Seymour District Cricket Association

Could Royals sneak a win against a depleted Tallarook? Brett Tarran, Andrew Dundon, Joe Pollock and Clint Capuano all missing - if Joey Tarran, Lachy Watts or the 2 Howie's dont get runs it might get interesting.

doubt it, all 3 grades struggled to get 100 runs... total. same old story:mad:

Kilmore got 240 against Broadford with Marcus Davern getting into the 90's and dunno who got the wickets.

Yea had a tough day at Kings Park, several dropped chances and then a fine century to Rick Hager as the Hill posted 311. I think it was the the Pup young Evans with 5 wickets that took the honours for the Tigers, youngsters Dallas Bergowicz and Justin Bassett getting runs also.

Also would the Peterson that smacked 120 and got 4 wickets down with North Melbourne 4ths be the same S. Peterson that was in early season form with the Maroons?

doubt it, all 3 grades struggled to get 100 runs... total. same old story:mad:
royals struggled to put side on the park with no lawler,hore,and enrico
not playing they would be struggling. and will they play
c grade next week who knows?????? soul would be on a hard on
all day if they did pull the whites on for his team....

davern batted brilliantly shattered for my mate when he got caught on 94, worked his ass off 2 get to the 90s, rob douglas took 5 for bout 50! broadford 1-4 at stumps
congrats to hager!

avenel made 125 against seymour, with pearcey and the two donovans all making 25-30 ish, with allums and grak getting a couple each. in reply, avenel have seymour 6 for about 40, with the p train having figures of 5 for 3 off 10

yeh rick hagers cemturie was a great knock to have that much concentration and fitness at his age is amazing and was great to watch

Looks like Royals are going to struggle to put an A grade side on the park for the rest of the season. Several A grade players have expressed interest in leaving after a less then impressive season so far, and i does not look like it is going to get any better.
After a promising start to the season, with upwards of 40 players attending training, the club has struggled to get 10 players to recent training sessions, with many attendies not even registered to the club.:thumbsdown:
So any clubs interested in gaining a few half decent B grade players such as Enrico, lawler, Wyatt, Mullraney and to a lesser extent Hank, now is your chance.
I would have included Soloman in the available players but i don't think any club in the league could afford his hefty match fees.:p

Looks like Royals are going to struggle to put an A grade side on the park for the rest of the season. Several A grade players have expressed interest in leaving after a less then impressive season so far, and i does not look like it is going to get any better.
After a promising start to the season, with upwards of 40 players attending training, the club has struggled to get 10 players to recent training sessions, with many attendies not even registered to the club.:thumbsdown:
So any clubs interested in gaining a few half decent B grade players such as Enrico, lawler, Wyatt, Mullraney and to a lesser extent Hank, now is your chance.
I would have included Soloman in the available players but i don't think any club in the league could afford his hefty match fees.:p

Who wants to leave and why is it that they want to go? (I know you mentioned "a less than impressive" start but what else would they have expected?)

Kilmore got 240 against Broadford with Marcus Davern getting into the 90's and dunno who got the wickets.

Yea had a tough day at Kings Park, several dropped chances and then a fine century to Rick Hager as the Hill posted 311. I think it was the the Pup young Evans with 5 wickets that took the honours for the Tigers, youngsters Dallas Bergowicz and Justin Bassett getting runs also.

Also would the Peterson that smacked 120 and got 4 wickets down with North Melbourne 4ths be the same S. Peterson that was in early season form with the Maroons?

Seems to be a few big scores getting around the SDCA at the minute. Seems kings park is a batsmans paradise. Runs scored there every week. Flat decks, minimal sideways movement that keep low on a super quick oval...thats what its all about.

Congrats to hager. What would he have to do to eclipse one M. O'Sullivan from the top of the all time record sheets for the SDCA? He's currently second in total runs scored isn't he?

As for Royals...what else can you expect from such a bunch? I'm sure the likes of Glenn Cole and Richard Martin would just shake their heads in disgust if they saw the club in such a state as it is now.

Congrats to hager. What would he have to do to eclipse one M. O'Sullivan from the top of the all time record sheets for the SDCA? He's currently second in total runs scored isn't he?

Hager would be well clear of Matty Boy in the all-time runscorers stakes I'm tipping. For starters, official records didn't start getting kept until either 85/86 or 86/87 and Hager had been plundering attacks for several years before that (refer to a 211 in a Grand Final in the early 80s), plus he has continued to play on beyond Matt's retirement. While he hasn't been as prolific in that period he's still been the Hill's best bat (which actually says a little bit about Eastern Hill) and regularly peeled off half-centuries.
Makes for an interesting debate, though, who you reckon is better; Hager or O'Sullivan.

i heard uwent alright 2day in the mcpherson match its a long walk to go face 3 balls i heard tracy got in a over:)
young waddo you dont learn do you!!!
it was 4 balls 2 runs
how about in 2 weeks you come and play mcpherson sheild
and put your money where your mouth is:D
how about a lazy $100 who can make the most runs??
dont let fear stop you waddo

clubs that have been keen to pick me up
are nagambie,seymour,essendon 3rds
1.nagambie going back where it started and won a flag
2.maybe seymour dont have to travel and $$$$$
3.essendon well who could knock back playing with barrel
the hot tip is where ever i go mick enrico will follow!!!!

