Delisted Sam Blease

Re: Blease

I may be wrong, but I seem to remember him bombing it long to Watts when they were playing for Victoria at u18 level, playing at the Etihad IIRC. There was a YouTube video for it. Looked really promising. I guess Scully would have been playing along with them too?

I think he was just spent, to be honest. Only 2 touches in the last which may back that theory up. His chasing and tackling was on show earlier in the game.

I agree it did cost us a goal, but he is forgiven. ;)

Yea, he was ****ed by the start of the last.

Needs another full pre season to get the fitness up to scratch but that can easily be fixed, the least of our problems.

Where is the idiot/s on this board who wrote him off after about two games?

Hiding, I presume.

Very good game from the young fella yesterday. Turned it over once or twice but his pace and foot skills are very good and with more game time and a pre-season who could be a really important player for us going forward.

I reckon Todd V has great visionary aspects. He is already identifying where and who fits into each role at the Demons. I wouldn't mind betting that he will be developing those player to fill certain positions and strengths. I don't think Bailey really any idea where players fitted into the side. All we need is a great coach to make it all happen.

2011 was the season we had to have on the field before we can progress.

I think Strauss will be better (only comparing them because of draft position) but both can be key cogs in our side.

Not sure if half back will end up his position, but really like his willingness to create run through the lines, something that's been lacking since guys like Davey and Bennell have been struggling.

I'd like to see us draft a couple of left footed backmen (borrowing from the Hawthorn theory), let's the switch of play flow if guys don't have to work back into play to kick on their preferred foot.

Re: Sam Blease

This kid will be lucky if he ever plays an afl game
never been a more hyped kid at melbourne with so little talent

can someone please explain to me other than running really fast what he actually does? his disposal is on par with warnock.. he doesnt win his own ball.. he is lightly framed and has very little awareness

anyone who thinks this kid should play afl anytime soon has no idea how hard the afl is.. this kids poor decision making an disposal will be shown up at the next level...

granted i have only seen him play twice and they were the casey games on abs were casey smashed there opponents.. which ment there was plenty of outside footy for him aswell

this aint a troll, im actually interested to see where melbourne supporters who are more in the know can tell me what im missing.. cuz as far as im concerned this kid has nothing but pace

Came here to bump but rude beat me to it.

Well that's awkward for the op... Blease will be a gun, and has the kicking skills to match.

not awkward, was i way wrong ? yep, but so happy to be on this occasion!:thumbsu:

He has really stepped up and is playing alot better at this level than he was at VFL level, i believe my putting down has motivated him onto bigger and better things :p

Good thread this.....:eek:

Care to retract yet NG?
I NickGrant69, officially ****ed up terribly in my predictions for this kid, im not completely sold on his disposal efficiency as this wasnt a high pressure game, However he has completely stepped up his game at AFL level and will play plenty more footy for this club

Signed, A Poor Judge of players!

not awkward, was i way wrong ? yep, but so happy to be on this occasion!:thumbsu:

He has really stepped up and is playing alot better at this level than he was at VFL level, i believe my putting down has motivated him onto bigger and better things :p

Yes, he goes against the grain down at the MFC. Unbelievable in the VFL, woeful in the AFL. Blease, thank god, is the exact opposite.

Tom McDonald also had a very good debut today. So at least some good news, that and Morton has surely had his papers stamped after today.

Scully's disinterest was clearly evident today. I wouldn't bee too ticked off if he were to leave and we got some serious compensation in time for this so called 2012 "superdraft". Might be able to trade something of value to pick up some good players along the way. Cough *John Butcher* Cough.

Scully's disinterest was clearly evident today. I wouldn't bee too ticked off if he were to leave and we got some serious compensation in time for this so called 2012 "superdraft". /QUOTE]Not sure if you are being sarcastic or not, because if not I think you are the only person to refer to this as a superdraft. If we do get compensation picks don't be surprised to see us hang on to them for later years.

Blease is a jet.

He's already a crowd favourite, and why wouldn't he be? Just watching him get the ball, back his pace and turn defense into attack is a joy to watch.

Early days but he was BOG today (against weak opposition, but who cares) and will get better.

Scully's disinterest was clearly evident today. I wouldn't bee too ticked off if he were to leave and we got some serious compensation in time for this so called 2012 "superdraft".
Not sure if you are being sarcastic or not, because if not I think you are the only person to refer to this as a superdraft. If we do get compensation picks don't be surprised to see us hang on to them for later years.
This upcoming draft is the 2011 one, it's supposed to be good until about pick 20, and then tails off dramatically. The 2012 one next year should be very fine indeed, if those who proclaim themselves experts are to be believed.

Scully's disinterest was clearly evident today. I wouldn't bee too ticked off if he were to leave and we got some serious compensation in time for this so called 2012 "superdraft". /QUOTE]Not sure if you are being sarcastic or not, because if not I think you are the only person to refer to this as a superdraft. If we do get compensation picks don't be surprised to see us hang on to them for later years.

2012 is supposedly a great draft/'superdraft'. This year's draft ie.2011 is meant to be weak.

Blease is a jet.

He's already a crowd favourite, and why wouldn't he be? Just watching him get the ball, back his pace and turn defense into attack is a joy to watch.

Early days but he was BOG today (against weak opposition, but who cares) and will get better.

He's as inexperienced as they were.

Came here to bump but rude beat me to it.

Comrade NG 69 - what I am to Nathan Jones, you are to Sam Blease. There is nothing either of us can do but celebrate the egg oozing down both our faces.

It is a good problem to have.

Love his run but he needs to think his actions through a bit more, can run to far and kick it over or leading forwards heads, not a major issue though, great game Blease

Comrade NG 69 - what I am to Nathan Jones, you are to Sam Blease. There is nothing either of us can do but celebrate the egg oozing down both our faces.

It is a good problem to have.

It is indeed.

Well done Bleasey, tear it up next week at the oval mate!

Delisted Sam Blease