Selection vs Adelaide.

I'm happy to see Dawes come back in, I'm expecting good things from this lad. Not sure about Dicky, to be honest. I would have rather kept Sidey in or Wellingham. Oh well, they'll get a go next time. Hopefully Dicky has some form back and can cause Adelaides defences some headaches.

strange selection... didn't expect Dick to come back in...
The idea is to expose Adelaids'e defence with another mid-size dangerous goal kicker that applies a lot of forward pressure.
We have now pretty much got our top 22 side (aside from rucks and Dangerfield) with Walker and Mackay coming in this week, so should be an absolute cracker of a game!
Collingwood need to find a spot for Nathan Brown, Josh Fraser and probably Marty Clarke and Sharrod Wellingham in our best team, but the depth has improved tremendously this season. Adelaide still may be without the woman-basher Bock and/or Goodwin, and I wouldn't be surprised to see either or both of them miss.
Massive Game even bigger than last week and im quietly confident.
Adelaide may be slight favourites because it's played at AAMI Stadium, even though Collingwood has a great record there, but I think Collingwood will win for a number of reasons.

Grouse!

Glad to see Dicky get another shot, he will take it with open arms.

I reckon he'll kick 3-4..

Dawes could be a good in against Adelaide, as they really only have two big backman, one to take Cloke, other Anthony and then we've got Dawes who Stevens might take. Dawes has a fair body weight advantage, so should be able to out-body him a few times during the match.

That really leaves no-one for Medders, Daisy, Leon or Dicky.

Pies by 15-20pts..
And thats if bock is fit to, talks here in adelaide is he is in doubt briused heel.

Walker in is a bit of a worry. We have Presti and Leigh Brown to cover Tippett, Stevens and Walker. Very worrying. Would have thought Reid (if N Brown wasn't fit) would be a good inclusion.

Also surprised that Wellingham didn't at the very least make the emergencies list. Would have thought he'd be a pretty obvious inclusion.

Stoked to see Dick back :thumbsu: Should create some headaches for Adelaide.

Walker in is a bit of a worry. We have Presti and Leigh Brown to cover Tippett, Stevens and Walker. Very worrying. Would have thought Reid (if N Brown wasn't fit) would be a good inclusion.

Also surprised that Wellingham didn't at the very least make the emergencies list. Would have thought he'd be a pretty obvious inclusion.

My thoughts are that Dawes may have come in to provide a bit of relief for Woody in the ruck more so than anything so we can float Brown into defence.

Walker, Stevens, and Tippet, aswell as Burton won't all be forward options at once I wouldn't think, especially with 2 other options with Porps and Knights down there.

I reckon Harry would take one of those 3 Crow forwards. Perhaps we would be unbalanced (too tall) if we brought in Nathan Brown.

Pleased to see Dawes back... I have always been a big fan of playing 3 tall forwards weather permitting...

Think Sidebottom is unlucky but perhaps the club have decided to limit his exposure to senior footy in his first year...

How did Alan Toovey retain his spot? This bloke is blessed...

The idea is to expose Adelaids'e defence with another mid-size dangerous goal kicker that applies a lot of forward pressure.Collingwood need to find a spot for Nathan Brown, Josh Fraser and probably Marty Clarke and Sharrod Wellingham in our best team, but the depth has improved tremendously this season. Adelaide still may be without the woman-basher Bock and/or Goodwin, and I wouldn't be surprised to see either or both of them miss.Adelaide may be slight favourites because it's played at AAMI Stadium, even though Collingwood has a great record there, but I think Collingwood will win for a number of reasons.

Where did you hear Goody was in doubt? Haven't seen anything at all regarding this...

Will be close either way, 10 points is my guess

Tipped Crows due to my heart, but for neutrals, will be hardest game of the round for tipping

I like the ins.

I think Barham is a good player but he really needs to fix up his skills if he is to cement a spot in the side.

I'm really hoping Dawes steps up this week, I said the same think when he was named last week. I think Jack really needs a chop out deep in our forward line and he can really have an impact on a game as we seen a couple of times last year.

My thoughts are that Dawes may have come in to provide a bit of relief for Woody in the ruck more so than anything so we can float Brown into defence.

Walker, Stevens, and Tippet, aswell as Burton won't all be forward options at once I wouldn't think, especially with 2 other options with Porps and Knights down there.

If you believe what the Port supporter says (in the 'Hit em hard' thread) Stevens will be playing in defence with Bock out through injury. I hope it's true. If not we could be really stretched. If we end up having to use Maxwell to man up a player I think L Browns direct opponent will be the beneficiary. O'Briens too small for any of those forward bar Burton who Harry may have difficulty matching in the air. Goldsack becomes important if all those guys play. He may need to take someone like Stevens. Stevens would probably be a bit strong for Goldy, although it would be an interesting match up.

I reckon Harry would take one of those 3 Crow forwards. Perhaps we would be unbalanced (too tall) if we brought in Nathan Brown.

Any of Tippett, Stevens or Walker would be a difficult match up for Harry. He struggles the most with the talls. He may be able to take Steven or Walker but it wouldn't be the best match up IMO. I'd much prefer to see him on Burton, Porps or Knights. I definitely think there would be room for Brown in that team - he's obviously still injured. I really wouldn't be surprised to see Reid brought in, he'd be a good match up on Walker.