Hager would be well clear of Matty Boy in the all-time runscorers stakes I'm tipping. For starters, official records didn't start getting kept until either 85/86 or 86/87 and Hager had been plundering attacks for several years before that (refer to a 211 in a Grand Final in the early 80s), plus he has continued to play on beyond Matt's retirement. While he hasn't been as prolific in that period he's still been the Hill's best bat (which actually says a little bit about Eastern Hill) and regularly peeled off half-centuries.
Makes for an interesting debate, though, who you reckon is better; Hager or O'Sullivan.

good post grandale
Hager is a bloke that would prize his wicket more than anyone, and in the words of a famous doctor he'd "snivel and scrape" his way to a big score if he had to. I remember my first A grade game for the maroons and we played the Hill. Hager got 100 and never looked like going out. Matt was just all class, and probably looked like he got bored with batting late in his career!
Bowling wise, Hager bowled ripper left arm swing whilst Matt did more off the seam and was fairly accurate.
Grandale you are probably more astute judge of their bowling as you probably faced a fair bit of each...

good post grandale
Hager is a bloke that would prize his wicket more than anyone, and in the words of a famous doctor he'd "snivel and scrape" his way to a big score if he had to. I remember my first A grade game for the maroons and we played the Hill. Hager got 100 and never looked like going out. Matt was just all class, and probably looked like he got bored with batting late in his career!
Bowling wise, Hager bowled ripper left arm swing whilst Matt did more off the seam and was fairly accurate.
Grandale you are probably more astute judge of their bowling as you probably faced a fair bit of each...

I was actually talking specifically about their batting, but you're right, they both knew how to send one down. For what it's worth, I'd give Hager the slight edge as a bowler (that has nothing to do with him thudding one into my jatz crackers leaving me gasping for air in the 95/96 GF).
I've played in a couple of Grand Finals against them both when they were at, or near enough to, their peak and it was a scary thought.
With Hager you almost resigned yourself to the fact he was going to get a heap and you just prayed it was a little heap and not a big heap, whereas with Matt you always sensed you'd get a few more chances but if you let him bat for 25 overs it was almost game over.
I can't split them. Whatever the case, we probably could have squeezed them into the Maroons' middle order in the 80s and 90s.
If you had to pick who would you consider the better bat, HJ? Wasn't one of the above legends your first ever SDCA A Grade wicket?

Well I Have never heard more ******** in my life. Royals C.C. fielded its most inexperienced line up and made jack ********.So what we tried and turned up. Hey Donkey, Hank & whoever else wants to kick the dog while its down go for it. What was disappointing was the talent on the sidelines. Dave Lawler probably Best bat and mouth at the club. Watching. Mick Enrico easily Best Cricketer at club - may have a valid excuse - great knock the next day by the way - also watching. Hank watching. Find it a disgrace that these players can come down the Cricket club and hang ******** on players and then back up on here. Think some of you lads would be better of with clearences and go talk about ya highs providing other clubs would take yas.

clubs that have been keen to pick me up
are nagambie,seymour,essendon 3rds
1.nagambie going back where it started and won a flag
2.maybe seymour dont have to travel and $$$$$
3.essendon well who could knock back playing with barrel
the hot tip is where ever i go mick enrico will follow!!!![

Never heard more ******** than you are talking here Dave.Seymour would recognise your undoubted talent with the bat but also with mouth. The likes of Pinky and Doc Peterson would send you packing.

Essendon 3rds - Poor Buggers

Nagambie - must be devestated you left em. Prremiership hero - best thing you could do Donkey is go back to Training headdown and let your bat do the talking - as you have quite a bit to prove and if Micks following you everywhere maybe he will do the same. You are VC of a cricket club dont forget

Seem very passionate about your club Solman and Im sure many on here applaud you for that.
I agree it can be very demoralising when players dont play, leave sides below strength and then become critical. The big picture should always be the club - afterall even I answered the call of duty to help my club's C-grade on Satdy and Id do that every time before rolling up for a $hit stir.

How come the boys didn't play? Dave was at Chittick Park for a while, and I thought Hank was gunna make a good go of it this year as he certainly is good enough to be a handy A-grade batsman.

