SEQAFL Division 1 2013

Ahh, Andrew Lovett? Apparently moving to Byron doesnt want to play state league, Would have to call it a long shot at best but funnier things have happened. Need to be very careful boc as signing and agreeing are two very different things 5 months before the season starts. Untill the ink is dry on the contract can really only speculate that some players have crossed from rival clubs and a league medalist from Tassie?????
Will be more than happy to post once it is confirmed.
Has Koehler signed at Burleigh? Last I heard him and Daly where a two for one deal?
Yeah I thought he was joking when he told me! would be a massive get - and im sure Byron is just the place for him to be living!!

Yeah completely agree re signing vs discussions - from what he had been told (so third hand info to me) the boys from the other clubs in PHC and the boy from tas were confirmed and will be very handy - and were a few more names that he mentioned that were more discussion but will be very handy replacements for the hards in the middle!

Yeah I thought he was joking when he told me! would be a massive get - and im sure Byron is just the place for him to be living!!

Yeah completely agree re signing vs discussions - from what he had been told (so third hand info to me) the boys from the other clubs in PHC and the boy from tas were confirmed and will be very handy - and were a few more names that he mentioned that were more discussion but will be very handy replacements for the hards in the middle!

i thought this league was moving to a points salary cap system for 2013. if that is the case, any AFL player is going to cost you maximum, plus all the other recruits you are talking up will be up there for points. Only half of your gun recruits will be allowed to play each week due to points restrictions.

Not sure how that will go down with them when they are being paid per game.....

i thought this league was moving to a points salary cap system for 2013. if that is the case, any AFL player is going to cost you maximum, plus all the other recruits you are talking up will be up there for points. Only half of your gun recruits will be allowed to play each week due to points restrictions.

Not sure how that will go down with them when they are being paid per game.....
Think you may have jumped the gun a bit... as stated in my post and Kwhits reply lovett is a pipe dream at the moment and in discussions... but granted he would be maximum points.

As for the other players i am aware of - if they come from the same league but different teams thier points rating will remain the same ( unless a discounted points system of whether they were a junior of the area as proposed is put in place) and if they come from a comparable league in another state then the points grading will be similar.

wouldnt suggest you will end up with a list full of 5's if PHC players are graded as a 1 with a cap of say 30 points per game based off the names I was told.

Think you may have jumped the gun a bit... as stated in my post and Kwhits reply lovett is a pipe dream at the moment and in discussions... but granted he would be maximum points.

As for the other players i am aware of - if they come from the same league but different teams thier points rating will remain the same ( unless a discounted points system of whether they were a junior of the area as proposed is put in place) and if they come from a comparable league in another state then the points grading will be similar.

wouldnt suggest you will end up with a list full of 5's if PHC players are graded as a 1 with a cap of say 30 points per game based off the names I was told.

suggest you have a read of this. go to page 100

http://www.aflq.com.au/fileadmin/us...y_Competitions_Rules_and_Regulations_2012.pdf

Cheers for that - wasnt aware a player from another club in the same div was weighted so heavily as per my above post - cearly need to get them before they play too many senior games then!!

45 points per game would still hypothetically give you enough points to play with to have 15 players on 1 point who had been with you since 2011 and then your other 7 with various ratings from 4 down (if my maths is correct) - which based on discussed above could work.

would love to be the one doing the math and trying to tell coaches who they could and couldnt play based on a points balance each thursday night!

Cheers for that - wasnt aware a player from another club in the same div was weighted so heavily as per my above post - cearly need to get them before they play too many senior games then!!

45 points per game would still hypothetically give you enough points to play with to have 15 players on 1 point who had been with you since 2011 and then your other 7 with various ratings from 4 down (if my maths is correct) - which based on discussed above could work.

would love to be the one doing the math and trying to tell coaches who they could and couldnt play based on a points balance each thursday night!

Not sure we are going to lose a whole lot of sleep with the points system just yet! I'm sure the new additions will make up for the loss of the Hards boys, Lohrey, Williams, Hewatt and a few others yet to be sighted at training. In any case should be around the mark again. Still, only December and a wise man once told me if you talk to 20 guys you may get 1, so on that theory Cressa is talking to approx 10,000!

Big improvers for 2013 have to be Wilston grange, ladder predictions?
How are the coast teams looking? Noosa lost a few With maroochydore picking up few ex local players?

Big improvers for 2013 have to be Wilston grange, ladder predictions?
How are the coast teams looking? Noosa lost a few With maroochydore picking up few ex local players?

Wilston Grange were right there this year! Injury hurt them bad at finals but finished probably where most would have placed them. For them to be big improvers will need to finish top 2. Havent heard anything down here about recruits they have picked up, so if you know anything goalkicker10 we all on here would be very interested to hear.

Does anybody know if Fults will be lining up for Surfers in 2013.
Fults is 50/50

He is flat out with his business and has three young girls so it all depends if his body is right and wants to commit to another season. Ianson will certainly help PBC with height this year after losing a few big men.

Predictions for 2013
Top 5 sides will be

1Magpies
2Palmy
3Mayne
4sufers
5Noosa

I know Noosa have lost a lot of talent but I know they have recruited well and I believe they will still be up there. Obviously the Maggies will be the side to beat and I predicting the Mayne Tigers to have a break out year. Surfers is just a hunch really.

Do Maggies have agreements with Lions again? Could be a fairly even comp I reckon. Might have to wait to Start of April to see what various clubs personnel looks like bc at this time of year alot of it is crap.

