Seymour District Cricket Association

Can't believe they are playing the one day final at chittick park on sunday! from all reports it is a disgraceful state, no grass coverage and not fit for cricket. Cracks big enough in the out field for a ball to disappear into! When are symour with all their money going to get some water in a prepare a decent ground. Other grounds in seymour are in a decent condition!!

A) - Seymour earned the right to play it there and B) - why is the onus on the SCC to some up with the cash to get the ground fixed up? Eastern Hill have only played a small part in why Kings Park looks like it does and they have the added bonus of water from the quarry so they can water when they want. Unfortunately, the Maroons have to live by the restrictions like so many others.

So spending some of your money on a bore so you can get your crappy looking ground up to safety standards is out of the question??
And why is bennett oval in such good condition? surely they have the same water retrictions as you guys??

Maybe better teams on paper but Seymour are a great bunch of blokes who just play for each other. Champion team will always beat a team of Champions, as they say

well said there benno.. hence why your having a hit with us.. and we may not have the best team on paper, and maybe havent for the past couple of years, but we did something right last season taking the A and B flags..

(quote = Doona2; Yeah come on lads for arguments sake name ya best club side)

Seymour:

1. Michael Grak
2. Steve Kelly
3. Xavier Youngman (keeper)
4. Stuart Peterson
5. Jason Brown (c)
6. Luke Bennett
7. Mark McGregor
8. Chris Kemp
9. Nathan Allum
10. Shannon Allum
11. Chris Mulraney
12. Andrew Peterson ( can bat.. just committed heavily to fire fighting )

i find that a pretty handy side.. not the biggest team of champions, but a champion team.. Skillful and experienced batting down to number 9.. and the bowling attack of both allums, mulrany, kempy, macca, bennett and chubbs.. i rate that very handy side.. any thoughts? waddo..

So spending some of your money on a bore so you can get your crappy looking ground up to safety standards is out of the question??
And why is bennett oval in such good condition? surely they have the same water retrictions as you guys??

For starters, I don't know where you've got your info that the SCC is flush for cash. We're not singing for our supper, but we ain't got it hanging out our backsides either.
Bennett Oval would be in better nick because it doesn't get anywhere near the traffic poor old Chittick Park does. While they haven't played footy on it for quite some time now, I can't ever remember the surface having been relaid since the Demons ceased to exist, plus there's little aths on it in summer and soccer in winter (at least there was two years ago).
The fact those charged with looking after the grounds up that end of the world are, or have been, associated with Royals probably means that ground gets looked after a tad better than CP.

I heard Kings Park reserve recently got about 270k on top of last years resurface which is a mighty leg up for the comps showpiece. I was under the impression both Bennett and Chittick were council operated. I was told shire workers literally shovelled several lots of dirt in their last attempt of a top dress and drove off.

Agree the ground is battling but they have won the right to host it and obviously the SDCA dont have a problem for now, but I reckon it could be a serious safety issue shortly if we dont get rain or Mitchell Shire attention.

The rook aren't looking for excuses already there Jazzy?

well said there benno.. hence why your having a hit with us.. and we may not have the best team on paper, and maybe havent for the past couple of years, but we did something right last season taking the A and B flags..

Cant count Peterson anymore he wont be there come finals which will be the difference I reckon, thought Allum's knee has him out also, and Bennett will be thinking football by March also :p

Chubby Wubby flew back from America for the finals a couple of years back, surely a couple of trips back from WA ain't out of the question??? (Perhaps he can bring Clydey back with him)

( quote=Doona2; thought Allum's knee has him out also, and Bennett will be thinking football by March also :p)

im pretty sure shan will be fine comes finals.. he will be fine when selectors ask " are you playing in the one-day final shannon??" its unlikely he will want to miss an oppotunity in that..

