• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Seymour District Cricket Association

Not quite right there doona, things heated up because of some confirmed and blantent cheating from m.moran. Before t.dunne had scored he was given not out stumped by moran. He was at least 1 metre out of his ground which can be confirmed by the central umpire, who was unable to act although most people involve felt he wanted to.

Pretty poor act.

Geez thats no good to hear - why didn't he (the umpire involved) intervene? I know I have done so in the past and have even asked a square leg in question to be replaced before. This has been a contentious part of our game for years, runouts/stumpings whislt team mates are there to rule - one thing I wish we at times had enough umps to go around (2 per game) but it will never happen.

Cheating episode aside can u please confirm that player Walsh never directed anything at young Irving yesterday about his action? That would be truly disappointing by such a respected bloke in our local community to stoop to that level - please he say didn't say anything. IMO if a bloke called Murali is fine then Matt's 100% ok and should never be subject to such comments ever again.

Thanks for joining our thread tho mate mate, it's your debut post and you've come out swinging which is good to see :thumbsu: don't go being a one hit wonder tho - we need honest people like yaself to contribute regularly so this thread dont become too dull ;)

Hey why arn't u up supporting your club function today?

Geez thats no good to hear - why didn't he (the umpire involved) intervene? I know I have done so in the past and have even asked a square leg in question to be replaced before. This has been a contentious part of our game for years, runouts/stumpings whislt team mates are there to rule - one thing I wish we at times had enough umps to go around (2 per game) but it will never happen.

Cheating episode aside can u please confirm that player Walsh never directed anything at young Irving yesterday about his action? That would be truly disappointing by such a respected bloke in our local community to stoop to that level - please he say didn't say anything. IMO if a bloke called Murali is fine then Matt's 100% ok and should never be subject to such comments ever again.

Thanks for joining our thread tho mate mate, it's your debut post and you've come out swinging which is good to see :thumbsu: don't go being a one hit wonder tho - we need honest people like yaself to contribute regularly so this thread dont become too dull ;)

Hey why arn't u up supporting your club function today?

Couldnt make the trip up there today unfortunatly, usually a good day.
Cant really confirm or deny anything that walsh said but lets call a spade a spade, the bloke is a flog, every team have them, and chances are he would have said somthing to matty. As far as respected member of the community goes, he is a cop mate. Hiding behind bushes waiting for some poor bloke doing 55 in a 50 zone on his way home from work shouldnt win respect from anyone.

Matt Irving is a good young kid who needs some work on his action. He does chuck it and to use the murali offence is admitting defeat. He is going to be under a lot of pressure from here on in, unfairly, but Ill bet dollars to donuts this isnt the last time it will be bought up.

I dont really see what the central umpire couldve done, ordering him off after is really shuting the gate after the horse has bolted. A very average bit of cricket from an experienced cricketer.

Couldnt make the trip up there today unfortunatly, usually a good day.
Cant really confirm or deny anything that walsh said but lets call a spade a spade, the bloke is a flog, every team have them, and chances are he would have said somthing to matty. As far as respected member of the community goes, he is a cop mate. Hiding behind bushes waiting for some poor bloke doing 55 in a 50 zone on his way home from work shouldnt win respect from anyone.

Matt Irving is a good young kid who needs some work on his action. He does chuck it and to use the murali offence is admitting defeat. He is going to be under a lot of pressure from here on in, unfairly, but Ill bet dollars to donuts this isnt the last time it will be bought up.

I dont really see what the central umpire couldve done, ordering him off after is really shuting the gate after the horse has bolted. A very average bit of cricket from an experienced cricketer.

It was a joke mate, I know at umpires training his name has come up at times since he arrived on teh scene.

I reckon Matts been thru enough - uneccesarily branded by his former club, he's a rippa young man who just wants to play cricket and doesn't deserve the scrutiny he's been forced to deal with this past week

The ump could've done heaps if he actually could confirm the batsman was out as you earlier suggested, why didn't he just over rule it if it was so blatant? Unable to act my A$$

I think you'll find the unmpire got his own back later in the innings didn't he...

A run out a little later when the batsmen was well past the stumps when the bails were removed. Doesn't help when he's slow getting into position to judge the decision.

The umpire could've and should've stepped in at the confrontation between innings. Everybody in the rooms heard the commotion. Instead of telling the players to get on with the game he sat back and waited for older heads to sort out the situation.

