Delisted Sam Blease

Re: Sam Blease

There's a tendency for some supporters to immediately denigrate any poster that raises legitimate concerns about a listed player. I share the OP's concerns.

I saw Blease live at Etihad in 2008 in the junior champs. I've seen him play for Casey seconds. I've seen him play for Casey Seniors. I've seen him in a club intra preseason.

Blease has pace and on occasions he can kick well. He's also a poor decision maker that turns the ball over under minimal pressure. He's also very outside and imo a tad soft.

I won't completely write him off, because he does have talent, but I have grave concerns as to whether he'll be able to perform in the pressure cooker of an AFL environment.

Decision making and the ability to give clean disposal under pressure has never been more important.

He's coming from a long way back.

Strauss has been very solid in his 2 games this year- winning most one on ones and his kicking has been ok under immense pressure.

Blease I wouldn't be writing off just yet- though Shuey is, and will be 1 trillion times better. One of many drafting examples league wide where you can ponder the 'what ifs'... But what is the point? At least let Blease have a crack in the seniors before you write him off NG! He was very close to getting a game the other week.

There's a tendency for some supporters to immediately denigrate any poster that raises legitimate concerns about a listed player. I share the OP's concerns.

I saw Blease live at Etihad in 2008 in the junior champs. I've seen him play for Casey seconds. I've seen him play for Casey Seniors. I've seen him in a club intra preseason.

Blease has pace and on occasions he can kick well. He's also a poor decision maker that turns the ball over under minimal pressure. He's also very outside and imo a tad soft.

I won't completely write him off, because he does have talent, but I have grave concerns as to whether he'll be able to perform in the pressure cooker of an AFL environment.

Decision making and the ability to give clean disposal under pressure has never been more important.

He's coming from a long way back.

I denigrated the poster because he based his opinions on seeing him play 2 games which is bloody ridiculous, and that's at best. How can you base anything on that and, in fact, how can we base anything on a guy who missed an entire season through injury and is now getting himself back in to the swing of playing footy again.

There is, however, a tendency for some supporters to write players off who have barely been at the club long enough to show what they can do. That, IMO, is far worse.

i have seen him play live at least 20times, how about you?

Wha??? What does that have to do with your psychic connections?

On topic: I have seen him 2 times and been very unimpressed, I will defer judgment to those that have seen him enough to form an opinion of him.

I denigrated the poster because he based his opinions on seeing him play 2 games which is bloody ridiculous, and that's at best. How can you base anything on that and, in fact, how can we base anything on a guy who missed an entire season through injury and is now getting himself back in to the swing of playing footy again.

There is, however, a tendency for some supporters to write players off who have barely been at the club long enough to show what they can do. That, IMO, is far worse.

mate honestly i couldnt care less whether you attack me post or not u are scurting around the issue at hand, ive only seen blease 3 times, as i said in the post, i also said i was happy for people more in the know to correct me... but from what i have seen of him in the 2's, if the kid didnt have his pace.. he would have nothing
he doesnt do alot of the basics right, he misses easy targets, makes poor choices and alot of the time when he goes on big runs with the footy he burns alot of options... mate i am one hundred percent happy to be proved wrong, but as far as i can see there is far more upside in jetta, bennel, strauss and even lawrence

you look at evans, he is quick ( maybe not as quick as blease) and his disposal can be shakey

but evans goes in and gets his own footy , tackles, and no's were to position himself

if you or that idiot syl have anything other than.. 'he broke his leg' to suggest he will make it afl level then be my guest post

syl just hides behind his poor jokes because he actually knows nothing about footy

He has played 12 if the vfl.sportingpulse site or whatever is correct.

4 in the seniors last year, 8 this year.

Played a good number in the VFL ressies as well iirc last year.

Not all of those games would have been Casey games.

I'm sure you've seen him play a lot, but 20 is definitely exaggerating.

Whether or not he's been poor this year (I live in the country so I can't see many Casey games) we have to realise he's coming back from an awful injury and he needs time to develop.

It usually takes players 12 months or longer to get over their leg. I would be very disappointed if we got rid of Blease at the end of this year.

Whether or not he's been poor this year (I live in the country so I can't see many Casey games) we have to realise he's coming back from an awful injury and he needs time to develop.

It usually takes players 12 months or longer to get over their leg. I would be very disappointed if we got rid of Blease at the end of this year.

yep thats fine i get that, i just woulda thought his pace would be the thing hindered by his leg not everything else, he does deserve another yr on the list, and once again im happy to be proved wrong

This has to be a troll. JTR is Melbourne really even your team? If it's not a troll, it's unbelievable stupid.

It's bogan o'clock on the dees board.

For what I've seen on Blease I've been a bit disappointed as well, but hey let's give him a chance. He's still got half a season this year and I think he's contracted for next as well.

Whether it's getting cheap kicks or not he's finally started finding his footy and you can't get pace like his every day. I know he's turned it over a lot but he's meant to be learning still so I'll encourage him to keep on getting the ball and running at full pace.

For those judging Blease after last weeks game, this is what a certain Mr. Gotch had to say...

Sam Blease: He’s not the same Sam as we’ve seen over the past few weeks, unfortunately. We saw some of his talents in attacking mode, but he’s been really good defensively and from a tackling and physical pressure perspective - he just dropped off a bit this week. He’s been up for a long time - he just couldn’t get himself mentally to the game. So, hopefully he’ll bounce back this week.

OK ****-knuckles lets get one thing straight. He isn't a poor kick at all, he's a brilliant kick, his decision making at the moment is poor.

Decision making can improve not matter how old you are, try sitting out a year and a half and returning to football expecting to play the same way. It ain't going to happen that easily, especially for a kid.