Bennett seems very keen about having a hit with us for the rest of the year.. seems more than happy to be travelling from bendigo to play.. no matter what chittick park's state is in.. ;)

fingers crossed for a couple of peterson/clydsdale trips over here in the next couple of months :)

For starters, I don't know where you've got your info that the SCC is flush for cash. We're not singing for our supper, but we ain't got it hanging out our backsides either.
Bennett Oval would be in better nick because it doesn't get anywhere near the traffic poor old Chittick Park does. While they haven't played footy on it for quite some time now, I can't ever remember the surface having been relaid since the Demons ceased to exist, plus there's little aths on it in summer and soccer in winter (at least there was two years ago).
The fact those charged with looking after the grounds up that end of the world are, or have been, associated with Royals probably means that ground gets looked after a tad better than CP.

so what u saying grandale, your curators are crap at chittick park??

Let it go mate, some clubs just aint kissed on the a$$ constantly by a rainbow like Kings Park and the Rookery :p

Nah only kidding fellas hope u can take a little bit of ribbing?? we are all just lucky to be playing in these hard times of no water! Just trying to build up the rivalry for sunday. Looking forward to a good match on sunday and a few beers!!

I'll never bag anyone that's prepared to put their hand up and do the job of curator for nicks. I know I wouldn't be willing to.
From what I gather, it's parts of the ground other than the wicket that is coming for most criticism this year, not the pitch itself (where the curators justifiably spend most of the time they are willing to put into curator duties).

we will beat the mighty maroons on any ground, anytime! GO ROOKS!!

Despite the respective combatants' form last week, I reckon the One-Day Granny is an intriguing affair. A real flip of the coin job.
What may decide it is what either side do on Satdy. I understand both sides have a couple of boys playing the week in Bendigo, so they wouldn't want to be spending an entire day in the field on Satdy then backing up again the next day.

One day final this week hopefuly is a good game, think for Tallarook its fate lays in the hands of J.Tarran, L.Watts and C.Capuano. If Capuano can produce another spell like he did against avenel a few weeks ago and Joey and Wattsy get us off to a good start it should be a well fought match. Hopefully the mix of youth and the experienced players can provide the winning combination for us on sunday, GO THE ROOKS

i think for the rook to win on sunday their batsmen have to fire! the 2 tarrans, bigshow and nessy have to make contributions. i think the bowling is solid enough!!

1. S. Donovan
2. J. Wheeler
3. A. Hinss
4. D. Sage
5. M. Donovan
6. M. Smith
7. S. Pearce
8. S. Green
9. J. Smith
10. C. Tingay
11. J. Green
12. A. Green/ C. Jones

yeah, maybe i was a little bit harsh.. but the fella does have to get a few priorities right.. im saying this stuff from my point of view.. dissapointing to be an up-n-comer in a club and see him fcuk round the amount he does.. not a good role model when he is vice captain and secretary or whatever he is.. yeah, that half-ton was pretty sensational.. but it seems to be on rare occasion that it happens.. i cant think of many other times when he has freaked it up like in that gf.. seems to pulls his finger out when it counts.. but, i think he has so much talent, it should be happenin regularly.. and ive batted with him a couple of times.. and its not the xuv that we know any other time.. most determined and persistent frame of mind ive ever seen anyone in when batting.. i just think, he needs to pull his head in a bit, on and off the field.. playing with a very strong team at the moment that are a good chance to go back-to-back, im sure he wouldnt want to lose his spot.. dont get me wrong, i do like the kid.. he is a champ.. but, just frustrates me a little bit to see, what looks like, him wasting talent.. anyway.. its fairly irrevalant.. good luck to him and rest of the boys for the rest of the week.. cheers.. waddo..

Gotta agree Waddo. Seen Mick Enrico & Xovvy open bat together against Campaspe. Xuvvy cover drove the first ball for four - they batted sensatonally.

Now here we have 2 quality ****************s( both are my mates) who I beleive love preforming when representing the SDCA which is great

As for club cricket

I have gone to Casino with Mick the night b4 an A grade final. He made a duck and then came out and bowled Avenel to victory. FREAK!!!

Xuvvy can be the biggest clown I know and thats why we love him and love to hate him all at once.

I think one thing you do have to remember is Xuvvy is only 20.

