Toast Scarlett - 2018 Hall of Fame Inductee

Is Scarlett a chance for induction to the Hall of Fame?

Wayne Johnston's speech was hilarious! His 'dominator to lowest common denominator' story cracked me up.

Thought Mel Whinnen, who played with Polly Farmer was such a delightful guy, an utter gentleman.

Who was the woman who spoke about her mother giving birth to her sister, while her dad was playing footy? Also spoke about the East -v- West Fremantle rivalry?

If the team of the Century was named today would Scarlett replace Silvagni.

My Gut feel is yes, but I am biased.
I reckon Scarlett would replace Slivagni, Scarlo sh!ts all over Silvagni.

Obviously, I'm not biased at all ;)

Well done to Scarlett - apart from being quick - he must have been incredibly strong - even though he had a scrawny type build

I can remember a Geel v Swans game at KP ( pre the flag winning era ) and Geel started with Tom Harley ( who was a big strong bloke and a very strong 1 grab o/head mark ) at FB opposed to Barry Hall - and for the 1st quarter and a half Hall just deadset rag dolled Tom . Harley was just not physically strong enough to match Hall

Then they put Scarlett on Hall and it was totally different - he could match Hall with strength and outmarked him on a few occasions . And considering Hall was very strong - i think when he went to the Bulldogs - he held the bench press record at the Whitten Oval

Wayne Johnston's speech was hilarious! His 'dominator to lowest common denominator' story cracked me up.

Thought Mel Whinnen, who played with Polly Farmer was such a delightful guy, an utter gentleman.

Who was the woman who spoke about her mother giving birth to her sister, while her dad was playing footy? Also spoke about the East -v- West Fremantle rivalry?
No intention of derailing the thread... But what was The Dominator's "lowest common denominator"... When he ironed out Scratcher Neal with a coward punch just prior to the opening bounce at KP? Or taking memberships to his Moonee Ponds gym one day, closing the doors that night, and leaving people out of pocket? - I was witness to the first incident, and knocking his door down that night for the second. Gaz Snr evened the ledger for mine :D

There are other rumours (heard from people who would know and stand by their word) about Wayne Johnson from both his playing days and in his immediate retirement from the game that puts those to shame. Some of the company he kept and what he did for these people is nothing short of disgraceful.

That hit by Gary snr is one of the hardest hits I've seen live at a game. Left him with some severe internal damage.

Thread temporarily derailed:
I remember as a kid there was a centre page double spread on Ablett Snr titled something like "What it's like to get hit by a train".
There was first hand recollections from Wayne Johnson, John Gastev, Dipper (I think) and a couple of others. Johnson claimed he never recovered from the Ablett hit and was never the same player afterwards, cut his career short.

Jeez he hit 'em hard.

Yep not to derail the thread further by Gaz snr bumps could seriously hurt people. so much so that when Fletcher had his first game as a 17 year old on Gaz, he had several opportunities to go hard at him but didn’t.

Fletcher snr remarked how grateful he was that’s a Gaz never went that route on the kid and showed concern towards his son.

There are other rumours (heard from people who would know and stand by their word) about Wayne Johnson from both his playing days and in his immediate retirement from the game that puts those to shame. Some of the company he kept and what he did for these people is nothing short of disgraceful.

True. Was a very shady character. 2 peas in a pod with a team mate - I had no problem with Johntson, personally. Got the $$$ back. Even so, the man-love meter exploded when Snr cleaned him up :)

Kinda to derail the thread even further, does anyone have footage of this hit? I can’t recall it.
*In Search Mode*

[Edit (5 shaves later)] Bugger Search Mode :mad:

Was that when his eyelid was ripped open?
Yes, there was some sort of permanent damage to eye and/or sinus, I believe.
Funny thing is, there were strong rumours in the preceding week that Pitt would be going the knuckle, being his last game and no send-off rule; but, of course, everyone expected him to target Radojevic.

PS, Price, sorry, not Pitt.

I remember as a kid there was a centre page double spread on Ablett Snr titled something like "What it's like to get hit by a train".
There was first hand recollections from Wayne Johnson, John Gastev, Dipper (I think) and a couple of others. Johnson claimed he never recovered from the Ablett hit and was never the same player afterwards, cut his career short.

Jeez he hit 'em hard.
Someone once put together an entire team of people cleaned up by Ablett and had enough team members to put on a list of emergencies.

The one on Gastev was just scary, partially because Gastev was just so much smaller.

Someone once put together an entire team of people cleaned up by Ablett and had enough team members to put on a list of emergencies.

The one on Gastev was just scary, partially because Gastev was just so much smaller.
From an older post of mine

Just came across this on an old ABC Grandstand Footy Unleashed site:

Cleaned Up By Gazza (many of whom couldn't play the next week)

More than a few of these weren't just hip and shoulders. Some were reports and a lot of blokes just belted.

B: Peter Czerkaski (Rich), Danny Frawley (StK), John Gastev (Bris)
HB: Don Pyke (WC), Mick Gayfer (Coll), Peter Dean (Carl)
C: Robert Dipierdomenico (Haw), Wayne Johnson (Carl), Dean McRae (Syd)
HF: Peter Daicos (Coll), Karl Langdon (WC), Rohan Smith (Foot)
F: Brent Heaver (Carl), Garry Lyon (Melb), Dale Weightman (Rich)
R: Alex Ischenko (WC), Tim Watson (Ess), Garry Wilson (Fitz)
I/C from: Kristian Bardsley (StK), Greg Epplestun (NM), A Bennett (Haw), Richard Osborne (Fitz), Gary Pert (Coll), Peter Foster (Foots), Mark Bairstow (WA), Mick Martyn (NM), Nathan Burke (StK), Mitchell White (WC), Michael McKenna (Foot), Gary Ayres (Haw), Jim Jess (Rich), Steven Wallis (Foot), Ben Hart (Adel)

I remember one of those old Hun Player polls where all the other players voted him the Hardest Hitter in the League. It looks like he had 30 odd votes' start on anybody else.

Can still remember the first game we played Brisbane after Gaz had flattened Gastev. Gastev started on the bench, and came on about halfway through the first quarter. As soon as he came on, he charged up to Gaz. Gaz saw him coming so braced himself for the hit. Gastev tried to hip and shoulder Gaz, but just bounced off him and ended up limping off the ground. Was hilarious.

Interesting commentary by LLoyd.
I wonder if he still stands by his earlier comments that Fletcher was better than Scarlett.

Can still remember the first game we played Brisbane after Gaz had flattened Gastev. Gastev started on the bench, and came on about halfway through the first quarter. As soon as he came on, he charged up to Gaz. Gaz saw him coming so braced himself for the hit. Gastev tried to hip and shoulder Gaz, but just bounced off him and ended up limping off the ground. Was hilarious.
Love to see the footage

But geez haven’t we derailed this thread big time

Interesting commentary by LLoyd.
I wonder if he still stands by his earlier comments that Fletcher was better than Scarlett.
I suspect being a teammate would influence his opnion somewhat , but that would be the same for most people.

Imo Scarlo was much better than Fletcher, but that doesn’t mean I don’t rate him.

Toast Scarlett - 2018 Hall of Fame Inductee