Speculation Sam de Koning [OOC 2025]

Jerry Seinfeld Popcorn GIF by Sheets & Giggles

But.. he didn't play a few games when returning from surgery?!

In the VFL to get his legs back under him.
Generally what good teams do to not overload players coming off of invasive knee surgery.

If anyone’s source is Mark the Blues fan calling into the Continental Tyers Trade Radio. Engineered in Germany, proven in Australia or from well respected journo for 1 whole weekend Dan Hannebery who heard from a friend of a friend’s cousin’s sister I think it’s pretty safe to say he isn’t going anywhere anytime soon.

Can't see the blues having the trade capital to get him. We're not trading for a pick, we are a top 4 team, unless its sam walsh theres no deal

In the VFL to get his legs back under him.
Generally what good teams do to not overload players coming off of invasive knee surgery.

If anyone’s source is Mark the Blues fan calling into the Continental Tyers Trade Radio. Engineered in Germany, proven in Australia or from well respected journo for 1 whole weekend Dan Hannebery who heard from a friend of a friend’s cousin’s sister I think it’s pretty safe to say he isn’t going anywhere anytime soon.
Sorry mate, I was taking the piss.
I find it absurd that he'd be looking to leave.

Can't see the blues having the trade capital to get him. We're not trading for a pick, we are a top 4 team, unless its sam walsh theres no deal
Pretty much - understandable that they'd ask the question but really, the Cats response would be Walsh, TDK or a few quality picks.

Would be hilarious.

Blues trying to get SDK to unite the brothers and the cats ask for TDK in return.

Kersten was a flop

Certainly was but the year he got traded to Freo he played most of the year. I think it’s just being selective to say that Geelong never lose anyone they don’t want to. There’s heaps of examples.

Perspective.
A Melbourne fan would say that Oliver is a "future gun" if he can get up mentally and physically, and can point to his runs on the board.
A Carlton fan would say that there are two "future guns" on the table, and that SDK was "physically cooked" this year (like how you are saying Bailey Smith is "physically cooked").

Perspective.
A Melbourne fan would say that Oliver is a "future gun" if he can get up mentally and physically, and can point to his runs on the board.
A Carlton fan would say that there are two "future guns" on the table, and that SDK was "physically cooked" this year (like how you are saying Bailey Smith is "physically cooked").
Perspective.
Most Melbourne fans are actually saying that Oliver is a future "Ben Cousins"
A Geelong fan would not be able to come up with any credible plan to cover ruck and key defence without SDK on the list next year.

Carlton can keep their teenagers thanks

Perspective.

Sam is 23 years of age. At 204cm tall, majority of footballers begin to put it all together around 23-25 years of age.

What was interesting was seeing the move to the ruck.
While certainly not dominant, Sam showed an ability not too dissimilar to what his brother has done at Carlton.
During a brief 5 week span, he averaged 20 disposals, 18 hitouts, 4 clearances and was able to impact the scoreboard.
Unfortunately, minor knee surgery curtailed the ending to his season.

I think Geelong would be bloody foolish to lose him in place for a guy who has obvious personal concerns, on ludicrous money and just produced a season of footy no different to any ordinary midfielder currently running around in the league.

Sam is 23 years of age. At 204cm tall, majority of footballers begin to put it all together around 23-25 years of age.

What was interesting was seeing the move to the ruck.
While certainly not dominant, Sam showed an ability not too dissimilar to what his brother has done at Carlton.
During a brief 5 week span, he averaged 20 disposals, 18 hitouts, 4 clearances and was able to impact the scoreboard.
Unfortunately, minor knee surgery curtailed the ending to his season.

I think Geelong would be bloody foolish to lose him in place for a guy who has obvious personal concerns, on ludicrous money and just produced a season of footy no different to any ordinary midfielder currently running around in the league.
Lmao Sam similar ability to TDK in the ruck?? 😂😂😂😂

Didn't you and your fans want Tom traded early last year because he was not very consistent?
I recall laughing at you lot for even contemplating such a thing. Carlton supporters were adamant Pittonet was the key.

Of course fast forward 30 or so games later and he's now on the rise to being one of the best rucks in the game.
Sam has shown he is a valuable key defender but he also displayed something in ruck. Certainly a trait similar to what his brother showed in his early days as a ruckman.
Another preseason bulking up in the gym and I think Sam will be a great utility.

Didn't you and your fans want Tom traded early last year because he was not very consistent?
I recall laughing at you lot for even contemplating such a thing.

Of course fast forward 30 or so games later and he's now on the rise to being one of the best rucks in the game.
Sam has shown he is a valuable key defender but he also displayed something in ruck. Certainly a trait similar to what his brother showed in his early days as a ruckman.
Another preseason bulking up in the gym and I think Sam will be a great utility.
Will be at the Blues at the end of next year anyway where he'll be locked in at CHB for a decade.

How will you afford him?
Have you checked your salary cap lately. It's epic.
Knowing the Blues, they'll likely get Houston in on a 5 million dollar deal to push that cap to the brink.
Williams, Mcgovern, Newman, Docherty, Saad and Hewett all OOC end of 2025. That will be atleast a few million cleared if we needed.

We're also more likely to be hitting the draft this year than Houston. We'll have plenty of coin to throw around given our top 5-6 all took pay cuts in their pact to stick together until they hopefully win a flag.

Speculation Sam de Koning [OOC 2025]