Seymour District Cricket Association

Speaking on the last 5-6 years I think you would be hard pressed to find a spinner whom was consistantly able to beat the bat, it has been more a case of batsmen getting themselves out to spin rather then the other way around.

Mick enrico is capable of spinning the ball and bowling some great spells, but then can show up the next week and dish up rubbish.

I haven't seen much of young miller from yea, but he looks to flight the ball well but probably needs to push the ball through quicker and get more rip.

Collier from broadford i haven't seen alot of but with his height if he can land 5 ot of 6 balls an over he could make life difficult for the batsmen. But if he throws up full tosses or short trackers then they can just sweet on these deliveries. This was the un-doing of Sloan from nagas.

Jarrod pink from seymour flights the ball as good as any going around in the comp at the moment, but could probably become more of an attacking option if he was to take some pace off the ball and throw it up there a little more often.

But for mine the best two spinners from the past 5-6 years would be Brett Polson who's quick spin made it difficult for batsmen to get under and his accuracy often put pressure on batsmen to try and do so. And Chris Kemp whom when bowling spin would turn the ball more then anyone and matched this with brilliant flight. Both bowlers had a very good cricketing brain which is what makes a good spinner.

If Glen Dowling was still playing SDCA he'd surely get a look-in, in the U/21 side, learnt his craft wielding the willow on batsmen friendly backyard pitches in bendigo where he dominated bowling attacks knocking up some massive scores in between stubbies.

Well with the results over the weekend, Tallarook have taken top spot on the ladder, and its looking extremely tight for the finals race, although still a long way to go.

Heres the up to date Ladder:

1. Tallarook 40points
2. Broadford 39 points
3. Avenel 36points
4. Seymour 36 points
5. Eastern Hill 33 points
6. Yea 18 points
7. Kilmore 18 points
8. Royals 0 points

So its pretty much down to a 5 horse race for the 4 Finals spots.

Also, one day ladder looks like the following with 1 more game to go, a Tallarook V Seymour Telegraph Cup Final is now a certainty, but the venue will be decided this weekend, if Seymour beat Avenel, they will play at home due to superior one day %, if they lose to Avenel, and Tallarook beat Royals, it will be hosted at the Rook.

1. Seymour 30 points
2. Tallarook 30 points
3. Eastern Hill 21 points
4. Broadford 21 points
5. Avenel 18 points
6. Yea 12 points
7. Kilmore 12 points
8. Royals 0 points

By the way, does anyone know when for sure the Telegraph Cup Final is held? A draw i saw in League Handbook says Sunday 21st January whilst on another draw i saw it say Sunday 28th January, i would have thought 28th January would be right as it usually the Australia Day weekend, or directly after....anyone know for sure?

It's on Sunday January 21 to my knowledge.

need to know for sure the one day final, need to book in a sicky for the monday! surely a great day to sit back, drink piss and watch the rook win another flag!!

Doon. Good to see the wizz straight back into it getting a couple with the bat and the ball.

Yeah he bowled ok mate, and his experience with the bat was very handy in the dying stages.

Anyone know how the Bendigo squad is shaping up? Will they be any chance to make the final...or win it next week?

I see Hager crafted a 50 odd n.o again on the weekend. The old timer is pushing his way to a league batting average. A few more not outs and he'll be right in the mix.

Tallarook vs Seymour one day final...who do you think will get it in 06/07? Anyones game if its played at Seymour on that goat track, if its played at the rook, could be anyones game.

Word is Joey Tarran is really struggling with a back injury at the minute. Could be a big factor come the final.

Also, hear Seymour had 4 or 5 players out of their side from Saturday. With some handy inclussions to come in for the final. Could prove the difference.

I hear Chubs Peterson is on the move to WA, anyone know if he will be around for the one day final?

How did Trav Blackwell go on the weekend??

Whoever hosts the one day final will win I reckon, Stuie would be playing in it Id say as he is playing country week also, doesn't move until early Feb. Mate do the work Joey Tarran has over the years and I reckon you're entitled to be a bit sore . . . . he'll be there surely. It could come down to whethere the big game performer Adam Howard has a day out, and if Shannon Allum plays also as he played B-grade last weekend due to a knee injury I was told.

Doubt either side could win the season decider in March so they'll play their best side injured or not surely. Seymour without Peterson and maybe Allum and I still reckon the Rook may have peaked a little early, especially if Joey is injured, or will he just bat until the business stuff.

Blackwell went ok first up, both he and Clinton Bruce will be better for the run . . . . and agree Hages looked destined for teh batting if he continues to give up his wicket.

Any chance of A. Howard returning to country week cricket :p

who is playin bendigo country week?
i know of youngman peterson from seymour
few kilmore lads are playing robbo, colliss n hede
lachie watts would be playin yes?
who else? full squad plz if any1 knows

interesting to read on the avenel footy club website that the cricket club has challenged the footy club to a 20/20 game. would be a good game, especially if robbie doughty and subba were to play for the footballers

who is playin bendigo country week?
i know of youngman peterson from seymour
few kilmore lads are playing robbo, colliss n hede
lachie watts would be playin yes?
who else? full squad plz if any1 knows

No official word on the full squad but maybe a few lads can fill some gaps as we go . . .

Youngman (Sey)
Peterson (Sey)
Robertson (Kilm)
Collis (Kilm)
Hede (Kilm)
Watts (T'rook)

I know Mark Moran (B'ford) is keen to play, but when I left their clubrooms 10 minutes ago he hadn't heard if he was playing. Also I think Stuie Hanley (E'hill) is playing so the squad is shaping up ok.

No official word on the full squad but maybe a few lads can fill some gaps as we go . . .