Everybody around here knows i dont defend our recruiting staff, im usually laying the boots in and the first to bag an inexperienced/untried rookie (see Strauss), but on this occasion i will. I have seen enough of Blease at under 18 level to know he will be great. Yes, ive seen more than two games after coming off a year and a half out with a broken leg.

He will be in our best 22 by the end of next year. Once he starts making better decisions he will be one of the best kicks on our list, you will see what i mean when it all clicks, prepare yourself to look like a complete goose. :eek::eek::eek:

Subscribed to bump for this time next year. :thumbsu:

I'll start caring when he gets to the seniors. Don't think he can bump off any of the lads in the ones at the moment, so yeah. nada.

OK ****-knuckles lets get one thing straight. He isn't a poor kick at all, he's a brilliant kick, his decision making at the moment is poor.

Decision making can improve not matter how old you are, try sitting out a year and a half and returning to football expecting to play the same way. It ain't going to happen that easily, especially for a kid.

Everybody around here knows i dont defend our recruiting staff, im usually laying the boots in and the first to bag an inexperienced/untried rookie (see Strauss), but on this occasion i will. I have seen enough of Blease at under 18 level to know he will be great. Yes, ive seen more than two games after coming off a year and a half out with a broken leg.

He will be in our best 22 by the end of next year. Once he starts making better decisions he will be one of the best kicks on our list, you will see what i mean when it all clicks, prepare yourself to look like a complete goose. :eek::eek::eek:

Subscribed to bump for this time next year. :thumbsu:
Agreed.

From what i've een Blease is a good young footballer (the same age as Scully and Trengove) that missed a year and a half that is trying just a little to hard.

Give him time and he will be fine.

This kid will be lucky if he ever plays an afl game
never been a more hyped kid at melbourne with so little talent

can someone please explain to me other than running really fast what he actually does? his disposal is on par with warnock.. he doesnt win his own ball.. he is lightly framed and has very little awareness

anyone who thinks this kid should play afl anytime soon has no idea how hard the afl is.. this kids poor decision making an disposal will be shown up at the next level...

granted i have only seen him play twice and they were the casey games on abs were casey smashed there opponents.. which ment there was plenty of outside footy for him aswell

this aint a troll, im actually interested to see where melbourne supporters who are more in the know can tell me what im missing.. cuz as far as im concerned this kid has nothing but pace
He had an ordinary game, who cares! So did Garland. He was knocked out in the other game, far too early to judge him ATM.

JTR you can't replace BigSexc so don't even try.

as far as i can tell, there is only 1 person who has actually told me that they saw him at under 18s and he will make it, but as far as i can tell everyone on here who has said he will make it is going on as much as i am to say he wont make it, give me somethin other than .. he broke his leg

Great pace, good work ethic, excellent disposal skills, clean hands, breaks lines...

There are some of the reasons he will make it.

Decision making, composure are two things he lacks consistency in atm.

Those can be remedied fairly quickly and have a lot to do with confidence.

Also, good post Rude :thumbsu:

as far as i can tell, there is only 1 person who has actually told me that they saw him at under 18s and he will make it, but as far as i can tell everyone on here who has said he will make it is going on as much as i am to say he wont make it, give me somethin other than .. he broke his leg

Give us something other than the fact you have seen him play two games.

No-one on here is giving you anything because we aren't dumb enough to assume a kid won't make it based on two games. We are waiting to really see him in action before making a judgement, unlike yourself.

Sam Blease is going to be a very damaging player for us...a good pre season in a few months and i imagine he will play seniors all next year pending injury.His pace is blistering his decison making and ball execution will come with confidence..
Sam will play off the wing in our next premiership i imagine.

Great pace, good work ethic, excellent disposal skills, clean hands, breaks lines...

There are some of the reasons he will make it.

Decision making, composure are two things he lacks consistency in atm.

Those can be remedied fairly quickly and have a lot to do with confidence.

Also, good post Rude :thumbsu:
Is that a report card from Brad Gotch, you need to watch him a bit more closely, or did you get that off the VFL website, he breaks lines then turns it over,he is a 75kg outside mid that cant win his own ball, and if he was the catch that all you experts think he is he would be in front of Strauss.

I have seen him 4 times this year twice at the ground and twice on TV.
3 of the four games I would say he was ranked in the group 5-9 best players, last week he was ordinary.
The game everyone says he was top 3 I did not see.
I am underwhelmed at this stage.
I just do not see top level talent, I guess this is effectively his first year after a bad injury but the likes of Evans, Maric, Nicholson, Jetta, Howe and Strauss have all shown more.
They have all had games at AFl level in recent weeks, Bleese is still at Casey I think that says it all.

I have seen him 4 times this year twice at the ground and twice on TV.
3 of the four games I would say he was ranked in the group 5-9 best players, last week he was ordinary.
The game everyone says he was top 3 I did not see.
I am underwhelmed at this stage.
I just do not see top level talent, I guess this is effectively his first year after a bad injury but the likes of Evans, Maric, Nicholson, Jetta, Howe and Strauss have all shown more.
They have all had games at AFl level in recent weeks, Bleese is still at Casey I think that says it all.

sorry mate your opinions not wanted on here lets get back to talking about how a bloke who struggles for casey will be in our next premiership side

i completely agree with you ageing demon i do not see afl talent in the kid.. imagine if jordie gysberts or jack trengove had the pace of blease... they dont, yet they are far better footballers than him in every other way
at vfl level strauss looks calm in traffic, hell even warnock does.. yet blease to me is a one trick pony i honestly dont see what attributes outside of his pace are gonna make him succeed at afl level... jetta is as quick as him, yet far better at doin inside work

Delisted Sam Blease