• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Seymour District Cricket Association

chickoroll said:
I heard that Michael "Soft" Hard had one of his trademark "dummy spits" on Saturday during the Hill, Royals match. isn't it about time he grew up.
i also heard that Shannon Allum is considering a clearance from seymour if his brother leaves,it maybe just a cover for the fact that he does think much of the seymour captain, any ideas on where he might end up?

Well you will find this intersting, heard that Nathan Allum, shannon allum and duke jenkin have all signed clearences to the royals during the week

chickoroll said:
I heard that Michael "Soft" Hard had one of his trademark "dummy spits" on Saturday during the Hill, Royals match. isn't it about time he grew up.
i also heard that Shannon Allum is considering a clearance from seymour if his brother leaves,it maybe just a cover for the fact that he does think much of the seymour captain, any ideas on where he might end up?

Aint Browny the skipper??? I may have missed somethin but IMO I reckon he is one of the more popular opposition players in our eyes (Broady) - always stays for a beer and seems a genuine bloke to boot.
Who would the Maroons rather have, a long term and very loyal member of their club - or people chasing the record for the most number of clearances in any one SDCA career?

It would be a real shame is they lost both Allum boys as I think they're a fair show of going back to back - but as you've indicated if they're not fans of the bloke in charge then what do ya do???

Dont listen to me gents, Im just a frustrated cricketer no longer capable :p

Just got home from Royals cricket training, interesting to see that Shannon Allum, Duke Jenkins, Nathan Allum and Patrick Rattay were all present, and are all looking for clearance for this weekends matches.

fullbak said:
Just got home from Royals cricket training, interesting to see that Shannon Allum, Duke Jenkins, Nathan Allum and Patrick Rattay were all present, and are all looking for clearance for this weekends matches.

Welcome back but hows that gunna help ya top order fullbak - reckon the bowling will be ok but they need someone to help young Hank Woldhuis out a bit with the willow :p

Doona2 said:
Welcome back but hows that gunna help ya top order fullbak - reckon the bowling will be ok but they need someone to help young Hank Woldhuis out a bit with the willow :p

Young Hank won't be a factor in this weeks match seeing as he has been dropped to B Grade.

The_timid_turkey said:
Well you will find this intersting, heard that Nathan Allum, shannon allum and duke jenkin have all signed clearences to the royals during the week

news from the seymour den is that the allum boys, duke jenkin and chris chee were all down at royals on thursday nite, wanting clearances..youngman apparantly signed blank clearances!! but it didnt happen in the end, the boys should all be donning the maroon strip this weekend you'll find.. i heard on the grapevine aswell that the only thing holding youngman bak from going bak to the royals is his secretary position, interesting to see how many will follow these blokes if they all get cleared!

waddo #6 said:
news from the seymour den is that the allum boys, duke jenkin and chris chee were all down at royals on thursday nite, wanting clearances..youngman apparantly signed blank clearances!! but it didnt happen in the end, the boys should all be donning the maroon strip this weekend you'll find.. i heard on the grapevine aswell that the only thing holding youngman bak from going bak to the royals is his secretary position, interesting to see how many will follow these blokes if they all get cleared!

Whats going on down there young mate. Why do the boys want out?

gazza35 said:
Any scores from the weekend just gone lads?

Seymour got 115 against Broady, youngster Jason Walsh took 4/17, Mumfy got 3 and Trav took 2/7 off 8.4 - in reply Broady was 4/4 before battling thru to 71 all out, Alwin Neilson top scored with 20 and I believe both sides weren't overly pleased with the umpiring with some disappointing decisions in both innings.

Interesting to see 3 boys rumoured to be seeking a clearance to Royals (Allum x 2, Duke Jenkins) all played so they musta soughted their differences out.

I officiated the Tallarook v Yea clash, Adam Howard's unbeaten 73 set up the win for the 'Rook - mind you 3 dropped catches early didn't help Yea as Joey Tarran and Howie put on about 70 for the opening wicket, before the side posted 6/173.

Yea never really got going as the wickets fell steadily, Ryan Akers' early season form continued with 36 before he became young Capuano's first A-grade scalp. Joel Dunn batted wait after a few years on the turf and showed once he gets the feel for proper cricket again he'll be handy, and young Josh Cunningham showed plenty of patience to bat for the final 15 overs and remain unbeaten - Yea 9/133.

Apparently I missed a caught behind off Sammy Watts, but all the frivilous appealing that went on from Joeyboy Pollock and co. it was hard to tell when they were fair diunkum ;)

Hey Doona congratulations on the broadford coaching job hope all goes well ill try and get up to a game and have a cold one with you

gazza35 said:
Hey Doona congratulations on the broadford coaching job hope all goes well ill try and get up to a game and have a cold one with you

Thanks Gaz, yeah a challenge Im keen to sink me teeth into - am hoping to see a lot of locals take an interest and drop in for a game or two so would be great to see ya :thumbsu:

avenel had a fairly confortable win against the royals. royals batted first making 118 with lawler making 48, and for avenel debutants chris tingay and sagey taking 3 wickets a piece. avenel then made the runs shortly after drinks two down, with scoota making 37 and hinssy 60 odd not out.

I hear the Rook's fancy dress night was a ripper with over 70 people going to the effort of getting done up.

