Season 2012

Interesting read on the herald sun website about myrtleford offering to pay fev to play against them.. No doubt they'd probably recoup their money, but they'd also put themselves at a considerable disadvantage in regards to a win.

Sacrificing a game for money's sake, shows how desperate country footy clubs are to meet their financial requirements.

I understand why they would want to do this however I worry about what it means for the future. Are more players going to be expecting this type of "appearance fee" arrangement to play away games?? Care needs to be taken here

Also what are they players of Myrtleford going to be thinking when they run out against a bloke (absolute gun) that their own club is paying to play against them?? It opens a fair can of worms I reckon.

Interested in other people thoughts

I understand why they would want to do this however I worry about what it means for the future. Are more players going to be expecting this type of "appearance fee" arrangement to play away games?? Care needs to be taken here

Also what are they players of Myrtleford going to be thinking when they run out against a bloke (absolute gun) that their own club is paying to play against them?? It opens a fair can of worms I reckon.

Interested in other people thoughts

as a mrytleford saints supporter, i think it is a great idea! yes granted we probably would of been beaten by yarrawonga anyway , but this is more about getting the crowd and making money thru entry and food and drinks sales for the day at mcnamara res! 1 for one think its a great idea! go sainters!

Understand that and I agree that it is good thinking by your club I just worry about long term implications for country footy in general

Hope you blokes don't miss out on the finals on percentage at year end with Fev bagging 15 in the game!

Myrtleford in the finals - as Cometti says every year "that's ambitious". The Saints are clutching at straws, no question. I would suggest that their financial plight has probably never really been sorted after there crazy spend up in 05 and 06. No wonder Murray, Carey, Bunn and others are nowhere to be seen. Myrtleford in the finals - I'm still giggling!!:thumbsdown:

A bit of shameless self promotion here, even if it is off topic!

If you're a Sydney Swans or North Melbourne supporter disappointed that there is no coverage of the NAB Cup game in Sydney tomorrow night, here's some good news. The match will be broadcast live and exclusive on Alive FM 90.5 from 6.45pm to 9.45pm. Myself (Brendan Rhodes) and John Kehoe (thanks to MMM Sydney) will bring you the action. You should be able to pick up the stream at alive905.com.au, while the station has an iphone app, and the TuneIn Radio app can be used to pick it up on android phones.

The rider is it will be wet, and the commentary position is likely to be not far above ground level, but we'll still give you 120%.

A bit of shameless self promotion here, even if it is off topic!

If you're a Sydney Swans or North Melbourne supporter disappointed that there is no coverage of the NAB Cup game in Sydney tomorrow night, here's some good news. The match will be broadcast live and exclusive on Alive FM 90.5 from 6.45pm to 9.45pm. Myself (Brendan Rhodes) and John Kehoe (thanks to MMM Sydney) will bring you the action. You should be able to pick up the stream at alive905.com.au, while the station has an iphone app, and the TuneIn Radio app can be used to pick it up on android phones.

The rider is it will be wet, and the commentary position is likely to be not far above ground level, but we'll still give you 120%.
Is that the Brendan Rhodes that once called the O & M many years ago when I was living in Wangaratta?

Myrtleford in the finals - as Cometti says every year "that's ambitious". The Saints are clutching at straws, no question. I would suggest that their financial plight has probably never really been sorted after there crazy spend up in 05 and 06. No wonder Murray, Carey, Bunn and others are nowhere to be seen. Myrtleford in the finals - I'm still giggling!!:thumbsdown:

very very funny clown! hope you get back on here when we do make the finals in 2012 and give us an apoligy, we made great improvement last year and this year we will make even more....

Rioli I reckon your right. Myrt from what I saw looked very good last year.

As long as they keep their list from last year and I think they have added a few already. I think you will be able to throw a blanket over the rest of the comp this year. Very even I reckon

Improvement yes - but had to things could not get any worse - Albury, Yarra, Lavy, Raiders, Myrtleford - ok elimination final - I'll start writing an apology.

What are Myrtleford thinking!!!! Hey Yarrawonga we are going to pay to make you a better side!!!!

They can hid behind the 'making money' angle, but last time i checked footy clubs were in the business of winning games of footy. Once again we see the effect that the money behind Albury and Yarra is having on the competition, smaller clubs making stupid decisions in an arms race for cash.

albury and yarra spending money so sick of hearing and reading it why dont all you people in Wodonga go and play in the Hume League oh wait a minute they spend too so you will be sooking about them too. Worry about your own clubs and you may actually win a game or two;)

Agree with you MI. Wish the season would hurry up and begin so we can talk about footy! I wonder if the bordermail will be doing another top 40.. Bourky? It will be interesting to see who drops out with all the new players coming in to the league. My top 5 from last year would be 1: Shaun Daly 2: Karl Norman 3: Chris Hyde 4: M Stevens 5: L Garland

What are Myrtleford thinking!!!! Hey Yarrawonga we are going to pay to make you a better side!!!!

They can hid behind the 'making money' angle, but last time i checked footy clubs were in the business of winning games of footy. Once again we see the effect that the money behind Albury and Yarra is having on the competition, smaller clubs making stupid decisions in an arms race for cash.

Realistically if FEV plays one game for Myrtleford at the reported $5,000 for the one game, I reckon that would make him about Myrtlefords 6th highest paid player for the whole YEAR!!!!:D Crazy stuff, especially as mentioned if it costs them a game or worst still a finals appearance.

He's our player and Myrtleford pay him!!! Where's the pride gone? Has the club captain got an opinion on this?

I'm a Saints supporter and I've got no idea what they we're thinking.

New president and the first thing he does is pay the best player in the league $5000 to play against us, hmmm.

Sportsbet odds are up:

Albury 2.60
Yarrawonga 3.50
Lavington 5.50
Wodonga Raiders 5.50
Wang Rovers 11.00
Wangaratta 14.00
North Albury 26.00
Wodonga 34.00
Corowa-Ruth 51.00
Myrtleford 51.00

What are the thoughts on these ones? Are Albury deserving favourites? Surely with the big Fevalenko on board Yarra will attract many bets at 3.50. Can we lock in an Albury/Yarra GF or do some of the other teams have a chance?

i hear albury is an the verge of pulling off a signing to match the fevola signing of yarra.. any ideas? a big signing would keep them ahead of the pack i think

Hey Cold Player do your homework CAMERON MOONEY, but if i remember Albury stated they didnt need any more they were happy with there list.
They have too try and stay one step ahead

well inspector i didn't think i needed to do homework when i heard it from a high rank albury official only yesterday. pretty sure if they could get him they wouldn't knock him back

Might have been close to the mark! Check the flag odds - Myrtleford $51 - finals? Shit, one of the few major club sponsors is paying Fev and not the young fellas that I watched a few years ago lose to Wodonga Raiders in the GF (before my beloved Pigeons went down to Albury):heart: How does this impact on the young blokes? I actually think that the Myrtleford public will baulk at the idea of watching Fev - this whole thing is turning very messy - did the members get a say down there? Was anyone consulted?

Season 2012