SEQAFL Division 1 2013

No doubt by now everyone is across the imminent changes to the QLD football landscape, while all the talk is centered around the NEAFL comp, it obviously has serious ramifications for the AP cup. Apparently 4 options were discussed at the meeting on Sunday with the preference being a 10 team State League, made up of the leftover NEAFL clubs(Mside, Mt Grav, Redlands, Lab, BBeach) who all gain automatic entry, then the final positions to be allocated on application from the AP clubs , who will be required to meet a 6 point criteria, with facilities, finances and committee amongst the requirements. My question, amongst many I have is do the NEAFL sides come back to the AP level in that they only train twice weekly and run a more basic organization or do the AP sides have to come up to their level with increases in training loads and player personnel amongst other things. If the NEAFL clubs were to drop back, retain their current lists and continue as they do they would dominate the comp, meaning the AP clubs too get up to speed would require heavy recruiting, more coaches, resources, all this coming at a costs in what we all know is a very difficult time to attract sponsors and raise significant revenue, unless you own pokies.
No doubt all this change is based entirely around the 4 AFL clubs on the Eastern side wanting their reserves teams to play against the very best opposition available, i get that. I would say to them join the VFL or get the old reserves Comp back up and running. I couldnt give a shit about the GWS or Suns reserves, all I'm interested in is a decent footy comp whereby each team is doing their utmost to play finals and ultimately win the flag, have fierce rivalries, and not being impacted by the comp above in that waiting for them to pick their side to see if your team get any leftover players back. I think this years AP cup has been sensational, with a relatively even comp and prob 3 teams with legitimate flag hopes. Interested to know others thoughts and how it impacts their clubs.

No doubt by now everyone is across the imminent changes to the QLD football landscape, while all the talk is centered around the NEAFL comp, it obviously has serious ramifications for the AP cup. Apparently 4 options were discussed at the meeting on Sunday with the preference being a 10 team State League, made up of the leftover NEAFL clubs(Mside, Mt Grav, Redlands, Lab, BBeach) who all gain automatic entry, then the final positions to be allocated on application from the AP clubs , who will be required to meet a 6 point criteria, with facilities, finances and committee amongst the requirements. My question, amongst many I have is do the NEAFL sides come back to the AP level in that they only train twice weekly and run a more basic organization or do the AP sides have to come up to their level with increases in training loads and player personnel amongst other things. If the NEAFL clubs were to drop back, retain their current lists and continue as they do they would dominate the comp, meaning the AP clubs too get up to speed would require heavy recruiting, more coaches, resources, all this coming at a costs in what we all know is a very difficult time to attract sponsors and raise significant revenue, unless you own pokies.
No doubt all this change is based entirely around the 4 AFL clubs on the Eastern side wanting their reserves teams to play against the very best opposition available, i get that. I would say to them join the VFL or get the old reserves Comp back up and running. I couldnt give a shit about the GWS or Suns reserves, all I'm interested in is a decent footy comp whereby each team is doing their utmost to play finals and ultimately win the flag, have fierce rivalries, and not being impacted by the comp above in that waiting for them to pick their side to see if your team get any leftover players back. I think this years AP cup has been sensational, with a relatively even comp and prob 3 teams with legitimate flag hopes. Interested to know others thoughts and how it impacts their clubs.

Personally, I'd like to see the same system that used to be here and currently exists in the WAFL and SANFL where the Bris/GC guys not playing in the firsts drop back into the local league. It is a bit disruptive for the local clubs and fringe players probably get pissed off when they are bumped by a dropped AFL player, but it brings the local clubs closer to the top tier. We used to love watching the Brisbane players dropped to the QAFL. Plan B would move the Bris/GC reserves into the VFL or a new national reserves comp. They won't do this 'cos it means a lot of travel, which can be tough for the 17/18 yr olds from the academies. Of course, my comments and options are just hot air, as it looks like the AFL is not considering any of these.

Travel costs would be astronomical to go back into VFL. Not sure Morningside and co IF they dropped back a level would run the same operation nor would they have the same playing personnel. Some AP clubs right now would spend more than Mt Gravatt / M'Side on players. Think we would find that these sides just become poorer versions of themselves which would be a shame for their supporters. Their best players, if aspiring to play AFL footy, would gravitate to one of the 2 Brisbane sides that will be in this new comp. Those not keen would filter back to the community footy level. In reality the big winner out these proposed changes will be the 2nd tier of footy bc basically there is less places available for the best players (or those that aspire to be) to pick up a gig with 2 Brisbane teams and 1 Gold Coast side. Reckon those involved in the State 18's program will be top ups for the Lions / Suns depending on where they are from.

All you can really say is that it would be great if they just picked something and stuck to it. The AP Cup is great this year and it seems the clubs have all had a go at being up around the finals since it started. AFLQ need to just find a system and stick to it and stop buckling to demands from every other area and messing with the comp every three years.

