No Oppo Supporters Sam Mitchell traded

I'm ok with this. Don't get me wrong, my first preference is for him to stay but I can see the benefits to this as well. Reminds me of N.Thompson and J.Hay. Get the old out, rebuild and go again. Mitchell is professional enough to understand. Pure champ.

Yup. Mitchell is hawk royalty mate. There is a symbolism here that is really relevant and important to psyche of the club. Sacrifice that at your peril. Sam Mitchell IS Hawthorn, not West Coast Eagles. It's not right!!
Damn straight about time somebody talked some sense.... Wrong on every level! But of course the supporters thoughts don't matter.. Watch the membership drop off... Just saying

Would you rather see the Woodwards and Lovells miss out on two more years of development? For them all to be gone for nothing in a year?
Absolutely. They are ok, they might end up being useful. On the other hand, Mitch is the second best player I've ever seen play for us, I went to see him chaired off for his 300th and I'd like to be there when he retires in the famous No. 5, a Hawk.

I don't think a single person begrudges same going - I think to a tee it's been nothing but well wishes.

I think it's the club people have an issue with and tbh I think that's warranted considering this has come from out of the park and not only blind sided Mitch but the entire supporter base as well. We may look back in 5 years and say what a great move by the club that was - then again, it may end up being an unmitigated disaster
But how could it

(Hawthorn/WC GF next year where Sammy gets a Normie aside...)

I'm ok with this. Don't get me wrong, my first preference is for him to stay but I can see the benefits to this as well. Reminds me of N.Thompson and J.Hay. Get the old out, rebuild and go again. Mitchell is professional enough to understand. Pure champ.

Nah. Nathan Thompson and Jonathan Hay are not part of the clubs psyche. Sam Mitchell is. He is a premiership captain and symbol of the 4 flag Clarkson Hodge Rioli Lewis Roughead dynasty. As I understand it he is also the first Hawthorn captain to play for another club and certainly the first premiership captain to do so. If he wins a flag with West Coast it will be a two fold kick in the guts. He will become a major figure of both clubs a la Brian Lake (who many people see more a Hawthorn player as a Bulldogs) and he is contributing to us not winning flags. I just can't get my head around it and am waiting, probably in vein, for some massive hook to come from left field where it suddenly makes sense.

I wonder if a ground swell supporter outcry could prevent this from going ahead. I would seriously take the day off and descend on Waverly if I had to. Let him know how important he is to us. It would be a a great move.

Sorry for the intrusion, not here to troll

As someone who despises west coast, i hate this deal. sam mitchell will only improve them and they are getting him for peanuts..Joke.

Why wouldnt sam finish this year at hawks, stamp his legacy and then CHOOSE a club he wants to coach at?
Because some guy called clarko encouraged him

Thai, your post is way too sensible and has no place here.

Reading many of the posts onthis thread, Lucky, you would think we followed a very unsuccessful football club, not one that has delivered 4 flags in the current decade. I have a feeling this could be part of a bigger plan, and maybe there are some more shocks to come. Having said that I have faith in the decision makers, and after all their goal is to deliver premierships, and IMHO they are doing that very well.

They're talking about a pick in the 50s for Mitchell - that would be an absolute embarrassment and an insult to Mitchell. I hope we're not stupid enough to consider that.
That's exactly what it will be. Better get your anger out now because it's going to be a pick 40+. This is more the club's decision than it is Sam's. Any pick will be a bonus. If they are lucky, they will get Mitch Brown as well. Mckenzie would be ideal but he's contract is too much. This is happening to free up cap space in the short term and help Sam transition to life after footy

This means that for the rest of time Mitchell will be referred to as "Hawthorn and West Coast Player Sam Mitchell". Its just wrong. Can't the club see how something like that is so important to the fans. How about "Hawthorn and Brisbane player Jason Dunstall" or "Hawthorn and Sydney player Shane Crawford"? Its NOT RIGHT!!! Unless i have really missed the hook to this I think its just an awful and painful decision.
Damn straight about time somebody talked some sense.... Wrong on every level! But of course the supporters thoughts don't matter.. Watch the membership drop off... Just saying
Yes. Yes I would. Absolutely.

Average players who are 50/50 to make it as AFL footballers at all are never in short supply. Sam Mitchell is one of our all time greats. It is criminal to send him on his way for a rubbish third round pick or any pick at all for that matter. He belongs in a Hawthorn jumper, no ifs, no buts, he belongs with us.

I don't really give a shit about the football or business ramifications. Sometimes sentimentality must override those things. This is one of those times.

Amen brother. Not everyone gets it but you're one of those who do. Not everything in life is for sale in dollars and cents. The $wines spent $2m on the Bondi Billionaires and look how they played in the GF? There's more to life than money and more to life than Premierships. Mitchell should end his career a Hawk.

I feel the same way, but if Sam himself doesn't then we should probably calm down. He's the one who has pulled the jumper on for 15 years.
If he is happy enough to go then its likely that sentiment plays less role for some of these blokes than we might have thought.

That's exactly what it will be. Better get your anger out now because it's going to be a pick 40+. This is more the club's decision than it is Sam's. Any pick will be a bonus. If they are lucky, they will get Mitch Brown as well. Mckenzie would be ideal but he's contract is too much. This is happening to free up cap space in the short term and help Sam transition to life after footy

Sam will have no problem transitioning to life after footy, he has been doing the groundwork already (coaching certification, MBA I think as well). Any club would take him on as an assistant coach, he's also a good media performer. This trade is not about helping Sam.

If we're supposed to be going again next year then it's hard to see this being good for the club - we lose a top 5 in comp mid for seemingly nothing in the short term.

Surely our chances next year are better with him playing out his contract and effectively being a playing coach to our new mid group.

The only thing I can think of to rationalise this is that our cap must be suuuuper squeezed, even after Hodgey, Mitch and Burgers taking unders.

It's not about what we get for him or how he'll be remembered.

It's about the 2017 flag and how our chances of winning it have halved.

surely every player can move 10k from this year to next year and we'll retire the big 4 or more at the end of 2017.

It's just a bad move.

Is this the result of obtaining Vickery,JOM & T.Mitch salary cap pressure ?
If one of these had not said yes would Mitch have stayed ?
Or is there something else in the works for 2016 or 17 ?
The last line. It's about what is best for the club in 3 years time.

Reading many of the posts onthis thread, Lucky, you would think we followed a very unsuccessful football club, not one that has delivered 4 flags in the current decade. I have a feeling this could be part of a bigger plan, and maybe there are some more shocks to come. Having said that I have faith in the decision makers, and after all their goal is to deliver premierships, and IMHO they are doing that very well.
Totally agree and I will say Mitch has done his job for us, this is what the club thinks I reckon.

Is this the result of obtaining Vickery,JOM & T.Mitch salary cap pressure ?
If one of these had not said yes would Mitch have stayed ?
Or is there something else in the works for 2016 or 17 ?

Got to be. A trade of this magnitude involving a club great would not have been taken lightly.

Hawthorn need rebuilding and its not going to happen in one trade period.

Few big fish floating about next year...

No Oppo Supporters Sam Mitchell traded