It was a joke mate, I know at umpires training his name has come up at times since he arrived on teh scene.

I reckon Matts been thru enough - uneccesarily branded by his former club, he's a rippa young man who just wants to play cricket and doesn't deserve the scrutiny he's been forced to deal with this past week

What's a joke is the way Walshe acted on saturday! To acuse a young fella of throwing is about as bad as it gets on a cricket field, and his behaviour was totally unacceptable.(Let alone the way in which he carried on in the dressingrooms) It seems that to often now narrow minded people are letting their own ego's get in the way of sportsmanship.

Matt is a terrific bloke who's done nothing wrong, yet gets subjected to all this rubbish because of one or two clowns want to big note themselves on a cricket field.:thumbsdown:

What's a joke is the way Walshe acted on saturday! To acuse a young fella of throwing is about as bad as it gets on a cricket field, and his behaviour was totally unacceptable.(Let alone the way in which he carried on in the dressingrooms) It seems that to often now narrow minded people are letting their own ego's get in the way of sportsmanship.

Matt is a terrific bloke who's done nothing wrong, yet gets subjected to all this rubbish because of one or two clowns want to big note themselves on a cricket field.:thumbsdown:

There is a few people in our league with "questionable" actions, and carrying on about it is not the right way to go about it, in experience of playing with on of these guys with a questionable action (Names not being mentioned) even though it was only B-grade pucka kicked up a massive argument on the field which went on and on requiring this guy to bring his certificate to training, to show K.D and Butch Inness which neally led to him leaving the game..... Being Good mates this guy being i was able to talk him into playing again, im sure this Matt bloke was goin through the same feeling, so when u guys are carrying on about a "suspicious" action on the field just remember you could be the reason why a young bloke would leave the game.........its just not on... not in this league!!!:thumbsdown:

The whole Irving situation was dealt with poorly in my opinion as an outsider. I've been playing cricket for over 10 years and have never come across a "chucker". There are heaps of bowlers with different or strange actions, particularly off-spinners, but that doesn't make them chuckers. I feel sorry for Matt, who was allegedly verbally hounded by several Kilmore players about his action. When I got told about it, I asked a couple of Kilmore A-graders who confirmed that was the case.

In my opinion if a player or official has a problem with a players' bowling action they should inform the president of the association privately with their concerns. It should then be up to the executive to sort the situation out. From an outsiders' perspective it is probably a few blokes having a whinge because he took six wickets. It was the same with New Zealand and Shaun Tait. The Kiwis didn't have a problem with his action this time last year when they belted him around the tiny New Zealand grounds before the World Cup. But when he snared a few on a lightning quick pitch in Perth in a 20/20 match they called him a chucker.

If anything, Kilmore should be having a look at themselves, for were they not the ones who coached him right through his junior career?

By the way Gazza, here is the MCW fixture for division four:

Day 1 – Monday, 11th February
Mornington Peninsula 2 v Caledonia at Mt Waverley
Horsham v Seymour at Ivanhoe
Yarrawonga v Grassmere at Melton
Ferntree Gully 2 v South West at Bayswater
Grampians v Alberton at Oakleigh

Day 2 – Tuesday, 12th February
Mornington Peninsula 2 v Grampians at Frankston
Horsham v Alberton at Bundoora
Seymour v Caledonia at Noble Park
Ferntree Gully 2 v Yarrawonga at Kingston Saints
South West v Grassmere at Ormond

Day 3 – Wednesday, 13th February
Caledonia v Ferntree Gully 2 at Ormond
Yarrawonga v Seymour at North Melbourne
Mornington Peninsula 2 v Alberton at Brighton
Grassmere v Horsham at Kew
Grampians v South West at Malvern

Day 4 – Thursday, 14th February
Caledonia v Horsham at Williamstown
Alberton v Ferntree Gully 2 at Coburg
South West v Yarrawonga at Mt Waverley
Mornington Peninsula 2 v Seymour at Elsternwick
Grassmere v Grampians at Moorabbin

Final – Friday, 15th February at Caulfield

opinions are like assholes and everyone as them! there were questionable decisions in the game and i was genuinely shocked that strazza moran didnt give tyrell out when he was clearly out, im sure if strazz could go back hed have given it out! surely? coz hes a good bloke! but then again maybe he actually missed it n wasnt sure, be honest who pays attention when they are at sqaure leg?

