Coach Sam Mitchell's direction for the club and 2024 news

If anyone wants to have a listen about what the data is saying in regards to whether we have actually gotten worse this year have a listen to this from the 9:15 mark.

I know a few people have already touched on it, but the data is also showing that our results this year have been slightly better despite actually putting out a younger team and dealing with some injuries.

And here.

What brought this on? Its hard to get a read on the details as Sam was obviously being a bit vague with the details to protect innocent parties.

A hawks player has been getting racist abuse from hawks supporters this weekend? Have I read it right? What's Eddie got to do with it?

Either way, proud as all **** whey the way Sam handled it. Beautifully done.

This guy is proving to be so much more than a strong coach.

He is open and honest with the media. He tries to shoulder blame to protect the players all the time. He is a leader when it comes to social issues such as this one. He is cultivating a group that clearly love playing with each other. But best of all is his coaching, the players are being played to their strengths and the game plan is exciting and seems to be clear.

Absolute genius.

Sent from my SM-G990E using Tapatalk

What brought this on? Its hard to get a read on the details as Sam was obviously being a bit vague with the details to protect innocent parties.

A hawks player has been getting racist abuse from hawks supporters this weekend? Have I read it right? What's Eddie got to do with it?

He is open and honest with the media. He tries to shoulder blame to protect the players all the time. He is a leader when it comes to social issues such as this one. He is cultivating a group that clearly love playing with each other. But best of all is his coaching, the players are being played to their strengths and the game plan is exciting and seems to be clear.

Absolute genius.

From what I could gather a Hawthorn player had copped racist abuse on social media and Sam was asked about it and took a stand and said if the ******* was a Hawthorn supporter then they weren’t wanted at the club.

Absolute genius.

Eddies situation was recent and mentioned via the press.

If my memory serves me correctly Sam mentioned Eddie concern as well at his conference.

Most of us have experienced an unfair level of success at same point in our lives as Hawks supporters.

But this is the first time in a long time that we have been a serious threat to the league in both the short and long term.

We are only beating bottom eight sides but we are doing it consistently and with a high pressure game style that will stand up in big matches.

We're not good yet, and there will be plenty more bumps on the road. But this team is onto something and it's so much fun being a hawks supporter right now. I haven't enjoyed footy this much in a long time. Kudos to Sam, the coaches and the rest of the team. Watching the boys is such a joy

Whether by luck or design Sam is creating a team of very marketable players. Ginni, CJ, Wiz, Weddle, Dear, Day, Croc. Potentially could bring a new generation of kids on board. Excitement and enthusiasm everywhere.

Our side lacked so much personality in the latter Clarko years. Such a dour list.

Whether by luck or design Sam is creating a team of very marketable players. Ginni, CJ, Wiz, Weddle, Dear, Day, Croc. Potentially could bring a new generation of kids on board. Excitement and enthusiasm everywhere.

Our side lacked so much personality in the latter Clarko years. Such a dour list.

Good point.
The contrast is clear but that’s largely because Sam is allowing them to be creative and run with the ball.
Ginnivan is able to play more upfield, CJ and Weddle can run and bounce the ball and what about Day - taking 3 or 4 bounces out of the centre.

Beats the hell out of tempo footy and chipping sideways.

4 of our top 5 goal kickers weren't at the club/ or playing forward last year. Our 2 leading goal kickers from last year have spent the season injured.

Last year could really be a big turning point in the history of this rebuild.
4 of our top 5 from last season were:

Breust
Lewis
Moore
Greene
Brockman.

It's been a great turnaround.
Sleepy Mark is a genius.

From what I could gather a Hawthorn player had copped racist abuse on social media and Sam was asked about it and took a stand and said if the ******* was a Hawthorn supporter then they weren’t wanted at the club.
It’s more than that Ned.

Sam kicked off his presser with a statement — he wasn’t prompted by a question.

He came in prepared and purposefully made a very strong statement.

For anyone who’s not heard it, it’s well worth a listen.

Of players who have played at least half the season, in terms of player rating, we have 5 in the top 50.

James Worpel - 25th
Jai Newcombe - 40th
Will Day - 42nd
Lloyd Meek - 44th
Dylan Moore - 48th

The most exciting part about that is how young they all are.

Of players who have played at least half the season, in terms of player rating, we have 5 in the top 50.

James Worpel - 25th
Jai Newcombe - 40th
Will Day - 42nd
Lloyd Meek - 44th
Dylan Moore - 48th

Sicily not too far outside of it. His form is improving

James Worpel - 25th
Jai Newcombe - 40th
Will Day - 42nd
Lloyd Meek - 44th
Dylan Moore - 48th

Worpel at #25 really reflects the improvement in his overall game this season.

He's only had over 20 touches six times this season (and two of those games were 20 and 21 touch performances).

So it's not as if he's there by sheer weight of numbers. It's quality over quantity. As a few people have mentioned already, the panicked dump kick out of congestion has almost been eliminated from his game completely. He's taking that extra time to assess and dish off now.

It's probably been mentioned in this thread already, but the comradery amongst this group is clearly noticeable, and perhaps, the most exciting aspect of our team atm.

A playing group that's connected; contain friendships, and synergy. might just be the difference in a team of champions v's a champion team, or a premiership-winning side and a team that merely competes, i.e., Brisbane.

I said to a mate last night that I feel we are a whisker away from a true statement win - where we comprehensively flog a powerhouse club. We aren’t there yet to be there consistently but I feel like this is 2006 for this group of players.

What is really good now is our depth and the pressure for spots in the seniors.
Wizard got 4 today
Chad got 4
Max got 2 and had 23 possies
Finn got 1 and had 36 possies
Morrison had 33
Ward had 32

All those guys should be in the seniors but aren't.
It's really healthy for our club.

I said to a mate last night that I feel we are a whisker away from a true statement win - where we comprehensively flog a powerhouse club. We aren’t there yet to be there consistently but I feel like this is 2006 for this group of players.
I think the majority of our young guys now feel like they belong at the top level. Any feeling of intimidation is now gone and they're ready to spread their wings.

Coach Sam Mitchell's direction for the club and 2024 news