley, but with Spangher out he was asked to have a crack for us. Think he'd look a bit more comfortable covering Strattons 3rd tall defender position, perhaps even look pretty good if Hodgey was around to help marshall the troops into position.

I respect the bloke - he had a chance to leave Hawthorn for more opportunities but wanted to stay in the brown and gold and fight for a spot in the side.

Surely you can't be serious.

A spud is a spud is a spud....The boy is 195cm, 95kgs & has the perfect build for a key defensive post....The issue is not for which position he is best suited for, the issue is that he cannot play AFL standard football.....Anyone with un-prejudiced eyes can see that his level of competence -or lack thereof - simply does not translate to AFL standard.

Talk about supporting structures all you like...But if a bloke cannot stand up on his own 2 feet & be counted one on one, then he simply has no place in the side!....Plenty of blokes can look good playing alongside of Hodge & Lake down back, but the true test as a footballer, is when they are relied upon to perform of their own volition, week after week. Including in the absence of others...After 80 games of senior football he has not improved nor learnt a thing.

Time & again this boy has come up short & been exposed as deficient.....Stop defending the indefensible.....Shoey is simply not good enough at the level.

I question our ability to be able to develop a key defender full stop.

After 08 Schoey was our answer ( gulp) while we thought the cluster would save our defense....

Finally we came to our senses and picked up Lake.

In the meantime Spangher and Frawley have come to the club. (Hooray)

Brand and Heatherley are supposed to be our developing defenders however Brand would be 80kgs on a wet day and Kurt is still learning the rules of the game.

Surely there is a 95/100kg defender playing in the VFL/WAFL/SANFL that we can get that understands how to position your body when the ball comes in long and direct and how to make a DECENT decision with ball in hand.

I'm not sure why Schoey plays 10 meters in front of his man, when the ball is kicked in long to his opponent he loses the ball in the air and scrambles to get back, then his opponent takes what is basically an uncontested mark.
It has to be a coaches directive because he does it time and time again, I've played a lot of footy at CHB albeit not at AFL level but the only time I play in front of my man is on a windy day.
Schoey go back to manning up your opponent and watch the ball in the air, this may actually help you in spoiling, marking or even just getting a finger nail on the ball because at the moment you look a headless chook when the balls kicked in long.

He's not a defender, it's clear to anyone who watches him.. We can make excuses and say he's trained as a forward and all that, but if this is the case he should have a stronger understanding of what the forward is thinking. He gets turned around too much, he loses body contact too often, he judges the ball poorly and seems to struggle one on one. One of these is bad for a kpd, all are an indication he's not up,to it.

Why not brand? Why not heatherley, God try bloody tim o'brien in need. As much as we hoped he'd become the KP player we needed, he's so far away from it after 6 years it's frightening.

Moved Thread Ryan Schoenmakers - is now a premiership winning forward and has a 2 year contract extension