I think we'll see something like:

Presti - Tippett
Goldy - Walker
Harry - Burton
Toovey - Porps
Shaw - Knights
Brown - Stevens
Maxwell - Loose

I just don't like the match ups for Stevens and Walker, which is why I think Reid would be a good inclusion. I hope Stevens plays back. If Bock is out and Stevens ends up playing back - if Reid was brought in the matchups would look like this:

Presti - Tippett
Reid - Walker
Goldy - Burton
Harry - Porps
Toovey - Knights
Shaw - Vince
Maxwell - Loose

That looks a bit more solid to me. Then again i'm sure whoever comes in will do a great job. I've got that uneasy feeling about it though :(. Can't wait for the game - it should be an absolute cracker!!! :thumbsu:

My opinion on the matchups forward would be;

Presti - Tippett
Harry O - Walker
Goldsack - Burton
Toovey - Knights
Shaw - Porplyzia

I can't see them stacking up the forward line anymore than that unless they use Stevens as a lead up. You just lose space if you have so many players looking to move around the forward 50.

I think Shaw will be there to make Porplyzia accountable. Porps form hasn't been first rate the last few weeks. He was ordinary against the cats, and only came into the game against Port in the 2nd half.

Harry O can handle Walker, and Walker's defensive pressure isn't first rate, so Harry can also become an attacking option out of defence, and when Harry has the ball in hand things happen. Walker won't like the close attention of the great man.

Tippett gets Presti that's a given, and Goldsack has done jobs on players like Micky O in the past, so give him a crack at the dangerous Burton. If the structure isn't working switch Harry to slow Burton up.

Toovey to Knights is a good matchup for Toovey. Even though he cops heaps of flack he works hard to keep his opponent quiet.

Maxwell to float. They may use Stevens as a defensive forward on him, but that's ok as it clogs up their forward line. Let Maxwell run into Tippett's space with Stevens and clog up the hot spot forcing them to kick long to Tippett where our ground level players can clean up.

Pies by 3 goals.

Glad to see Dawes back, he's earned his recall and the more games we get into him, the better. Don't think Dick necessarily earned a game this week, but I can see the value in what he brings to the team, particularly against the Crows.

Barham couldn't stay in on last week's performance. Sidebottom is unlucky however.

Still can't work out what they want from Wellingham, must be something we're not privy to, because I would have thought he was clearly in our best 22.

keeping my fingers crossed for a late change
reid in, goldy out
like goldy a lot but reid has been the model for consistency this year at CHB and i would like to see him have a chance against burton

Presti - Tippett
Harry O - Walker
Goldsack - Burton
Toovey - Knights
Shaw - Porplyzia

I can't see them stacking up the forward line anymore than that unless they use Stevens as a lead up. You just lose space if you have so many players looking to move around the forward 50.

I think Shaw will be there to make Porplyzia accountable. Porps form hasn't been first rate the last few weeks. He was ordinary against the cats, and only came into the game against Port in the 2nd half.

Harry O can handle Walker, and Walker's defensive pressure isn't first rate, so Harry can also become an attacking option out of defence, and when Harry has the ball in hand things happen. Walker won't like the close attention of the great man.

Tippett gets Presti that's a given, and Goldsack has done jobs on players like Micky O in the past, so give him a crack at the dangerous Burton. If the structure isn't working switch Harry to slow Burton up.

Toovey to Knights is a good matchup for Toovey. Even though he cops heaps of flack he works hard to keep his opponent quiet.

Maxwell to float. They may use Stevens as a defensive forward on him, but that's ok as it clogs up their forward line. Let Maxwell run into Tippett's space with Stevens and clog up the hot spot forcing them to kick long to Tippett where our ground level players can clean up.

Pies by 3 goals.

Yeah, they would be good match ups. My worry is Stevens. If they use him forward with the other forwards and Maxwell is forced to man him up that is a win for the Crows. It makes all their other forwards more dangerous as well as exposing Maxwells one on one defensive game.

The other worry is if they take Walker out of the forward line and play Stevens instead. O'Brien is not a good match up for Stevens. The only other option is Leigh Brown which I think is very very dicey. Stevens has a great record against us, and Leigh Brown is not a good defender at all - even if he has built that myth in here a bit.

I like your thinking with O'Brien on Walker though. I was actually thinking along the same lines for Reid. Reid is a high possession winning defender and could really expose the Walker match up, while still being a good defensive match up. He'd also be a better match up on Stevens, he has the size and mobility to match up on him. It would also allow O'Brien to take either Burton but probably Porps which would be great for us. This would probably require Dawes to be dropped for Reid - with Brown playing more as a back up ruck/utility. Goldsack out is the other option.

Firstly very happy with the changes, dick is best 22 when fit so im not fussed he got brought in after an only ok game last week. Allows davis more freedom to play upfield and takes attention away from medhurst and thomas in the forward 50

Presti - Tippett
Harry O - Walker
Goldsack - Burton
Toovey - Knights
Shaw - Porplyzia

Pies by 3 goals.
Agree with all those matchups, in fact that will be the perfect set up for us and if bock misses and stevens goes back we'll be even better placed to win

Selection vs Adelaide.