I was actually talking specifically about their batting, but you're right, they both knew how to send one down. For what it's worth, I'd give Hager the slight edge as a bowler (that has nothing to do with him thudding one into my jatz crackers leaving me gasping for air in the 95/96 GF).
I've played in a couple of Grand Finals against them both when they were at, or near enough to, their peak and it was a scary thought.
With Hager you almost resigned yourself to the fact he was going to get a heap and you just prayed it was a little heap and not a big heap, whereas with Matt you always sensed you'd get a few more chances but if you let him bat for 25 overs it was almost game over.
I can't split them. Whatever the case, we probably could have squeezed them into the Maroons' middle order in the 80s and 90s.
If you had to pick who would you consider the better bat, HJ? Wasn't one of the above legends your first ever SDCA A Grade wicket?
Good question Grandale.I was lucky enough to play along side both Rick and Matt[Morso Rick than Matt].IMO Matt was your more natural type batsman[Very similar to a Mark Waugh]His stroke play made it look effortless while Rick was your more meat & potatoes type batsman[very patient]but gifted nevertheless.
At the end of the day if the SDCA came up with a side of the past 2 decades Both Rick and Matt would be one of the first selected.

Good question Grandale.I was lucky enough to play along side both Rick and Matt[Morso Rick than Matt].IMO Matt was your more natural type batsman[Very similar to a Mark Waugh]His stroke play made it look effortless while Rick was your more meat & potatoes type batsman[very patient]but gifted nevertheless.
At the end of the day if the SDCA came up with a side of the past 2 decades Both Rick and Matt would be one of the first selected.

I'd say the first two selected, along with the likes of ******** Martin, Glenn Cole, Sam Watts, Jason Tarran, Brett Tarran, Gerry Hanson, Paul O'Bree, Travis Blackwell to name a few

Gerry Hansen.I must admit the best lefty i have ever faced and whitnessed when playing in the rep.sides.:thumbsu:

Yep, first two selected EASILY! And don't restrict it to the last 20 years. I reckon you could mount a case for them being the SDCA's two greatest cricketers. I know all the old-timers will kick up a stink and reel off a couple of old fogeys from "back in my day" but fortunately they probably don't know how to activate a computer and therefore are not in a position to argue with me.

Seem very passionate about your club Solman and Im sure many on here applaud you for that.
I agree it can be very demoralising when players dont play, leave sides below strength and then become critical. The big picture should always be the club - afterall even I answered the call of duty to help my club's C-grade on Satdy and Id do that every time before rolling up for a $hit stir.

How come the boys didn't play? Dave was at Chittick Park for a while, and I thought Hank was gunna make a good go of it this year as he certainly is good enough to be a handy A-grade batsman.

Hank apparnetly started a new job on Saturday and yes if head goes down could be anything as a batsman. Mick Enrico has his misses Christmas party at Yea races this week & Dave as you are well aware of is in disagreement with Sump. All 3 appeared on Saturday at game only Mick Enrico not labelling us as a disgrace so far. Adam Hore who you would call an A grader at Royals only to be fair has not trained in about 3 weeks and did not play, that appears to be a tune only to familiar. He along with others not training left selection headaches left right & centre & saturday morning the A Grade was down to 10 and stayed like it with only 4 regulars (Mulraney, Kyle Watson, Wyatt & Tommy Stevens).

B grade made up of C Graders and C Grade not starting to 1.30 at Flowerdale only fielding 9.

Thats why it hurts when the clubs A graders are there afterwrds to tell us we are a disgrace.

Then back up on here.

I think the time has come to just put the kids in and pray for a miracle.

A Glenn Cole or Peter Holt to come back to the club and display some support for the youngsters is severley on the menu & if $$$ is an issue we might need to start forking them out

Hank apparnetly started a new job on Saturday and yes if head goes down could be anything as a batsman. Mick Enrico has his misses Christmas party at Yea races this week & Dave as you are well aware of is in disagreement with Sump. All 3 appeared on Saturday at game only Mick Enrico not labelling us as a disgrace so far. Adam Hore who you would call an A grader at Royals only to be fair has not trained in about 3 weeks and did not play, that appears to be a tune only to familiar. He along with others not training left selection headaches left right & centre & saturday morning the A Grade was down to 10 and stayed like it with only 4 regulars (Mulraney, Kyle Watson, Wyatt & Tommy Stevens).

B grade made up of C Graders and C Grade not starting to 1.30 at Flowerdale only fielding 9.

Thats why it hurts when the clubs A graders are there afterwrds to tell us we are a disgrace.

Then back up on here.

I think the time has come to just put the kids in and pray for a miracle.

A Glenn Cole or Peter Holt to come back to the club and display some support for the youngsters is severley on the menu & if $$$ is an issue we might need to start forking them out

good to see the passion is firing there jim, true clubman..

its a pity the royals cant say the same bout dave hank and co who have had a cry maybe the royals may be best part ways with dave as nearly every time u hear of a blu at bennent oval mr lawler is in the middle of it