Roast Sack Horse

Sack Longmire tomorrow?

• yes

Votes: 44 59.5%
  • monday

Votes: 30 40.5%

He's obviously not going to get sacked after making a GF.....but we need someone to come in and fix our stoppages up (particularly centre bounce). The talent starts in there but we seem to get bullied in there too much....the setup/system fails at crucial moments.
Our opposition gets way too many walk it out clean clearances and by comparison we don't get nearly as many.
So something in the setup is broken, we're either conceding too many and or not generating enough.

The club was smart getting Pyke to improve one of the 2 big flaws in the Horse coaching era (the ball movement), now need to be smart and find someone to fix the other one. Not saying, outside of Grand Finals, we're diabolical at it but we're not good quite enough in that area compared to Brisbane.....similar how our ball movement was never terrible but it was the flaw that held us back from Hawthorn and one of the reasons why they won 3 to our 1.

He's obviously not going to get sacked after making a GF.....but we need someone to come in and fix our stoppages up (particularly centre bounce). The talent starts in there but we seem to get bullied in there too much....the setup/system fails at crucial moments.
Our opposition gets way too many walk it out clean clearances and by comparison we don't get nearly as many.
So something in the setup is broken, we're either conceding too many and or not generating enough.

That is the problem though. Horse does not value the centre clearances, we see it with him basically relegating Tom Mitchell to being a tagger, refusing to play Sheldrick and dropping Adams for important games. He is happy to lose the clearances as long as we win the turnovers and how can you force him to change who he is? He has not changed that part of his game since he began coaching us 15 or so years ago, so it feels super unlikely he will change now.

We don't really have a clearance player in the team right now. Yes we have players who can do it, but we don't have any clearance specialists, and I think it is because Longmire has no desire to have those sort of players in the team, especially if they can't play other roles too.

I've never doubted Horses' ability as coach, he's great.

This isn't being kneejerk since I never said the same thing after 2022, but tonight is this first time I will say he should stand aside. He won't be the coach to take us to our next flag.

Today was a real genuine shot at a chance of redemtion of all our 3 previous Grand Final failures and it was another massive letdown. We were thrashed again.

He has to go.

That's it. Horse is unfortunately a home and away hero that can't get us over the line when it matters. I'm starting to think 2012 was more of fluke.
2012 - Our champions stood up when needed, one the hard footy and did what they had to do and wanted the flag. Stats suggested Hawks were the better team. Arguably, Horse somewhat inherited an already defined champion team.

2014, 22, 24 - we just crapped the bed, not winning the hard ball and pressuring oppo. Not great spectacle for the neutral fan. Can't blame people hanging it on us for utter trash. Credit to all 3 opponents but in all we didn't even bat a fight or have some sort of resilence. We go out and lure/draft champion players, great for memberships-club popularity but Buddy, Tippett had 0 flags at Sydney.

2016 - I believe we were the best team on the day and in the end didn't win. But we had a go and the neutral fans would have agreed.

I'm in licorice allsorts right now not knowing if I should be angry, sad or greatful I've been alive for 2x Grand Finals for Sydney compared to some other clubs (Saints). I feel empty because I love this club.

Don't be too upset, there's a lot of talent on that list and John is a very good coach. It won't be the last time we see this Sydney team on the last day in September. I know it means shit now but I went through it in '76 and '98 and you do get over it. It takes a few drinks at the time though. :)

Yes, no doubt, but it also won't be the last time we see Sydney get smacked on the last Saturday in September either.

Thank you for your kind words. With all due respect, 2 grand final losses 22 years apart with two premiership on either side of 1998 is much easier to swallow than shitting the bed in 2014, 2016, 2022 and 2024.

We're soft. We'd rather play nicely and lose than have a ****in hard crack.

Hawks won by playing hard. Dogs won by diving at every ground ball regardless of the rules or who's legs were taken out. Look at Dangerfields first quarter in 22.
Dunkley in a 3v1 dives onto the pill, rolls over it and chucks it out the back to a team mate.

Who around the contest actually tried to crack in and get the flipping pill? Maybe Rowwy once or twice in the first quarter but that was it. So why persist with playing the only campaigner on the ground that's won a flag in a dumb forward role. We've got the three slowest tall blokes in the league, let one of them sacrifice their game to play defensively.

He should’ve been sacked about 8 years ago

Has underachieved massively with the lists he has had

Good man manager, poor tactician and match day coach

Good to see some on here finally opening their eyes

Feel for ya, it was supposed to be an exciting occasion but wouldnt be surprised if it was awkward silence all around.
Players going to be bothered to show up for that? Couldn’t be bothered showing up at the game but I guess there is a free feed involved so.

Basically didn’t put enough pressure around the ball.
Hard to do that when you’re playing a “guard space” zone.

Baffling tactics.

It was true witches hats stuff in that 2nd quarter & Horse had nothing to stem the bleeding.

And if Sheldrick and Cleary don’t start R1 next year, I’ll give up.

He won't get sacked but coming into a contract year I prefer hold back a bit and don't panic extend the contract in the pre-season. Problem is there'd be plenty of clubs lining up for him, so they'll be no pressure on him anyway because he'd be able to walk to any other job.
Never thought I'd be saying that about Horse, but it's time to win one. Can't accept a poor year in 25, need to front up again.

He won't get sacked but coming into a contract year I prefer hold back a bit and don't panic extend the contract in the pre-season. Problem is there'd be plenty of clubs lining up for him, so they'll be no pressure on him anyway because he'd be able to walk to any other job.
Never thought I'd be saying that about Horse, but it's time to win one. Can't accept a poor year in 25, need to front up again.
Yeah lets not make the same mistake Port made with Hinkley lol

We have all watched the slow starts all year - he won’t or can’t fix it. We have all watched the long bombs to the 3 big forwards all year - he won’t or can’t fix it. His team selection all year has been poor - treatment of Parker Adams and selecting McDonald today just disgracefull! Heeney Warner and Gulden have saved him over and over all year. The Port hammering shows something isn’t right!

He should’ve been sacked about 8 years ago

Has underachieved massively with the lists he has had

Good man manager, poor tactician and match day coach

Good to see some on here finally opening their eyes
Come on... 8 year ago is not necessary. You reckon after 2016 GF he should've been sacked?

Roast Sack Horse