Personally, I'd like to see the same system that used to be here and currently exists in the WAFL and SANFL where the Bris/GC guys not playing in the firsts drop back into the local league. It is a bit disruptive for the local clubs and fringe players probably get pissed off when they are bumped by a dropped AFL player, but it brings the local clubs closer to the top tier. We used to love watching the Brisbane players dropped to the QAFL. Plan B would move the Bris/GC reserves into the VFL or a new national reserves comp. They won't do this 'cos it means a lot of travel, which can be tough for the 17/18 yr olds from the academies. Of course, my comments and options are just hot air, as it looks like the AFL is not considering any of these.

The WAFL now has alignment clubs. As of next year all Eagles players will go to East Perth (I think) and Freo's go to Peel Thunder.

Under this model Div 1 will only marginally improve in the first year as most Lab, Broady top players will no doubt go elsewhere. I agree that the NEAFL clubs would apart from Morningside would drop back to the field very quickly.

The WAFL now has alignment clubs. As of next year all Eagles players will go to East Perth (I think) and Freo's go to Peel Thunder.

Under this model Div 1 will only marginally improve in the first year as most Lab, Broady top players will no doubt go elsewhere. I agree that the NEAFL clubs would apart from Morningside would drop back to the field very quickly.

Do you mean interstate Kitty??

It stands to reason - too hard for the AFL club to have any idea what the various players who don't get a game are doing week in week out. I would have thought the WAFL could have sustained a Eagles/Freo reserves team with top ups from their U18 program ala Lions/Suns? Maybe this is what the model is going to be.

It's up to the individual club on there level of professionalism. You need to remember that next year's QAFL will include the left over Neafl teams and selected Div 1 teams. This according to aflq becomes the new talent path way, not sure whether to laugh or cry! The Neafl clubs lose there CDM and there is no funding. So any Div 1 teams must certainly meet the strict criteria. A team like Morningside are that loyal that most of there list will stay other than the half dozen still a chance for higher honours.
The new Neafl impacts div 1 in the way there is a mini draft I believe alas the SANFL where players not playing for Southport ( if they choose to enter ) will feed out to the div 1 teams there are drafted to.

Obrien played the following week is that right. The incident you talk about did Obrien actually get the free kick. Is this Obrien the cousin of Former Southport Sharks skipper Darren Obrien. Now when Matt was at the Sharks the kid wouldn't blow a candle out! I found it hard to believe you guys on here were talking about the right bloke.
Some ppl grow into themselves Dog over time..:cool:

It's up to the individual club on there level of professionalism. You need to remember that next year's QAFL will include the left over Neafl teams and selected Div 1 teams. This according to aflq becomes the new talent path way, not sure whether to laugh or cry! The Neafl clubs lose there CDM and there is no funding. So any Div 1 teams must certainly meet the strict criteria. A team like Morningside are that loyal that most of there list will stay other than the half dozen still a chance for higher honours.
The new Neafl impacts div 1 in the way there is a mini draft I believe alas the SANFL where players not playing for Southport ( if they choose to enter ) will feed out to the div 1 teams there are drafted to.

Still think it gets back to a cost/benefit situation Dog - AFL obviously don't feel that the current structure will produce multiple AFL footballers every year. I think the big sticking point in all this will be the $$ required for a prospective club to want to play in it. Basically betting the farm for what?? If Redlands for instance was to go in, spend upwards of $500K to be in the comp, and for one reason or another have a shit house year, supporters drop off, decide they don't want to see them get smacked every week anymore, even if it is the best standard in Qld, then it could be a monumental annual loss vs what potentially could happen right now with a poor year.

Will some of those NEAFL sides meet the strict criteria (like finances) Dog??

Mate I have a feeling MtGravatt may drop more than one level. Morningside getting a TAB by spring carnival time as well as Labrador. Would think the Cats would be fine as well

Still think it gets back to a cost/benefit situation Dog - AFL obviously don't feel that the current structure will produce multiple AFL footballers every year. I think the big sticking point in all this will be the $$ required for a prospective club to want to play in it. Basically betting the farm for what?? If Redlands for instance was to go in, spend upwards of $500K to be in the comp, and for one reason or another have a shit house year, supporters drop off, decide they don't want to see them get smacked every week anymore, even if it is the best standard in Qld, then it could be a monumental annual loss vs what potentially could happen right now with a poor year.
I think this scenario you put forward is most relevant to Aspley and I think that's why half there board is leaning against not applying. On the other hand, southport have no dramas what's so ever when it comes to the outlay of cash. This is what I spoke to a Aspley man about, yes the cap is 200000 and 400000 on the football department. That 400000 is uncapped so Southport will spend what they like as far as the football department. That's where they will leave a Aspley or Redlands behind.

All you can really say is that it would be great if they just picked something and stuck to it. The AP Cup is great this year and it seems the clubs have all had a go at being up around the finals since it started. AFLQ need to just find a system and stick to it and stop buckling to demands from every other area and messing with the comp every three years.

I with you mate, this comp has been more competitive and settled in recent years. Why don't they just leave it the **** alone.

Speedy don't believe anyone is being flown in from tassie - I know there is a house full of the tassie boys up here playing at Pbc and all here full time - murphy and higgsy and the big ruck man.

SEQAFL Division 1 2013