Maturing is still to come and you would be brave to suggest otherwise and Mr Youngman never throws his wicket away

Overall Waddo I agree if I had the talent of one of these men it would be sober Friday night - head down arse up saturday & therefore they would be perfect role models for all of us

Gotta agree Waddo. Seen Mick Enrico & Xovvy open bat together against Campaspe. Xuvvy cover drove the first ball for four - they batted sensatonally.

Now here we have 2 quality ****************s( both are my mates) who I beleive love preforming when representing the SDCA which is great

As for club cricket

I have gone to Casino with Mick the night b4 an A grade final. He made a duck and then came out and bowled Avenel to victory. FREAK!!!

Xuvvy can be the biggest clown I know and thats why we love him and love to hate him all at once.

I think one thing you do have to remember is Xuvvy is only 20.

Maturing is still to come and you would be brave to suggest otherwise and Mr Youngman never throws his wicket away

Overall Waddo I agree if I had the talent of one of these men it would be sober Friday night - head down arse up saturday & therefore they would be perfect role models for all of us

jeez soloman.. they were the best words ive ever come out of your mouth.. ever!!! very intelligent stuff.. and, like yourself, if i had the talent like these men do, id be going to bed on a friday night very early..

f.u.c.k u seymour boy are so sooky

if you talent like youngman n enrico, going to bed early on a friday night wont help! could u imagine xuvvy sitting still for more than 5 mins, ive been mates with himfor near on 10 years prob more n the kids a menace simple as that, got skill, n he may act a clown but thats him! all this talk bout role models is the biggest load of crap ever! its the sdca not state cricket! xuvvys a role model he enjoys his cricket n isnt that what its really all about? if ya not enjoying it ya lose interest, he doesnt have 2 b a role model, if u wanna idolise youngman feel free!

( quote=Doona2; thought Allum's knee has him out also, and Bennett will be thinking football by March also :p)

im pretty sure shan will be fine comes finals.. he will be fine when selectors ask " are you playing in the one-day final shannon??" its unlikely he will want to miss an oppotunity in that..

Bennett seems very keen about having a hit with us for the rest of the year.. seems more than happy to be travelling from bendigo to play.. no matter what chittick park's state is in.. ;)

fingers crossed for a couple of peterson/clydsdale trips over here in the next couple of months :)

well you would be happy about that waddo. isn't it funny how he is telling seymour that he will have a hit with them yet still hasn't even told his club in swan hill he won't be returning yet. thats the bennett we know up here you blokes must be blowing some fair wind up his arse cause that's why he will be playing, whoever will stroke his ego the most.
he was on SHDCA thread a while back giving it to a opposition player who played state cricket for both Tasmania and Canberra and saying he would love nothing better than to take it right up to him. As cricket started on Saturday the rumour didn't take long to filter around the grounds that he didn't turn up for the game. Funny how he was injured and couldn't play this game and it was the game he was most looking forward to. Weak as
p i s s, some of his mates not happy that he has told you playing for Seymour and hasn't let home club know:thumbsdown:

well you would be happy about that waddo. isn't it funny how he is telling seymour that he will have a hit with them yet still hasn't even told his club in swan hill he won't be returning yet. thats the bennett we know up here you blokes must be blowing some fair wind up his arse cause that's why he will be playing, whoever will stroke his ego the most.
he was on SHDCA thread a while back giving it to a opposition player who played state cricket for both Tasmania and Canberra and saying he would love nothing better than to take it right up to him. As cricket started on Saturday the rumour didn't take long to filter around the grounds that he didn't turn up for the game. Funny how he was injured and couldn't play this game and it was the game he was most looking forward to. Weak as
p i s s, some of his mates not happy that he has told you playing for Seymour and hasn't let home club know:thumbsdown:

F**k of Glove!

Believe the CW side copped a pasting today, some players apparently went home when the game was relocated from Colbinabbin back towards Bendigo. Wonder what will happen after Howie and Bubba Polson got suspended for a similar offence a few years back???

I hear Gisborne got over 300, bowled SDCA out for 120 and then GDCA hit up over 200 odd in their 2nd dig............sounds like a tough day if the lads were a few players short