Do any other SDCA club's have as good a social scene as the Rookery? Always well patronised and the cheese and crackers thing along with the complimentray steamed dim rocks after tha match went real good Satdy . . . . no wonder their B-grade wouldn't hang around for a beer at Broady :p

I also heard that after his marathon innings on Saturday, his Strauchnie impersonation Satdy night, and a big day of racing Sunday - that man Howard needed Monday off work to recover!!!

Ok i know its late fellas but what a great topic HJ32, very funny.

How about headlines we want to see in season 06/07?

-Popeye returns to Heathcote
-New 'masters' (for those whom require a minimum of 5 days recovery from games) competition is announced, in unrelated news Tallarook Cricket Club would like any witnesses to come fourth asto the whereabouts of their A grade side.
-A Stuart Peterson yorker leaves Royals/Avenal/Eastern Hill or Yea's Shaun Green claiming it was a 'beam ball, that was behind the play'.
-Popeye returns to heathcote
-Phone giant Telestra set to sue Eastern Hill Cricket club over years of unpaid phone bills to talented cricketers across the SDCA.

Grandale im sure you can take it up from here...

inlimbo said:
Ok i know its late fellas but what a great topic HJ32, very funny.

How about headlines we want to see in season 06/07?

-Popeye returns to Heathcote
-New 'masters' (for those whom require a minimum of 5 days recovery from games) competition is announced, in unrelated news Tallarook Cricket Club would like any witnesses to come fourth asto the whereabouts of their A grade side.
-A Stuart Peterson yorker leaves Royals/Avenal/Eastern Hill or Yea's Shaun Green claiming it was a 'beam ball, that was behind the play'.
-Popeye returns to heathcote
-Phone giant Telestra set to sue Eastern Hill Cricket club over years of unpaid phone bills to talented cricketers across the SDCA.

Grandale im sure you can take it up from here...

- Kilmore announces massive new sponsorship deal: Jenny Craig sponsors the loss of a 1000kgs from kilmore A grade players.

- Yea's shaun green not happy, tells team mates they have no heart. (Oct)
- Hills shaun green not happy, tells team mates they have no heart. (Nov)
- Broadfords shaun green not happy, tells team mates they have no heart. (Dec)
- Green the miracle man...autopsy shows he lived a life with a heart the size of a split pea.

The SDCA returns to representative cricket on Sunday against what appears to be a confident Shepp outift. Anyone know the likely make-up of the SDCA team?

Balanced line-up for shield

October 26 2006
Shepparton News

Cricket Shepparton has assembled a crack side to contest this year's McPherson Shield inter-association clash, according to coach Bryan Doyle.

"When you look at the players across the competition we're fortunate to have some terrific quality there," Doyle said yesterday.

"While there are a few of the competition's guns missing, we certainly have some hitting power."

Star Numurkah all-rounder Liam Gledhill will captain the side that includes the addition of Blues teammates David Miles, Gledhill's brother Daniel and English import Chris Hampshire.

Old Students' youngster Jed Wright gets a look in for representative duties, while Tatura's Dean Letizia and Daniel Godsmark have also been included.

"I've heard this Hampshire hits the ball pretty well," Doyle said.

"I'm looking forward to seeing him go around."

While the former Victorian player believes the potency of the Shepparton side might lie with the willow, he reckons selectors have drawn together a balanced and talented side that should have the potential to eclipse round one rival Seymour.

"Our batting might be our strength, but I think our bowling is very capable as well," he said.

The game gets under way at 11 am Sunday, at Kings Park in Seymour.

THE BIGSHOW said:
Sounds like Seymour are screwed. ;)

Reckon Im the one thats screwed . . . what did u 'Rook blokes put in ya umpires report last week Ive been dropped to the B's :mad:

First 2-day game of the season and the scheduled starting time from the SDCA is 12noon and then the more familiar 1pm the following week.

Doona2 said:
Reckon Im the one thats screwed . . . what did u 'Rook blokes put in ya umpires report last week Ive been dropped to the B's :mad:

First 2-day game of the season and the scheduled starting time from the SDCA is 12noon and then the more familiar 1pm the following week.

I doubt we put anything bad in there doon, you umpired a great game other then one decision, but we'll let that slide - it was only off wattsy anyway. You should be umpiring the A's, if i see Jimmy Hatfield umpiring the A's instead of you(is he still umpiring??) ill be giving Claw a spray.

THE BIGSHOW said:
I doubt we put anything bad in there doon, you umpired a great game other then one decision, but we'll let that slide - it was only off wattsy anyway. You should be umpiring the A's, if i see Jimmy Hatfield umpiring the A's instead of you(is he still umpiring??) ill be giving Claw a spray.

What happened to that camel of a horse you own, 3rd ???? Lucky i had it each way. Hopefully the bloke can drive it a bit better next time, the older gents at the tote were not happy with his performance. Sure thing next start you reckon.

Joeyboy said:
What happened to that camel of a horse you own, 3rd ???? Lucky i had it each way. Hopefully the bloke can drive it a bit better next time, the older gents at the tote were not happy with his performance. Sure thing next start you reckon.

Anything is possible when those crooked trotters are involved!!!

Joeyboy said:

Not sure, wont be running for about 2 weeks now. Just wish you bastards would stop backing it so it pays a bit better...

A grade selection changes at the rook:

In: Lachlan Wattts
Out: David Martin

Bit tough on the young kid Martin, but young watts will add another top order bat to the lineup. Rumor has it Joeyboy was lucky to hold his place. :D