as for scottywoks comment about the umpires decision for the run out! it was clearly out, the bails werent removed it was a direct hit from 40 meters!

matty will just live with the questions about his action, and i wouldnt care if hes an axe murder or the pope if it appears you throw the ball it appears you throw the ball!
and he doest appear to throw the ball every ball, its just the occasional nut, and belive me no1 in our side used it as an excuse as to why they were out, we all know that we played incorrect shots and made mistakes and he was bowling okay and lucked into a few wickets

speaking of suspect behavior, our old mate doona might be finding himself umpiring more b grade games from now on after another howler on saturday. thats 2 games i've seen with 3 glaring mistakes, might be time to go get the eyes tested doona!! :p

opinions are like assholes and everyone as them! there were questionable decisions in the game and i was genuinely shocked that strazza moran didnt give tyrell out when he was clearly out, im sure if strazz could go back hed have given it out! surely? coz hes a good bloke! but then again maybe he actually missed it n wasnt sure, be honest who pays attention when they are at sqaure leg?

as for scottywoks comment about the umpires decision for the run out! it was clearly out, the bails werent removed it was a direct hit from 40 meters!

matty will just live with the questions about his action, and i wouldnt care if hes an axe murder or the pope if it appears you throw the ball it appears you throw the ball!
and he doest appear to throw the ball every ball, its just the occasional nut, and belive me no1 in our side used it as an excuse as to why they were out, we all know that we played incorrect shots and made mistakes and he was bowling okay and lucked into a few wickets

Am I missing something Trav? How can it be clearly out if the bails weren't removed? Or was scottywok suggesting that the stumps were broken before the direct hit?

speaking of suspect behavior, our old mate doona might be finding himself umpiring more b grade games from now on after another howler on saturday. thats 2 games i've seen with 3 glaring mistakes, might be time to go get the eyes tested doona!! :p

Three mistakes in 2 games doesn't seem too bad when you consider there were 3 clear errors in our game alone. Fortunately all 3 favoured the batsmen and thankfully none effected the result.
Anyway jazzy can't you be reprimanded or something for being critical of an umpire. Maybe it's just in your genes.:D

Meanwhile, BigFooty SDCA thread part-timer Jozzie Watson (aka: Waddo#6) was crowned Miss Seymour Cricket Club on Saturday night.
Congrats, Jozzie.

Meanwhile, BigFooty SDCA thread part-timer Jozzie Watson (aka: Waddo#6) was crowned Miss Seymour Cricket Club on Saturday night.
Congrats, Jozzie.

HAHA i unfortunatly couldnt make the event, but i new there was a tinkling about josh/jozzie watson haha now if Mr Seymour (Scotty 'Frenzy' Mckenzie) and Mrs Seymour (Josh 'Jozzie Watson) go together with their teiraras that would be a good laugh!! haha

Congrats Joshy!!

Congrats, Jozzie.

Waddo mentioned on Saturday that he was looking forward to Seymour CC's annual "cross dressing" night. Seemed just a little too eager for mine.:p:D
Adam Howard also worries me more than a little as he's threatening to apply for a clearence if a similar function isn't on the TCC social calender next year.:eek:

Yeah Im finished I think, pity as I really wanted a TCC final too to silence a few Rook critics once and for all ;)

Horsham 165 (C. Hopper 41; K. Hipperslea 3/34) lost to Seymour 9/240 (cc) & 1/90 (cc) (X. Youngman 55, M. Hill 37, L. Atkins 31; C. Hopper 4/35).
You can see results at http://results.cricketvictoria.com.au/

Typical flying start for the SDCA before they hit the city, strippers, and crown casino until 6am tuesday morning and get bundled out for 120.

How was the dude making 240no. If they string a couple of wins, they can make the finals, 1 team with 2 wins, one with a win and the bye, everyone else is either 1-1 or 0-2. SDCA still a shot at the title.

Typical flying start for the SDCA before they hit the city, strippers, and crown casino until 6am tuesday morning and get bundled out for 120.

How was the dude making 240no. If they string a couple of wins, they can make the finals, 1 team with 2 wins, one with a win and the bye, everyone else is either 1-1 or 0-2. SDCA still a shot at the title.

Got beat yesterday, Chubby Wubby, so back amongst the pack.