Youngman (Sey)
Peterson (Sey)
Robertson (Kilm)
Collis (Kilm)
Hede (Kilm)
Watts (T'rook)

I know Mark Moran (B'ford) is keen to play, but when I left their clubrooms 10 minutes ago he hadn't heard if he was playing. Also I think Stuie Hanley (E'hill) is playing so the squad is shaping up ok.

Robbie Douglas i hear is playing the full week, as is Jac Smith-Williams.

A grade tallarook all out for a 100 royals 103 win brett tarran:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: found crying out back should quit cricket work on boxing and seymour should check there beer coz taste like piss:) :) :) cheers tom stevens

Seymour invited Avenel to bat first at Chittick Park. Avenel got 178 for the loss of 5-6 wickets. Aaron Hinns with 61 and an unbeaten 55 from Shaun Green set the Swans up after 25 from opener Pearcey. Stu Peterson took two wickets to be the pick of em for the Maroons.

Interesting run with some dominant passages by ball and then bat saw Seymour scrape over the line at 179/7 after 45 overs. Mark McGregor got 44, Jason Brown woulda got close to 40, as John Green and Hinssy each took 2 wickets, with young Willie Wheeler taking the best diving one handed catch at forward point Ive seen in years.

Plenty of sore bodies not doubt as poor old Chittick Park not only is feeling the effects of this drought but also neglect from the Shire of Mitchell. The wicket played fine, but the surface will unfortunately make it difficult for fielders for the rest of the season.

Seymour to host the Rook in next Sunday's one-day final.

Seymour invited Avenel to bat first at Chittick Park. Avenel got 178 for the loss of 5-6 wickets. Aaron Hinns with 61 and an unbeaten 55 from Shaun Green set the Swans up after 25 from opener Pearcey. Stu Peterson took two wickets to be the pick of em for the Maroons.

Interesting run with some dominant passages by ball and then bat saw Seymour scrape over the line at 179/7 after 45 overs. Mark McGregor got 44, Jason Brown woulda got close to 40, as John Green and Hinssy each took 2 wickets, with young Willie Wheeler taking the best diving one handed catch at forward point Ive seen in years.

Plenty of sore bodies not doubt as poor old Chittick Park not only is feeling the effects of this drought but also neglect from the Shire of Mitchell. The wicket played fine, but the surface will unfortunately make it difficult for fielders for the rest of the season.

cheers doona..

sounds like a good game of cricket doona.

what's your opinion on the two teams mate, are they finals contenders? did Chris 'the sloth' Kemp play? his mixed bag of trundlers could be important come march i reckon.

good to see Browny again in the runs. There's a few new names though that i dont recognise being an old maroon lad from way back....

sounds like a good game of cricket doona.

what's your opinion on the two teams mate, are they finals contenders? did Chris 'the sloth' Kemp play? his mixed bag of trundlers could be important come march i reckon.

good to see Browny again in the runs. There's a few new names though that i dont recognise being an old maroon lad from way back....

Luke Bennett returning will be a huge plus for the Maroons attack with Shannon Allum under a cloud (knee inj). I could be wrong but I think the one-day title may be it as I think the allround ability of S.Peterson will be too much to cover later in the season, and will place added pressure on Zubby and Macka McGregor to score big runs.

Kempy played yes, didn't bowl as he appeared to hurt his leg early in the Avenel innings, but as these wickets dry out he may play a key role I agree.

The fact the Rook let Royals claim their first win of 06/07 must be a worry, although Joey Tarran never played which means a quality bowler and a top order batsmen missed.

That's a massive win for the Maroons, particularly given the reeming the Swannies delivered to the reigning premiers earlier in the season. Would have to be favs for the one-day crown in light of what happened to the Rookers on Satdy...

Luke Bennett returning will be a huge plus for the Maroons attack with Shannon Allum under a cloud (knee inj). I could be wrong but I think the one-day title may be it as I think the allround ability of S.Peterson will be too much to cover later in the season, and will place added pressure on Zubby and Macka McGregor to score big runs.

The fact the Rook let Royals claim their first win of 06/07 must be a worry, although Joey Tarran never played which means a quality bowler and a top order batsmen missed.

You'd think any one of Avenel, Broady, Seymour of the Rook could win the flag. Will simply be a matter of whichever teams hits their straps in March.
Would have to be the most open premiership race in several seasons

You'd think any one of Avenel, Broady, Seymour of the Rook could win the flag. Will simply be a matter of whichever teams hits their straps in March.
Would have to be the most open premiership race in several seasons

For me it will come down to which ever team can get the most "A-grade" players into their XI. It's common knowledge the standard is slipping and at present most of the top sides I reckon have anywhere from 7-9 such players.

Eastern Hill (4th) are the dark horses I reckon, and with Blacky and Brucey returning and Mumfy later on the Red & Blacks could have 9-10 A-graders by season end in the team.

great win 2day for sdca
after emu valley got away at bout 1-100 after 16 overs, sum good disciplined bowling from peterson watts n bergowicz resulted in all out for 189
peterson 5 wickets great display, watts 2 n bergowicz 2
a good opening partnership between watts n atkins of bout 70
watts out for 32, atkins 42, youngman n peterson put on a great partnership, youngman out unluckily on 50 odd, peterson solidered on in a remarkable display of cricket to make 129!
in the end SDCA batted till the end n made bout 320!
good win

Here the celler dwellers(Royals) knocked off one of the Premierships favorites (Tallarook).
Joey Boy have u still got a home to live in.

Agree you cant replace Joey Tarran but if u cant knock the Royals over without him - who are ya gunna knock.

Isnt it amazing boys when your best 11 turn up (Royals)