Predictions for 2013
Top 5 sides will be

1Magpies
2Palmy
3Mayne
4sufers
5Noosa

I know Noosa have lost a lot of talent but I know they have recruited well and I believe they will still be up there. Obviously the Maggies will be the side to beat and I predicting the Mayne Tigers to have a break out year. Surfers is just a hunch really.

Only can go on what's on the rumor mill, sounds as if both magpies and noosa have had serious loses and no talk of recruits. Of course this could be playing into their hands beautifully,keeping a lid on pick ups but I'm not sure that's the case. Grange will be there abouts once again. So here's mine anyway.

PBC
Grange
Surfers
Magpies
Mayne

Only can go on what's on the rumor mill, sounds as if both magpies and noosa have had serious loses and no talk of recruits. Of course this could be playing into their hands beautifully,keeping a lid on pick ups but I'm not sure that's the case. Grange will be there abouts once again. So here's mine anyway.

PBC
Grange
Surfers
Magpies
Mayne

Yeah reckon that looks pretty good too Kwhit - would like to think Maroochy will push for top 5 as well - certainly the new draw will really advantage them - but can we also predict that if PBC do play off in the GF and are getting beaten that as per tradition their coach will lose the plot and the players will go the biff not only embarrassing themselves but the competition...;)

Along the lines of play everyone once Dezario then the top 6 from last year play each other again and the bottom 5 (from last year) + Uni play each other again. Although it would be a major advantage to say a side like maroochy I don't agree with the logic. IMO reckon you play everyone and then segregate into playing sides based on locality ie the 6 southern sides and the 6 northern sides play each other again. Only 2 sides would be between north and south really - Maggies and Uni, the Maggies can go into the southern section...:) At the end of the day there is no fair way unless you play everyone twice which isn't feasible. 16 rounds.

Yeah reckon that looks pretty good too Kwhit - would like to think Maroochy will push for top 5 as well - certainly the new draw will really advantage them - but can we also predict that if PBC do play off in the GF and are getting beaten that as per tradition their coach will lose the plot and the players will go the biff not only embarrassing themselves but the competition...;)

Surely we can win one soon? Respect, admiration and a flag!

Yeah - a bit tongue in cheek mate but in some respects a club can be often judged more fairly by the way they lose, not the way they win (everyone is a good winner!!). Do many of your juniors float thru to senior footy? seems like very year PBC are at the forefront of recruiting i/state blokes?? Appreciate it is difficult to keep them with so many NEAFL clubs around in your area.

Going to be a tough year for all teams I reckon it's going a very competitve comp this year my early prediction for the top 5 will

1. Magpies
  2. Grange
  3. PBC
  4. Noosa
  5. Mayne

Yeah - a bit tongue in cheek mate but in some respects a club can be often judged more fairly by the way they lose, not the way they win (everyone is a good winner!!). Do many of your juniors float thru to senior footy? seems like very year PBC are at the forefront of recruiting i/state blokes?? Appreciate it is difficult to keep them with so many NEAFL clubs around in your area.

Like all div 1 clubs, very difficult to keep our good young players! Our reserves last year would have been made up of at least a dozen 18 s some of which backing up after their own games. As a club we encourage our young players to play at the highest standard of football available, and we have close relations with people at both southport and broadie and any players that are keen on are pushed in there direction. And yes clubs are judged on how they lose and disappoints me no end the events over the past two years! Given our club has so many players held in such high regard not only in this comp but in qld footy it hurts a lot of them deeply with the comments made about pbc. Anyway with some luck it will be reversed this year and get some recognition for being a powerhouse club with great people involved.

Ovens and Murray star now a Mayne Tiger

The Mayne Tigers have started 2013 with a bang by signing Albury Tigers star and the 2011 Ovens & Murray League Medalist Shaun Daly as a playing assistant coach. The 27 year old midfielder will bring with him some much needed finals experience to Everton Park as the Tigers look to break a premiership drought dating back to 1982 when the late Mick Nolan led Mayne to victory at Windsor Park.
Daly, an accountant, will relocate to Brisbane with work in late January and identified the challenge of guiding the improving Tigers outfit to finals as his prime motivation for the decision to play for Brisbane's most famous club.

"Albury Tigers were in a similar position when I joined the club and we have enjoyed terrific success the last 4 years. I have been really impressed with the efforts of Mayne in helping us to settle in and can't wait to get into it." Daly Noted.

Daly will add considerable size and strength to the Tigers midfield which will also feature 2011 club champion Adam Stevenson, Tom Falconer and ex Qld representative Nikos Keim. Mitch Ferguson, in his 6th year as senior coach credits an astute recruiting drive as a major reason the Tigers will develop even further in 2013.

"It was extremely important that any player we were talking to fit the criteria for us both on and off the field. We spent a considerable amount of time doing our homework on players and are confident that the boys who join the Tigers this season will be terrific servants to the club" Ferguson Said.

Daly will be joined at Mayne by his former teammate Josh Duffy who played alongside former Brisbane Lions star Daniel Bradshaw at Howlong last season. A tenacious midfield / forward type Duffy will relish the opportunity to again play under Daly where the wide expanses of Everton Park will suit his combination of electric pace and sublime skill. A schoolteacher by day Duffy is also looking forward to working with and developing the younger players at Mayne where he will draw on his finals experience in Victoria.

www.aflq.com.au

SEQAFL Division 1 2013