Sttew
I've heard Lloyd describe Scarlett as the greatest full back and his toughest opponentInteresting commentary by LLoyd.
I wonder if he still stands by his earlier comments that Fletcher was better than Scarlett.
I've heard Lloyd describe Scarlett as the greatest full back and his toughest opponentInteresting commentary by LLoyd.
I wonder if he still stands by his earlier comments that Fletcher was better than Scarlett.
How is bairstow on that list? Did he get him in a state of origin game? And why would he do that to a team mate.From an older post of mine
Just came across this on an old ABC Grandstand Footy Unleashed site:
Cleaned Up By Gazza (many of whom couldn't play the next week)
More than a few of these weren't just hip and shoulders. Some were reports and a lot of blokes just belted.
B: Peter Czerkaski (Rich), Danny Frawley (StK), John Gastev (Bris)
HB: Don Pyke (WC), Mick Gayfer (Coll), Peter Dean (Carl)
C: Robert Dipierdomenico (Haw), Wayne Johnson (Carl), Dean McRae (Syd)
HF: Peter Daicos (Coll), Karl Langdon (WC), Rohan Smith (Foot)
F: Brent Heaver (Carl), Garry Lyon (Melb), Dale Weightman (Rich)
R: Alex Ischenko (WC), Tim Watson (Ess), Garry Wilson (Fitz)
I/C from: Kristian Bardsley (StK), Greg Epplestun (NM), A Bennett (Haw), Richard Osborne (Fitz), Gary Pert (Coll), Peter Foster (Foots), Mark Bairstow (WA), Mick Martyn (NM), Nathan Burke (StK), Mitchell White (WC), Michael McKenna (Foot), Gary Ayres (Haw), Jim Jess (Rich), Steven Wallis (Foot), Ben Hart (Adel)
I remember one of those old Hun Player polls where all the other players voted him the Hardest Hitter in the League. It looks like he had 30 odd votes' start on anybody else.
At least a couple of times he said Fletcher was a better FB than Scarlett.I've heard Lloyd describe Scarlett as the greatest full back and his toughest opponent
even though presumably Fletcher never played on him, no bias there .... unlike us posters !!At least a couple of times he said Fletcher was a better FB than Scarlett.
Did they include Demetriou?Someone once put together an entire team of people cleaned up by Ablett and had enough team members to put on a list of emergencies.
The one on Gastev was just scary, partially because Gastev was just so much smaller.
No doesn't include Demetriou. Does include that scum Bardsley though. Ablett got five weeks for that supposed split from mouth to ear and Bardsley played the next week. One more example of atrocious tribunal decisions. Ablett was badly affected by the vitriol he copped and the unfair five weeks.From an older post of mine
More than a few of these weren't just hip and shoulders. Some were reports and a lot of blokes just belted.
I/C from: Kristian Bardsley (StK), Greg Epplestun (NM), A Bennett (Haw), Richard Osborne (Fitz), Gary Pert (Coll), Peter Foster (Foots), Mark Bairstow (WA), Mick Martyn (NM), Nathan Burke (StK), Mitchell White (WC), Michael McKenna (Foot), Gary Ayres (Haw), Jim Jess (Rich), Steven Wallis (Foot), Ben Hart (Adel)
I remember one of those old Hun Player polls where all the other players voted him the Hardest Hitter in the League. It looks like he had 30 odd votes' start on anybody else.
IMO Silvagni overated. Could not believe the holding and grappling he was allowed to get away with.I personally Think there were other Full Backs as good as Silvagni...Bob Murray..Peter Steward...David Dench..Roy West and even John Scarlett.. Malarkey However Silvagni was good and Matthew is as good as ...Rance may get rated by the modern as better than them all ..Pissing Contest really. Different eras etc. etc.
Will always be remembered for the toe poke and his cheap( but enjoyable wack) on Ballantyne. Great Player.
Remember when he got bashed by Pitt from Coburg in that VFA GF?
There are other rumours (heard from people who would know and stand by their word) about Wayne Johnson from both his playing days and in his immediate retirement from the game that puts those to shame. Some of the company he kept and what he did for these people is nothing short of disgraceful.
That hit by Gary snr is one of the hardest hits I've seen live at a game. Left him with some severe internal damage.
Price, not PittWhen was that Fred?
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Between '93 and '95, if Gaz only kicked four goals on you, you probably deserved the three votes!remember a game where Gaz got 4 goals on him and SOS got the 3 votes
Price, not Pitt
From an older post of mine
Classic post, Fred!From an older post of mine
Silvagni the better all-round footballer - but Scarlo the better FB.I reckon Scarlett would replace Slivagni, Scarlo sh!ts all over Silvagni.
Obviously, I'm not biased at all
They played 16 a side 1959 to 1992. They went back to 18 in 1993, probably in preparation for the folding into the VFL in 94.Thanks Fred. Was VFA 16 a side then? Seem to remember they got rid of the wings for a time.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro